21 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 >Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

shaun_kok
post Jul 12 2019, 05:22 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 12 2019, 03:10 PM)
News update from Thailand:
Some Thailand TV broadcasters are struggling to survive on offering some digital TV channels due to consumer trend of Internet video and OTT platforms. Total of 7 digital TV channels will cease broadcast on 1 Oct 2019, reducing the current 22 to 15 digital TV channels.

https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/167566...hannels-to-exit
Not to mention that there are huge competition within Thai digital TV market too. Even without OTT and Internet Video, some TV Operators will still have a loss/straggle due to too much choice and competition as the overall rating remained pretty much the same/dropped.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Jul 12 2019, 05:26 PM
shaun_kok
post Jul 12 2019, 07:39 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 12 2019, 07:22 PM)
DDS available in the dvb stream? blink.gif  I didn't notice that.
Guess my ancient V8 Pro can't display HD subtitles?..... cry.gif

Seriously though, MYTV or RTM broadcasts the wrong subtitling_type in the dvb stream.  laugh.gif

edit: Is it possible for the my decoder not being able to display the HD subtitle correctly due to wrong subtitling_type version? Something like the decoder is expecting to decode SD subtitle but it is being fed with HD subtitle?  hmm.gif
That really made me confused somehow when you point up it is SD subs as I am pretty sure it is actually sent in HD since the subs is much sharper than regular SD subs.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Jul 12 2019, 07:43 PM
shaun_kok
post Jul 13 2019, 08:18 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 13 2019, 03:32 PM)
Seems that TV3 analogue TV channel in Langkawi island has a squeeze-back reminder, to inform viewers that analogue broadcast will cease on 21 July, urging viewers to switch to myFreeview. 
Photo not taken by me.
Source: Facebook user

This squeeze back, which makes the picture of the TV channel to become smaller, is the same thing as what Singapore Mediacorp did prior to their analogue switch off.

I'm not sure if this squeeze back message on is only visible to Langkawi's analogue TV viewers, or nationwide at all or times or certain times only...
Anyone here can receive analogue TV signals from Langkawi tower, do share with us some screenshots on other or all analogue TV channels if possible.
Not shown on analogue programmes transmitted from Gunung Pulai transmitter. Seems like the notice is play out separately specific to Gunung Raya analogue transmitter.
shaun_kok
post Jul 14 2019, 07:08 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Jul 14 2019, 04:09 PM)
I guess that we will be seeing the digital channels being refarmed down by the end of this year, after analog switch off.
That process always leads to a ton of questions from users who don't know how to retune
Definitely as some MUXes across the country are currently allocated at 700MHz band. Some warning and advisory will be needed before retune is done (they had to publish the frequency before retune) or otherwise cause chaos to viewers like the MUX 2 activation which RTM channels went missing due to migration of multiplexes. At this point, MYTV will be better off starting additional multiplexes.
shaun_kok
post Jul 16 2019, 09:34 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 16 2019, 09:16 PM)
Which beg a question.....masih ada orang beli pirated drama/movie ripped straight from TV broadcast ke?  biggrin.gif
TV3 own content maybe? But these are now easily available on Tonton (YouTube)

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Jul 16 2019, 09:35 PM
shaun_kok
post Jul 23 2019, 09:43 PM

1,074 posts

Digital TV services from Batam
642MHz/Ch 42 - SCTV, Indosiar
674MHz/Ch 46 - Trans TV HD, Trans 7, CNN Indonesia
690MHz/Ch 48 - TVRI, TVRI Riau, TVRI 4, Nusantara TV

Source: https://youtu.be/_98Tz-liRMc, https://youtu.be/-eHIj7J0M0U

You can notice that in the video, the reception for analogue NTV7 and 8TV is nearly wiped out in Batam. (TV9 remains as usual due to no interference)

Will attempt to receive these channels after analogue shutdown due to interference from NTV7 (639.25MHz) and 8TV (671.25MHz) analogue from Gunung Pulai in my area, which the reception will be impossible, for now. Anyone who are interested in Johor Bahru area can try 690MHz.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Jul 23 2019, 10:03 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 1 2019, 01:48 AM

1,074 posts

TV1 SD and TV2 SD had been removed from MYTV MUX 1.

Also, on the Mediacorp 570MHz MUX, "okto (HD)" has been relabeled as "Test" and is showing a variant of PM5544 testcard.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 1 2019, 02:19 AM
shaun_kok
post Aug 1 2019, 12:07 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 1 2019, 10:00 AM)
I thought okto HD was replaced to Channel U HD, after it moves from 586MHz?

So 570MHz has 3 HD channels now? Channel NewsAsia HD, Channel U HD, and Test?

Can screenshot the test card, wanna have a look...
Yup Okto was indeed swapped places with Channel U after its closure. However, Mediacorp did not remove the channel long after its closure and instead swapped with test card and relabeled it as "Test", likely for future purpose.

The test card on the "Test" channel look like this :

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 1 2019, 12:12 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 1 2019, 08:54 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 1 2019, 05:55 PM)
The "Test" channel is in SD or HD? It has test card tone too?
The test card is shown 24/7, right?
576i 16:9 SDTV, No sound is transmitted. Probably shown 24/7 at this moment.
shaun_kok
post Aug 6 2019, 07:21 PM

1,074 posts

Restacking to be happen soon for some or all multiplexes on 22 sites. Tender notices had been released. Hope that there will be some simulcast or notification for a small period during restacking or there will be another fiasco for MYTV, like when RTM moved to other MUX.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 6 2019, 07:25 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 10 2019, 06:32 PM

1,074 posts

Some official FB posts regarding ASO.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 10 2019, 06:45 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 14 2019, 02:49 PM

1,074 posts

Video shrinking has been started on Analogue TV3 (511.25 MHz) on Gunung Pulai transmitter. Other channels does not currently shrink at this moment.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 14 2019, 02:50 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 14 2019, 03:02 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 14 2019, 02:54 PM)
Thanks for the clearer image. Can I use your photo to post in somewhere else too?
Apparently they decided to show "TV squeeze-back" 5 days before ASO. sweat.gif
The TV squeeze-back is shown there at all times, or the picture would revert back to original after some time?
I wonder why only TV3 is being squeeze-back...
Yes, you may do so.

Did not understand the non standard practice. Maybe because TV3 is the most watched channel in the country. Interestingly, they only shrink during regular programming and not during advertising.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 14 2019, 03:08 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 14 2019, 10:16 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 14 2019, 04:20 PM)
I got the info that for Klang Valley area:
TV3's ASO squeeze-back is only shown on channel from Bukit Sungai Besi transmitter (VHF 224.25MHz)
Gunung Ulu Kali's TV3 analogue (535MHz) does not show any squeeze back and it is still in full image as usual.

Anyone here in Central and Southern region tried watching analogue TV today?

For my area (somewhere in Selangor), I can receive clear to decent reception on all UHF analogue channels from Gunung Ulu Kali transmitter, including TV3 analogue (535.25MHz).

Does that mean analogue channels is still available for me to watch until around 17 September 2019 as Gunung Ulu Kali shuts down on Eastern regions (Pahang, Kelantan and Terrenganu)?
Likely as the transmission for Gunung Ulu Kali transmitter spanned over very large area including Pahang. However, the transmission from Ulu Kali is never able to cover some parts of Klang Valley well due to terrain issues and also never really mean to cover Klang Valley region. (The role for to cover the Klang Valley region is actually fulfilled by both Menara KL and Bukit Sungai Besi, but for digital additional transmitters has to be added as even these 2 isn't sufficient for Klang Valley) This is the reason why numerous commercial radio stations has poor coverage in some parts of Klang Valley despite the usage of High TX power. Regarding other transmitters in the south, I can't really know due to the ability to access only Gunung Pulai only in my area. Even Gunung Pulai itself is not that sufficient anymore to cover the City due to increasing numbers of high rise building in JB, hence the requirement for Skudai and Pelangi transmitter.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 14 2019, 10:20 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 15 2019, 05:57 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Aug 15 2019, 12:44 PM)
I think there’s a possibility since MYTV box has a card slot at the bottom. If they want to block they will need to start using the card slot. But I think they will not, at least not with Media Prima and RTM channels, since the gomen already comment that DVB-T2 tuner built into past, existing and future TVs can be used. Only thing they’re blocking are boxes not from MYTV, which I still think is stupid since the boxes are so basic that there is no PVR.

Dunno if they’re blocking T2 USB Tuner sticks tho. I need one pair for my MCPC but dare not import.
MYTV will never encrypt the signals over their DVB-T2 network (unless they wish to introduce pay TV, which is unlikely to happen at this moment, even in this case they cannot encrypt free channels) as the encryption makes all TV receivers and set top boxes with DVB-T2 certification by SKMM (except their own box) useless.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 15 2019, 06:03 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 19 2019, 01:40 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(chenhui87 @ Aug 19 2019, 12:25 PM)
i stay in JB, my UHF aerial able to get singapore digital channel but unable to get malaysia digital channel, what a shame for malaysia's digital technology?
It is not just you. Many in JB area are unable to get any Malaysian DTT despite they should be well served by Malaysia DTT. The reason this happened is the signals for Malaysian DTT is very heavily interfered by Indonesian analogue TV, hence the inability/it is harder to get a signal on Malaysian DTT unless analogue SCTV and Indosiar on Batam left these frequencies or a retune exercise on MYTV.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 19 2019, 03:41 PM
shaun_kok
post Aug 19 2019, 11:29 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 19 2019, 11:03 PM)
The TV3's TV squeeze-back analog shutdown message now, are no longer showing today's cessation date?:
As you can see, the yellow text of "19 OGOS 2019" is no longer there.

Translation:
"Analogue TV broadcast will end for central and southern region of Peninsular Malaysia"
"Please migrate to myFreeview digital broadcast"

*Photo taken from a Facebook user's post. Photo not taken by me.
However when I checked in the morning the date is still there.
shaun_kok
post Aug 20 2019, 12:40 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 20 2019, 12:22 AM)
20 Aug:

12am: TV9 Bkt Sg Besi went off air, while TV9 G. Ulu Kali shows colour bar with test tone. Whether is the actual ASO for TV9 or just daily off air, I don't know. TV3 Bkt Sg Besi still showing TV squeezeback as usual, even prior 12am.

Around 12.20am, TV squeeze back is no longer shown on TV3 Bkt Sg Besi during Nightline news and commercials. Before this, the squeezeback is still there, even during commercials.

12:34am: TV3 G. Ulu Kali shows test card with test tone, while Bkt Sg Besi shows colour bar with test tone.

12:35am: TV3 G. Ulu Kali has went off air. Bkt Sg Besi still showing colour bar with test tone.
For Gunung Pulai area. All analogue channels are still up and running. (The transmitter did not switch off TX signal despite after closedown.) Maybe there are technical issues on MYTV/TM/Broadcaster side that cause the removal of switch over date. Also RTM had quietly removed the notice posted on TV2 Facebook. Also do you noticed the differences of testcard transmitted from Bt Sungai Besi and Ulu Kali?

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 20 2019, 12:44 AM
shaun_kok
post Aug 20 2019, 12:51 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 20 2019, 12:45 AM)
At G. Pulai, how's TV3 look like now? Colour bar or no signal?
Alamak, don't tell me they postpone again ah...
Colour bar. (The transmitter is up 24/7) I think it is going to postpone again.
shaun_kok
post Sep 1 2019, 08:04 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 1 2019, 12:13 AM)
Go Shop channel, is now available on digital TV (myFreeview) starting today.
Seriously yes, the Go Shop channel from Astro, is now on digital TV.

If your digital TV box or IDTV didn't manage to detect this new channel, or unable to auto update channel list, you can perform manual search on MUX 1 frequency (666MHz for Klang Valley area),
or perform Auto Search if you don't know what I'm talking about, but still want to receive this channel.

This is quite a surprising decision considering Astro don't even like to place their TV channels outside their satellite platform in Malaysia (except that 2 years on Unifi TV). In this case, you may see CJ WOW SHOP enter Astro's platform.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Sep 1 2019, 08:18 AM

21 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 >Top

0.2390sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:21 AM