Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

yongtjunkit
post Apr 2 2019, 09:03 AM

2,516 posts

Is the frequency of mux 2 in Ipoh the same as KL/PJ?
yongtjunkit
post Apr 2 2019, 10:33 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Apr 2 2019, 10:07 AM)
you guys don't have auto scan option? laugh.gif
The mytv basic box and the botato dvb t2 box didn’t have that option as far as I can tell, both box were deployed In Ipoh. Wish to have that option as it would make things easier

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Apr 2 2019, 10:35 AM
yongtjunkit
post Apr 3 2019, 08:08 AM

2,516 posts

https://www.facebook.com/mytvbroadcasting/p...390814057603770

The mytv box have auto retune feature?
yongtjunkit
post Apr 3 2019, 10:54 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 3 2019, 01:05 AM)
Anyone here thinks that MYTV abruptly move RTM channels to another mux without informing the public beforehand, is seriously an unwise thing to do? MYTV expects that the public would assume that when RTM channels goes no signal, is an April Fool joke, cuz so happen it falls on 1 April 2019?

And, do you think that MYTV box users to require user to enter PIN (default 0000) to access to "Auto Tuning" in case there is any frequency retune exercise, is a stupid and dumb thing to implement?
Why is it so secretive for MYTV to allow user to retune their MYTV STBs till the point need to enter PIN? Even the usual TV sets don't necessarily need to enter PIN to access Auto/Manual Tuning menu.
They don't want people to simply mess around the frequency stuff? Their frequency stuff very confidential meh? They expect the kids would mess around the settings, is it? If the STB can auto update itself, then it's okay. But, can't auto update, need PIN to retune, and I don't remember I set any PIN before on the MYTV box, even the default PIN is 0000, and if I am a person who is not good in technology, I will sure get frustrated and find that this MYTV box is a piece of trash.
Seriously I don't see the need for them to do that. This will only trouble the users when MYTV boxes itself can't even auto update the channel list, like Astro, but requires viewers to enter PIN to get back the channels that went missing. Yet, MYTV still "forces/encourages" the public to use their own MYTV digital TV STB, as if they think their MYTV box is world class standard dry.gif

Now you see what happen?
*Screenshot by Qash-M

RTM inform viewers to retune their MYTV boxes AFTER they abruptly moved all their channels to another mux/frequency overnight without informing viewers beforehand on any frequency retuning exercise, leaving viewers goes wonder how come RTM channels suddenly goes No Signal. Yes, they do inform the public that RTM channels will go HD from 1 Apr, but they did not inform that there will be a change of TV frequency. And then, still "teach" viewers to enter PIN "0000" to access Auto Tuning menu after they changed frequency.  doh.gif  doh.gif
I wonder is it because RTM last minute realise that there is sudden drop in viewership on that day, so that's why they find it necessary for them to educate viewers now to retune their sets like this. Terrible.

Not yet finish. MYTV informs the public to retune their MYTV boxes 1 day after (2 April) the frequency being changed??? Wahh, they wait until the viewers goes wild and lost when RTM channels on digital TV goes No Signal, and then the public kept contacting MYTV customer service on the issue, be in on social media like Facebook or customer service hotline, then only want to inform the public to retune one day later? What the heck? Why this MYTV Broadcasting so smart one? :furious2:
https://facebook.com/mytvbroadcasting/posts/2390814057603770

Another problem now is many viewers out there seems that they couldn't get any signal from the second mux (Klang Valley: 698MHz). Some say is antenna issue, some say is the transmitter for the second mux is not as powerful as the first mux (Klang Valey: 666MHz).  I wonder how MYTV would seriously address and provide clear detail explanation on this issue to the public and MYTV viewers.

It's good to see that RTM has all of its channels in HD now, but in terms of how it affects the viewers on the implementation is seriously considered badly managed by MYTV.
QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 3 2019, 08:12 AM)
Not having autoupdate on their decoder itself is already a bad move. They expect everyone especially those who are not tech educated to be able to perform retune everytime.
What about their Tech savvy son/ family members who programs their grandparents MYTV box and they live far away from their grandparents( for example, their grandparents lives in Ipoh, their tech savvy family members lives in KL and only goes back like every few months/ CNY, Christmas, etc)?

That’s going to be very inconvenient when the MYTV box doesn’t feature the auto retuning feature ( on their basic and advance box)

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Apr 3 2019, 11:09 AM
yongtjunkit
post Apr 3 2019, 04:55 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Apr 3 2019, 02:09 PM)
yup, i also use auto tuning on my dad's free decoder which he receive on March 2019. icon_idea.gif

*official MYTV decoder

on your remote, click MENU>select channel>auto search - wait for it to finish searching and save> click EXIT when all done

*you don't need special digital antenna, your existing UHF rooftop antenna can already sufficient for MYTV reception, you just need to re-align if cannot get signal in your area.

->you need a map and compass to check your nearest transmission tower.
what I meant is actually doing rescan by itself without user intervention
yongtjunkit
post Apr 13 2019, 09:01 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 12 2019, 11:37 AM)
Due to continuous complaints about poor signal or no signal of RTM HD channels in MUX 2, RTM has now included back TV1 SD and TV2 SD in MUX 1 while still maintaining all RTM HD channels in MUX 2. MYTV really needs to solve the technical issues in MUX 2.
So means the radio channel would be back as well?
yongtjunkit
post May 5 2019, 02:05 PM

2,516 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...nes-tv-antenna/

I wonder how would this affect users who don’t use MYTV decoders..... specifically users who brought their DVB-T2 box from Lazada, shopee, etc
yongtjunkit
post May 5 2019, 06:08 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ May 5 2019, 04:26 PM)
Nothing happen. At most they just encrypt the channel so that only original Mytv decoder can watch. Most antenna doesnt disrupt others frequency.
Wait they can encrypt the signal...... that’s going to be very expensive with their decoders, almost RM 200 for their decoder

What about tv that has built in dvb t2?

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: May 5 2019, 06:09 PM
yongtjunkit
post May 6 2019, 07:06 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(birain @ May 5 2019, 07:11 PM)
i got 2 decoder, both using the same digital antenna, 1 cap ayam decoder and the other 1 is official mytv decoder. cap ayam is having problem receiving signal from the tower, meanwhile mytv no problem receiving signal from the tower, both using the same antenna, placed at the same location.
QUOTE(joshhd @ May 5 2019, 11:57 PM)
All MYTV boxes (except the very beginning MYTV test boxes, white colour ones) does support Irdeto encryption, which requires smart card to decrypt the encrypted channels.

Meaning, MYTV can encrypt digital TV channels, forcing viewers to use only MYTV boxes to watch the channels. IDTV (intergrated digital TV) sets, or TV with built-in DVB-T2, will not able to watch those encrypted channels and forced to use only STB from MYTV to watch the encrypted channels. Pretty much like Astro/Njoi la...

Retail price for MYTV box is RM187 on Shopee, and yes, it is almost RM200 like you said. That box can support/decrypt encrypted channels.
🤔, deployed a cheap rm 60 decoder at my aunts house in Ipoh, similar to birain setup 1 cheap decoder, mytv basic decoder ( brought the cheap decoder from lazada, link below )

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/1-year-m...s420796337.html

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: May 6 2019, 07:39 AM
yongtjunkit
post May 6 2019, 12:00 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ May 6 2019, 08:48 AM)
MYTV woundn't encrypt DVB-T2, what's the benefit of doing that? So that public will buy the original STB which is about RM200? By that time when freeview channels are encrypted, I think wise people would rather go for NJOI or iptv.
That lazada link, is that STB MCMC certified?
I doubt for the price it’s mcmc certified and I don’t see any McMc label anywhere.

I’m guessing only the mytv decoder is mcmc certified

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: May 6 2019, 12:02 PM
yongtjunkit
post May 24 2019, 06:29 PM

2,516 posts

Potentially for real this time?

https://www.lowyat.net/2019/186553/analogue...end-of-q3-2019/

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: May 24 2019, 06:29 PM
yongtjunkit
post Jun 14 2019, 10:24 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(ongbenghooi @ Jun 14 2019, 09:49 PM)
Any DVB-T2 decoder can set time to record ?
Theres apparently 1 I know of on Lazada ( not MCMC certified ofc) - 3rd party decoder

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Jun 14 2019, 10:25 PM
yongtjunkit
post Jul 5 2019, 09:52 AM

2,516 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...dish-crackdown/
yongtjunkit
post Jul 22 2019, 07:42 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(boonhan @ Jul 22 2019, 01:05 AM)
Hi guys. New to this.
Which one to use for digital tv? My tv got build in, just need plug in cable.
The one with the label TV( as far as I can recall)

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Jul 22 2019, 07:43 AM
yongtjunkit
post Aug 5 2019, 03:36 PM

2,516 posts

Analog TV going off on the 1st of September ?

https://www.facebook.com/226080852621/posts...7436304&sfns=mo

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Aug 5 2019, 03:36 PM
yongtjunkit
post Aug 8 2019, 09:29 PM

2,516 posts

Does anyone here know if the official MYTV dvbt2 basic box have auto tunning built in ?
yongtjunkit
post Aug 8 2019, 11:23 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 8 2019, 10:11 PM)
Every DVB-T2 boxes (even cheap ones) do come with auto tuning/auto search. And MYTV official one are not an exception.
Why? You encounter any DVB-T2 box that doesn't have auto tune/auto search feature?
No, what I mean is the auto channel list update function because I want to simplify it, instead of every time MYTV updates channel list/ frequency the dvb t2 box would auto update it

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Aug 8 2019, 11:25 PM
yongtjunkit
post Aug 9 2019, 09:30 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 9 2019, 08:04 AM)
Channel auto update, as what I know is only official MYTV box does the job.

Simplify? Usually is Installation>Auto Search, it's not that hard also mah... Plus, MYTV don't update their channel list often... So it shouldn't be a big issue.
Well for me it’s easy but for my aunt, it’s not. Plus I live 2hrs away from her house and only go back during festive season

yongtjunkit
post Aug 9 2019, 02:21 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 9 2019, 12:14 PM)
Oh, if that's the case, MYTV customer service would just advise you to buy and use the MYTV box. Install then forget it, so no need to bother those installation settings stuff.
The channel list would auto update by itself during operation/ instantly under standby mode or in standby mode and need to wait ?
yongtjunkit
post Aug 14 2019, 08:17 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Aug 14 2019, 08:14 AM)
will try again this time with the help of google maps, but yes my house is valley kind of area with one side blocked by hills.

combo box? currently using built-in digital tuner, on the sony website it says mine as dvb-t2.
There’s a satellite version of the Digital TV signal, but only MYTV box will work since the satellite signal is encrypted.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0331sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:08 AM