71 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

hahagang
post Dec 20 2011, 12:23 AM

51 posts

It is nice to read your post and I can feel it is not an easy task. However, I wonder how could the errors happened on the following and you have to get the contractor to redo :
The roof of the carpark porch demolished and rebuild according to your needs.

The staircase was redo again.

The location of the back door.

Is the contractor not follow your intruction or they just did it without your knowledge ?
weikee
post Dec 20 2011, 12:38 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(hahagang @ Dec 20 2011, 12:23 AM)
It is nice to read your post and I can feel it is not an easy task. However, I wonder how could the errors happened on the following and you have to get the contractor to redo :
The roof of the carpark porch demolished and rebuild according to your needs.

The staircase was redo again.

The location of the back door.

Is the contractor not follow your intruction or they just did it without your knowledge ?
Sometime is not because of contractor. It could be something missed out or miss communication. Or sometime the plan (or want) don't come out practical / nice after build up.
TSphoenix69
post Dec 20 2011, 12:59 PM

1,836 posts

These item are not contractor fault.
Can't blame contractor if we only discover that the design is not suitable after build up as per our design thus need a re-do. doh.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Dec 20 2011, 01:00 PM
TSphoenix69
post Dec 23 2011, 01:13 PM

1,836 posts

Renovation Updates...

More Bloopers rclxub.gif

The colour we initially chose for exterior walls (On catalogue looks nice) smile.gif but when actually applied on site makes my house look like a birthday cake. doh.gif

Correction !!!! thumbup.gif

adrianjc
post Dec 23 2011, 01:15 PM

898 posts

The correction looks so much better dude!!! Hope you didn't buy alot of the first colour.

Usually i'll buy a 1 litre tin to try before deciding on the colour.
Hornsen
post Dec 23 2011, 01:19 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 23 2011, 01:13 PM)
The colour we initially chose for exterior walls (On catalogue looks nice)  smile.gif  but when actually applied on site makes my house look like a birthday cake.  doh.gif

phoenix69's cake house? biggrin.gif

ozak
post Dec 23 2011, 01:40 PM

17,018 posts

Renovation Updates...

More Bloopers  rclxub.gif

The colour we initially chose for exterior walls (On catalogue looks nice)  smile.gif  but when actually applied on site makes my house look like a birthday cake.  doh.gif

Correction !!!!  thumbup.gif

You seems like make alot of error and modify. That can cost alot. sweat.gif

Your plan run haywire?
ssshk
post Dec 23 2011, 02:22 PM

75 posts

1st colour, if ur fren having difficulty find ur house, u can say the brightest colour, that's the one..
weikee
post Dec 23 2011, 03:01 PM

12,019 posts

Every day is a birthday. That is good.
limhm1
post Dec 23 2011, 05:38 PM

414 posts

Your house is so big. Got more then 24 ft in width ??
TSphoenix69
post Dec 23 2011, 06:44 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 23 2011, 01:40 PM)
You seems like make alot of error and modify. That can cost alot. sweat.gif

Your plan run haywire?
My plans looks good on paper but in actual result differ and turns out ugly then the principle I have apply... cool2.gif
If want to do reno do now. No later, later is never.
If do reno, do correctly, if see its wrong redo while its doable.
If sakit now (budget) let it sakit lor, no more next time sakit.

My plan are flexible, not haywire, just my budget haywire cry.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(ssshk @ Dec 23 2011, 02:22 PM)
1st colour, if ur fren having difficulty find ur house, u can say the brightest colour, that's the one..
No lah, after have to wear dark glasses to find my house tongue.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 6:49 pm
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 23 2011, 01:15 PM)
The correction looks so much better dude!!! Hope you didn't buy alot of the first colour.

Usually i'll buy a 1 litre tin to try before deciding on the colour.
Thanks biggrin.gif
Didn't think the colours could be that different from the catalog. shakehead.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 23 2011, 03:01 PM)
Every day is a birthday. That is good.
Everyday birthday, I'll grow old very fast lor... blink.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(limhm1 @ Dec 23 2011, 05:38 PM)
Your house is so big. Got more then 24 ft in width ??
Mid size lah ... 22' X 75' nod.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Dec 23 2011, 06:53 PM
TSphoenix69
post Dec 23 2011, 07:10 PM

1,836 posts

Updates...

More Lights (wanna make sure it will be darn bright) rclxm9.gif
Got my down lights, now its fluorescent lights.
After weighting all available pro and cons chose T8 (extra bright type) - the green colour edges is the extra bright type shocking.gif

My Ceiling Fans (Wanna make sure its darn windy liao tongue.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Dec 23 2011, 07:11 PM
adrianjc
post Dec 23 2011, 08:13 PM

898 posts

What Philips tubes are you using?
Daylight? Warm White?
TSphoenix69
post Dec 23 2011, 08:21 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 23 2011, 08:13 PM)
What Philips tubes are you using?
Daylight? Warm White?

Daylight of course as I am using it for cove light, so need super bright! rclxm9.gif
zheilwane
post Dec 24 2011, 12:29 AM

4,184 posts

Renovation Updates...

More Bloopers  rclxub.gif

Correction !!!!  thumbup.gif

Looks much nicer now.
weikee
post Dec 24 2011, 12:44 AM

12,019 posts

Color always lighter when paint out.
chamelion
post Dec 24 2011, 01:00 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Unless u have someone at house during day, it's better dont put doorbell for security reason. Just use a enclose at ur door switch.
Jo_da48
post Dec 24 2011, 01:30 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 23 2011, 07:10 PM)

My Ceiling Fans (Wanna make sure its darn windy liao  tongue.gif

why you select Rubina and Deka, is not either one of it will be better?

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Dec 24 2011, 01:30 AM
ozak
post Dec 24 2011, 08:05 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Dec 24 2011, 01:00 AM)
Unless u have someone at house during day, it's better dont put doorbell for security reason. Just use a enclose at ur door switch.
What is the security problem?
weikee
post Dec 24 2011, 08:15 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 24 2011, 08:05 AM)
What is the security problem?
Because some thief will press the bell to check if someone at home. But this things also happen without bell.

71 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:30 AM