4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The USB Drive / Thumb Drive Performance Thread, Pls Contribute !!

cybpsych
post Jun 14 2008, 08:47 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

Mod, please pin this topic wink.gif

Not all USB drives are created equal: Performance and reliability vary, but getting product specs for flash drives can be tricky.

An article by ComputerWorld...
CODE
http://tinyurl.com/3rcwvb

cybpsych
post Oct 3 2008, 06:07 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

most probably using MLC chips for the plain Voyager.

I'd wait for Voyager GT instead, since it's using SLC chips.

*no wonder Voyager GT 16GB is so cheap --> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=711543
cybpsych
post Oct 8 2008, 08:58 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

@luqe, are you sure the test is correct?

i mean, the write performance is terrible for Voyager GT series.

can you try ATTO Disk Benchmark too?

i'd like to compare my 4GB Voyager GT: 31MB/s (read) and 22MB/s (write) with ATTO Disk Benchmark...

even with 16GB size, it shouldn't be lower than previous GT sizes ...
cybpsych
post Oct 8 2008, 04:11 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

here's my Voyager GT 4GB's performance ...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=10878393

i'm quite surprised the 16GB version is a few MBs slower ..
cybpsych
post Oct 9 2008, 08:10 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

i see, it could be different type of flash chips used (which has lower write speed performance) ...
cybpsych
post Nov 25 2008, 04:54 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

yeah, that's the disadvantage of flash drives in transferring mix files. It'd be slower when during writing.

for better performance, it'd recommended to get performance drives (e.g. Voyager GT, Kingston HyperX Datatraveler, etc.) ...
cybpsych
post Jan 6 2009, 06:21 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

SANDISK LAUNCHES WORLD'S FIRST BUTTON BACKUP USB FLASH DRIVE

SanDisk Corporation today introduced an innovative new family of SanDisk® USB flash drives, including the world's first backup USB flash drive with simple backup software activation at the touch of a button. The SanDisk Ultra® Backup USB portable flash drive is the first offering of the company's new SanDisk Ultra USB product line. With capacities up to 64 gigabytes (GB), the SanDisk Ultra Backup USB flash drive is designed to protect computer users' photos, music, videos, personal and business documents, and other types of digital files, with the simple touch of a button. No software installation is needed. The drive protects onboard digital content with a dual layer of security, including password-protected access control and ultra-secure AES hardware-based encryption.

The new SanDisk USB product family includes three different product lines:

1) The popular SanDisk® Cruzer® USB flash drive which provides simple, reliable and portable storage, plus access to a variety of U3™ applications.

2) The SanDisk Ultra Backup USB flash drive offers the added protection and peace of mind consumers expect from the minds behind flash memory.

3) The SanDisk Extreme® Contour™ provides increased security protection and higher performance levels, enclosed in a sleek industrial design.

The new SanDisk USB flash drives will first become available in April 2009. The SanDisk Cruzer drive will be available in capacities of 4GB-32GB with MSRP's ranging between $24.99 and $99.99. The SanDisk Ultra Backup drive will be available in capacities of 8GB-64GB with MSRP's ranging between $39.99 and $199.99. The SanDisk Extreme Contour USB flash drive is available in major retailers today.

The SanDisk Cruzer drive includes a two-year limited warranty, the SanDisk Ultra Backup drive includes a five-year limited warranty, and the SanDisk Extreme Contour includes a lifetime limited warranty.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2009, 05:22 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

first two pics are SanDisk Ultra Backup ... 3rd pic is Sandisk Cruzer ...

http://www.sandisk.com/products/productdis...aspx?catid=1004
cybpsych
post Jan 24 2009, 11:32 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

i think there's local shops selling patriot xporter xt 32GB ...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16588265
cybpsych
post Mar 17 2009, 10:37 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

could be that Sandisk employs software-based caching in U3 ... i smell c-h-e-a-t-i-n-g smile.gif

that's why it's faster with the software in there, but totally sucked after removal ...

of tons of usb drives that I've tested during manufacturing usb drives, performance is very much dependant on the following:

1) mobo chipset (intel, amd, sis, via, nvidia <- i heard better)
2) usb drives' chipset (forgotten what's their names, but mostly made from Taiwan!)
3) flash chips (samsung, nanya, hynix, etc)
4) file system format (fat, fat32, ntfst)

think about it: choosing a usb drives is not easy at all! My best bet is get high-performance unit from reputable/branded names (my choice: Corsair Voyager GT, Kingston DataTraveler HyperX, Sandisk Countour, etc.)
cybpsych
post Mar 18 2009, 07:59 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

formatting removes EVERYTHING ...

but i still have doubts about reduced performance after removing U3 ... utterless nonsense (unless they really employs software-based mechanism to 'improve' the read/write speed) ...
cybpsych
post Mar 28 2009, 08:16 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

16gb USB Drive Comparison - 17 Drives Compared

http://www.testfreaks.com/blog/information...rives-compared/

Adata Sport Series RB19 16gb
Corsair Flash Voyager
HP USB Flash Drive v125W
Imation Swivel Flash Drive
Kingston Data Traveler100
Kingston DataTraveler HyperX
Memorex Traveldrive
OCZ Diesel
OCZ Throttle
Patriot Exporter XT
PNY Attache
PQI Traveling Disk 1221
Ridata EZdrive Lightning Series
Sandisk Cruzer Micro
Super Talent Pico-C
Transcend JetFlash Elite Enabled
Verbatim Store ‘n’ Go

cybpsych
post Apr 15 2009, 12:27 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 14 2009, 01:30 PM)
I guess its already > 1 year from purchase tongue.gif Anyway, i have just purchased an OCZ Rally2 8GB from karom and hope it has a good speed smile.gif Bumped across the Contour 16GB at RM160+ in PC Fair and had i not bought the OCZ, would have opted for that instead smile.gif
what's the price u got for the OCZ Rally2?

it seems the price is quite expensive, which deters me to buy it sad.gif
cybpsych
post Apr 27 2009, 09:38 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Apr 23 2009, 04:41 PM)
Come to think about it, I've lost many thumbdrives, all being left there and not unplugged.

This time, I'm gonna get a lanyard and tie it to my bag.
The Contour doesn't seem to have any holes to tie on, so I'm leaning on the Voyager GT, as there's a place to tie something on and it comes with a lanyard as well.

Anyways, I found a review on Kingmax u-drive 16GB, it's in chinese, but I don't know the accuracy of it. With Kingston DT100 doing 14.1MB/s write?
link
Can this one be trusted? Because, if it's accurate enough, these would be as close to those premium, faster drives at, 'normal' price
Contour comes with a leather pouch ... you can hang ur lanyard on the pouch, but not the unit (i think Sandisk classify Contour as high-end, classy pendrive) ....
cybpsych
post May 20 2009, 09:22 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

yes, Contour is better ... but more expensive ... if performance is what you're looking for (price does not matter), then get Contour wink.gif
cybpsych
post May 20 2009, 09:44 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

QUOTE(YiQi @ May 10 2009, 12:43 AM)
Just got my Apacer AH323 8GB today.

Here is the result test by ATTO
[attachmentid=954682]
not bad either .. one of the better ones wink.gif
cybpsych
post May 20 2009, 10:01 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

QUOTE(runner999 @ May 20 2009, 09:40 AM)
what is the current price for Sandisk Contour 16GB? i saw mostly RM200+ but i also saw one at RM170.. is the RM170 obsolete or.. ?
yeah, mostly 200++ ... to the seller who sells at RM170, try to contact him/her for more updated price ...

in fact, pm any of the sellers ... some may have not updated the price list *or* it's old price when they stock up their inventory (aka can't go down)...
cybpsych
post Jul 6 2009, 08:02 PM

---------------------
65,348 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 6 2009, 06:21 PM)
SANDISK LAUNCHES WORLD'S FIRST BUTTON BACKUP USB FLASH DRIVE
SanDisk Ultra Backup USB Flash Drive - Review http://bit.ly/yVDso
cybpsych
post Jul 7 2009, 09:05 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

the answer is in the review if you read it.
cybpsych
post Jul 27 2009, 10:28 AM

---------------------
65,348 posts

most probably it's screwed liao ...

try plugging it to other system.

Skymedi is the *actual* chipset manufacturer. When they OEM their chipsets to Kingston, it comes with an initilization software to low-level format the drives according to their client's specs (in this case, Kingston).

That's why ur brand new unit is labelled as Kingston, etc. etc.

It is also these OEM application that forged units are made too (unbelievable 64/128GB sold at 1GB's price, remember those con cases?)

on a sub-standard, cheapo drives, sometimes and somehow it was *reset* back to OEM settings. <-- this is a very tricky process because only Kingston can restore it!

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0343sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:19 AM