Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V2, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

fruitie
post Sep 2 2011, 07:36 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Sep 2 2011, 07:07 PM)
but amex has quite a high exchange rate compared to visa/master cc
so really i reckon using visa/master is stil better than amex what do u all think?
hmm.gif You have a point there too.
But I only use it during weekends to maximise the weekend cash rebate and not forgetting the 5xTP.
From my recent transaction, it shows RM 3.047 = USD 1.00
Still OK la...
If normal days, I think VISA/MasterCard is a better choice.

By the way guys, I need your help. My statement date is every month's 24th and due date is the following month's 13th.
I just want to pay for transactions that captured before 24th. As for the rest, I'll pay in next month since those are considered next month's transactions, no point clearing them now. tongue.gif

01-Sep-2011 01-Sep-2011 VINCCI JUSCO SEREMBAN 2 SEREMBAN MY RM44.10
01-Sep-2011 31-Aug-2011 CASH REBATE RM3.50
25-Aug-2011 20-Aug-2011 PAYPAL USA US US$23.00 RM70.08
24-Aug-2011 24-Aug-2011 STARBUCKS-SOOKA SENTRAL KUALA LUMPUR MY RM28.60
19-Aug-2011 19-Aug-2011 PASTA ZANMAI MID VALLEY KUALA LUMPUR MY RM106.70
17-Aug-2011 16-Aug-2011 PP*xxxxCODE USA US US$1.95 RM5.96
01-Aug-2011 31-Jul-2011 CASH REBATE RM17.74
31-Jul-2011 31-Jul-2011 YE OLDE SMOKEHOUSE HOTEL CAMERON HIGHLMY RM49.30

I'll pay those in bold, how about the cash rebate of RM 3.50 can I offset when I pay before 13th? I always have this doubt so far I didn't offset and leave it for next month's bill.

fruitie
post Sep 2 2011, 08:16 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 2 2011, 08:02 PM)
just pay what is stated as your statement balance. That is the amount that you must pay and it reflects all transactions prior to the statement date.

on the cash rebate think the jury is still out on that one. M2U does track it as a payment but is it all that necessary to risk getting charged interest over not paying RM3.50 (up to RM50)?
Thanks for the info! Now I know which figure to pay. biggrin.gif
I actually manual calculated all this while luckily no interest charged to me. Phew. tongue.gif

It seems M2U will capture the PayPal payment in next month's billing.
25-Aug-2011 20-Aug-2011 PAYPAL USA US US$23.00 RM70.08

Because the statement balance doesn't include the above transaction, must be due to the posting date (after 24th). biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 2 2011, 08:16 PM
fruitie
post Sep 2 2011, 08:32 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 2 2011, 08:22 PM)
you can deduct the cash back from your statement balance
i've been doing that all this while and it's fine
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 2 2011, 08:24 PM)
The rebate given on the END of the month is considered as Payment to your outstanding balance.
basically you can pay less the rebate you received.

eg.
Statement amount as of 24 August = RM2000
Rebate received on 31 August = RM50
So, you should pay RM1950 before 13 September.
Oh, so no interest will be charged eh? Cool. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Sep 6 2011, 08:16 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

I got called twice from AmEx, first for my Dell purchase and when I linked my PayPal account... hmm.gif
fruitie
post Sep 6 2011, 10:00 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Sep 6 2011, 09:14 AM)
i think mostly they will cal you if u did internet transaction
I bought Flickr Pro account but they didn't call, much cheaper than linking my AmEx to Paypal. tongue.gif
Not sure on which basis they will call and verify. hmm.gif

QUOTE(maiffa71 @ Sep 6 2011, 09:31 AM)
which one to get? MC or Visa...need advice!
It is basically the same thing but I think now by default it is MasterCard...
I chose for VISA and caused a lot of hassles for me (i.e. sent me the wrong card). sweat.gif
fruitie
post Sep 6 2011, 01:54 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 6 2011, 01:41 PM)
my whole yr expenses oso less than that tongue.gif
Me too. That's why we didn't get free iPad2 from Maybank. laugh.gif tongue.gif
fruitie
post Sep 7 2011, 08:30 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(sweeseng85 @ Sep 7 2011, 03:09 AM)
HI , i got one question .

If i using this maybank2 card Amex to online purchase through the paypal on weekend ...is it still got 5 % discount ??
Yes, tried before and I got 5% cash back. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Sep 7 2011, 08:44 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:31 AM)
Just ensure that it's being processed and the transaction date falls within weekend. Just quote an example of Dell Online, they process it on weekdays.
Yes, I bought my stuffs on 20th August (Saturday) but only posted on my online statement on 25th (Thursday).
Luckily they captured the transaction date on 20th. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Sep 7 2011, 11:22 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(estage9 @ Sep 7 2011, 11:10 AM)
ohhhhh, then I should ask Maybank to increase my CL
Maybank is very stingy when it comes to increasing CL...
fruitie
post Sep 9 2011, 06:06 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(edwardc @ Sep 9 2011, 06:00 PM)
Hey guys. Ive just collected my Maybankard 2 Gold today. But noticed that both also tak ada VISA logo oh. And am going Europe next month, boleh pakai ah?
MasterCard + AmEx?
fruitie
post Sep 9 2011, 08:27 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(edwardc @ Sep 9 2011, 08:17 PM)
Yeap. Mastercard plus Amex oh... Means?

So ok in Europe? Or dont need worry since got Amex? Haha
Why not, they are widely accepted?
How can you get VISA on a MC and AmEx? laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 14 2011, 11:05 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Sep 14 2011, 10:13 PM)
Hey would like to know is there any rebate if i use Amex to pump petrol during weekend?
Yes, as long as that the station accepts AmEx, then you will get the rebate.

QUOTE(lamode @ Sep 14 2011, 10:16 PM)
would like to know if u are a baby looking for spoon feed?  doh.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Sep 14 2011, 10:48 PM)
another spoon feed thread
pls always refer to the first post
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 14 2011, 10:59 PM)
I don't know... go ask Maybank.
You guys are so mean wei. sweat.gif
fruitie
post Sep 17 2011, 03:02 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(boonykun @ Sep 17 2011, 02:25 AM)
Just one question >.<

Due to the "Extreme" Usage of meh and my dad with MBB2Amex where always can hit more then 3k just for spending on weekends, i have decided to get one for myself, called service center to ask for card application and they have mentioned that the approval within 60 minutes is no longer valid.

It is only valid on Treats fair only previously...

Then how would it be? sad.gif sad.gif i wanna apply tomorrow leh... sad.gif sad.gif

Any person who can confirm on this case? smile.gif

thanks.
Service Centre definitely cannot get la, it takes weeks. sweat.gif
Go to 1U and get it done within 60 minutes. smile.gif
Just make sure you bring all the required documents and you are off to good. smile.gif
fruitie
post Sep 20 2011, 10:04 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Sep 20 2011, 07:47 PM)
i was just trying to link CC with my paypal account
but normally how long does it take before the statement appear at m2u?
Mine takes about 2 1/2 working days. smile.gif
fruitie
post Sep 23 2011, 11:51 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Sep 23 2011, 11:42 AM)
Just received a call from MB, offer Amex+master, just wondering how they obtained my information? Anyway, it save the hustle for me to go and apply, but have to wait at least 2 weeks for my cards to arrived.
Yes, I also went through the route. The convenient part is all documents are not needed and etc. smile.gif
But the drawback is the waiting time is dreadfully. You gotta do constant follow up with them. smile.gif
fruitie
post Sep 23 2011, 12:05 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Sep 23 2011, 12:02 PM)
make sure they send to correct address, if not you have to spend money traveling all the way back to ur hometown just to get the card tongue.gif
Yes. Though I have constantly reminded them not to deliver it to my hometown, get it sent to my office instead... Yet, eventually those cards were delivered to my hometown address. doh.gif doh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 26 2011, 02:25 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Sep 26 2011, 12:57 PM)
how about installment for 12 months? Would it split to 12 months?
If I going to buy a Dell laptop worth RM6k, would the cash bank and treatspoints for RM6k online purchasing fully utilize on the first month or split to 12 months (RM500 per month)?
First and foremost, Dell will not process during this weekend. (self-experience)
Secondly, AmEx is not eligible for Dell installment.
fruitie
post Sep 27 2011, 05:42 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Sep 27 2011, 05:17 PM)
it seems i'm havin trouble paying purchases for groupon via paypall. it kept saying to include the CC info of which i already had it verified by payapall. u guys can do so?
You PayPal is registered with AmEx?
fruitie
post Sep 27 2011, 05:58 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Sep 27 2011, 05:51 PM)
yea , transaction not able is it?
It is not eligible for transaction in MYR only in USD. smile.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top