QUOTE(firee818 @ Aug 4 2011, 11:28 AM)
Off Shore = In the middle of the sea. Those oil-rigs platform.Income Tax Issues v2
Income Tax Issues v2
Aug 4 2011, 11:40 AM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
Aug 4 2011, 11:44 AM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(takr @ Aug 4 2011, 10:55 AM) Hi all, Refer attached "Explanatory Notes BE 2008.pdf", item D8C (page 6/12)Out of curiosity, would buying dumbbells, medicine ball and say protein powder count under sports equipment? Can it be considered for bodybuilding activities? D8C PURCHASE OF SPORTS EQUIPMENT QUOTE An amount limited to a maximum of RM300 is deductible in respect of expenses expended by the individual for the purchase of sports equipment for any sports activity as defined under the Sports Development Act 1997. Sports equipment includes equipment with short lifespan e.g. golf balls and shuttlecocks but excluding sports attire, e.g. swimsuits and sports shoes. Under the Sports Development Act 1997 (Act-576), these are regarded as sports: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Therefore, dumbbells and medicine balls are deductible. Protein powder (food/water/nutritions) are not. Clothes, shoes, socks, belts, also cannot. I'm trying to attach two PDFs into LYN, but always timed-out. You may refer the first doc here (post #2201) The second doc is the Sports Development Act 1997 (can't upload here) |
Aug 4 2011, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(hockster @ Aug 4 2011, 04:45 PM) The LHDN Officer told me that, there is a kind of Offshore worker taxation, I wonder how is it look like? Anybody know what is offshore worker taxation rate? I suggest you to get more info from the LHDN officer on "Offshore worker taxation". Most of my offshore friends which are Malaysian told me that, they're earning foreign currency, and the currency conversion from the bank are considered blood sucking by the govern. and Not a valid reason. My company is not registered under Malaysia firm, so its not taxable by LHDN. False. It does not matter if the company is registered in M'sia or not. While I'm bring in foreign currency into Malaysia, which mean I'm already (considered) contribute to the country.. Not a valid reason. If my income is still taxable by LHDN, it would be pain in the assss.... Then, declare your income elsewhere in the world. Cayman Island ? Bahamas ? British Virgin Island ? Monaco ? etc. Then you have proof to LHDN, again ensure the countries you selected has Double Taxation Agreement. Otherwise, you will be taxed again by LHDN, even though you have declared you tax elsewhere. And annually i work 6-8mths, how to declare my income? because when I'm back in Malaysia I dont get pay.and what if i work only 4 mths a year? My salary is daily consolidate, which mean i get paid when i work, if i sit at home, i dont get a single cent. Again, not valid reason. Even if I work contract 1 week for rm200k, and then I rest 51 weeks. My 1 week 200k income is still taxable @ 26% Added on August 4, 2011, 5:24 pmI know it sucks to pay 26% max when the person can pay around 15% in HK/SG. That is why the govt needs to introduce GST to tax people on the consumption, rather than the income. Then the income tax % can be lowered. This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 4 2011, 05:24 PM |
Aug 10 2011, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(samquah @ Aug 10 2011, 07:03 PM) i called them 2 weeks ago Follow up with LHDN at least once a week by tel call.they just left my file withot processing i think they lazy liao until now still no refund@! For each call, get the person's name, and write it down, together with date and time. If there is refund, it is your right to get it back. |
Aug 24 2011, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 24 2011, 05:07 PM) Hi all.. 1) Call up and ask them whether they want to meet you up (with who, at which branch, date and time), or just snail-mail to them. If mail, remember to make photocopy to keep yourself.1) I got letter from lhdn, asking me to present them the original document for home loan interest.. anyway, it doesn't matter what document.. the letter said "sila kemukakan salinan asal ... bla bla", but not a single line in the letter mentioning whether I should come to their office, or should I mail it to them.. So, what should I do? go to lhdn? or mail them the document? 2) Another thing is, the letter mentions that I must give (kemukakan) document within 30 days from the date of the letter. But I received the letter 3 weeks after the date on the later.. So, I only got 1 week? and especially, raya holiday is near.. everywhere is holiday already.. should I ignore the timeline? Tq. 2) Today is Wed. LHDN is working on Thu, Fri, next Monday and also next Fri (provided is not public holiday). Don't give excuse. I'm sure you have time to go yamcha, clubbing, shopping, dinner with friends/family, etc. If you think settling LHDN is not that important, then just ignore it and do your other personal matters first. |
Sep 5 2011, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 5 2011, 12:03 PM) Yes. For 2011 deductions, the assessment will be done next year Jan-Mar. Therefore, once you get your EA forms and all other docs, just submit as early as possible, e.g. early Jan. You'll get back the extra money (if any) faster. |
Oct 24 2011, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Oct 22 2011, 12:48 PM) Hi, A simple example below:I am a fresh grad and I think I have to pay income tax soon. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « From the table, the income tax to be paid is based on our annual income right? The annual income is inclusive of the allowances in salary or only the basic of salary? The tax reliefs, for example, RM500 (max) for broadband, we deduct that RM500 from our annual income together with other tax reliefs, then the balance will be match to the table above to determine how much tax to be paid? Thanks for answering my questions in advance =) Your annual gross income + bonus + special + etc. = RM36,000 Your rental + dividend + direct sales + any other income = RM15,000 Total = RM51,000 Less : 9k? relief, other deductions like broadband, books, insurance/epf, etc. let's say RM13,000 Taxable amount = 51k - 13k = 38k Refer your table 35k-50k On the first 35k = 1,525 Next 15k = 12% x (38k-35k) = 360 Total tax payable = 1525 + 360 = RM1,885 |
Oct 25 2011, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Oct 25 2011, 10:30 AM) hi I want to ask right, currently I'm working with my dad, salary not fix. sometime 3k sometime 1.5k depend the business. so should I pay income tax in this situation? bit usuallly more than 1.9k. You may not be taxable, but however, I suggest you to start early to DECLARE your income tax only. It is useful if you wish to apply loan/credit/car in future. Start to collect the salary slip, kwsp (if got), etc. so that you can declare in Jan-Apr 2012 (for year 2011). If you don't have an income tax file yet, just go LHDN and enquire to open one.e.g. Jan 2011 1.5k Feb 3k Mar 1.5k Apr 3k May 1.5k Jun 3k Jul 1.5k Aug 3k Sep 1.5k Oct 3k Nov 1.5k Dec 3k Total income for year 2011 = 27k Less: Self relief, EPF/medical insurance/etc., let's say 12k Taxable income = 27k-12k = 15k On First 10k = Tax RM175 Next 10k @3% = (15k-10k) x 3% = RM150 Total taxable = 175+150 = RM325 Less: tax rebate RM400 (for those below 36k p.a.) = -RM75 (means you no need pay tax |
Nov 16 2011, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(schnapps @ Nov 14 2011, 10:54 PM) hi experts, need some advice and directions. I got my tax refund mid of this year, however today I received a letter from lhdn stating that I am audited and to produce the relevant receipts. I am puzzled at this. my computer claim is somewhat fake and my first payment for internet line was only due in Jan 2011. can I still produce this receipt? how can I go about this? why am I audited only after receiving my tax return? *Beep Beep Beep* All red lights flashing !!! *Woot Woot Woot*Seriously: (1) LHDN can audit any of your income, up to 7 years history, whether you declare or not declare. (2) Computer claim - good luck. Goto LYP or LYN forum and try to get a valid backdated receipt, buy (3) Internet line - good luck. You can try *fake* the receipt. But if LHDN go deep down and contact the telco, your payment will not be in the system. (4) There is two things you can't avoid in life: death and taxes. (5) Suggest you to surrender to LHDN. i.e. wrong declaration. They will recalculate the extra taxes you need to pay, and also may fine (denda) you. |
Nov 21 2011, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(sheng @ Nov 19 2011, 03:34 PM) hi guys, need some advice because im really blur in things related to tax.. Wrong place here to check if you already have an existing file.my new employer requested me for my tax file number but i have nv file any tax b4..my previous salary did not reach 2500 per month so i nv bother..but i still remember there was once in my pay slip that my salary was deducted to pay tax.. my previous employer gave me the EA slip..but how do i check the tax file number? Call up LHDN if they allow you to check over phone. or email them. or goto their counter. Bring MyKad. |
Nov 30 2011, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Nov 29 2011, 11:09 PM) If he has nothing to hide, i.e. clean, just bring everything. Showhand with LHDN. Nothing to scare. Worse case is LHDN claim he didn't submit BE/B form for YA2006 only.If like that, just submit (late submission) and small fine (RM50?) only. Otherwise, if win, walk out clean. However, if he has other side-income or undeclared/under-declared... then good luck Or perhaps those local stock market dividends I was audited once, I asked them why me, they claimed it is random. Brought all docs / receipts / etc. Showhand with them. They can't bite in at all, not even small chew |
Dec 20 2011, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(stacko @ Dec 19 2011, 06:13 PM) All the while me and my wifes' tax files are maintained perfectly. Every piece of documents that relates to LHDN is kept in my file. Every year the total deductions will be more than tax amount, hence every year I get tax refunds. I would stick to "Innocent until proven guilty". Hence, stick to your gun. Write an official letter and submit to LHDN, preferable hand-in yourself at counter (print out 2 copies), and ask them chop-received on the other copy (you keep). Ask them to explain in detail how they come up with the RM6.Recently, my wife got a letter from LHDN stating that she owes RM6 for 2004 assessment. I helped my wife to write a letter, attaching all the LHDN Statements and Refund Vouchers to ask how the RM6 came about. Well, the answer that my wife got from LHDN is that they are doing a random audit and found an imbalance amount in my wife's account. But they are unable to tell how they arrive at the amount. Even though they refund overpaid tax for 2003, 2004 & 2005 respectively. While I do not mind paying the RM6 which is really a small sum, I am suspicious with the way LHDN came up with such claim in year 2011 for 2004 assessment. They can simply come up with such claim for a number of tax payers to cover up the shortfall in collection for the current year. As long as they can't come up, don't pay. |
Dec 29 2011, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Dec 29 2011, 04:37 PM) hello, there are few questions i want to ask: Just proceed buy whatever you want, as long as the numbers sound logical (explain more below).i have worked for 2 year (started from 2010) but i never declare my income tax...june of 2011 i bought a car and now i am applying loan for a house...but the question is i never declare income tax and i would like to declare now...any consequences for my situation? should i give up my loan and declare first? Ok, you need to declare in year 2012 (for year assessment 2011) before end-Apr 2012. Inside that form, you can declare for previous year, i..e year assessment 2010 (the year you start work). Declaration is based on calendar year (Jan-Dec) as per stated in your slips/receipts/etc. Income & Loan, in case LHDN audit you. (i) If you earn 30k per year, and you pay total downpayment 40k -> obviously illogical, right ? Of course you can claim your parents help you pay 50%-100% of it. Fine. But LHDN may drag your parents in and audit their income tax declarations also. If your parents are clear (no evade / under-declare / not declare), then there is nothing to worry about. Otherwise ... (ii) If you earn 30k per year, and you pay total downpayment 30k. Ok what ? -> illogical also. No one can save all their income. What about EPF,Socso, insurance, etc. ? What about your daily expenses for food, clothing, etc. ? Again, you can claim your parents/sister/brother help you. Fine. LHDN may drag your parents/bro/sis in and audit ... -> I got interest, etc. from Fixed Deposit, etc. Fine. LHDN may ask for details on this and the source of money (fraud ? money laundering ? etc.) (iii) If you earn 30k per year, and you pay total downpayment <20k. Ok right ? -> Yes, this sounds logical enough. |
Jan 6 2012, 11:55 AM
Ok, can't find my previous post, maybe get nuked. Repost again.
Refer Explanatory Notes BE 2008.pdf
Explanatory_Notes_BE_2008.pdf ( 185.34k )
Number of downloads: 39QUOTE D8C PURCHASE OF SPORTS EQUIPMENT An amount limited to a maximum of RM300 is deductible in respect of expenses expended by the individual for the purchase of sports equipment for any sports activity as defined under the Sports Development Act 1997. Sports equipment includes equipment with short lifespan e.g. golf balls and shuttlecocks but excluding sports attire, e.g. swimsuits and sports shoes. So, what does Sports Development Act 1997 covers ? Refer Act 576.pdf (page 23) First Schedule (section 2)
Act_576.pdf ( 53.7k )
Number of downloads: 45» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Feb 13 2012, 03:40 PM
Feb 28 2012, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(lostasylum @ Feb 28 2012, 04:32 PM) sigh, our gomen must be darn broke. first they alleged that i didn't declare everything and said that unless i can furnish the documents of my house loan, and my EA form, they will charge me extra (can't remember how much but it was a few hundred RM). Congrats. They are starting to audit you.i called them up, scanned copies of the all documents and sent it to them last month. i just got another mail from them now asking for my documents for 2005, 2006, and 2008.... what the heck man.... Anyway, if all your past 7 years docs are in order, there is nothing to worry. If there are fake deductions or no proof or i-dont-know submissions ... kantoi |
Feb 29 2012, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 29 2012, 03:37 PM) I started work on 1 Dec 2011 (first job in Malaysia). As suggested, too rush to get a new file for YA2011 (to declare in 2012), since IRB will be busy with their system, setting up counters, weekend work, etc.The company did not deduct PCB for me that month. Jan and Feb I got deducted PCB. But on my payslip the "tax file number" is left blank. So what actually happens to my tax prepayment? Do I need to file for income tax for 2011? Is my company supposed to apply for a tax file for me? Wait until after June 2012, then go get a new file from LHDN office. Or maybe by that time, your finance/HR already get for you and print on payslip. Then wait Mar 2013 to declare (using the new file number) for YA2012. In that form, there is a section where you can fill up for past-year un-declared income. So you can fill up Dec-2011 and xxx salary, this (Dec-2011) won't get taxed since just one month income for YA2011. QUOTE(bumble_b33 @ Feb 29 2012, 06:15 PM) Hello All, Also, as suggested, Sdn Bhd is not as simple as Sole Prop. You need to close account, audit sign off, secretary fees, etc. If you can setup a Sdn Bhd, do not save on the ~2k expenses p.a.I am new to this thread, just wonder how i claim or submit my income tax for business company (Sdn. Bhd) ? By doing myself can save cost by pay an accountant fees right ? Any suggestion or link for steps / which document needed to keep is pretty much appreciated. Thanks Bee After all, the liability of directors in Sdn Bhd and Sole Prop is the same. Why you want to setup Sdn. Bhd., right ? If can setup, surely can afford the extra cost for the additional paperwork. |
Mar 1 2012, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 1 2012, 10:20 AM) Feb salary, yes got already. If you want to do proper tax filing, declare Dec-2011 also. Also got PCB deduction, no problems with this. When you mean apply for YA 2012 tax file, means when do I actually go and apply for it? My company said at the end of this year, they will print out some form (didn't catch what the HR said) and will apply for tax file for me. Also, the prepaid tax deduction from my company does not follow the schedule 2010 on hasil's website. My company is using computer generated payslip, and I got deducted about RM6 more. Added on March 1, 2012, 10:26 am Thank you! I will keep tracking, but my payslip the finance officer only print once every few months. Feb pay already got, but payslip not yet receive. I only received my Dec '11 and Jan '12 payslip in mid Feb. :S I can tell you if you get audited deep down, it is so easy to find your income in 2011, e.g. LHDN can ask KWSP for all your EPF contribution Monthly PCB +/- RM10-20 or even RM20-100+ is quite normal, especially on the month you receive extra commission, bonus, etc. Just let it be. Submit your tax once a year and you'll get all those numbers sorted out. Then you can either get back some money from LHDN (over-deduct on PCB) or top-up to pay the tax (under-deduct). QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 1 2012, 11:06 AM) I don't think can skip the Dec 2011 income, anyway for me it doesn't matter. Officially, it follows 1 computer receipt. Choose the more expensive one.Because after deduct off the FY2011 personal relief, I don't have to pay for anything for FY2011. I do prefer to just do everything proper, so that hasil doesn't come after me and even if they do I have proof that I did everything correctly. on a side note, the question about whether we purchase 2 or more computers, can we claim a total of RM3000 relief or is it just 1 computer? Also, I went through hasil's website, but it doesn't state much about combined/spouse tax filing and their allowances/relief. I can only find the rebate @ RM400 per person. Next question assuming this scenario: This year wife not working but there are shares under her name. So tax vouchers are under her name. Can we do joint assessment? Or would separate assessment be better? If we do joint assessment for the year, in future if she starts working, can she then do individual assessment? Unless the computer shop is willing to help you on the invoice as 1 PC = RM3,000. This year wife not working (YA2012) , will only submit next year 2013. If you mean your wife not working in 2011 (YA), then do a combined assessment. Yes, if she starts working again, then can do separate assessment. There is a tickbox in page 1 or 2 of the form. |
Mar 2 2012, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Mar 2 2012, 02:25 PM) Depending on the insurer, like Prudential, the annual statement has breakdown on Life insurance and Medical insurance.Therefore, under that 6k portion, it is for : EPF + Life Insurance = maximum 6k totaled up. Medical insurance = maximum 3k |
Mar 2 2012, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Mar 2 2012, 03:32 PM) i think a lot don't read what i'm asking or don't get what i'm saying so i'll say it again - I have the annual statement with the breakdown on both life insurance and medical insurance. My initial question was: I have bought personal insurance AND MLTA housing insurance. Both have separate statements stating the amount of life insurance and medical insurance. Now - my question is simple - is it alright to add BOTH The medical insurance (for personal insurance PLUS housing MLTA insurance FOR MEDICAL)? My agent told me this should be fine, but I'm having doubts which is why I asked. As answered above by someone else, if you are unsure, go ask LHDN. Not LYN.Otherwise, if unsure (in doubt), do NOT put it in. |
| Change to: | 0.0439sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:13 AM |