°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

iphone
post Jun 13 2011, 12:32 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ForgottenMemories @ Jun 13 2011, 12:24 PM)
The inside area of the wheels of my Insight are brownish. Don't know whether it is rust or is it normal with all cars or what. Anyone having the same thing? As in, if you look into the wheel spokes, the area about 8cm inside then you can notice the brown area.
Yeah that's the worst part, its known as brake rotor/disc. The edge is forever rusty make our new car ugly.
iphone
post Jun 13 2011, 07:39 PM

191 posts

Wow infinitium!!..how did that happened? That's one scary meltdown man. Bulb poped out from the casing?! As in comes off ..or dropped deeper into the light housing?
iphone
post Jun 14 2011, 09:53 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Jun 14 2011, 07:54 AM)
How is your right lamp? You should carefully observe it and see if there's any symptoms of melting. In a lot of case, the housing itself cant withstand excessive temperature from these aftermarket bulb. Which some are very, very hot. Ask waja owners experience. sweat.gif

Tell us if there right site is doing ok and didnt melt after extended use. We're looking forward for HID too. Thanks for your RnD biggrin.gif
Well I have been using mine for 2 weeks plus, so far so good no issue. I guess his case was caused by the installer for not mounting the bulb properly. The dismounted bulb then touches the reflector and melting it eventually.

Added on June 14, 2011, 9:55 am
QUOTE(infinitium @ Jun 14 2011, 07:38 AM)

final connection - replacing the existing thin grounding cables our cars come with.

Whats that additional thin grounding wire doing there?

This post has been edited by iphone: Jun 14 2011, 09:55 AM
iphone
post Jun 14 2011, 02:35 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(antisushi @ Jun 14 2011, 02:31 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, my brother had contacted the SA just now and told me that the tinting will be done in M'sia at the branch. He said some tinting will be done in Japan that suit the Japanese weather and if we like to have a more suitable tinting for our tropical weather, the branch is offering their tinting service. My brother didn't bother to ask about their tinting specs once he knew it'll be done by the branch. So now I think I'd do it somewhere else that receives good recommendation by the lowyat forumers.
I'm curious, since the car is tinted in Japan, so if I'd do tinting in Msia, would they have to remove the original tint upon installing a new one, or double tinted it?
Cheers.
There is no tint film on the car. The UV heat rejection windows are coated into the glass itself.
iphone
post Jun 14 2011, 10:25 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(infinitium @ Jun 14 2011, 08:30 PM)
bro, so far no issues - all working fine. the lamp is not overheating, and my HIDs are now fitted in correctly, staying in place. quite happy w/my HIDs... though part of me feels they can STILL be brighter (probably our projector headlamp housing not 100% suitable for HIDs, since it doesn't reflect HIDs 100% completely... am seeing some spillover light at the sides... but that's just me being picky kua smile.gif
Hi, make sure you do the headlamp calibration correctly. They are quite far off. I did mine slowly and the intensity is really good now. The 2 main flood spots were highly visible and throw coverage were nicely spread out too.
iphone
post Jun 15 2011, 06:47 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Jun 15 2011, 12:39 AM)
Although most owner here would say yes, i would say no...

U will have to re-learn to view the meters in front of driver rather than on center of dashboard

If u're too use to the softly sprung vios (with significant body-roll when cornering), Insight spring are firmer. I afraid u will take corner faster than before and facing higher chance to overshoot.

When the car almost overshoot, the VSA will kick in to stabilize the car. Since u're not use to VSA, u might be surprise with the VSA indication (some beeps sound and indicator light blinking) and it would make u panic.

Other than that, when drive normally u will find the Insight auto climate control with multi direction blower mode set to leg, your leg will be chilled. Even worst, there were air-duct under front seats channeling cold air to your passenger. Passenger leg also cold....

U could felt too comfortable and loose your focus on highway when u set the cruise control and both leg free while cruising.

The worst reason for all of us, after few years and done with this car, we could only buy cars with very low fc coz we've already used to fill-less travel-more. U could have this issue also.

*this is my longest sarcastic comment ever. Go get it.
hahaha laugh.gif

You missed out some bro...for eg. you might get a shock when the wiper clean the windshield automatically when rain fall. The lights comes on when it gets dark. The auto cruise make you burn lesser calories. S#*t your own pants when the engine cuts while you stop at the lights. Making calls to service centre "why ar when I start the engine..no cranking sound one?" sweat.gif
iphone
post Jul 5 2011, 04:07 PM

191 posts

yay..my Supertone landed!

iphone
post Jul 5 2011, 04:44 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Jul 5 2011, 04:40 PM)
how m uch did it cost you?
RM150 for the horn + Rm 100 for postage. Heavy hell ..and hehe now the OEM horn is like a toy ! blink.gif
iphone
post Jul 5 2011, 04:50 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Jul 5 2011, 04:46 PM)
wow....helluva postage fees....i think i better settle for stebel horns then...hehe! i bet your's is loud right?
Actually I dont mind the paying for the postage as long as I can get 'good' stuff that are difficult or impossible to find locally. The insured package weight about 1.5kg all the way from Amazon USA , I think its fairly reasonable.
iphone
post Jul 6 2011, 08:12 AM

191 posts

to those wondering how much difference in size! LOL

iphone
post Jul 6 2011, 03:07 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 6 2011, 02:31 PM)
can take out the original horn and replace with just one of these? and without doing any extra wiring work?
Safer to run them with a relay since they draw 5.5A each. Its easy to DIY, our car is negative ground, use the existing wire to trigger the relay that draw (fused) power directly from the battery.

drool.gif this horn damn shiok !! Freaking loud !! thumbup.gif
iphone
post Jul 30 2011, 09:19 AM

191 posts

Hey guys, guess I wont be using the coil boot mat (bought from Shorty) so I am letting it go

Anyone interested just drop me a PM.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0447sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:01 AM