4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

-+♦+- LYN PROTON PERSONA CLUB V18.88 -+♦+-

Cavino
post Jun 1 2011, 11:17 PM

841 posts

Personally I would not suggest mod straight when get new car.

Suggest to drive stock for a couple of months, make sure car is free of engine trouble and get the feel out of stock ride. Then only can feel new mods makes any difference. If not, when there is problem, might be harder to identify if it comes from the mod or engine defects.
Cavino
post Jun 1 2011, 11:37 PM

841 posts

Do note that Open Pod do lower the top speed quite a bit tho low end torque improves.

Need to have good CAI built tho coz if air too hot, it negates all improvement and actually decrease the performance instead. Open pod generally dirtied the throttle more easily. The price of mods.
Cavino
post Jun 1 2011, 11:43 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Jun 1 2011, 11:42 PM)
I'm sure ckdenion is talking about drop in air filter as I'm the one who's selling it to him.
Ooops...I tot you're using open pod..
Cavino
post Jun 3 2011, 10:25 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jun 2 2011, 11:54 PM)
guess wad...my car hvnt reach 100km already got prob! d legendary IAFM problem most likely...
Cialat lor.....that is EXACTLY what I'm afraid when I go for Proton. Already told my workmates I might be taking a day off here and there within the next few months.....coz I'm preparing the new ride to masuk Kilang a few times before stabilizing....but pray pray not so fast like you....

My H-Line car should be out on Sat. Some more ask SA to tint VKool Elite before pass to me. Removing the cheapskate Safetint, also worried if removing tint will also killed the rear demister too...no one can garantee but better do it while seat still wrap in plastic.
Cavino
post Jun 3 2011, 10:51 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(Bryaner @ Jun 3 2011, 10:30 AM)
congratz bro=D H-line wat color ya?  brows.gif
Silver...yes, the standard Malaysian fav due to our weather. Thinking of the beautiful chiffon green but prefer to keep out the heat, practicality wins over.

All my cars are silver, boring, right....but I notice since I used Magic Glare service, I've maintained mirror like shining-ness on my City even after 5 years. Looks as good as new as long as don't walk near and see the minor stone chipping, dents, scratches, etc.

I still remember when an uncle ask "new car ar"....oh...err...no...its 4 years old liao. (I'm also an uncle, but this one more older...ah pek)...

Added on June 3, 2011, 11:18 amErr...I always see COSE from Kesas but how to turn in arr....google map showed turning right from (Klang) Shah Alam overhead and then a whole long stretch of backroads before reaching COSE thru the back.

Can't remember, any way to turn directly to COSE thru Kesas.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 3 2011, 11:21 AM
Cavino
post Jun 3 2011, 11:57 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Jun 3 2011, 11:33 AM)
got free GPS from proton since u get H -l ine.. eh... the magic glare .. whats the purpose ?
Oh the GPS...I forgot abt that...

As for magic glare, a car polishing service, quite expensive RM488 for persona. Hit 5 layers of sealent onto car, can withstand 1.5 to 2 years without polishing (garantee with cert). Car very shiny after EVERY wash. Water beads on cars rather than whole stain, dirt wash off very easily and best of all, swirling damage can be polished off coz got 5 layers of protective sealent before it hit the paint. Extremely useful for dark colored cars.

If use normal wax and polish, not so good coz polish makan cat and the wax wash off after a few wash.
Cavino
post Jun 3 2011, 01:36 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jun 3 2011, 12:35 PM)
rm488 for persona to last 2 years and with warranty..?  hmm.gif rajin abit go wash car n then see how it is. laugh.gif
Ya...I know its expensive especially for proton cars but I'm indiscriminate if it comes to car care. Proton Wira also I care like baby, City and Civic same treatment. Why....becoz I cannot afford to keep buying cars. My cars has to last me for years.

I normally wash car like 1 month once.....very rajin wan....not rajin time....2 month once. So need really good protective sealent to prevent my car paint from going dull in a few years time. It works heaven when car got scratches due to the extra layers sealent that won't come off unlike wax.

Put it this way, even my wife commented my silver 2006 City do stand out when park with any other silver 2008 City so far....very obvious and striking.....why...becoz it's shining like a mirror...almost. Makes a few other City park beside my car...look dull.

Magic Glare, 2 branches in Klang, in PJ HQ still there kuah...

Added on June 3, 2011, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(xandras @ Jun 3 2011, 01:29 PM)
Chill lah. Just because Proton is Malaysian made doesn't mean there are no plus points to it. Ever heard of people complaining about the similar rubber lining noise on Mercedes S-Class doors? No, rite? The problem really does exist, but even if they do face the problem also they won't say anything here in Malaysia just because it's so-called 'Made in Germany' (many don't know that these S-class are also made in Indonesia & India). And if they can afford an S-class they would probably just sell it off & get another car rather than fixing it.

So when it comes to buying cars, local or imported, it's all down to ur luck. Yup, as u just said, pray hard u don't face any problem with ur car. I'm also quite worried about getting my new Alfa as Alfas are known for reliability issues with their electronic parts, but I have faith & passion in them. If it gives me problems, I'll fix it. Simple as that. Unless the car is hand-built, perfection is not something we should expect.
Understand lar...even my Civic and City also got problem wan...err maybe not the Civic. Engine 99% no issue for Honda but Proton, even engine also sometime qc not right.

It just that when it comes to proton, the chances of failure is much much higher than Hondas, etc. As for luck....I put it this way....for Honda, out of 100 car produced,5% got problem straight...for Proton, my expectation is out of 100, at least 30% got problems straight....just pray pray I'm not one of 30 cars.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 3 2011, 01:43 PM
Cavino
post Jun 3 2011, 02:10 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Jun 3 2011, 01:49 PM)
Some of us are left with no choice but to buy a Proton because of the heavy tax imposed on imported cars. If there's a Japanese-made, similar-sized car selling for RM 55-60k in Malaysia, what do u think will happen to the sales figure of Proton/Perodua cars? smile.gif
Why do you think I buy Proton....coz thats the max I can afford right now....almost go for Forte or City....then the news broke....2nd baby coming....

After planning budget for my first kid future med schooling...ok she's 9 years old, but thats her ambition for now, mmmm still 1 million ringgit short.....cannot afford more...have to live with proton even when my whole family is against it. What other choice....myvi...I don't like cars without butt...at its a darn milo tin feels and grossly underpowered for auto transmission when compared with persona. If only persona has CPS....
Cavino
post Jun 3 2011, 02:22 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Jun 3 2011, 02:09 PM)
warranty in term of ???

any sample of ur previous honda shinning pic ?  drool.gif  drool.gif
Warranty in terms of glare = shining. They normally recorded glare meter ratio once before polish and once after polish. So, if the glare falls less than 1/2 the difference, they will reapply sealent on the car FOC. Anyway for us, we would not know, since car still looks shiny all the time. So when I wash the car, see if water beads down, if some go patches instead of water bead, i ask to reapply that area.

Usually I pay another 80 bucks every 1 or half year for so-call detailing....to dull or remove swirl and minor scratches...they usually repair those patches as well.

Not previous honda, thats my current ride, Persona suppose for my wife to drive to work, upgrade from Wira. Darn....now that she's driving my car during waiting period, I don't think she wants to let go of it anymore since she got the taste of my City excellent smooth CVT drive. I might have to make do with Persona instead...makan minyak ler. CVT smoothly gearless (cannot feel gear changes), makes Persona rough gear change way way more obvious...

Now car not wash....have to wait...1 month maybe...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 3 2011, 02:35 PM
Cavino
post Jun 4 2011, 10:41 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(owenteoh @ Jun 4 2011, 12:10 AM)
Go to malfreemaps n download d latest maps for papago. Mine is working lk a charm. Did d same for my fren. Still works lk a charm. Gif it a try. Lokatoo SUCKS!!! Simple place lk midvalley also kenot find. Cacat 1.  whistling.gif
Which thead hah...for the papago map..
Cavino
post Jun 4 2011, 06:14 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jun 4 2011, 08:18 AM)
PE handling is much better than City when driving fast but it feels so heavy when driving a PE in town area esp close to stationary halt and start moving again. need to step on the gas pedal harder only can jln..  sweat.gif
Mm....stock City definitely cannot match PE in handling. Stock vs stock, cornering lose kaw kaw.

The City I have, had a very heavy 4 points UR strut and a stock cross bar at the back (my City VTEC 06, 1st generation of MMC, cannot open rear seat wan, fixed, so Honda put in a cross bar instead). Both of these minimize understeer and oversteer besides weighting the car down. Add a good quality bk to it, Driving at 160km/h quite stable vs normal City but doubt it can match PE tho. May have to put it to the test later, once my PE runs in.

City VTEC really good FC, my wife used these past week, full City driving, 13km/h avg. Myself always hit abt 15km/h or more with 60/40 highway/city drive. Excellent budget car, if you can call 80-90k budget....

Drove PE today (got my ride yesterday, the stationary halt and moving acceleration very very similar to the underpowered Civic 1.8cc wan...so ok lar for me. Better than I expected....(ya...my expectation of its acceleration already very low).

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 4 2011, 06:24 PM
Cavino
post Jun 4 2011, 06:52 PM

841 posts

Someone knows the steps to change software of Lokatoo to Papago. Use X3 or X5, where to download, any links? Very new to GPS. Also exact thread to download maps.

Went into Malfreemaps but got lost on where to download software and maps and the steps to do it.
Cavino
post Jun 5 2011, 02:27 AM

841 posts

Wah macam ini, can our IAFM last long....some more wan to use this car for more than 5 years ler...

Grrr....cannot find suitable Launchpad for our Lokatoo WinCE 6. Those available needed passwords from the owner. Anyone have Launchpad for papago x5se, email or link me to it, pls...

Cavino
post Jun 5 2011, 04:16 PM

841 posts

Got my car on Sat and my tint installer notice the rear driver side window got a major gap. Window cannot close properly coz it's out of shape, leaving a gap at the rear where rain can masuk.

Darn proton, so cheap-skate that cannot even source a window that have standard cut.....when they cut the window, the top where it curve to the back was cut too low. The other rear side window is ok.

Can CoSE do side window replacement straight away or any authorised center will do? Need to get it done on the same day, cannot leave car there coz no one take me back. Any recommended SC in Klang...if not have to go CoSE...

Now cannot drive the car out where dust and rain can go in. haih...cannot even test car to see got any other problem. This is the first time I get car and have to straight masuk kilang.

Of course cannot compare with what ckdenion faced coz this side windows can be replaced easily. Luckily my tint installer notice that before installing VKool elite onto that window....if not #$@%@% liao...

Cavino
post Jun 6 2011, 10:31 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Jun 6 2011, 08:55 AM)
now kinda regret y never ambik h-line. lolz. just 3.5k extra can get abs, airbag, leather seat, remote trunk release.
Not to mention improved NVH. The improved NVH on h-line vs m-line with extra padding on the doors, etc was never mentioned anywhere in the brochure. For those who emphasizing on comfort, these makes a whole lot of difference. Driving in a m-line (test drive) is quite different than driving in h-line in terms of comfort.

Added on June 6, 2011, 11:04 amJust check with CoSE, my rear passenger side mirror no stock...but still had to go CoSE to let them check and if need, order. Maybe can get on same day.

Going there tomolo morning, supposedly full liao but i mention I get car on Sat and now cannot drive langsung coz boleh masuk air when hujan...luckily got nice SA (Service Advisor, not Sales)...squeeze me in, in the morning.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 6 2011, 11:04 AM
Cavino
post Jun 7 2011, 10:26 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(JynoRip @ Jun 7 2011, 09:56 AM)
15 inch sport rim... now using michelin energy ...
I'm wondering, why change nice looking sport rims and then use entry level tyres (no offense to Jynorip, talking abt general). IMO, tyres is one of the most overlook safety thingy by most ppl. No matter whether u got abs, extra makan braking system, etc, the only thing that keeps in contact with the road are tyres.

I've seen some highly modded cars, super nice, super expensive outlook with some even using brembo brakes and when i look at the tyres......pengsan liao, ue silverstone M5. I would rather leave the car unmodded, use the dough to get better tyres with more grips, not becoz i like performance but safety is still number one.

Probably its becoz its a wear and tear items and price are super expensive nowadays tho....

btw now at CoSE......darn no Lokatoo girl anymore...what I am gonna do...might have to wait wholeday for them to check, then call vendor to replace the side window.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 7 2011, 10:30 AM
Cavino
post Jun 7 2011, 11:06 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(JynoRip @ Jun 7 2011, 10:40 AM)
bro... the only thing i upgrade for my car is only the rim (for outlook)...coz mine is baseline, baseline only with normal rim..  beside that, i don't think the tyre i use is not grip.. ppl with limited budget only can get standard range tyre.. BRO XANDRAS ,AGREE ? LONG LIFE IBUMIE ! lolz  biggrin.gif i use michelin, not china tyre... so, i don't think this will make me shame or wat... and i clearly know, how important is the safety... even i used more on town driving smile.gif i just not satisfy with the noise of the tyre...   cry.gif
Upgrading from those heavy rim....ahh....ok...that makes perfect sense. Thats practical and i cannot go against that as I always put practical usage 1st.

Hahaha.....nothing against being ashame thingy except you're a sucker for using the overprice michelin.....but then we got not much choice budgetwise. Wait....mmm....darn I'm a sucker too coz I'm also using michelin for some of my rides. I now also cannot afford change tyre liao....so just going to used NCT5 until it goes..

I'm just mentioning those ultra modded car that spend everything on looks and nothing on tyres. Maybe its just me but those I used to hang around mod quite a lot, thus when they look at other cars....somehow the first thing they look at is the tyres no matter how well modded one cars are.

Of course that do not apply to those ah pek like me......i just do ah pek thingy, safety, comfortable, cheonging....not with cars...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 7 2011, 11:11 AM
Cavino
post Jun 7 2011, 11:20 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(JynoRip @ Jun 7 2011, 11:10 AM)
no la...i also dont think to upgrade outlook ... i just want comfort ride  blush.gif
If tyre prices goes up somemore, next time, I going to change to sime tyres. Comfort my a$$...cannot tahan price even more.

1 year ago, I can still get Hankook V12 15" at Rm180.....now RM220 liao....michelin i can get dealer price...but with price going up permanently, cannot even afford dealer price liao..

Cavino
post Jun 7 2011, 11:37 AM

841 posts

One of the better ppl to ask is at autoworld.com.my forum, VR2Turbo. Very practical man with wide knowledge on tyres with lots of hands on.

Sorry, I no good at top range coz cannot afford. No point commenting on tyres I only know by theory but not practical usage.

For more affordable mid-range tyres tyres tat I used before, i can comment lar..

Value for money, Hankook V12, used to be...now price keep going up, I still like V12 tho...its soft, noise but with excellent aqua-planning. Very comfortable tho some cannot tahan noise, good aqua-planning minimization = large drain = noise. Very even wear, coz my City last time always makan 1 side....after use this, even wear. Definitely better than Falken 912 in most aspect, IMO.

Michelin PS3 is even better with good dry grip and excellent wet grip but tyres sidewall on the hard side, so for those with hard suspension, not really comfortable. Improved on its noise tho vs PP2, those some still mention noisy tho some say very quiet.

Added on June 7, 2011, 11:43 am
QUOTE(JynoRip @ Jun 7 2011, 11:26 AM)
sime tyre ok ? is it noise ? end of last year i got the michelin energy also at rm250ea before price increase...  cry.gif  but my fren said i kena that shop chop head ad..hahaha ..

Added on June 7, 2011, 11:27 am
yeah...any brand also have best model ... as long as u have $$$ ...hehehe  biggrin.gif
Bro...energy at Rm250 !!!!!! before price increase some more.....

You betul betul kena chop liao....at that price, you should be able to get Michelin PS3....at that time, some more got balance to keep some more. (Also depends on which state you're from, if Klang Valley, you very good water fish).

I know very well coz I just got PS3 15" just before price increase this year...

Even now, michelin PS3 should around that price at 15", I think..

Sime tyres i mention as a joke....would never consider them....unless i'm really ultra broke, in that case, they're ok (as saying goes, gets you from point a to point b). For grip wise, sucks...better use back nct5.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 7 2011, 11:51 AM
Cavino
post Jun 7 2011, 11:54 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(JynoRip @ Jun 7 2011, 11:51 AM)
hahaha...i also dont know much tht time...somemore tht's my fren's shop..i just believe in him..manatau kena chop... actually i'm from terengganu...maybe transport fees from their supplier too expensive ad...hahaha...since i know i kena chop i didnt go that shop almost half year ad... now PS3 how much ? more then 300 ?  hmm.gif
Oh....Terengganu, maybe that might be the case. Those states outside Klang Valley sure higher price, I might not blame the vendor until you find someone getting it cheaper than you in that state. As for PS3, 15" still around Rm250 to Rm280 range.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0659sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:58 PM