Sony Ericsson XPERIA ARC Official Thread V2, Most Stunning & Beautiful Android phone

archdookie
post May 29 2011, 02:13 PM

i am a sony xperia arc user now! the only thing i'm not satisfied with is maxis. i bought the phone on friday and they still haven't registered my number yet. went to maxis just now and said will be authorized by 3 pm... maxis is so disappointing.
archdookie
post May 30 2011, 12:46 PM

Ugh just found out they have the SAKURA PINK for Japanese and European market only -__- ATM Maxis has no plans to sell the pink one.

Added on May 30, 2011, 12:53 pm
QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 30 2011, 07:00 AM)
Xperia Arc users, how's the battery life compared to iphone 4? Can it last 1 full day with heavy usage?

It's been uncharged for 16 hours with facebook + twitter notification on, played games like angry birds, bakery story, paradise island, golf hd and stupid zombies, and downloaded 7 apps from market, 36 watchdog widget is on, and i left the whatsapp running, and now there's 21% battery left. so it's pretty good. My 3G is on all the time, and I did not use any wifi.

It charges very fast using the car charger- I was driving around for 15 minutes and it charged around approximately 20%.

Overall I'm very satisfied with the battery performance so far smile.gif.

This post has been edited by archdookie: May 30 2011, 12:53 PM
archdookie
post Jun 14 2011, 01:51 AM

hey guys, not sure if this is the right thread.. anyways i purchased the arc using maxis contract for 12 months, data plan is 500 mb per month. one of the first app i downloaded is 3g watchdog. 11 days after my line was activated my usage was around 75.7% and suddenly my line was dc.

i contacted maxis and they said i used over rm 200 of internet usage (cos i rarely make phone calls, just use whatsapp) and they charge 10 cents per 10 kB. is there such a thing? i was not notified by maxis of going over my credit limit and my 3g watchdog says i use only 75.7% of my 500 mb. i downloaded a few apps during the 1st few days when i got the phone, like angry birds, angry bird seasons, pumpkins vs monsters, sudoku, vignette, tap2 4, dolphin browser, farm story & stupid zombies. so now to reconnect my line i kena bayar half of the amount due.

has anyone faced this problem yet? is it really possible that 3g watchdog is not accurate? that from downloading all those apps i exceeded 500mb?
archdookie
post Jun 14 2011, 02:55 AM

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jun 14 2011, 01:25 AM)
My sharing.
1. I have had similiar arguments with Maxis - indeed more than mere arguments. Curious how it is that you have a 500MB data plan and they said you used over RM200 of data/internet usage? You mean above and over the 500MB/mth data plan?
2. I use 3G WD too and it has helped me stay within my mere 100MB/mth usage.
3. Hard to impossible to argue this off with them, we are literally at the mercy of these the big corp suckers. Perhaps you will have to pay first and start monitoring from scratch - ie reset WD and monitor ever so closely from a particular date; and audit that bill of yours like it's your income tax rebate column... rclxub.gif
1. I asked them to check how much specifically it was for the data plan and voice plan but they cannot check the balance for each, only until the final bill for each month is produced then they can check. But IMO I didn't make many phone calls (only to my parents, 3 times and around 2 minutes each) and used whatsapp to message my friends. I signed up using 500MB DP + RM 50 (for voice plan). So the service rep deduced that it must be from my internet usage.
2. According to the guy, he said that 3G Watchdog app is not 100% accurate which is why I apparently exceeded my limit.
3. That's why I asked the sales rep specifically how much my bill would be for the first month, he said I just kena bayar for my voice plan cos the data plan is already included for 3 months rebate. He said unless I exceed my charges, my final bill would amount to RM 50 (vp) + RM 58 (dp) + 6% gov tax, except for the first bill my vp is not included cos rebate. He stated that Maxis would send me notification when I am reaching my credit limit. I received no such notification, and there is nowhere in the contract I signed stating that I would be charged additional 10cents for every 10kB after I exceed dp He stated that my connection would be terminated for that month when it exceeds =/

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Jun 14 2011, 01:20 AM)
U started to use your data package upon the 1st day u signed the contract?
Before the line is actually "activated" in their main system, normal data charges apply.
That's how u get your bill over RM200 so soon and that's why many ppl complained on Maxis.

For those who just signed for a data plan, please only start using it after 2days after u signed the plan. Else, u'll be caught in the same situation.
My line was activated 4 days after I signed the contract cause the sales rep did not activate my line (I applied on Friday evening). The guy said my line should be activated within 24 hours... but it wasn't til 3days later (Monday noon).

So yes... I am in quite a predicament. Anybody tried for waiver? And the sucky thing is I can only argue my case at the Maxis center I registered for, not just any Maxis center (like KLCC which is more convenient cos workplace is nearer). Aghh.
archdookie
post Jun 16 2011, 02:46 PM

I updated to 2.3.3 using pc companion with no problems, i didn't loose any contacts or call logs! Hopefully there won't be anymore screen flickers with the update =D
archdookie
post Jun 18 2011, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(finnster @ Jun 16 2011, 09:45 PM)
Hey, I just bought arc last week xD
Any one sell the cases or you know where can buy?
i still have no cases for my ARC!!!!

Added on June 16, 2011, 11:05 pmSuper urgent need beautiful cases !!!
I bought from user lhongwuh, resin arc casing, it arrived like 3 days after I banked in. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry41544715
archdookie
post Jun 20 2011, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jun 20 2011, 12:41 PM)
guys. does the arc come with a screen protector already pasted by default?
nope, mine was in the box.

0.0528sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:11 PM