Sony Ericsson XPERIA ARC Official Thread V2, Most Stunning & Beautiful Android phone

stevenX
post Jun 2 2011, 06:15 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Jun 2 2011, 06:06 PM)
hi guys,
When i turn media server on,my desktop can view the files and also play them.But the program it uses is  windows media player.It views pciture and song.

What program u guys suggest so that i can tranfer those files from my phone to pc..

Thanx
am using 'File Expert'
transfer file tho wifi network
stevenX
post Jun 3 2011, 10:35 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Jun 3 2011, 10:32 AM)
but i want to sync with my work calender and all of them are in microsoft outlook.... google calendar is for my personal use smile.gif

on another question:
i tried to install papago x5 but it says it doesn't support my screen resolution? papago x5 doesn't work with Arc? any step by step guide to get it working? where do i download free maps?

Added on June 3, 2011, 10:33 amthanks smile.gif
papago is work fine with me

i think u need to change the screen resolution for papago in it system folder manually ..
try search for guide online ..
i remember i saw some where before ..

stevenX
post Jun 4 2011, 10:51 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(gorgonzilla @ Jun 4 2011, 10:42 AM)
Before update to 2.3.3, needs to do backup like contact and other data?

Added on June 4, 2011, 10:42 amBefore update to 2.3.3, needs to do backup like contact and other data?
no need
stevenX
post Jun 4 2011, 05:44 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(mycacha @ Jun 4 2011, 05:41 PM)
any one knw 2.3.3 is available? First time root.. scare scare..
2.3.3 can root ady ?
stevenX
post Jun 4 2011, 05:51 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jun 4 2011, 05:48 PM)
can't yet.not without unlocked bootloader..
if i unlock .. how to root ?
any reference ?

cant wait for the root ady .. just because i wan uninstall lets golf ... i hate to see it ..
stevenX
post Jun 5 2011, 07:23 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Jun 5 2011, 02:34 PM)
everytime i end a application or exit from browser. the 4 icons in the homescreen (bottom part) reload like rebooting the phone. example: they turned into boxes then only icons. like when you reboot your phone. my checked my ram and it states i got 55mb left.
after u delete some drain ram n battery stock app .. it will be gone .. but it will still the same when play gameloft game

or change to different launcher .. and didnt have the problem anymore

Added on June 5, 2011, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(caterpiez @ Jun 5 2011, 12:06 PM)
is it worth to buy this phone? i saw so many sell their arc in garage sales.
they are tech chaser .. sell old stuff when new stuff in ..
u will see many sell sgs2 when sgs3 out
or
many sell ip4 black when ip4 white out .. normal

This post has been edited by stevenX: Jun 5 2011, 07:24 PM
stevenX
post Jun 6 2011, 05:39 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jun 6 2011, 05:21 PM)
disable the data plan..

go to settings > wireless and networks > mobile networks > data enabled (untick)

with this, ur data plan will b disabled..

btw, ppl shud update to 2.3.3, it gives a huge improvement compared to previous 2.3.2..

btw, for those who r using mobo player, does it play almost all formats n without any issues? im using vplayer now n it plays most of the formats without any issues..
yeah .. im happy with the upgrade ..
but im gonna live with more lag now .. sweat.gif
stevenX
post Jun 7 2011, 05:11 PM

1,246 posts

tonight will be the night i unlock my bootloader and root ..
cant wait la ..
really hate the lag .. i whatsapp alot .. also got a bit lag ..
tried open modern warfare 2 last night .. kena FC ..
stevenX
post Jun 8 2011, 08:50 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Jun 8 2011, 12:10 AM)
Guys....WhatsApp seems not working for my phone?
Why har? Is it i have the Task Killer?

Aside, I downloaded and install Asphalt 5 HD...but cannot play...click it, just blink once...that's all...nothing happen liao...
i face this before ..
what i do is .. download the newest update frm whatsapp website and install it ...
its good to go

Added on June 8, 2011, 8:52 am
QUOTE(mkit @ Jun 8 2011, 02:15 AM)
thx ah...but all the thing in phone but not in the memory card like the 3 free HD games will lost after update?  tongue.gif
once u download , the apk file is somewhere in ur sd ..
just keep a copy for future use ..
i always keep a copy of apk in my laptop ..
and fully backup my sd content in laptop too ..

coz u will never wanna redownload the gameloft game data which is kinda heavy ..
and papago ..

This post has been edited by stevenX: Jun 8 2011, 08:52 AM
stevenX
post Jun 9 2011, 09:03 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Davird @ Jun 9 2011, 06:08 AM)
2.3.3 fixes battery drain for good. 2 days with massive usage still got 40%

as for me. unroot. upgrade. enjoy 2.3.3
once 2.3.3 rootable. then only think of rooting.
wah .. mine 2.3.3
whole day 3g data on .. around 1hour talking time .. whatsapp and msn alot .. no gaming no browing ..
1 day only sweat.gif

stevenX
post Jun 9 2011, 06:25 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jun 8 2011, 09:56 PM)
btw, someone from xda forum mentioned they found a way to root 2.3.3 but u nid to revert back to .181 first, then update to .145 through OTA..

u nid to use flashtool to revert back to .181, so read carefully how to do it b4 proceed..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...59#post14534859

n for those unlocked bootloader user, jerpelea from xda forum oledi got hand on ARC, so its juz a matter of time b4 custom rom will b made smile.gif
had done flash ..
now rooting .. ( battery show 1% after root )
trying to do OTA now

Added on June 9, 2011, 6:49 pmdamn la ..
when ota .. it say could not connect to network ..

This post has been edited by stevenX: Jun 9 2011, 06:49 PM
stevenX
post Jun 9 2011, 10:38 PM

1,246 posts

haizz mission fail ..
download global rom and reflash back to 2.3.3
global rom seem like smoother and prettier than our stock rom ..

which rom we use here by default ? sg ?
stevenX
post Jun 10 2011, 08:38 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Jun 10 2011, 01:44 AM)
Mine is the same setup as yours...called up SE support,they're not sure when OTA will be available.
So ended up doing as what xda developers tutorial...flashed to generic global rom 181, rooted using Gingerbreak (took almost 10 mis) then used OTA to upgrade to 2.3.3...it worked! Now mine is 2.3.3 rooted,boot loader locked.
using wifi or data ?
i using the same rom as urs ..
but when i press for software updated .. it keep telling me that cant connect to network ...
stevenX
post Jun 10 2011, 10:20 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Jun 10 2011, 09:59 AM)
I used wifi...
weird .. i cant ..
well ..
i giv up and just done unlock bootloader .. just finish flash hk rom .. now flashing preroot img ..
result in 30minute
stevenX
post Jun 10 2011, 11:41 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:35 AM)
Anyone bought Arc lately? Nobody can confirm this? If not I have to go ask the retailers.
guess its 2.3.2
if its old stock , they wont simply open and update de mah ..
and no one care
stevenX
post Jun 10 2011, 07:27 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(bluebeary @ Jun 10 2011, 05:50 PM)
someone in lowyat study in japan and he/she did help buy from japan ..
u may find his/her service in garage ...

inside ur link, there's another link to japan seller site ..
stevenX
post Jun 11 2011, 10:31 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(jlun @ Jun 11 2011, 10:19 PM)
it is advice to do a factory reset after update?
yes its more recommend to do so
stevenX
post Jun 12 2011, 08:41 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Jun 11 2011, 11:54 PM)
I think it doesn't have speed dialing..Personally I use Go SMS,Go Contacts and Go Dialer..the latter has speed dial..as for the top button, I hardly use it anymore coz I find Screen Off and Lock app very useful,u can hv it on the notification bar, so slide it down and turn off screen. Also try Quick Settings app...very useful. Coming from Iphone 4 I have only one thing to say about the Arc...SUPERB! rclxms.gif
yeah im using go launcher too .. for me i think go launcher is best for arc .. and smooth ..
app drawer is sexy with it .. i tried launcher pro and adw , their drawer is ugly ...

by the way thanks for the sharing of 'Quick Setting' its what im looking for rclxms.gif
* stay in notification area
* dont need to be a running app
* dun eat ram
* safe so much battery ( i havent figure this out .. but someone mention in the app comment ) rclxms.gif

Added on June 12, 2011, 8:46 am
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jun 12 2011, 01:11 AM)
How hot can we really go for our batteries? I was listening to FM radio and playing angry birds and the battery got to 41℃ and I stop playing lol. It totally freak me out.
41 is normal ..
i remember yesterday i saw sgs2 thread .. someone post the heat test photo between feel model ...
sgs2 is above 42 .. they also say normal

at the same time ... some one post that when they use papago .. sgs2 get extreme hot too and almost hurt their nose sweat.gif

This post has been edited by stevenX: Jun 12 2011, 08:50 AM
stevenX
post Jun 13 2011, 09:08 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Jun 12 2011, 10:54 PM)
I don't get it. Why the stock is crap? They should give a proper apps which can be use to do the basic things. Phone and Messaging is the most basic thing and they can't even do it right! This is a smartphone but it is dumb at the beginning.
for me .. this is android .. they wont bother to make it the best .. because their marketing strategy is to give a lot of power for the programmer to do it for them free .. and those programmer will be their free promoter to promote their product for them ..

stevenX
post Jun 14 2011, 01:25 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Jun 14 2011, 11:41 AM)
i was on rooted 2.3.2 and cut off a lot of unwanted apps..... found that i couldn't do OTA to 2.3.3.... so did flashtool based on the generic firmware in XDA forum. didn't do a wipe data and it caused my phone to hang. i decided to reflash with wipe data now... root it with gingerbreak and OTA to 2.3.3. Success! i find that some stock apps are missing e.g. camera. so i off/on my phone and most of stock app returned (...weird). i find that i can't get GO Contacts/Messaging to work and AppInstaller is missing tongue.gif

anyone encountered this issue?
mayb u should do like me . .
flash with pre root hk rom ..
no problem at all .. and run very smooth

i follow this way :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1044201

ps : when its about flashing a rom . i think its better to wipe data ..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0240sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:14 AM