Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

aiyume
post Oct 19 2011, 10:30 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

i know those shops around shilin night market close late....they only opening at 2pm. the first night i went there was after midnite, still quite happening...

This post has been edited by aiyume: Oct 19 2011, 10:31 AM
aiyume
post Oct 26 2011, 06:16 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Oct 26 2011, 05:33 PM)
orait glad someone replied,how much does 1 person can spend for 5days for hotel,eat,travel,etc..thx
depends on where u planning to go.

Accomodation:
if u staying at budget/backpackers hostel, 1 night cost about RM60-80 depending on which location. staying alone will be more expensive, maybe around RM100/night. if you dun mind sharing with other backpackers then can get cheaper around RM50/night.

Eat:
eating in taiwan is almost the same as KL standard. street food cost around RM5-8 per item. restaurant maybe around RM10?

Travel:
transportation in taipei is very convenient. if you are going around Taipei city only i think NTD200 Easycard is more than enough. can top up at any convenient shops or MRT stations.

if you are not heavy shopper most likely you can go below RM1000 for 5 days for everything excluding flight of coz.
aiyume
post Oct 26 2011, 11:42 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

i din take taxi when i was there. i heard some of them overcharge tourist. most of the travelling done via buses and MRT. if you can't read mandarin then buses abit hard, but MRT has english signboards, and it's very convenient to go around taipei.

This post has been edited by aiyume: Oct 26 2011, 11:43 PM
aiyume
post Oct 27 2011, 02:02 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 27 2011, 12:17 PM)
Wah food price inflated liao since my 2009 holiday there.. biggrin.gif ..During that time, avg is from RM4 till RM5 only.. Even a 4 dishes chapfan only RM5 wth free winter melon drinks.. rclxms.gif ..Ah Chong mee sua only RM4. Ocien RM5 much cheaper than KL but too bad their ocien full of starch & cabbages rather than eggs
2 years dy sure inflated loh....

totally agreed with the ocien. we din like the sweet sauce they put on also.
aiyume
post Oct 31 2011, 09:40 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Oct 29 2011, 07:32 AM)
their cabs is a bit expensive.. movie is even more expensive..
lol how much is the movie there? i saw those movies selling in Eslite and other CD shops, english movies all in mandarin doh.gif

QUOTE(kenneth80 @ Oct 30 2011, 08:28 PM)
Hi i will be reaching at Taoyuan Aiport on next thursday at 10.45pm,would like to know wat time is d last bus from airport?By e way can we buy any simcard in d airport?
bus operation hours: 05:30-00:30
last MTR from Taipei Main Station: 00:20

if you reaching airport at 10.45pm, by the time you get out should be around 11-11.15pm. bus from airport to taipei takes about an hour. if the place you are staying needs to take MTR, you might miss the last train from Taipei Main Station. or check out the bus route if they are passing nearby the hotel, then you can just ask the bus driver to drop you off nearby then you walk.
aiyume
post Oct 31 2011, 02:59 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Oct 31 2011, 02:05 PM)
Took the combo with salty popcorn and drinks, total up about TWD 1k per person.
No wonder their cinema is quite empty all the time...
I'm truly grateful that our GSC is so affordable, and for the popcorn that taste better.
walau....about RM100 per person XD and we complain our cinema is expensive laugh.gif
aiyume
post Oct 31 2011, 10:03 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(kenneth80 @ Oct 31 2011, 09:13 PM)
Hi Aiyume thanks for d info.By e way I'm bringing iPhone there,would like to know is it to purchase prepaid card at airport or 7-11?Lastly would like to know if im planing to go jiufen cause my hotel is at ximending area so how should I go about it?
not sure about prepaid card but you might wanna consider getting the digital tour buddy (free phone rental by Taiwan tourism). it comes with a phone and 3G sim card with NTD100 free credit. more info : http://youthtravel.tw/

you can take the Taiwan Rail from Taipei Main Station to RuiFang and take bus to JiuFen. Train to RuiFang takes about 40 minutes, and bus to JiuFen takes about 20minutes.
aiyume
post Nov 1 2011, 10:06 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

haha i din go to taichung, but i think if you are not on tight budget should take the bullet train, much faster.
aiyume
post Nov 3 2011, 09:34 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Assassin @ Nov 2 2011, 10:52 AM)
anyone been to taiwan during CNY? Many of the shops and night market close during that time?
mostly will be closed. but i heard jiufen during CNY super pack and happening...

QUOTE(Praetor @ Nov 2 2011, 11:27 AM)
Hey does anyone know of any hostels that has 24 hour check-in around Taipei?

Ill be arriving late and need to place to put up for a night before staying up in a hotel on the following night.
can't you just inform the hotel that you are arriving late so that somebody will be there? then you dun need to move here and there loh. moving hotels actually waste your travel time.

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Nov 3 2011, 08:40 PM)
anyone know where can i print taiwan map?? with all the hotel/shopping mall/night market/etc names..
can get the maps from airport.
aiyume
post Nov 5 2011, 02:16 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ Nov 4 2011, 09:45 AM)
Morning guys. I am thinking of visiting Taiwan during the Chinese New Year. Here is my itenieary. Is that too cramped? We have our own private mini bus.

Day 1: Reach Ximending morning. Stay overnight at Rainbow Hotel.
Day 2: Leave for Taroko Gorge. Stay overnight at Bridge Rainbow Hotel (or something)
Day 3: Leave for Sun Moon Lake. Still hunting for accommodation.
Day 4: Leave for Alishan. Staying overnight at Tea Cloud Plantation.
Day 5 - 7: Back to XMD

First question. The distance between each location is a 5 hour bus ride through the mountains. Granted it will be pretty but is it worth visiting places like Alishan on the 4th day of Chinese New Year? I heard it will be crawling with Chinese tourists, especially the tram ride up the mountain to view the sunrise. Are there anything else worth visiting at Alishan?

Second question. Is it worth staying at accommodations overlooking the lake at Sun Moon Lake? I got quoted around 500RM per twin room for pretty much most of the accommodations at around that time which is kinda expensive.

Thanks guys.
i think u should stay at least 2D1N at alishan coz the journey there is very long and might be tiring.

i din go to SML but IMHO it's just a lake. unless u planning to rent bicycle to go around.

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Nov 4 2011, 12:12 PM)
oic thx alot bro for the super fast reply == ......btw bro do u have any idea how things work at yangmingshan....i google liao macam walk 1 scenry spot to other spot takes 40min -1h...wah can die liao....is there any transport alight from 1 spot and to other spot like mini bus from time interval ...thx bro
p/s: imma travel place list xD

longshan temple
chiang kai shek memorial hall
sun yat-sen memorial hall
taipei 101
ximending
shilin night market
taroko gorge
yangmingshan
kaohsiung(if got time)
there is a mini bus from YMS main station that goes 1 round YMS. every time u hop on hop off you can use the easycard to pay like our touch and go. every time charge NTD15. there's also unlimited hop on hop off which cost you NTD60. if you planning to visit more than 4 places then it's worth to get the unlimited ticket. can get from the YMS main station.

according to the station staff, normally ppl will stop at 二子坪, 小油坑, 冷水坑. some of the stops are entrance to hiking trails. if you can read chinese just follow the signboards.
aiyume
post Nov 10 2011, 10:53 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Nov 10 2011, 09:00 AM)
Wa..need scarf n gloves too? Didn't intend to get that cuz i'm a person who can stand cold but then again, its possible to buy it there right if i do need. Going there for 6 nights
should be able to get there and the price are not much different compared to KL price. might be even cheaper than getting from those Universal Travellers etc here.
aiyume
post Nov 11 2011, 03:44 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 10 2011, 08:13 PM)
Yeah... Its cheaper! Cheaper rate I bought was at NT35 for scarf. But this price way back around 2009. But Can you last/tahan that long until you buy it at Taiwan?
just get at least a jacket to tahan until you get to buy loh... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Mercedes @ Nov 11 2011, 10:57 AM)
Just came back from Taipei.  The weather there is nothing but hot, hot and HOT!  It was hot in the city and when we went to Yeliou Geopark.  But it was raining when we got to YangMingShan, so we didn't really get to see much.  YangMingShan and Yeliou is a definite "must see".  Will go back for YangMingShan the next time I'm in Taiwan.
still hot ar? i tot now should be cooler dy ph34r.gif
aiyume
post Nov 15 2011, 12:15 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(LameCouple @ Nov 15 2011, 11:08 AM)
Hihi,

Am going Taiwan next yr Apr...so excited...now is doing all the research  rclxms.gif

Anyway, can fit all these in one day:
Taipei - Gold Ecological Park - Golden waterfall - Jinguashi - Jiufen (check in to accommodation, staying 1 night at Jiufen) - Shifen waterfall - skylatern at Shifen - Keelung Night Market

From Taipei to Gold Ecological Park,which is the best way in terms of saving time and cost. I know there is two way
1)  Taipei MRT Zhongxiao Fuxing Station → Keelung Bus (bound for Jingua Rock (Jinguashi)) to Jiufen - which will take 1 hour 45 min
2) Train to Ruifang station - take Keelung Bus at Ruifang station - How long is the bus ride? i know the train ride is around 30-40min.

You guys got idea how's the train fare like?i only manage to search the timetable but not the fare  sad.gif

For Keelung Night Market - is it a must visit place since at Jiufen?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Train from Taipei Main Station to RuiFang Station cost about NTD49~79, train ride takes about 30-50 minutes depends on which type of train you are taking. Bus ride from Ruifang to JiuFen/JinGuaShi takes about 15-20minutes. both train and bus can use Easycard.

taking train should be more time efficient because if you take bus you might get caught in traffic jam.

To me the night markets generally are the same. because of tourist most of the night markets actually sell the same type of food, maybe just the matter of if it is more popular or nicer or not.

IMHO skylantern is a rip off. they charging NTD100-200 depending on how many colors you choose. write on it, burn it, fly it. that's all. wink.gif Although i enjoyed watching other ppl kena rip off than actually doing it myself.

by the way, if you are interested of getting a tour guide to bring you around JinGuaShi/JiuFen, you can try Mr. Lim http://jinguas.pixnet.net/blog he stays in JinGuaShi so he's very familiar with the area. Save alot of time coz buses around JinGuaShi/JiuFen not very frequent.

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 15 2011, 11:26 AM)
I din visit the Gold ecological park but straight to Jiufen via Keelung after Morning till afternoon visit to Yehliu geopark.

I think posible if you dun cover Yehliu.
it's possible to cover JiuFen/JinGuaShi/Gold Ecological Park/Keelung Night Market in a day but might be rush if you want to cover ShiFen.

aiyume
post Nov 15 2011, 04:02 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(LameCouple @ Nov 15 2011, 01:19 PM)
Thanks for the reply  smile.gif Besides skylatern, whatelse to see or do in Shifen?

The tour guide is it in group? like those day tour?
there's shifen waterfall, coal museum, coal mine related stuffs....

i spent a day going thru pingxi train line. day pass unlimited ride on the pingxi train cost NTD52. u can hop on and off on any train stations along the pingxi line. there are old streets and souvenir shops around the stations. also have hiking trails to waterfalls or up the mountain. shifen waterfall is the more famous one loh. google abit about pingxi before you decide what you expect to see smile.gif

the tour guide is a day tour thingy. if you have 4 or less ppl then can go in 1 car. i think if you don't mind also can combine with other ppl together if the timing is right. check out his blog for more information loh.
aiyume
post Nov 16 2011, 10:35 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2011, 10:25 AM)
Well, probably due to maritime monsoon as you said really kenot brain it haha.

Anyway, trust that weather website data-lah...pretty accurate wth +- 3C. Now only 24C what where got 17C haha. Infact those weather website reporting abit lower than actual wan..Just like my last week Beijing trip. Website mentioned 2C but my own thermometer that I carried wth me showing 6C nia...and daytime website mentioned 12C my thermometer showing 16C nia.
maybe the thermometer placed at different location XD
aiyume
post Nov 16 2011, 12:19 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

i think coz they take the average temperature of the area taking in wind effect, rain, etc. your thermometer only calculating that area surrounding you. and my guess on the difference between hkg and twn is the luas permukaan in average? lol.
aiyume
post Nov 17 2011, 11:09 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 17 2011, 12:31 AM)
Wondering what time shopping complex/night market in Taiwan close? Since their sunset around 5:30pm, so i m assume its "evening period" around 4pm, closed same time with us 10pm?

Also wondering what time they usually wake up, eg work n so on!?
night markets close later maybe around 11 or past midnight for weekends. shopping malls i'm not too sure though.

Added on November 17, 2011, 11:11 am
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 17 2011, 09:20 AM)
Just take it the sunrise & sunset almost similar to Sabah/Sarawak timing lor haha. BTW, Pen M'sia is probably the only rebelion country wth weird/odd sunrise & sunset hours..all tnx to our Govt (inc Singapore) suka-suka go and change our timing to conform wth Hong Kong & Sabah & Sarawak timing.. Other visitors elsewhere will feel odd when they experience sunset at 7pm haha
just like i felt weird having sunset at 5pm in taiwan. like not enough day time doh.gif my mom lagi funny...she woke up at 5am seeing the sky all bright she tot we overslept sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aiyume: Nov 17 2011, 11:11 AM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0547sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:25 PM