Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

zstan
post Apr 3 2013, 03:31 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(prob queen @ Apr 3 2013, 10:19 AM)
hi sifu ,

may i know if one day to formosan village (half day)
and sun moon lake at nite is it okie? or too rush ..i will stay overnite in nantou hotel
yeah a bit rush

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Apr 3 2013, 03:19 PM)
usually how much it costs for cab fare from xi men ding to the airport?
last year i tried to take bus but the journey to the bus station is a nightmare.

tried once, not gonna do it again.
alternatively u can take HSR to Taoyuan and take a public bus to the airport
zstan
post Apr 3 2013, 03:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Apr 3 2013, 03:48 PM)
that means i take their mrt to HSR station then from there i can board the bus to the airport?
yes.
zstan
post Apr 3 2013, 07:49 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(prob queen @ Apr 3 2013, 04:00 PM)
if like tat rush, other than formosan village (half day) , what else i can do at nite ..

means the next day when i check out only i go to sun moon lake ?

then only back to taipei?

sweat.gif
formosa village is at sun moon lake. not sure how are you travelling to there though. if by driver maybe can him bring u around the lake.

QUOTE(luvjim @ Apr 3 2013, 04:18 PM)
One of the survey is including getting help in forum. But biggest contribution was from blogs.
I did my research since Jan but on and off lah.
The worst part is I can't read chinese, even bump with informative info..I might not know also. doh.gif
read my blog

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/07/taip...12-summary.html
zstan
post Apr 4 2013, 10:53 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(prob queen @ Apr 4 2013, 09:19 AM)
I dint get any driver ..just free and easy go by public transport only icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 4 2013, 09:35 AM)
fastest and easiest way to get to formosan is use the cable car i guess. not sure also. i will be using the cable car  smile.gif
if you are relying on public transport its a bit tricky unless you taking taxi. the cable car closes at 4.30pm. you either spend a night at the formosa village and the theme park or you have to leave early or spend some money taking taxi back to sun moon lake.

QUOTE(luvjim @ Apr 4 2013, 10:15 AM)
Shops in Jiufen open around 1030~1100 hrs and close around 2100 hrs. That's the info I get from the TripAdvisor.
Yeah, can also. Coz Shifen has waterfall and lantern release. I think less than half an hour gua.
Because from Jiufen back to Ruifang station is roughly 20mins by bus, then from there take train to Shifen.

I'm not going to TaiChung, so never do research for that.
around 8pm already many shops closed

QUOTE(apple_peng @ Apr 4 2013, 10:46 AM)
anyone know from taoyuan airport to taichung using THSR need how long journey?? i had check its just use 30min to reach but taipei to taichung need 1 hour . really??
yes
zstan
post Apr 6 2013, 11:15 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(apple_peng @ Apr 6 2013, 10:01 AM)
if i plan to go taichung, can i just bought thsr ticket at taoyuan airport? or hv to buy on9?
you buy the ticket at the taoyuan HSR station not the airport..
zstan
post Apr 8 2013, 09:32 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Apr 8 2013, 09:01 AM)
Hi all,

I'm planning to visit Taiwan during end-June or July period.

But I'm aware that it's summer time during that period.

Wonder is it recommended to visit there in that period? Will the sun burn me dry?
Yeah it feels like an oven but it's a really good time for shopping though.
zstan
post Apr 8 2013, 10:23 PM

15,856 posts

not too mention the crowd at shilin is crazy.. totally no mood to shop at all..
zstan
post Apr 12 2013, 12:02 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(apple_peng @ Apr 11 2013, 10:42 AM)
how long the distance between taoyuan hsr & airport ? can reach by walk?
about 10-15 minutes by public bus. errr not too sure about that.
zstan
post Apr 22 2013, 10:29 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(smon80 @ Apr 21 2013, 06:02 PM)
Ok,
need SOS.
I plan a day trip at SML then head to Cinjin for overnite. Any suggestion place to visit? I will hire a cab driver but not yet find.

on 3rd May I want to go Jiefun overnite. But Sunroom fully book, Windsor no sea view... Any other minsu recomend which had good sea view?
I stay 2 nite at B hotel at XMD, book at quite good rate, 2100.
Normally how much teksi from taipei go taoyuan air port cost?
what suggestion? sun moon lake is more than enough to occupy you for one day.
zstan
post May 15 2013, 12:43 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kca @ May 13 2013, 07:11 PM)
Hi

I'm going to Taiwan in Nov for 7D6N.

Planning to spend time on sightseeing and shopping in Taipei. Need a min 3 days in Taipei and rest days can go out of Taipei.

Pls help me choose which I should go and which I should drop - Hualien, Chua Sui Cliff, Taroko Gorge, SML, Yehliu, Jiufen, CingJing Farm, hot spring, Kaoshiung

Can you advise which hotel to stay if I will to overnight outside Taipei, mode of transport.

drop kaoshiung
zstan
post May 24 2013, 02:37 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kca @ May 24 2013, 02:16 PM)
hi

I planned to stay a nite in Taichung to visit the fengjia nite market
Planned 2D1N trip to Taichung from Taipei, 4 pax
Wanted to go the following places:
Day 1 - Taipei to Taichung by train, buy tour tickets to SML and back to Taichung
Day 2 - To Cingjing and Hehuan Mt and back to Taipei in evening

Is the above workable?

Any recommended hotspring around Taipei. Will be staying in Ximending.

Jiufen, Shifen those places will do a day trip.
its workable but kinda rush. SML should stay one night.
zstan
post Jun 4 2013, 10:13 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(vava123 @ Jun 3 2013, 02:34 PM)
Hi all,

Would like to ask those who have just recently gone to Taipei which hotels / homestay in XMD area is good to stay in?
Wondering whether Taipei York Room A looks the same as the photos posted on the website or Go To Sleep Hankou hotel is better? Appreciate some advice. thanks.
i stayed at this place.

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/07/taip...den-hostel.html
zstan
post Jun 4 2013, 12:03 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(theomgstyle @ Jun 4 2013, 11:29 AM)
How much?
rm100 for 1 person. if shared room can be cheaper.
zstan
post Jun 4 2013, 08:37 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 4 2013, 04:55 PM)
i wanna ask, if my passport expires on dec2013, can i go taiwan? cos i heard some country dont let ppl go in if less than 6months.
better not take the risk.. just go renew..
zstan
post Jun 4 2013, 11:22 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 4 2013, 09:16 PM)
shit cos i going tis sunday lol.. if renew can take in 1 day? mine expires on 11/12/2013.. i will be going to taiwan on 9/6/2013.. by right the day i travel it is still valid la..
errr okay.. all the best to you.. should be ok i guess.
zstan
post Jun 6 2013, 11:15 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(prob queen @ Jun 6 2013, 11:03 AM)
i would like to ask about the buy 1 free one promo, if let say i only wish to buy 5tics, so how much i need to pay ?
just click into air asia website and check it out yourself?
zstan
post Jun 8 2013, 10:25 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 8 2013, 10:12 AM)
Most people go to Hualien just to visit Taroko Gorge. I'm just wondering if there's anyone who spend some time exploring Hualien's other attractions?
yesss

DSC07286 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC07315 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC07607 by zstan, on Flickr

DSC07616 by zstan, on Flickr
zstan
post Jun 9 2013, 10:56 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 9 2013, 10:33 AM)
Love the last picture of yours  thumbup.gif  How many days did you spent at there? I'll be arriving Taiwan on 28th of Sept. Plan to go to Hualien the next day and go back to Taipei on 2nd of Oct. Will it be enough? Don't want to make it too rush. Anyway, I'll be travelling alone and will be staying at a hostel throughout the trip.
ermm i spent 2 nights and 1 day. yeah more than enough. nothing much to do at hualien actually. i travelled alone too.
zstan
post Jun 9 2013, 12:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 9 2013, 12:10 PM)
Since you're travelling alone as well, how do you explore taroko gorge? It seems to me that most people booked a taxi tour. Are you staying at the hualien city? The hostel that I intended to stay in told me that I can reach Taroko Gorge by bus (travelling time 50 minutes).
well there are 2 options. at the hua lien train station there's a tourism centre in which you could sign up to follow a tour. alternatively your hostel owner should be able to arrange the tour for you at the same place as well, which was the case for me. i just need to pay about rm100 and she helped me arranged the tour and even sent to the train station on the day itself. choosing a good hostel is important tongue.gif

the problem with tours is that they only bring you to see the famous spots and only give you a limited amount of time to linger around. taxi tours are better in the sense that they are more flexible and give you more options but is definitely more pricier if you are travelling alone.

can have a look at some of my blogs posts:

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/08/taiw...-11-hostel.html

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/08/taiw...ghtmarkets.html

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/08/taiw...ge-one-day.html

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/08/taiw...-tan-beach.html
zstan
post Jun 10 2013, 12:27 PM

15,856 posts

if you have extra cash you can actually take a boat ride at hualien at do whale sighting. i will definitely do that should i returen biggrin.gif

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0692sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:58 PM