Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

zstan
post Dec 22 2012, 11:01 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(LightWind @ Dec 22 2012, 06:28 PM)
Hi I'm going to Taiwan next Saturday 29dec to 5 Jan. I'm on a tour. My last day would be free and easy in Taipei city (although I'm not sure which hotel I'm staying yet...)

Any suggestions on the itinerary for my shopping on the last day in Taipei? Basically I would have covered most of the tourist spots in Taipeialready. I hope to get some affordable small souvenirs like key chains, magnets, decoration stuff, t shirts and some local delicacies to be brought home?

Thanks in advance! biggrin.gif
can go jiu fen or dan shui and have a look. otherwise the night markets may offer a better variety.
zstan
post Dec 23 2012, 09:49 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dentalfloss @ Dec 23 2012, 05:41 PM)
what is the average costs for travelling in taiwan if im goin on tour?will it make alot of diff on the amount spent if i follow the touring agency or go by myself when there is air asia promo?tqtq
if you travel on your own u can stay at those cheap places..and your timing is more flexible.. if follow tour usually stay 4 star hotel and they always bring you go shops that are a waste of time.
zstan
post Dec 23 2012, 10:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dentalfloss @ Dec 23 2012, 10:40 PM)
do i hv to book the cheap hotels before i arrive in taiwan and hw do i knw which cheap and RELIABLE hotels to book?
tqtq
can always check from agoda or hostelworld.
zstan
post Dec 24 2012, 04:08 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(apple_peng @ Dec 24 2012, 03:11 PM)
am i too early to start ? im going wif my bf on 30/6/13-6/7/13. starting to plan my itinerary so that i can book hotel 1st.
any recommended hotel around rm100-200/nite or any budget hotel/minsu/bb?
planning to go for all popular must visit place.
im still confusing from which part of taiwan i hv to start with.
can anyone provide me itinerary as guideline. thx.  nod.gif
read first page?
zstan
post Dec 31 2012, 01:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Dec 26 2012, 11:01 PM)
Anyone knows if the HSR sell additional tickets on the spot after online booking is full for a certain train/time?
no harm trying.
zstan
post Jan 7 2013, 03:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Jan 6 2013, 11:17 PM)
Hi, regarding changing currency, is it advisable to change taiwan dollar in Msia first? I'm not changing a lot, about RM2000. The exchange rate I saw few days ago is NT100 = RM10.80.
yeah should change here. its very very hard to find money changers in Taiwan. just bring some spare USD just in case.
zstan
post Jan 9 2013, 02:48 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jan 9 2013, 10:22 AM)
Just bring USD to Taipei Airport and exchange there USD to NTD. Better rate than changing directly in Malaysia from RM to NTD.
well if you arrive in the morning or afternoon then yes its feasible.
zstan
post Jan 10 2013, 11:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 10 2013, 11:21 PM)
Is it safe to go taipei alone?? And how many days do you think is enough to see taipei??
yes i travelled alone around taipei for one to two days. maybe 4-5 days?
zstan
post Jan 11 2013, 01:15 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 10 2013, 11:43 PM)
you go to Taipei for 2 days only??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
4-5 days seem too short to go to taiwan ... what is the 2nd must-visit place in taiwan after taipei??
travelled ALONE. other days got people company me
zstan
post Jan 11 2013, 01:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Jan 11 2013, 09:24 AM)
Option 1:
Rate is rm10.70 for TWD100. Means 100/10.70=TWD9.345
If change rm3000 to TWD, i get TWD 28,035.
========
Option 2:
If change RM to USD then change TWD at Taiwan airport:
for RM1000, I get ~USD326 (rate is RM3.06 for USD1)
If change RM3000, I get USD980.

Based on exchange rate in bank of Taiwan, they will buy USD 1 at TWD28.635 so i get TWD9335.
(326x28.635)

So, if change USD980 to TWD, I get 980x28.635=TWD 28,062. Assume there is TWD30 fee, so I get nett TWD28,032.

So, if change everything here, I get TWD28,035.
If change in Taiwan, I get TWD28,032.
In the end, I get lesser if follow option 2. Am I right or wrong?
you are right. it's no point going overseas to change your money unless you are changing a lot of cash or doing it together with your friends. otherwise its not really that significant and slightly time consuming..
zstan
post Jan 13 2013, 11:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(VR9099 @ Jan 13 2013, 07:28 PM)
Dear all, i am going to Taiwan in the next few days (for 10 days), and i have not planned/booked anything, other than flights, sweat...

any advice for ppl in my situation? what is the best way to make sure that i can still have a fun/meaningful trip?

also, first page mentions that it's better to call directly to book hotel. may i ask what is the cheapest way to make call to taiwan? isit italk?
don't need to call. websites such as agoda and hostelworld are very reliable. spend one night study the whole first page entirely and you will do fine.

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 13 2013, 08:31 PM)
Would you be interested in the taiwan high speed train tickets?
bro here is not the place to promote your stuff ya smile.gif once or twice already more than enough. later uncle stimix send you for holiday laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 14 2013, 07:15 AM
zstan
post Jan 15 2013, 12:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 15 2013, 12:27 PM)
i got RM380
to and from KK to taipei
i dunno expensive or not
Very cheap thumbup.gif
zstan
post Jan 15 2013, 12:59 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Jan 15 2013, 10:29 AM)
Are the stuff in fengjia night market like boots, jacket cheaper compared with shilin, raohe, etc?
Im going to taichung on my day 2 & I want to buy boots & winter jacket leh!
I'm only going to other night markets in Taipei like raohe, Huaxi, gongguan and not forgetting on the last few days of my trip.
I've limited budget to spend so I don't want to buy something similar at higher price if I can find cheaper elsewhere. Pls advise!
Feng Jia is slightly cheaper but it's a bit hard to find established brands there.
zstan
post Jan 15 2013, 08:26 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Jan 15 2013, 07:39 PM)
if wanna buy branded stuff like lv , gucci  ori  want .. where is the place we can get there ?? is that worth to buy over there or malaysia is cheaper ??

if wanna buy women stuff where is the most suitable place to visit and how much ?? cheaper than malaysia price like times square n or sungai wang ??

still surveying the price here ..  icon_idea.gif
not worth.. if you really wan can go nearby taipei 101 area to buy..

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/08/taiw...pping-mall.html

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/08/taiw...taipei-101.html

if wan buy clothes can head to Wu Fen Pu or Shi Da Night market. should be around the same price lah.
zstan
post Jan 15 2013, 08:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Jan 15 2013, 08:40 PM)
ur mean of not worth mean.. buying in malaysia is cheaper ?? how much did they sell.. wat brand is cheaper if want to buy from there ??  except samsung  tongue.gif

u mean the price is almost the same with sungai wang  or facebook selling cloth ??  according to the fashion here ??

going to ask my fren to shop there tomolo .. rclxms.gif
not exactly cheaper but the difference is quite negligible.. if wan cheapER branded stuff (cheaper doesn't mean its cheap!) HK is still the place to go. what brand ah.. giordano and other taiwan brands gua.. lol.. but electronics definitely not cheaper..

yeah rm10-20 can get decent stuff lo.. maybe fashion n design nicer gua..?
zstan
post Jan 16 2013, 08:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Jan 16 2013, 08:01 PM)
Hi all, need your comments on my 8d/7n trip...it is my early stage of planning...please advice for the routes below..

30/4 - Depart from LCCT to Tao Yuan airport at 10:00am. Then go Hualien first.
1/5 - Hualien
2/5 - Hualien > Jiufen
3/5 - Jiufen > Yehliu > Taipei city
4/5 - Beitou > Danshui
5/6 - Taipei city
6/6 - Taipei city
7/6 - Depart from Taoyuan airport at 15:55pm

I'll spending my first 2 nights at Hualien, then 1 night at Jiufen and finally the rest 4 nights at Taipei city..most probably at XiMenDing.

Is it ok above? How about the luggage if I go to/from Jiufen and Yehliu?
should be okay..you can always store your luggage at hostel/hotel..
zstan
post Jan 17 2013, 01:36 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Jan 16 2013, 08:38 PM)
Hi zstan, thanks.  smile.gif

That means once I go to Taipei city from Jiufen...I drop my luggage at Taipei hotel then only go Yehliu?
Actually how should I arrange my 2/5 and 3/5?  sweat.gif
What is the best time to go Yehliu?

If I want to ad Shifen..where should I slot into? And how long is the travel time from Hualien to Jiufen if using the Taroko Express Train?
yeah unless u wanna carry it. alternatively you can store your luggage at taipei main station. they have a lot lockers, big and small at a small fee. best time to go would be in the morning or afternoon. shi fen n jiu fen should be done in one day. travel time about 2-3 hours.
zstan
post Jan 18 2013, 01:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 17 2013, 04:17 PM)
I'm going next saturday. Below is my Itinerary. Feel free to give opinions.

Day 1 : LCCT - TaoYuan Airport - Check-in Hotel - CKS - SYS - Taipei 101 - XMD
Day 2 : YangMingShan - Beitou - DanSui - Shilin NM
Day 3 : Train to Hualien - Taroko Gorge - (Overnight)
Day 4 : Taroko Gorge - Train to Taipei - LongShan Temple
Day 5 : Yehliu - KeeLung - JiuFen - Pingxi (Overnight)
Day 6 : HSR to TaiChung - Fengjia NM (Overnight)
Day 7 : SunMoonLake
Day 8 : HSR to TaoYuan - Bus to Airport. Flight back to KL @1555
Your day 3 & 4 looks quite free. Unless u doing serious hiking at taroko.

QUOTE(luvjim @ Jan 18 2013, 06:33 AM)
Ic. Thanks for the tips. biggrin.gif

2 to 3 hours travel time is from Hualien to Jiufen?

Actually can I do like this...
2/5 - Hualien > Taipei Main Station store luggage > Jiufen
3/5 - Jiufen > Shifen > Yehliu > Keelung

Which is the best trip? Coz I don't really know for 3/5 which place should visit first considering the route... Please give advice. sweat.gif
You should go yehliu first, then jiu fen then shifen(release lantern around evening) then go keelungfor night market
zstan
post Jan 18 2013, 03:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 18 2013, 02:00 PM)
Day 4 is checkout from Hualien and back to Taipei. smile.gif We opt for overnight rather than 1 day trip because we felt that it will be tiring to travel so many hours in train.

We was still in considering whether Taroko Gorge / Hualien or Cing Jing Farm. Which 1 more worth to go?
yes that's what i meant. don't tell me you planning to visit only long shan temple for the whole day? blink.gif what time is your train to hua lien anyway? generally you need about half a day to visit the famous spots in taroko. also, how do you plan to travel to taroko?

both are equally worth to go for me.

zstan
post Jan 18 2013, 05:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SmuffyJ @ Jan 18 2013, 04:05 PM)
hmm..just late autumn and all start selling jackets and thick clothes only?
well, there's always jeans that you can buy which can be worn in malaysia. jeans every season also selling biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 18 2013, 04:15 PM)
Not only LongShan Temple .. smile.gif Will go WuFenPu and Raohe NM as well.

Plan to take the early morning express ard 8am and arrived Hualien ard 10:30am. I think they only way is to hire cab for Taroko.
ah then should be ok smile.gif

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1462sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:54 PM