Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides
TSstimix
Aug 30 2012, 08:36 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(jialiang90 @ Aug 30 2012, 08:19 PM) hi, me and my brother decided to go on a trip in taiwan but we have no idea which part of taiwan we should go. hope some1 is able to give us some guide here. our budget is around myr2000-2500 for 2 person (includes everything such as eating, accommodation, flight). below are our preferences: - night markets / market place whole day - food to explore - countryside - preferable near beach - night clubs for drinking - other add-hoc activities such as vege plantation etc... suggestions and advices are most appreciated Have you really read 1st page or not? Most of the places & link to ithers blogs/ travelogues are there for you to choose..
TSstimix
Aug 31 2012, 04:25 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Aug 31 2012, 02:17 PM) Dried seafood, u can get it from Jiufen.... Also food, I think u can look around yr hotel area.... I dont recommend buy food as souvenir... Perhaps u can try the peanut from Jiufen.... Is a good choice also but not sure is halal or not... Haha my dad went and bought packets of kiamhu, ikan bilis & dried sotong at Yehliu souvenir stalls..
TSstimix
Sep 1 2012, 12:48 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(Eu.Gene @ Sep 1 2012, 11:59 AM) ya 1 day... then how much roughly it should be for 1 day?  Start early.. I took the Taroko Express from Taipei to Hualien and reaching there ~ 10:30am.. Just negotiate wth any yellow cab outside the stan for one day (Actually more like ~ 4 hrs) trip to taroko. For me I asked for extra asking him to bring me to Chin Sui cliff area.. and back to Hualien stn ~ 4:30pm & back to taipei wth slow train by 9pm  .. Daily taxi rate in 2009 - NT$1800 + another NT400 to bring me to Chin Sui Cliff This post has been edited by stimix: Sep 1 2012, 12:49 PM
TSstimix
Sep 4 2012, 12:12 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(luvjim @ Sep 4 2012, 12:04 PM) Want to ask, if I'm going beginning of May next year...how early should I book my accommodation and those transports ticket? Most of the time I start to plan my trip 'very' early...so can avoid those hassles or whatever can happen if plan last minute.  The most important is to get the air ticket. That can be 9mth to a year before time for those wanna grab the cheapest options offer by any budget or even full fledge airlines.. Thereafter ~ 2mths -1mth b4 the trip start researching & planning for accomodation. I normally do this 1mth b4
TSstimix
Oct 17 2012, 08:17 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Oct 13 2012, 07:58 PM) December season is a winter season .. So which places is the most recommended place to go ? For side seeing ?? Wil there close their night market early ? Winter season any best food recommended that cannot be miss ?? Eva air , Cathay pacific or Eva air , air Asia which is the best for air plan ? Dec in Taiwan still very mild lah.. avg ~ 18C at nite & if rain & ~ 24C day time..just like Cameron Highland temp.
TSstimix
Oct 17 2012, 10:40 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Oct 17 2012, 10:06 PM) Icic .. U stay there or use to go Taiwan ?? Holiday there during mid dec 2009  That's why I I knew the weather during this time.
TSstimix
Nov 3 2012, 08:26 AM
Dunno
Just grab any yellow taxi inline.. all of them offering day trip to Taroko. and price normal;y start from NT$2200 and you bargain from there
TSstimix
Nov 14 2012, 11:57 AM
Dunno
QUOTE(ZzzFunG @ Nov 13 2012, 11:00 PM) hi.. I am going to Taipei on 26th December and it's winter season. Will there be very cold? Should i brg a jacket along? Mild. ~14c to 18c. Sweater will do
TSstimix
Nov 15 2012, 04:45 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Nov 15 2012, 12:04 PM) Hi, May I know how cold the weather is?? Compared to Cameron highland... If not going to mountain area, In Taipei, the temperature during early till Mid Dec is around Cameron..or slightly cooler.. When I was there in Mid Dec 2009, when I touched down.. the temperature showing 26C!! Tee-shirt will do.. Only on my last day,wth slight rain temp ~18C. Hualien & Taroko even hotter but still ~23C..yeah Cameron weather BTW, as Fiona said earlier.. The 1st thing you must lower your expectation. The food there so-so only haha..
TSstimix
Nov 28 2012, 03:10 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(iceiscool @ Nov 28 2012, 09:03 AM) Thanks for the info. I plan to change RM15K to Taiwan dollar. From the calculation I may save around RM200+ if change USD to NTD at airport according the current rate.If the operation hour do not permit, so no choice. Wah, are you staying there for 1 months? RM15K is a lot of Money bringing to Taiwan. BTW, the cost of living in Taipei is just like KL. Unless you intended to buy lotsa things or souvenirs, or stayimg there for >1mth..no need so much going there
TSstimix
Nov 29 2012, 10:05 AM
Dunno
QUOTE(amenrom @ Nov 29 2012, 10:03 AM) hi all, plan to go taiwan next year about 8 days. never been there before. so is it best to go with Tour package or DIY walk by self??? which 1 is more cost saving?? DIY for sure. Taipei is very user friendly with extensive buses, MRTs, train & even Bullet train networks. Just read pg 1 on how you can DIY.
TSstimix
Dec 11 2012, 06:36 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(eligible @ Dec 11 2012, 12:59 PM) as title. any company or place i can do so? I plan to have a trip to Taiwan 28jan - 8 March. I heard from relative there is a place can buy one SET. of ticket + visa + insurance. or I need to do it separately?  To Taiwan - No need VISA-lah. + just buy air ticket online (Either Air Asia, MAS, EVA air & etc) and you are good flying there.. just make sure your passport validity within 6 mth. Insurance part, either you buy thru those airlines or you can buy yourselves or you dun buy at all (just like me) also can
TSstimix
Dec 11 2012, 06:54 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(eligible @ Dec 11 2012, 06:46 PM) But they told I need visa because i travel for 6weeks. confirm no need visa? Hmnnnn.. If longer period.. yeah you need. I think VISA free for 30 days only. If longer period, just goto Taiwan consulate office at: Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Level 7, Menara Yayasan Tun Razak 200 Jalan Bukit Bintang 55100 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Phone: +60-3-21614439 +60-3-21615508 Fax: +60-3-21617478 Email: teco@po.jaring.my Website URL: http://www.taiwanembassy.org/MYhttp://taiwan.visahq.com/requirements/Malaysia/Otherwise, just goto any Travel agencies nearby and ask them to apply for you for a fee.. normally ~RM30-RM50 excluding t6he actual VISA fee.
TSstimix
Jan 14 2013, 03:44 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(tokudaiji @ Jan 14 2013, 03:39 PM) I wish to check with you guys probably how many days need to spend at taiwan 1. if travel only in Taipei 2. if travel around Taiwan (taipei, Kaushiung, taichung, hualien) appreciate your advices!! thanks in adv~~!!  Only Taipei - 3D2N can dy. Taipei + Jiufen/YEhliu (1 day) and Huelien/Taroko (1 day) - 5D4N Taipei, Huelien/Taroko, Tainan, Kaoshiung, Alsihan - Atleast 7-9days
TSstimix
Jan 14 2013, 05:24 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(tokudaiji @ Jan 14 2013, 05:19 PM) thanks for the advice~!~! what about if travel early of the Nov? is the weather fine (without much rain)? From the chart I posted on pg 1.. Yes less rain and temperature starting to cool down by mid Nov and will reach the peak cool temp in late Dec till Early Dec. - If you wanted to feel cool temp of ~ 9C to 15C, go during early Jan till End Jan. In Dec, temp just like CH /Genting and thereafter by mid Fe- late Feb temp go back to CH & Genting
TSstimix
Jan 15 2013, 08:08 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(platingirl @ Jan 15 2013, 04:51 PM) Guys, is Rm1,100 for AA return KL-Taipei during month of December 2013 consider cheap or do you think there is possibility to have cheaper fares later ? Thanks Too expensive.. That's almost none promo price dy.. Even last time, I got MAS promo to Taipei for RM780 all-in fare. And during AAX sales, price for the ticket should be ~RM400-RM600
TSstimix
Jan 15 2013, 08:11 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(SmuffyJ @ Jan 15 2013, 07:57 PM) HI I would greatly appreciate if anyone could give me the latest itinery of their taiwan trip. Is it easier to move by the trains or the cab? Thanks Check 1st page 1st and there are itineries links too. Their metro is super efficient. So no worries going via subways around Taipei or if you want to go far can try their bullet train to South or speed train (Taroko Express to Hualien)
TSstimix
Jan 15 2013, 10:34 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(platingirl @ Jan 15 2013, 10:24 PM) Thanks SmuffyJ, Stimix. Forgot to mention $1,100 is include seat selection and luggage. Wow, MAS Rm780 return is cheap. But when was that ? One thing i noticed is that this year AA air tickets is kinda expensive. Some say is because of the rising fuel prices. Moreover, December is super peak period .. can still get Rm600-Rm700 for travel during this period ? TIA. Hehe- 2009. - Infact yeah Mid Dec 2009. Bought during MAS sales ~4 mths earlier. Aftwer bought that ticket, AAX also started their promo sales and I saw RM300 return ticket damnit..  BTW, on last mth AAX sales, I managed to get Sydney ticket at RM800/pax  //So RM1100 to Taipei for sure too expensive dy. This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 15 2013, 10:36 PM
TSstimix
Jan 16 2013, 07:06 AM
Dunno
QUOTE(platingirl @ Jan 15 2013, 11:25 PM) but your RM800 Sydney ticket is for travel during super peak period / school holiday? Not sure peak or not but it's end of Oct till beginning Nov this yr  ..Well, Last yr, I even got RM300+ ticket to Shanghai during Christmas
TSstimix
Jan 21 2013, 07:26 PM
Dunno
All weather info (The Chart) already in pg 1-lah QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 21 2013, 09:21 AM) sorry. wana to ask... taiwan will snow? may i know if i like winter, when is the best time to visit taiwan? Taiwan winter is very mild and almost similar to Hong Kong area. You think it will snow at 10-14C during winter Anyway, there are snow topped mountains in Taiwan.. and one of the easiest is mt Hehuan shan that can be reached via Taichung or even Huelien side. These mountain range al above 3000M.. for sure will snow https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Post...7737769&st=2000This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 21 2013, 07:44 PM