Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V10, The dark lord continues

vearn27
post Jul 9 2011, 07:27 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 9 2011, 01:53 PM)
What you mean 'that great'? It is possible to handheld it at 1/8s as well.

But oh well, not like you can shoot moving objects at that shutter speed anyways tongue.gif still need big aperture for such condition.
Doing 200mm @ 1/8s, you still able to get tact sharp image or acceptable quality? That's my definition of "great" in the sentence earlier.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 9 2011, 02:06 PM)
It's also big and heavy, but it's actually good for steady handheld; Impressive piece of glass.

Sharpness wise, do you mean raw or JPEG output?
Yeah. It's wayyy heavier than the kit lens, but with more solid handheld. Now I'll be carrying D7000 + BG + 17-55 + SB-900 weight for the entire day of shooting! laugh.gif

I shoot RAW and the sharpness I mean is the RAW, not JPEG. IMHO, the sharpness can outbeats the 50mm f/1.4 at any time.

In very lowlight, even f/1.4 is not enough, still need to bump up high ISO to achieve acceptable shutter speed; Unless Flash is used or the it's still subject, can use tripod for slow shutter.
Anyway, just example; Generally, the wide aperture is very useful.
Great aperture is very useful but it stills depending on what photo to capture, isn't? I'm yet to get myself familiar with big aperture. I tried the 50mm f/1.4 last time and most of my shots went hairwire biggrin.gif

The difference is quite a lot actually, especially the constant aperture from 17-50mm, more creamy bokeh? and according to many reviews, the sharpness is comparable with Nikon's 17-55mm; If you read around, it's one of the very recommended lens from many review sites, the main issue is the hunting in low light, less accurate focusing, much slower focusing, and finally the noise (if it bothers the person). I tested the Nikon's 17-55mm f/2.8 before, I love the build quality, feel, performance, etc. If money is not an issue, it'll surely be in the bag  tongue.gif

Congrats on your purchase!
Thanks matey and to everyone that shared thoughts, opinions, recommendations and suggestions with me. Finally I ended up with the 17-55 instead of 24-70 or 16-35 laugh.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 9 2011, 02:11 PM)
You got your Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 already?  rclxms.gif
Yupz. Just got it recently and now gotta make myself familiarize shooting with it smile.gif
vearn27
post Jul 9 2011, 07:40 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 9 2011, 02:38 PM)
Since we are at the topic on minimum shutter speed, I would like to comment a little based on my little experience.

I have both DX and FX bodies, I can handheld both at 200mm , 1/8s. I don't see differences in terms of 'difficulty' comparing between DX and FX. Same goes to my 85mm, I can consistently hit sharp shots at 1/80s on both FX and DX.

I'm thinking this is because say for example on a 50mm lens, image projected will fill the entire FF sensor. On a crop sensor which is smaller, the image projected will still fill the entire 35mm size frame, but only certain portion can be recorded by the DX sensor. This is why, the focal length is the one deciding what's the 'min shutter needed' based on the 'rule of thumb'. Not the effective focal length.

If you're talking about teleconvertors, then yes that you will be taken into account as optically the focal length is changed. For DX versus FX, the only differences is FX up to the very edge where else DX only in the middle of the frame due to smaller sensor size.
On contrarily of what you're sharing, you feel that 1.5x crop factor is not necessary to be included in Rule of Thumb for DX or crop-sensor body?

Hmm... it does make sense, isn't? 50mm on FX will be 50mm while 50mm on DX will be 75mm. It takes 75mm on FX to produce the equivalent photo of 50mm on DX and vice versa. Still thinking of the logic of this...

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 9 2011, 07:15 PM)

VR2 can.
70-200 VR1 i dont dare to do anything below 1/60 at 200mm on a distant object...nearby its ok.
Too sharp, eh? biggrin.gif laugh.gif

But till today, Nikon is yet to implement VR into any of their lens with less than 100mm focal length with aperture 2.8 and larger.
vearn27
post Jul 9 2011, 07:42 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 9 2011, 07:33 PM)
actually no need RAW also.
if just by sharpness, D7000 with all its megapixels, even jpg is plenty sharp.
if ur going to shoot entire day also, i dont think u would want to work with a whole load of RAW files...
But RAW can produce much more dynamic color compared with JPEG.
What's the sharpness level setting that you're using now for your JPEG?
Haha... hell yeah. Especially post-processing and delivering to client, RAW is a massive hectic! Anyway, I bought another 16GB yesterday and can store JPEG into secondary slot tongue.gif
vearn27
post Jul 10 2011, 10:24 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 10 2011, 04:48 AM)
Comparing body and lens, that's not heavy. D700 + 14-24mm f/2.8 is more heavy !  sweat.gif

Great. How are you liking it? Any regrets?

I agree with what celciuz mentioned about DX is just a cropped part of the FX sensor and still coming from the same origin.

For the example you gave, 50mm is still 50mm on FX as well as on DX. Just the perspective on the DX is like 75mm on FX.
The weight will be more like the 14-24mm f/2.8 (with no VR  tongue.gif )

That's right. But some will argue why Nikon came out with the 16-35mm f/4 VR...  rclxub.gif
Of course for FX will be heavier, not to mention the equivalent of 17-55 on FX is 24-70 which weights more.

It's a great piece of lens. Quality immediately noticeable from the first snap. However, I'm yet to use it for real shooting. Will reserve my comment for now, but I'm happy that I have it. It's my first gold ring after all biggrin.gif

DX has a higher tendency of showing errors due to the 1.5 magnifying factor compared to the FX... hmmmm hmm.gif

Anyway, for me Rule of Thumb is just for reference and not necessary to stick with it most of the time. A person with proper technique and steady hands will be able to snap tact sharp photo at SS lower than required by the rule.

Why Nikon came out with the 16-35mm f/4 with VR? That's because it's f/4 and it's kinda unbearable for body with less noise toleration such as the D90 and to achieve high SS by using handheld.
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 02:04 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jul 11 2011, 12:37 AM)
Any d7000 user using Sigma 50mm 1.4 HSM for their prime lens?

any compatibility issues?
aldosoesilo is one of the forumer in this thread having the combo you mentioned, you can try to ask him. So far, nothing abnormality heard of from this combination. Speaking of which, where's aldosoesilo ah? Disappeared and not posting anything laugh.gif

QUOTE(stan001 @ Jul 11 2011, 01:12 AM)
Hi all,

I need some advise on the lens here..

I like to snap family photos, close up facial shots and landscape/sceneries...

Planning to get a D7000 and need some advise / suggestions on the lens :-

Which options is much better / suitable ...

Option 1 -
Nikon 18-200mm f3.5-5.6G ED VR II
( more expensive but no need to change lens )

Option 2 -
kit lens 18-105mm VR and later purchase
55-300mm F4.5-5.6G ED VR
( need to change lens, bigger bags for travelling...  )

Some sellers bundled a AF 50mm f/1.8 to the D7000, what is this 50mm lens used for ??

Was thinking of getting the body with the 50mm bundle and later get the 18-200mm ... is this a good combination ?

Before we head on into anything, what's your budget for the stuff? smile.gif

Family photos... (wide + standard zoom)
Close up facial... (standard zoom)
landscape/sceneries... (wide)

Shooting these, the kit lens 18-105 should be sufficient but no doubt, the 18-200 will provide more versatile shooting. Shooting at lengthy zoom has higher tendency for blurry photo due to handshake. In addition, shooting family should be standing more close with them therefore standard zoom up to 50~70mm will be just nice smile.gif. You may not want to shout from far away biggrin.gif

Usually, long zoom range will be useful for shooting subject far away from within your reach. In example you couldn't get anywhere nearer by foot such as birds, concert hall, car racing, etc. including candid shots as well where you may not want the subject to know you're taking the photo and the natural expression.

The current ongoing promotion of bundling 50mm f/1.8D with the D7000 is a prime lens (no zoom available) at standard zoom range and usually used as half-body portraiture lens. The big aperture f/1.8 will enable you to shoot bokeh shots where the subject will be distinguished from the background. In other words, photos with blurry background and I'm pretty sure you have seen them much.

Although they do bundle the 50mm f/1.8D, I would recommend you to get the newer version 50mm f/1.8G instead at the price which almost doubled up the predecessor (lowest offering @ RM650). Reading from reviews and people who own the new lens, it's sharper and color reproduction wise better than its predecessor as well.

Try goto Nikon Service Centre at Berjaya Times Square and test the DSLR there with the kit lens. Try zoom in and out against people (not the miniature objects) and that will roughly give you the idea of what focal length you may need. Again, you may not really know until you experiencing yourself by shooting more. Therefore, going with the kit lens will be good but if you wanted less hassle and has extra money to spend on, 18-200 definitely more versatile.

Hope this input helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Jul 11 2011, 02:09 AM
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 10:39 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Jul 11 2011, 10:24 AM)
Thank you ...really appreciate your detail explanations based on my usage pattern.

I do agree with you, the 200mm is more versatile but most of the time is unused..  ( consumers behaviors usually buys features that we think we "might" need to use them in the future... hehe )

On the 50mm f/1.8D, it seems like a way to clear out old models to DSLR newbies... haha

Plan to go D7000 with lens kit and 50mm f/1.8G (since it is a small lens ) and when budget permits, purchase an external flash later...

I've been to Nikon store at KLCC, initially tried out the D5100 but find the grip too small for my linking and when I pick up the D7000, the grip, the shuttle feel and layout is so much more "pro" feel..
You're welcome. Please do take note that I'm just sharing based on my experience and my view personally, different people may look at it differently and therefore different opinion. It's advisable that you listen to several opinions and take the one which you think suits you the most smile.gif

Please don't take it wrongly. Nikon *may*, as you mentioned trying to clear the stock of the old model. However, 50mm f/1.8D still a very good lens for its price and it's just that the newer version came out that's better.

Err... you're asking opinion on lens rather than body, but you only try the body grip at BTS Nikon Centre rather than noticing the zoom length of the lens instead? laugh.gif
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 11:10 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 11 2011, 10:51 AM)
how about body performance, control , weight , AF speed, AF point?  tongue.gif
Dude, he's asking opinion on lens selection which focal length related specifically and he did mentioned that he's going for D7000. It is necessary to explains about those you mentioned? doh.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Jul 11 2011, 11:11 AM
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 11:48 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:22 AM)
because he did state he is going for D7000 just for grip and
more pro feel means more convenient to access the menu or what?
(because i sometimes feel some people rather like D3100/D5100 those guide menu than complicated buttons at the body unless we already know how to use it. my dad is one of it  sweat.gif )

so i did like to ask again dun just go for D7000 if the grip just bigger XD

If that's the case, he shouldn't be going to DSLR in the very first place. There are better options available such as the mirrorless category. Those settings, button and menu access can be learned. There's a learning curve but it's not that steep.

If he bought it and find it difficult to use... then nasiblah... and good luck to you next whistling.gif
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 12:01 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:55 AM)
The original battery grip for D7000 is magnisium alloy?  rclxms.gif
Yups. Below is the extract from Nikon website smile.gif

QUOTE(http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7000/features05.htm)
Multi-Power Battery Pack MB-D11 (optional) [NEW]

The Multi-Power Battery Pack MB-11 supports two types of batteries [Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL15 and six R6/AA-size batteries (alkaline, Ni-MH, lithium)], and seamless switching of power feeding between the battery of the D7000 and the battery pack is possible. Up to approx. 2,100 shots* can be achieved when the EN-EL15 is loaded on both the D7000 and the MB-D11.
The Multi-Power Battery Pack MB-D11 incorporates controls for vertical shooting; AE-L/AF-L button, main/sub command dials, shutter-release button, shutter-release button lock, multi selector. Magnesium alloy is used for the exterior cover to realize the same weather-resistant and dust-prevention performance as the D7000.
*Based on CIPA Standards.
This post has been edited by vearn27: Jul 11 2011, 12:03 PM
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 10:13 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 11 2011, 09:37 PM)
Okay, tested on the D90. Distance err.. should be more or less 50m... weird is from the EXIF didn't show the distance? zzz~ taken in RAW converted using ViewNX.

Original size : http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6014/592636...f11b06da2_o.png (100% zoom crop)

image files,

1/200s,
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6149/592579...21dda4a1a_o.jpg

1/8s,
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6149/592579...afc5ee86d_o.jpg
Celciuz... you have got godlike hand? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
vearn27
post Jul 11 2011, 10:23 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 11 2011, 10:19 PM)
Well, just demonstrating the VRII mechanism to back up my point of the 70200 VR2 able to handheld at 1/8s. First I took something close... then was told if shoot further not possible so here it goes.

Besides, this is on DX sensor. So if the 'rule of thumb' includes crop factor.. then 1/300 --> 1/8 how many stops? biggrin.gif:D:D
I think you're the "factor" that make it possible sweat.gif

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jul 11 2011, 10:21 PM)
memang god hand laugh.gif
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
vearn27
post Jul 12 2011, 12:44 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jul 12 2011, 12:25 PM)
put silencer on the shutter
I can't stop laughing... you made my day laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
vearn27
post Jul 13 2011, 08:39 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jul 13 2011, 04:30 PM)
Just came back from BTS Nikon Centre, tested the D7000 but i don't understand why the shutter button is so sensitive, i tried to focus then it straight away shoot, is it due to being "molested" by the public too much? hmm.gif
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jul 13 2011, 06:59 PM)
Comparing with the models below D7000 (D90, D3100, D5100) i tested all of them, and only found D7000 to have this kind of sensitive shutter, don't tell me that's normal.  sweat.gif

EDIT: Nvm checked dpreview, happen to be true, oh well.
Like celciuz said, those models below D7000 are using the silver type instead of the black squishy type. It helps minimize hand-shake when you press the button down to snap. There's even another function which is "Exposure Delay Mode" (couldn't be sure) where the shutter mirror will delay a while before it flip back up. That's to help distinguish the slightest shake on the camera smile.gif

In fact, I find the button just nice instead of being too sensitive biggrin.gif. Sometime the camera also accidentally snap when I hang it on my neck and the battery grip's shutter hit my body tongue.gif

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jul 13 2011, 07:50 PM)
Lol 1/8 with VR2 is doable lah, don't need godlike hand, even me also can do it ( i am known for chicken hand, shaking a lot  doh.gif  )
Yet to try VR2, only normal VR... biggrin.gif

Added on July 13, 2011, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jul 13 2011, 08:28 PM)
nice what? kiut macho~! dalam hati ada taman tongue.gif
,hahaha trying warm tone but sad looks like failed to me

Why the flower blocking their faces? doh.gif

It could be intentional... but I couldn't get the idea sweat.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Jul 13 2011, 08:40 PM
vearn27
post Jul 13 2011, 09:56 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Anyone here using Aipo drybox? Can recommend what size to be used to store 1x body + BG, 1x body, 2 ~ 4 lens, 2x flashgun? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Jul 13 2011, 09:57 PM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0541sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:58 PM