Theory/Lessons Songs Everybody Should Learn, For all instruments!

TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 19 2005, 07:47 PM, updated 19y ago

5,231 posts

Alright, every now and then we'ill get questions like "What songs are suitable for beginners" or similar from fellow members, so I thought, why not compile all of them into a thread??? All you need to do is to recommend some songs (Preferbly with its genre.) and I'ill update the list. thumbup.gif

Btw, this is not just limited to guitarists, but also opened to all types of musicians! Please be a little choosy when picking to avoid flooding the list. thumbup.gif

I'ill devide it into a few categories :

- Beginner Songs :
Well obviously, songs which are suitable for ppl who are new to a certain instrument. These songs would be the best choice for them to improve.

- Party Songs :
How many times did ya get hold of a guitar/piano during parties or gatherings and dunno what to play??? Everybody knows that you're a good musician but in this case you fail to entertain them. Music is a form of entertainment and if you fail to entertain your friends, what more a large audience??? shocking.gif So, this list is created for songs which are suitable for entertaining friends in parties or even guests.
Songs that ordinary ppl should know, preferbly the sing-along ones. wink.gif
No, Eruption won't work, neither do Dream Theater, so keep those screamo, wanky, fouled-mouth, metal tracks to yourself.
rolleyes.gif

- Must-learn Songs :
Songs that you think everybody should at least take 1 crack at. Classics.

Happy posting guys!!! (Hope this would spice up the forum a little thumbup.gif )

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Aug 19 2005, 11:24 PM
TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 19 2005, 07:49 PM

5,231 posts

Legend for guitar column :
Bold font - Electric Guitar
Italic font - Acoustic Guitar
Normal font - Classical Guitar

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Beginner :

Piano
- The Scientist by ColdPlay
- Kiss From a Rose by Seal

Guitar
- Black Sabbath - Paranoid
- Cranberries - Zombies
- Good Charlotte - Lifestyle Of The Rich And Famous
- Green Day - When I Come Around
- Led Zeppelin - Stairway to heaven
- Metallica - Nothing Else Matters
- Nirvana - About A Girl (Grunge)
- Ozzy Osbourne - Mama I'm coming Home
- Pearl Jam - Last Kiss
- Radiohead - Creep
- Red Hot Chili Peppers - Califonication
- Eric Clapton - Tears In Heaven
- Extreme - More Than Words
- Green Day - Good Riddance * Time Of Your Life*, Wake Me Up When September Ends (Acoustic Pop)
- Richard Marx - Now & Forever
- Romance D'Armour/Romanza (Classical)

Bass
- Eagles - Hotel Califonia
- Foo Fighters - Big me
- Everclear - Santa monica
- Sugar Ray - Answer the phone
- Puddle of Mudd - She hates me
- Blink 182 - All the small things
- The Offspring - Come out and play

Drums
- Queen - We Will Rock You
- Greenday-When I Come Around
- White Stripes-7 Nation Army
- Simple Plan-Perfect
- Dashboard Confessional-Vindicated
- Three Doors Down-Let Me Go
- Bon Jovi-It's My Life
- Avril Lavinge-Complicated
- Guns N' Roses-Paradise City
- Nirvana-Smells Macam Semangat Remaja
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Party:

Piano
- Beatles - Hey Jude (Pop)

Guitar
- Elvis Presley - Can't Help Falling In Love (Ballad)
- Sensefield - Save Yourself
- AC/DC - Highway To Hell
- Beatles - all my loving, rollover beethoven, yellow submarine
- Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight
- Green Day - Basket Case (Punk Rock)
- Guns n' Roses - Sweet Child o' Mine. Knocking On Heaven's Door
- Lifehouse - You and Me
- Offsprings - Kids aren't alright
- Lynryd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama
- Rolling stones - sympathy for the devil, dead flowers
- The Police - Every Breath You Take(Pop Rock)
- The Wonders - That Thing You Do (Pop Rock)
- White Stripes - 7 Nation Army (Rock)
- America - Horse With No Name
- Coldplay - Yellow
- Green Day - Boulevard of Broken Dreams
- John Mayer - Your Body Is A Wonderland (Pop)
- kenny loggins - footloose (elusive number)
- Oasis - Wonderwall, Don't Look Back In Anger (Britpop)
- Ryan Cabrera - True (Pop)

Drums
- Blink 182-All The Small Things
- Blink 182-What's My Age Again?
- Fenix TX-It's All My Fault
- Rooster-Come Get Some
- Bowling For Soup-1985
- Fountains Of Wayne-Stacy's Mom
- Frequency Cannon-Girl
- Pop Shuvit-Jump
- Must-learn :

Piano
- The Scientist by ColdPlay
- Kiss From a Rose by Seal

Guitar
- Aerosmith - Sweet Emotion
- Alter Bridge - In Loving Memory (Hard Rock)
- Black Label Society - Spoke in The Wheel,Demise Of Sanity, Suicide Messiah
- Children of Bodom - Kissing The Shadows
- david bowie - ziggy stardust, space oddity
- Dream Theater - Fatal Tragedy, Stream of Conciousness (Prog Metal)
- Eagles - Hotel Califonia
- foo fighters - moneky wrench, walking after you
- Guns 'N Roses - Sweet Child 'o Mine, Don't Cry, Paradise City
- Iron Maiden - Rainmaker
- Jimi Hendrix - All Along The Watchtower, Purple Haze, Little Wing (Classic Rock)
- Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train, No More Tears
- Metallica - Creeping Death, Fuel, One, Wherever I May Roam
- Megadeth - Tornado of Souls
- nirvana - about a girl, lithium, man who sold the world
- Red Hot Chili Peppers - Under The Bridge
- Rolling stones - wild horses, you can't always get what you want
- the flaming lips - fight test
- The Darkness - Love is Only a Feeling
- joni mitchell - big yellow taxi, carey
- Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here
Zakk Wylde - I Thank You Child

Bass
- Greenday - When i come around , Welcome to paradise, Basketcase
- Guns n Roses - Sweet child o' mine
- Guns n Roses - Knockin on heaven's door
- Limb Bizkit - Take a look around
- Red Hot Chili Peppers - Around the world (Expert)
- Jamiroquai - Alright (Expert)
- One Minute Silence - I think therefore i'm damned (Expert)

Drums
- Metallica-Enter Sandman, Fuel, For Whom The Bell Tolls.
- Dream Theater-Endless Sacrifice

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TheWhacker: Sep 7 2005, 02:28 PM
TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 19 2005, 07:56 PM

5,231 posts

Ok I'ill start :

(Guitar)
Beginner :

Party :
- Oasis - Wonderwall (Britpop)

Must-learn :
- Jimi Hendrix - Little Wing (Classic Rock)

Try to stick to the format. thumbup.gif

headhunter7
post Aug 19 2005, 08:16 PM

2,355 posts

Beginner:
Green Day - Good Riddance * Time Of Your Life*
Nirvana - About A Girl

Party Songs:
Green Day - Basket Case

Must Learn :
Alter Bridge - In Loving Memory
Dream Theater - Fatal Tragedy *Shredfest! *

evo.com
post Aug 19 2005, 08:37 PM

2,234 posts

Beginner:
Stairway to heaven

Party:
Kids aren't alright - offspring

Must learn:
Hendrix stuff..... little wing... purple haze... along the watchtower
TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 19 2005, 08:48 PM

5,231 posts

Beginner :
- Metallica - Nothing Else Matters

Party :
- Beatles - Hey Jude (Pop)
- Elvis Presley - Can't Help Falling In Love (Ballad, and yes, I'm serious.)
- John Mayer - Your Body Is A Wonderland (Pop)
- Ryan Cabrera - True (Pop)
- The Wonders - That Thing You Do (Pop Rock)
- White Stripes - 7 Nation Army (Rock)

TheWhacker
post Aug 19 2005, 09:16 PM

3,914 posts

led_zep_freak, Good job creating this thread ....

However, this thread will be pinned up IF there's more information then what this thread have now. I mean no point putting something on the notice board if it doesn't have that much info right ? smile.gif

Better start working then led_zep_freak laugh.gif

BTW: take some info from the [WTA]What suitable songs to play on my acoustic... too ....
nerd
post Aug 19 2005, 11:14 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

party:
lifehouse-you and me
greenday-boulevard of broken dreams, acoustic

must learn:
metallica-one
megadeth-tornado of souls
children of bodom-kissing the shadows
thefryingfox
post Aug 19 2005, 11:17 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

party
coldplay - yellow
america - horse with no name
clapton - wonderful tonight
sensefield- save yourself

must learn
metallica - creeping death, one, wherever i may roam
iron maiden -rainmaker
gnr - sweet child o mine, dont cry, paradise city
SHOfrE3zE
post Aug 19 2005, 11:25 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

beginner:
Pearl Jam - Last Kiss
Radiohead - Creep

Party:
Guns n' Roses - Sweet Child o' Mine
Guns n' Roses - Knockin' on Heaven's Door
AC/DC - Highway to Hell

Must Learn:
Metallica - Fuel
Dream Theater - Stream of Conciousness
The Darkness - Love is Only a Feeling
Aerosmith - Sweet Emotion
TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 19 2005, 11:32 PM

5,231 posts

LOL You sure Coldplay won't put ppl to sleep? tongue.gif tongue.gif

Beginners :
- Cranberries - Zombies
- Eric Clapton - Tears In Heaven
- Extreme - More Than Words
- Good Charlotte - Lifestyle Of The Rich And Famous
- Green Day - When I Come Around
- Richard Marx - Now & Forever
jon_yong
post Aug 20 2005, 12:05 AM

66 posts

Good Thread... Can really compile a list of must learn song... !! thumbup.gif

At least got some music tricks up my sleeve whether the time calls for it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jon_yong: Aug 20 2005, 12:06 AM
nerd
post Aug 20 2005, 07:23 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

oh! forgot pink floyd-wish u were here for must learn songs.. good song! thumbup.gif
blacktrix
post Aug 20 2005, 11:31 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Oooooooh. Cool Thread man... Will fill it up with Ozzy, Zakk and Black Label Society goodness

- Beginner :
Guitar (Little bit of acoustic and a little bit of electric)

Ozzy Osbourne - Mama I'm coming Home
(It's actually pretty easy to play once you master your fingering, plus it's a good chicken' pickin' excersise (the intro), Barr Chord changing (chorus and middle parts) and it's one of the easiest Zakk Wylde solos to play.... mid tempo, lots of pulling and Hammer-on's and off's)

Green Day - Wake Me Up When September Ends
(Quite an easy song to learn.... and sounds great on either acoustic or electric)

Black Sabbath - Paranoid
(Early Black Sabbath songs are pretty easy to learn. This is one of my favorite riffs, BTW)
- Party:
Guitar (acoustic)

Oasis - Don't Look Back in Anger
(this song will generate sing-alongs instantly.... especially the chorus)

Guitar (Electric)
Lynryd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama
(Another party fav of mine)

- Must-learn :

Guitar

Ozzy Osbourne/Zakk Wylde - No More Tears
(The Verse parts are the most memorable riffs from Ozzy and Zakk. Also, a great song to train your P.O.D's)

Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train
(At LEAST learn the most famous Randy Rhodes riff)

Black Label Society - Spoke in The Wheel
(Awsome acoustic song and the perfect break-up song BTW)

Black Label Society - Suicide Messiah
(the riff is pretty easy and the solo, once you sit down and de-crypt it, is actually pretty simple)

Black Label Society - Demise Of Sanity
(My Favorite Black Label riff. P.O.D's galore and wicked fast solo)

Zakk Wylde - I Thank You Child
Strictly for the ladies/new-born child ONLY
chanti-sama
post Aug 20 2005, 11:39 PM

710 posts

must learn
Rolling stones - wild horses, you can't always get what you want
joni mitchell - big yellow taxi, carey
david bowie - ziggy stardust, space oddity
the flaming lips - fight test
nirvana - about a girl, lithium, man who sold the world
foo fighters - moneky wrench, walking after you

party
Rolling stones - sympathy for the devil, dead flowers
kenny loggins - footloose (elusive number)
beatles - all my loving, rollover beethoven, yellow submarine

something to work on
jimi hendrix - voodoo chile, machine gun, one rainy wish
pearl jam - daughter, jeremy,
eric johnson - travelling riverside blues, 20-40
mason williams - classical gas
pachelbel - cannon in d
turin brakes - over & over, fishing for a dream, mind over money

TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 21 2005, 08:16 PM

5,231 posts

You guys lol! List updated. thumbup.gif

Only guitarist posted here??? How sad?? Whatever happened to the bassists and drummers here??? sad.gif sad.gif
ssslayerrr
post Aug 23 2005, 06:10 PM

805 posts

Songs from the video game, Final Fantasy VII
gizmoduck
post Aug 24 2005, 12:05 AM

323 posts

wsup guys..

Beginner

Oasis - Stand by me (all Oasis songs are easy to play anyway) tongue.gif
The Beatles - I want to hold your hands (great for drums as well) thumbup.gif
Hootie and the blowfish - Let her cry cry.gif
Dave Matthews Band - Crash doh.gif

Party

(Somebody already took my 'yellow') mad.gif
The Verve - bittersweet symphony (ask the people to hum the violin while you play the guitar, its so cool hehe) thumbup.gif whistling.gif
John Mayer - Daughters (chicks will love you) drool.gif
Lightning Seeds - Three Lions (apply to England supporters only) vmad.gif

Advanced (I'm not an advanced player but..)

John Mayer - No Such Thing (forgot how to play already, have to find that tab) wink.gif
Dave Matthews Band - Satellite (still figuring out how he can sing whilst playin) blink.gif

Edited: Please mind your language. There are young ones using the forums

This post has been edited by TheWhacker: Aug 24 2005, 08:21 AM
modD
post Aug 24 2005, 05:49 PM

the forest whispers my name
942 posts

Beginner
Nirvana - About A Girl
Nirvana - all their songs smile.gif
Guns N Roses - Knockin On Heaven's Door

Party
Eric Clapton - Tears In Heaven
Extreme - More Than Words
Teacher's Pet - Warisan Wanita Terakhir (don't laugh, a totally ah beng chinese friend of mine sang this song with full emotions and perfect pronounciation when i played this song in UK)
Beatles - I Wanna Hold Your Hand
Beatles - Hard Day's Night
Soul Asylum - Runaway Train
Jewel - You Were Meant For Me

Must-Learn

Metallica - Nothing Else Matters
Cromok - Another You

to be updated...
TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 24 2005, 05:55 PM

5,231 posts

I'ill update the list tonight, but wtf?? Where are the drummers, pianists, and bassists???? We need you guys!
blacktrix
post Aug 24 2005, 11:27 PM

13,063 posts

As tough as you might believe, I actually ENJOY Linkin Park.
So here's my part Guitar song:
Linkin Park - One Step Closer
Brownsound01
post Aug 25 2005, 03:55 PM

438 posts

Beginner:
Papa Roach - Last Resort
Metallica - Sad But True
Nirvana - Lithium

Advanced:
SPEED KILLS!! tongue.gif
Slayer - Angel of Death

This post has been edited by Brownsound01: Aug 26 2005, 05:00 PM
Brownsound01
post Aug 25 2005, 04:47 PM

438 posts

More Songs:

Beginner:
Metallica - Sanitarium (Welcome Home)
All Blink 182 Songs

Party:
Lynyrd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama
Lynyrd Skynyrd - Freebird

Must Learn (Advanced):
Guns N Roses - Paradise City
Guns N Roses - November Rain
Metallica - Battery
Metallica - Blackened

xnobys
post Aug 26 2005, 04:37 PM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

Beginner:
any nirvana songs. i learned guitar by learning to play polly.
you suffer (but why?) - napalm death

Party:
don't speak - no doubt. the solo is not that hard, really...
wild world - mr. big's version
to be with you - mr. big
hippies hates water - mucky pup
the skinhead broke my walkman - mucky pup
american jesus - bad religion

Must Learn (Advanced):
green tinted sixties mind - mr. big
seek and destroy - metallica
troops of doom - sepultura
orgasmatron - motorhead/sepultura
blind - korn
when the sun burns red - kreator
holy war... punishment due - megadeth
hangar 18 - megadeth
re-arranged - limpbizkit (borland is just brilliant)

evo.com
post Aug 26 2005, 06:38 PM

2,234 posts

i think theres abit of flooding in this thread...
do be more selective...
like.... some of the gnr songs definitely qualifies to be in the must learn section.. but hangar 18 from megadeth??!?
i understand that it all comes down to personal preference but do bear in mind that not everyone is into metal...
i love blues and SRV is one of my fav blues player but i dont put it in the must learn section because i know that not everyone digs SRV as muich as i do and also his songs are not really THAT type that are instantly recognisable

no offence to anyone
just wanna it really helps to be more selective.... especially to thethreadstarter and to those who visit this thread to find new songs to learn
suprnova-refugee
post Aug 26 2005, 07:11 PM

169 posts

Cromok-Another You

Although the learning curve is hard as hell,in the end I guarantee y'all that every women in the world will surely cair like mentega.......
TSled_zep_freak
post Aug 28 2005, 01:04 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Aug 26 2005, 06:38 PM)
do be more selective...
like.... some of the gnr songs definitely qualifies to be in the must learn section.. but hangar 18 from megadeth??!?
i understand that it all comes down to personal preference but do bear in mind that not everyone is into metal...
i love blues and SRV is one of my fav blues player but i dont put it in the must learn section because i know that not everyone digs SRV as muich as i do and also his songs are not really THAT type that are instantly recognisable

no offence to anyone
just wanna it really helps to be more selective.... especially to thethreadstarter and to those who visit this thread to find new songs to learn
I agree with you man, plus I think you guys misunderstood partysongs, party songs are songs ppl (Non-guitarist, mind) heard of, not just any pop songs you have in mind. Preferbly songs you can sing to too.

Will update the list later.
xnobys
post Aug 28 2005, 04:21 PM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Aug 26 2005, 06:38 PM)
do be more selective...

no offence to anyone
sorry. notworthy.gif i don't mean to flood this thread but those songs i personally think a must-learn stuff.

aditional party song
ob-la-di ob-la-da - the beatles
Brownsound01
post Aug 29 2005, 04:04 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 28 2005, 05:04 PM)
I agree with you man, plus I think you guys misunderstood partysongs, party songs are songs ppl (Non-guitarist, mind) heard of, not just any pop songs you have in mind. Preferbly songs you can sing to too.

Will update the list later.
I think the songs I listed fit those categories.
modD
post Aug 29 2005, 04:09 PM

the forest whispers my name
942 posts

gather a group of friends with rotten love lives, and sing Bon Jovi's songs!
MoNnY
post Aug 29 2005, 04:23 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

must learn for bass
Metallica - orion
Metallica - My friend of misery
Metallica - (anesthesia) pulling teeth
Iron maiden - the trooper
Pink FLoyd - Money
red hot chili peppers - around the world
jimi hendrix - little wing
pantera - cowboys from hell
knumskul
post Aug 29 2005, 07:38 PM

784 posts

Must Learn(all, play as band or something):
Eagles - Hotel California
Metallica - Enter Sandman
Metallica - Master of Puppets
Metallica - Fade to Black
Guns N Roses - November Rain
Guns N Roses - Sweet Child of Mine
Limp Bizkit - Take a Look Around
Bon Jovi - Its My Life (more for parties)
TheWhacker
post Sep 2 2005, 08:22 AM

3,914 posts

Where's all the drummers, Bassist and pianist ? It's all guitarist who posted those songs .....
blacktrix
post Sep 2 2005, 07:47 PM

13,063 posts

I think we guitarist scared most of them off.
Go for a recruitment campaign lah Whacker..... go other forums and inform them of our little "society"
hehehehe.
roughskinz
post Sep 3 2005, 12:40 AM

I want my Evisu jeans!
1,436 posts

good informative thread..should be pinned
deus_ex_machina
post Sep 3 2005, 09:12 PM

1,165 posts

Nirvana - Smells Like Teen Spirit
minghan3333
post Sep 3 2005, 09:30 PM

hmm..why no piano song dee..only have guitar..no PIANO...
Reload
post Sep 4 2005, 12:35 AM

70 posts

Beginner:
The Shadows - Apache
Green Day - Boulevard of Broken Dreams

Party:
Oasis - Wonderwall
The Eagles - Hotel California
Deep Purple - Smoke On The Water
Lynyrd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama
John Lennon - Imagine
Guns 'n' Roses - Knocking On Heaven's Door

Must Learn:
Stevie Ray Vaughn - Little Wing
Stevie Ray Vaughn - Lenny
Pantera - Cemetery Gates
Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train
Yngwie Malmsteen - Black Star

This post has been edited by Reload: Sep 4 2005, 12:36 AM
dragna
post Sep 4 2005, 05:15 PM

5,252 posts

I'll fill in for the Bassist.

Beginner
:
Foo Fighters - Big me
Everclear - Santa monica
Sugar Ray - Answer the phone
Puddle of Mudd - She hates me
Blink 182 - All the small things
The Offspring - Come out and play

Party (none for the bass though)

Must learn :
Greenday - When i come around , Welcome to paradise, Basketcase
Guns n Roses - Sweet child o' mine
Guns n Roses - Knockin on heaven's door
Limb Bizkit - Take a look around

Expert :
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Around the world
Jamiroquai - Alright
One Minute Silence - I think therefore i'm damned
TheWhacker
post Sep 5 2005, 01:23 PM

3,914 posts

Piano (Must Learn)
The Scientist by ColdPlay (If i can play it on the piano, so can you)
Kiss From a Rose by Seal (Cool love song)

Piano (Party & Beginner)
Happy Birthday to You (Become on, it fits the theme right ?)

pizzaboy
post Sep 6 2005, 09:06 PM

9,495 posts

Drummer tracks

Begginer.

Greenday-When I Come Around
White Stripes-7 Nation Army
Simple Plan-Perfect
Dashboard Confessional-Vindicated
Three Doors Down-Let Me Go
Bon Jovi-It's My Life
Avril Lavinge-Complicated
Guns N' Roses-Paradise City
Nirvana-Smells Macam Semangat Remaja

Party Songs
Erh....AH! Hip fun fast songs in my dictionary.

Blink 182-All The Small Things
Blink 182-What's My Age Again?
Fenix TX-It's All My Fault
Rooster-Come Get Some
Bowling For Soup-1985
Fountains Of Wayne-Stacy's Mom
Frequency Cannon-Girl
Pop Shuvit-Jump

Must Learn

Metallica-Enter Sandman, Fuel, For Whom The Bell Tolls.
Dream Theater-Endless Sacrifice
metalhead
post Sep 7 2005, 02:06 AM

1,672 posts

Beginner: -
About a Girl, Smells Like Teens Spirit, When I Come Around, Good Riddance
(Most Nirvana and early Green Day songs are easy to learn and fun to jam with your buddies)
Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd (Easy to learn and appreciate the music, when you start to appreciate music, u'll have more motivation to keep on learning)
Guns and Roses - Knockin on Heaven's Door (easy to play and master)

Party Songs:-
-Note: Me no party people, so the songs here is what i imagine to capture the attention of the audiences-

Intro: -
Metallica - Sad But True (great opening riffs, play the riffs when entering the stage laugh.gif)
Guns and Roses - Sweet Child of Mine (public audience, who doesn't know this song already should get whacked in the ass)
Wild Cherry - Play That Funky Music (for the party people, lotsa fun, heard this music in most live band bar)
Jet -Are You Gonna Be My Girl (i think this is not bad, since it;s some sorta pop rock)
Korn - Blind

-Time to get mellow after some fast tune-
ManBai - Kau Ilhamku (u can get the tab from mysongbook.com, and i actually wan to learn that song tongue.gif )
Bon Jovi - Always
Eric Clapton - Beautiful Tonight

-For closing the show and show off your skills to awed the audiences tongue.gif-
Dire Straits - Sultan of Swings
Jimmi Hendrix - Little Wings
Pink Floyd - Comfortably Numb (can;t really think of any grand exit beside this one smile.gif )

Must Learn (from my point of view)
Yngwie J. Malmsteen - Arpeggios from Hell/Motto Arpegiossa (not really hard to learn, but you have to practise hard to master the speed)
Steve Vai - For The Love of God
Steve Vai - Eugene's Trick Bag
Eric Johnson - Manhattan
Van Halen - Eruption
Zakk Wylde - Speedball

-that's all for now-
TheWhacker
post Sep 7 2005, 08:38 AM

3,914 posts

led_zep_freak, are you going to update the list ?

Edit: Nevermind then, I'll update the list myself ....

This post has been edited by TheWhacker: Sep 7 2005, 02:29 PM
TSled_zep_freak
post Sep 7 2005, 07:13 PM

5,231 posts

Sorry... pretty lazy to update it these few days. tongue.gif Sorry for the trouble and thanks a lot! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

foogie
post Sep 14 2005, 01:35 AM

505 posts

Haha, ok nw, bassist here.

(Bass)

Beginner:
Mungkin Nanti (PeterPan)
Numb vs Encore (LP JZ)
He Wasn't (Avril)
The Reason (Hoobastank)
Falls on me (Fuel)
My Sacrifice (Creed)

Party or jamming:
Warning (Greenday) (quite beginner lvl, but nice for jamming, hHa)
7 Nation Army (The White Stripes)
Smoke Over the water (Deep Purple)
Are you gonna be my girl (Jet)(darn nice song fr bass... bassist! a chance fr yall to stand in the middle of the stage! hahaha)
God is a girl (Groove Coverage) (no tabs or chords online, so use ur creativity fr the basslines on this 1! verynice song to play on bass with treble full, bass cut half, mid half oso)

MUST KNOW!:
A place for ma head (Linkin Park)
In the shadows (Rasmus) (a lil song fr bassists to shine... a lil, haha)

Note for bassists: Playing rootnotes for all the songs above would just make them all become beginner songs, so plz, use ur creativity to add some extra lines to the chords.
firewall
post Sep 27 2005, 03:03 AM

ahahaha.... i'm sure these 4 songs have been mentioned before, but i'll say it again anyway....

1. smells like teen spirit
2. smoke on the water
3. wild thing
4. stairway to heaven
5. enter sandman

AnimeSan
post Oct 4 2005, 12:26 PM

65 posts

level 1 - the beginners , grab the pop song chord book on the store
Mimpi yang sempurna - peterpan (the easiest one)
the temple of the King - rainbow (another easy stuff)
kiss me - sixpence of the none ritcher <-- is this the right name ^^ tongue.gif ( very easy)
GOD - vertical horizon (easy easy and very sweet song, just skip the interlude if u want)
level 2
To be with you - Mr-big ( time to learn some solo and more chord)
here without you - 3 doors down ( not my fave, but quite moderate to learn string picking , be patience )
knockin on the heavens door - gnr
level 3 - time to learn some classy fingering, doesnt have to be fully mastered but need to know
more than word - a must!! (just skip the hellfinger on the last min on the track)
Kangen - dewa19 (learn every single note, skip the solo <-- you can do it if you want, btw I ll write the tab if needed )
I remember you - skid row ( learn the picking carefully )
stairway to heaven - led zepplin ( some classy but rocky )
nothing else matters - Metallica ( another stairway to heaven levels)

LEVEL 3 - power chord - electric guitar chord fells the different!
Smell like teen spirits - nirvana (learn what electric guitar can do for beginners)
Sahabat Sejati - Sheila On 7 (need to know for electric guitarist, a good sample of overdrive the sound)
enter sandman - metallica ( yess soo rocky!!! )
SMoke in the water - deep purple ( so basic for electric guitar playing)
Seberapa Pantas - SO7 (again?? yes but this is harder than sahabat sejati)

LEVEL 4 - the solo's - you need to learn some basic of scale and fingering warmup to do solo properly, my sugestion is learn blues , major and minor pentatonic scale , and dont forget do re mi tongue.gif

a man who sold the world - nirvana (solo along da song easy one tongue.gif )
Smoke in the water (with solo ) - deep purple ( if you skip the solo at level 3 , you must learn the solo here )
Sweet Child O mine - GNR ( sweet shortcut to learn solo )
black magic women - Santana ( black magic to master solo magic )
Highway to hell - ACDC (its a highway ticket to master solo)
Seberapa Pantas - SO7 ( ehhh Sheila againn?? yess but this is good example for you to learn overdrive solo without delay and other effect, I mean very2 dry sound so your mistakes will be noticed easily)

end of the levels ..... tongue.gif if you fells the song is not suitable for you just play another song that has same level as THAT song

This post has been edited by AnimeSan: Oct 4 2005, 12:27 PM
AnimeSan
post Oct 4 2005, 01:08 PM

65 posts

Party songs ..... oh well Im not a party guy ...
but here's the suitable song for audience taste

Right Now ! - SR71 <---- great for intro and opening, Im pretty sure this song ll raise up audience adrenaline at once
Every Breath You Take - The Police <-- just Modify the song, get some rappers, change the calm song with the distorsion song when it goes to the reff ...
We will rock you - Queen
Manja - Ada band <-- sweet song that ll atract girls smile.gif
Duality - SliptKnot - --> in case your audience is brutal ppl ^^
Die mothef***er die - Dope --> same as above
etc

my suggestion is try to grab some popular whether new song or old song, and modify it to suit the style of your band

ADD on : MUST LEARN SONG ( Id call it must know song first before you learn it, because its damn good fully skilled song )

Siti Nurbaya - Dewa (, easiest of the hard one beware bassist !! the guitar solo is nothing compare yours )
Fear of The Dark - iron maiden ( only for iron maiden fans)
Like an Angel - Yngwie Malmsteen ( powerfull and emotional solo, must learn if you want to master of slow rock solo )
Monkey Business - Skid Row ( the loudest song of skidrow, beware Drummers, guitarist ,vocalist and the bassist !!, get the tempo, get the riffs)
No Junjou Na Kanjou - Siam Shade ( japanese rock, that made you play the lead a long the song)
Livin the Live - Steel Dragon feat zakk ( a hard rock from the soundtrack of rockstar, prepare your speed!!, another fast loud song , very2 fast solo)

your final boss level is :
steve vai, van halen, joe satriani, eric johnson ( try to learn some of their song, I haven't master even single of it .... T_T )

your final final final boss is :
JAZZ!! yeah, jazz root all of the modern music, its contains the easy tune into the hardest tune that you ve never seen before, learn it
some example is :
Casiopea

or listen these guitar demo on the fith track
---http://www.bosscorp.co.jp/demos/en/EQ-20_sound/demo.html
Creative-
post Oct 24 2005, 12:21 AM

264 posts

Here's a few pretty simple songs to learn. Nailing the solos in some of them might require some practise tho. This is just off the top of my head. These are a few simple yet very catchy riffs.

AC/DC - Highway To Hell
AC/DC - If You Want Blood You Got It
AC/DC - T.N.T.
The Darkness - I Believe In A Thing Called Love
Jet - Are You Gonna Be My Girl
Jet - Cold Hard B****
Deep Purple - Smoke On The Water (Have you ever met a guitarist who doesn't know how to play this song?)

This post has been edited by Creative-: Oct 24 2005, 12:21 AM
Mr.Ginger
post Nov 6 2005, 04:00 PM

77 posts

Easy beginner songs (guitar)

Espionage - Green Day (instrumental)
The 12 bar blues - no idea
Basket Case - Green Day
Wonderwall - Oasis
hoongern
post Jan 3 2006, 11:48 AM

721 posts

Since everyone has been asking where the pianists are, I'll do my best to fill in Classical piano... To me it's very hard to 'rate' or 'categorize' pieces, but I'll try. I hope I'm not leaving out too much of the beginner side..

And a piece is not about how hard the notes are - it is about how you play it - the end product. Even "beginner" so called pieces must be played musically, there's no point in taking on something you won't be able to play properly if you're not mature enough musically.

Mid-Beginner (perhaps up until Grade 3 level?):
Handel - Fantasie in A minor
Chopin - Prelude in E minor
Chopin - Prelude in B minor
Schumann - From Foreign Lands (from the set of pieces Kinderscenen)
Set of pieces : Burgmuller - 25 Easy and Progressive Studies for the piano Op.100

Intermediate (maybe up to Grade 7/8) : (I don't think I can call them party songs? But pieces you can pull out when someone asks you to play something)
Bach Invensions
Scarlatti - Piano Sonatas (i'm not exactly sure which ones would be good)
Brahms - Three Intermezzi Op. 117
Mozart - Piano Sonata in C K545
Beethoven - Piano Sonata in F minor Op2 Nr 1
Beethoven - Rondo, C major Op. 51/1
Chopin - Deux Nocturnes Op. 55 Nr 1

Advanced (Gr 7/8 up) :
Bach - Partita No. 1 (and others)
Schubert - Four Impromptus Op. 90
Beethoven Piano Sonatas - C minor Op 10 Nr 2, C minor (pathetique) Op 13, E major Op 14 Nr 1, C sharp minor (moonlight) Op 27 Nr 1
Mozart Piano Sonatas (I'm missing quite a few, don't have my book with me) - A minor Piano Sonata
Debussy - Clair De Lune, Prelude IX, Prelude X (both Book one)
Samuel Barber - Excursions Op 20
Shostakovich - Piano Concerto No 2 in F, Three Fantastic Dances
Schumann - Fantasiestucke Op. 12
Sinding - Rustle of Spring
Chopin - Waltz in E flat major, Waltz in C sharp minor, some others
Kabalevsky - Piano Sonata No. 3 in F

Very Advanced (Dunno?) :
Debussy - Pour le piano
Chopin - Scherzos (any of them, I've done No.2 and 3), Fantasie-Impromptu, Etudes, Ballade Op.52
Lizst - Liebestraum (sp?), Storm, Piano Sonata in B minor
Brahms - Rhapsody (the D minor one)
Grieg - Piano Concerto in A minor
Mussorgsky - Pictures at an Exhibition

and hundreds of hundreds more...

Beethoven - Piano Sonata in F minor (appassionata) Op57
SUSMike3300
post Jan 10 2006, 04:55 PM

6,866 posts

Beginner- Hoobastank The Reason

Party- Lostprophets Burn Burn

Advanced- Slipknot The Blister Exists

Crazy maniac- Slipknot Left Behind, (sic)
kevler
post Jan 10 2006, 05:24 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

Piano ( must learn)

Radiohead - Wish You Were Here (song owned by Pink Floyd)

http://metawire.org/~kevler/11%20-%20Radio...arkelhorse).mp3

This post has been edited by kevler: Jan 10 2006, 05:25 PM
davidlow7
post Jan 10 2006, 05:54 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

Piano Song...

Try

Forever Love -[X-Japan]
Amethyst from -[X-Japan]

Some Rock songs..
Silent Jealousy [X-Japan]
try this song.. try the solo and also pianist should try the piano solo part .... and later it will be continued by guitar solo.. 2 guitarist need to work on the solo very much... i love this song..
sean392
post Jan 10 2006, 07:30 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

i dono how to rate this....
but

ozzy osbourne [live] - gets me through
Ping-O-Mania !!! XD

tonYe
post Feb 11 2006, 07:00 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

cool but where can we learn all these. tabs sites are being close down by the MPA & all there's left are the inaccurate tabs sites.
jj2themax
post Feb 13 2006, 02:28 PM

137 posts

Must learn

greenday - wake me up when september ends

more than words.
slash
post Feb 26 2006, 06:58 AM

Warcraft 3 Champion - Lan Party 2003
1,081 posts

ok. now where to get tabs for those?
TSled_zep_freak
post Feb 26 2006, 10:59 AM

5,231 posts

http://www.mysongbook.com

Otherwise just google. thumbup.gif
quarantined
post Mar 1 2006, 06:49 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

haha don't have a list but I've just bump across a song that should be fun to play on guitars... it's You Give Love A bad NAme by Bon Jovi, or can play the Atreyu's version for more kick... pretty easy song to play. biggrin.gif
LongAndBoringSem
post Mar 7 2006, 03:04 PM

nice topic...
my suggestion

beginner
any of gorrillaz song that have a groovy bassline(recommended ":dirty harry")
sweet child 'o' mine
red hot chilli pepper(find a song that flea play slowly haha i mean get his idea about making a simple playing as creative as u can)
hail to the thief "radiohead"
Toto = chain of my heart ,rosanna

road to expert
jamiroquai
earth wind and fire
Sheila majid (her mid 80's album i prefer)
Dream Theater
primus
red hot la ...of cos
george benson
Prince
Mother Earth

expert
im not expert so can't say la

LongAndBoringSem
post Mar 7 2006, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(slash @ Feb 26 2006, 06:58 AM)
ok. now where to get tabs for those?
So simple Just go to...www.MXtabs.com
TheWhacker
post Mar 7 2006, 03:35 PM

3,914 posts

QUOTE(LongAndBoringSem @ Mar 7 2006, 03:08 PM)
So simple Just go to...www.MXtabs.com
Its www.mxtabs.net
AthlorneXT
post Mar 7 2006, 05:49 PM

84 posts

i thought they closed down the site...??? sad.gif
hydrogen
post Mar 11 2006, 10:37 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

they just re-opened! they closed it for a while, but now its back and better than ever...
JeffreyAvril
post Apr 9 2006, 08:57 AM

157 posts

Yup correct. Mxtabs is reopened. Check it out at www.mxtabs.net

Beginner:
More than words - extreme
When you say nothing at all - ronan keating
Guan Fei Suei Yuet - Beyond

Party:
Crazy Train - ozzy
wake me up when september ends - green day
secrets - good charlotte

Must learn:
Km Pe Du Wee - Steve Vai
morning star - vinnie moore
tears in heaven - eric clapton

cheers.gif
asura_86
post Apr 28 2006, 06:31 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

www.ultimate-guitar.com also got some nice tabs there..

Beginner:
any blink182 songs
basketcase - greenday
zombie - cransberries

Advanced:
bullet, higher, my sacrifice - creed
broken wings - alter bridge
istuka - glay (jrock)

not an expert yet, so i can't say anything bout it...i prefer playing jrock songs are they involve more pluckings and odd-timing struming...for me, it's a good practise...

angelfish84
post May 7 2006, 08:42 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 24 2005, 05:55 PM)
I'ill update the list tonight, but wtf?? Where are the drummers, pianists, and bassists???? We need you guys!
here here...wave.gif
i play piano n drum...

but it's been a long long time that i dun touch both of them..
bet i'm less consistent than before...

blacktrix
post May 7 2006, 10:28 PM

13,063 posts

Every guitarist MUST be able to play at LEAST The intro verse to crazy train. It's an awsome intro AND get to practise your stretching!
Everdying
post May 8 2006, 12:02 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

what stretching in crazy train intro?
SUSAcey
post May 9 2006, 04:07 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอà¸
3,622 posts

Lynyrd Skynyrd - Free Bird
shouta
post May 13 2006, 01:09 AM

78 posts

speaking of general entertainment.. these are my recomendations
james blunt - your beautiful
cold play - in my place
greenday - time of your life
kelly clarkson - because of u

*national anthem - Negaraku
=)
generally the more commercialise the song is, the better

angelfish84
post May 16 2006, 12:40 PM

191 posts

98 degrees - i cherish u wub.gif
headhunter7
post May 16 2006, 02:10 PM

2,355 posts

Play Edwin Mccain - I'll Be.
laugh.gif.
jones007
post May 24 2006, 07:36 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

hmm... i only would recommend bass. dream theater's bass line rocks. i love john myung. he rocks!

for song.. try home and a change of seasons

This post has been edited by jones007: May 24 2006, 07:37 PM
shiinkuro31
post May 29 2006, 01:46 AM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

party song
-peter pan, dewa,etc indon band...
-malay song...
-that thing u do (forgot the band la)

beginner
-zombie
-last kiss
-creep

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
MoNnY
post May 31 2006, 12:01 PM

4,423 posts

for bassist,
learn all of jaco's songs man...
teen town is first on the list then continuum
good stuff...
and pink floyd money along with cake i will survive... but the repetative bass lines may get boring after a while but still nice groove..
TSled_zep_freak
post May 31 2006, 12:05 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ May 31 2006, 12:01 PM)
and pink floyd money along with cake i will survive... but the repetative bass lines may get boring after a while but still nice groove..
I like money! biggrin.gif Too bad no sax player to play the solo hahaha sweat.gif
MoNnY
post May 31 2006, 12:09 PM

4,423 posts

ahhhh.... UR WRONG...
got keyboardist right ? can do modelling what.. just not as nice la.. hahaha...
wanna try ar ?
jones007
post Jun 1 2006, 04:44 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

money is nice thumbup.gif very easy to play tho' tongue.gif
TSled_zep_freak
post Jun 1 2006, 04:55 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ May 31 2006, 12:09 PM)
ahhhh.... UR WRONG...
got keyboardist right ? can do modelling what.. just not as nice la.. hahaha...
wanna try ar ?
Haha... no keyboard can emulate the warmth of a sax, plus, they keyboardist gonna play the hammond organ part, otherwise no feel. wink.gif wink.gif I think I can get a sax player tho. tongue.gif

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jun 1 2006, 04:44 PM)
money is nice thumbup.gif very easy to play tho' tongue.gif
Yeah, but the 7/8 timing (or was it something else? shocking.gif ) is a bit tricky tho... but after the sax solo it's all 4/4 heaven! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
ruffstuff
post Jun 10 2006, 02:32 PM

3,345 posts

for bass, larc en ciel's drivers high.
Pix
post Jun 11 2006, 01:53 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

l'arc en ciel... hehehe... that means rainbow in french.

what , it's not the spam section ? sorry..
u-djinn
post Jul 11 2006, 10:38 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jun 10 2006, 02:32 PM)
for bass, larc en ciel's drivers high.
agreed. and 'stay away' as well...

ChopSuey
post Jul 23 2006, 03:12 PM

222 posts

piano:

Saving All My Love For You (Arranged by Dan Coates, Pro. touch series)
Claire De Lune (Classical, Debussy)

- yap

This post has been edited by ChopSuey: Jul 23 2006, 03:13 PM
microbe
post Aug 10 2006, 05:40 PM

255 posts

hey? u guy dint talk bout flute or some wind music instruments?
sweat.gif
ninelives1980
post Aug 28 2006, 12:31 AM

680 posts

many songs which fall under the artists as mentioned below:

for classical piano - chopin's fantasy impromptu.......an etude 'revolution' in C minor, and his other etudes, plus some of his piano concertos......talkin' about tough ones...woh! ....hopefully i've got the tracks name right, haven't been listenin' to them for o'er 10 years now...heh

for bluesy solos - Jimmy Page

for chord works - coldplay's in parachutes album.....dang!

for vocals - aerosmith (if you can handle it), dashboard confessional (woh!), Adam Levine (is that how you spell it?..tongue.gif ) ....

for programming - TATU, fatboy slim, michelle branch (hotel paper album...few tracks features strong programming lines)

drum works - Slipknot....he'll drive you up the wall.....you've been warned

for contemporary piano - Coldplay, ray charles (his later, solemn-mood works)

funk elements in guitar - RHCP, Maroon 5 (yam!)

so many more to name.......tongue.gif
prasys
post Sep 3 2006, 05:46 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

where to get music scores for piano.....I am searching high and low
sheng
post Oct 11 2006, 09:11 PM

1,374 posts

does anyone have the tabs for 'ada band -manja' ?
guitar or piano..that's a really sweet song..
pm me the link pls

This post has been edited by sheng: Oct 11 2006, 09:11 PM
Canopies
post Oct 13 2006, 12:51 PM

2,733 posts

where u guys get those songs tabs and chords for guitarist and drummer 1...wat link..pls tell me
pokmaster
post Oct 14 2006, 04:55 PM

334 posts

ultimate-guitar.com for guitars, mxtabs.net for guitar and drums but the site's facing legal issues...911 tabs.com (drums, guitar, piano), http://sheetplaza.com for piano, http://www.nobuouematsu.com/sheet2.html final fantasy sheets for most intrumentals... cheers
Canopies
post Oct 16 2006, 06:44 PM

2,733 posts

other than tabs..coz i duno how to read lah..aiyoyo...got any chords only and the lyrics there???.
changhao
post Oct 24 2006, 04:53 PM

142 posts

George Thorogood's "Bad to the Bone" always draw up a few laughs with the appreciative audiences. Since it's so easy to play, the trick is to put up a mini stage-show while playing this to "look bad". Real fun!

Any aspiring rockstar wannabe shld have Nickelback's "Rockstar" in his/her repertoire as a motivational number!
by3bye
post Nov 5 2006, 08:28 PM

for me its different ... urm -

beginner -
romance de amore
you and me - lifehouse
you're beautiful - james blunt
smells like teen spirit - nirvana
i caught fire in your eyes - the used

party -
knockin' on heavens door - GNR
sweet child o' mine -GNR
dont cry - GNR
love is only a feeling - darkness

advanced -
paradise city - GNR
rock and roll hoochie koo - edgar winter, rick derringer
you could be mine - GNR

mostly alot of GNR songs are advanced except for afew that i dono

SUSMike3300
post Nov 18 2006, 07:13 PM

6,866 posts

Try to play this beat for drums tongue.gif

Everyday Combat by Lostprophets

jiggly_head
post Dec 11 2006, 01:05 PM

192 posts

i think bob marley deserves a mention here. name me one bad song by him
davidson_leong
post Dec 13 2006, 02:41 PM

32 posts

Actually it depends on the player's choice. For begineers, every songs is suitable and just wanna know the music score. The type of music score is very important for them to learn. No matter thelatest songs from all over the world and also the artists. Chinese songs, Indian songs, Malay songs and also English songs. All suitable.

Anything can PM me to know more!! Thankx!!!!
echobrainproject
post Dec 13 2006, 02:48 PM

4,765 posts

PM you? sounds like some ad. lol. what do u do?
davidson_leong
post Dec 15 2006, 10:12 PM

32 posts

what do you mean? Dude? I can't get your idea.
michly
post Dec 19 2006, 10:50 AM

155 posts

guys... try this site. smile.gif . the best i ever found

http://tabs.sinky.net/
Devil_J
post Dec 19 2006, 12:38 PM

205 posts

guys out there.. do u all have any idea to get score for BRASS BAND?? reali appreciated ur help.. THX
CountPuchi
post Dec 31 2006, 07:00 AM

104 posts

Ill contribute too

(Guitar)

Beginner
Blink 182 - Adam Song
Greenday - Warning
Led Zepplin - Stairway to heaven
Metallica - One

Party
Greenday - When i come around
Greenday - Basketcase
Blink182 - All the small things
Blink182 - Rock show
Metallica - For whom the bell toll
Breaking Benjamin - Diary of jane

Must Learn
Metallica - Fade to black
Metallica - No leaf clover
Metallica - Master of puppet *can really test your stamina*
Cromok - Another You
Cromok - The Gift
Muse - Plug in baby
Red Hot CP - Road Trippin
Extreme - More than words
Beatles - Yesterday
Eric claptop - Guitar solo *dont know the name lmao*
frusciante
post Jan 19 2007, 01:24 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Aug 19 2005, 08:37 PM)
Beginner:
Stairway to heaven

Party:
Kids aren't alright - offspring

Must learn:
Hendrix stuff..... little wing... purple haze... along the watchtower
WTF?Beginner play stairway to heaven?Haha.If all beginner play that we dont have linkin park coming to Msia!
Metallica23
post Jan 22 2007, 03:44 AM

106 posts

Wa, you guys all put the beginner at something like Nothing else matter or Stairway to heaven...not that easy for the first time you play guitar right?
For me the beginner should learn like
Now and forever
can't help falling in love
or something like that. Slow and easy, learn some basic combination gramut...but it is still not easy for people learn the first time

RustReaver4D1
post Jan 23 2007, 01:48 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Metallica23 @ Jan 22 2007, 03:44 AM)
Wa, you guys all put the beginner at something like Nothing else matter or Stairway to heaven...not that easy for the first time you play guitar right?
For me the beginner should learn like
Now and forever
can't help falling in love
or something like that. Slow and easy, learn some basic combination gramut...but it is still not easy for people learn the first time
Metallica is generally good to learn if you want to learn basic metal rhythm - good combination of basic techniques like 8th and 16th note palm-muting riffs, a bit of galloping here and there. (But don't go try Master of Puppets if it's your first month of playing! biggrin.gif ).

Nothing Else Matters and Stairway may be a bit tricky though if you're just starting out. Both have a lot of arpeggiated chords that may be difficult to play for new guitarists.

Then again, it all depends on the individual... I remember that when I first started playing guitar, my ultimate goal was to learn how to play Stairway (solo included). Never could get the chord-switching right, my timing was atrocious and the solo was a complete FUBAR... gave up after a while and decided to stick with straight 16th note alternate picking at uber-l33t bpms! Hehe... cool2.gif
Metallica23
post Jan 23 2007, 02:13 PM

106 posts

haha...like my roommate he the first time plays guitar...I taught him...but it's kind of hard to say that the Metallica's song is suitable for him...even the tears in heaven or now and forever, he also cannot play
So I guess...songs you guys recommened here are for person already got some basic...
RustReaver4D1
post Jan 23 2007, 02:26 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Metallica23 @ Jan 23 2007, 02:13 PM)
haha...like my roommate he the first time plays guitar...I taught him...but it's kind of hard to say that the Metallica's song is suitable for him...even the tears in heaven or now and forever, he also cannot play
So I guess...songs you guys recommened here are for person already got some basic...
damn, brings back memories of the first few struggling months... the first song my friend tried to teach me was Song 2 from Blur...

I was damn blur loh.... biggrin.gif

bujanglapok
post Feb 2 2007, 06:48 PM

Am I a Senior Member?
2,277 posts

Try teach a beginner Another You by Cromok.
I hear the guitarwork also want to cry. Dang it you Cromok.
RustReaver4D1
post Feb 5 2007, 11:54 AM

1,100 posts

Hey... but isn't Cromok like de facto required for all aspiring Mat Rockers?

You're guaranteed to see once in your lifetime some guy sitting on the floor against the wall in a studio with a busted up Kapok playing Another You... clean or not, that's a different story! smile.gif
SweetTooth
post Feb 6 2007, 07:15 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(CountPuchi @ Dec 31 2006, 07:00 AM)
Ill contribute too

(Guitar)

Beginner
Blink 182 - Adam Song
Greenday - Warning
Led Zepplin - Stairway to heaven
Metallica - One

Party
Greenday - When i come around
Greenday - Basketcase
Blink182 - All the small things
Blink182 - Rock show
Metallica - For whom the bell toll
Breaking Benjamin - Diary of jane
Must Learn
Metallica - Fade to black
Metallica - No leaf clover
Metallica - Master of puppet *can really test your stamina*
Cromok - Another You
Cromok - The Gift
Muse - Plug in baby
Red Hot CP - Road Trippin
Beatles - Yesterday
Eric claptop - Guitar solo *dont know the name lmao*
I'm guessing wonderful tonight ?
RitzyMazzy
post Feb 18 2007, 06:30 PM

76 posts

Beginner:
Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight
John Lennon - Imagine ( imagine if it played by single acoustic..how sweet it would be..)
Pearl Jam - Lass Kiss ??
Scorpions - Still Loving You

Party:
The Eagles - Hotel California
The Extreme - More Than Words
Guns 'n' Roses - Knocking On Heaven's Door
Search - Gadisku

Must Learn:
Ekamatra - Sentuhan Kecundang
Dream Theater - Erotomania
Dream Theater - ALL in Scene From A Memory
John Petrucci - Glasgow Kiss
Yngwie Malmsteen - Far Beyond The Sun
Joe Satriani - Summer Song
Marty Friedman - Thundermarch
Metallica - Master Of Puppets
Stevie Ray Vaughn - Little Wing

note : those hard to play songs are NOT that hard in my opinion..of course the result is not within 1-2 days. keep your hardworking, patient, honest and dicipline when practise. after 5 years u are almost close to be a complete MUSICIAN...and dont forget to use metronome. and yeah theres much more need to be learned..wide range of scales and chords in Jazzy and so on.

This post has been edited by RitzyMazzy: Feb 18 2007, 06:38 PM
Dejeka Infinitus
post Feb 24 2007, 01:03 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Dec 19 2006, 12:38 PM)
guys out there.. do u all have any idea to get score for BRASS BAND?? reali appreciated ur help.. THX
are u playing in Brass band? in VI? St John?

QUOTE(frusciante @ Jan 19 2007, 01:24 PM)
WTF?Beginner play stairway to heaven?Haha.If all beginner play that we dont have linkin park coming to Msia!
err..dude..stairway to heaven n metallica was my first song that i play when i started to play guitar..coz my hostelmates all crazy to goreng2 stuff u know..plus when i know how to start plucking with all fingers..they teach me romance d'amore song..and richards marx..crazy! well its all back in 1997

This post has been edited by Dejeka Infinitus: Feb 24 2007, 01:10 PM
Boneka
post Mar 14 2007, 01:20 PM

89 posts

Beginner:
hidup bersama - xpdc
wake me up when september end - greenday
perfect blue - larenciel
Stairway to heaven - led zeppelin
eric clapton - tears in heaven
beatles - yesterday

Party:
temple of the king - angeldust
to be with u - mr. big
Another You - cromok
romance de armor

Must Learn:
Hyme L' Armour
Eagleheart - Stratovarius
i dont belong here - cromok
misery - cromok
Oshio Kotaro songs
zivkong
post Mar 22 2007, 09:42 AM

164 posts

Well ... i wonder there is must learn song

these are unplugged MUST LEARN song list for performance hahaha

-------------CHINESE---------------
David Tao - Ai Hen Jian Dan (I dunno why this song never dies)
David Tao - Pu Tong Peng You (Try to get the intro...)
Li Shern Jie - Shou Fan Kai
Li Shern Jie - Chi Xin Jue Dui
Li Shern Jie - Zui Jin
Li Shern Jie - Hen Xiang Shuo
Beyond - Hai Kuo Tian Kong
Beyond - Qing Ren
Beyond - Xi Huan Ni
Leo Ku - Ai Yu Cheng
Leo Ku - Ai De Tai Ci
Eason Chan - Fu Shi Shan Xia
Eason Chan - Xiong Mei
Eason Chan - Ming Nian Jin Re
Power Station - Xiang Ni Shi Ning Shui Qian De Xi Guan
Power Station - Zhong Xiao Dong Lu Zhou Jiu Bian
Tai Ji - Mei Yi Ju Shuo Hua
Hacken Lee - Hong Re (For peaking time)
Jackie Cheung - Wo Zhen De Shou Shang Le
Jackie Cheung - Ai Shi Yong Heng
Wang Jie - Yi Chang You Xi Yi Chang Meng
Tank - Zuan Shu Tian Shi
Van - Waiting For You
Tan Yong Ling - Yi Sheng Zhong Zhui Ai
----------------------------------------

----------ENGLISH----------
Eagles - Hotel California (If you can play the intro both ar .. sure good but the key quite high...)
John Denver - Leaving On The Jet Plane
Richard Marx - Right Here Waiting
Air Supply - All Out Of Love
MLTR - That's Why
Ronan Keating - When You Say Nothing At All
-------------------------------

--------MALAY---------------
Innuendo - Belaian Jiwa
Mambai - Kau Ilhamku
Peter Pan - Mungkin Nanti
Kris Dayanti - Menghitung Hari
-------------------------------

----------CELEBRATION----------
Birthday song (Chinese, English, Malay)
Christmas Songs
CNY Song (Dam** Hate this)
------------------------------------

----------HARD SONG--------------
**For entertainment purpose.....
Eason Chan - Fau Kua
Shin - One Night In Beijing
---------------------------------------
clivengu
post Apr 23 2007, 11:23 PM

1,850 posts

Guys.. u considering Tears in heaven by Eric clapton suitable for beginner? I have b33n playing guitar for fun for few years but still don have d effort to learn that songs.. i mean.. its quite hard for me.. ha ha

Actually im looking for Chinese songs.. as more people will sing chinese song compare to english. My problem is .im a banana.. speak mandarin but donnow how to read.. so lots of the time cant find the Tabs i want.

Zivkong.. i see u post some chinese songs list here.. do u have all the chords/ tabs for those songs... * ohya.. i dont read TAUGE...if u know wat i mean.. hehe
Capricho
post Apr 30 2007, 06:59 PM

93 posts

are those songs in the guitar list "strum and sing"?is there any songs that are "strumming melody"? (stupid way of asking doh.gif ,dont even have the correct term)

soulfly
post Apr 30 2007, 10:09 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

for beginner.... i'd recommend nirvana/greenday tunes... pretty easy
SimonsayZ
post May 4 2007, 04:47 PM

2,792 posts

Any recommendations for solo ballads? Like those without singing and only the electric guitar playing to the beat?
Equilibrium777
post May 5 2007, 01:36 AM

1,228 posts

try always with me always with you by joe Satch. . .

it's easy to play. . . very tastefull and has all important playing elements in it. . . legato, picks, slides, staccato, tap. . . and all at a not so hard lvl. . . i mean it's easy to learn =)

Rossie
post May 13 2007, 10:44 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Must Learn
Prog rock:

Advantages for learning this song:

Main Riff/Melody Line
Improve on alternate picking.
Improve on alternate picking on adjacent strings.
Improve on triplet feel.
Nice introduction on one particular sweeping pattern, open D major shape played in E.

Bridge
Fast legatos.
The use of open-string chords in the clean section.

Solo
Tapping across all six strings.
More legatos.

Equilibrium777
post May 13 2007, 05:24 PM

1,228 posts

o.O

wah so easy learn meh. . .

not all pro like you wei! you can play the whole song note by note?
Silver Isle
post May 13 2007, 08:12 PM

743 posts

Yes. He showed me before. He can play perfectly. Even better than John Petrucci. LOL. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Silver Isle: May 13 2007, 08:12 PM
gapnap
post May 13 2007, 10:26 PM

1,782 posts

EQ77 feels the challenge !! tongue.gif
sean392
post May 13 2007, 10:28 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ May 13 2007, 10:26 PM)
EQ77 feels the challenge !!  tongue.gif
gapnap feels the challenge too!

everyone should learn scarified one day
lol
gapnap
post May 14 2007, 01:13 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ May 13 2007, 10:28 PM)
gapnap feels the challenge too!

everyone should learn scarified one day
lol
eh.no la ..dun say that..

i am not qualified to be in the ..shredders war who play cleaner/faster/more technical wins competition sweat.gif i will get pawned blush.gif
TSled_zep_freak
post May 14 2007, 09:23 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ May 13 2007, 08:12 PM)
Yes. He showed me before. He can play perfectly. Even better than John Petrucci. LOL. rclxms.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

sean392, yeah Scarified... acoustic version! thumbup.gif
Equilibrium777
post May 14 2007, 05:29 PM

1,228 posts

swt i guitar n00b lar. . . =.= teach me wei! i wanna learn that song. . . i cannot play for nuts 1 =.=

i play water down DT
SihamZhai
post Jun 4 2007, 08:23 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

Must learn
Slipknot- duality, pulse of the maggot

beginner
Zombie cranberries

Bass
Beginner
Feel good inc-gorillaz
fatboythin
post Jun 30 2007, 06:06 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Must learn

GN'R - Sweet Child o' Mine
Pantera - Walk
Metallica - MOP
Led Zep - you noe which 1... smile.gif
winkybear
post Jun 30 2007, 08:53 PM

489 posts

Satriani's Summer Song. Who could forget?
Canopies
post Jul 5 2007, 07:28 PM

2,733 posts

Hi guys , I need happy birthday song for my dear . Can anyone post me the guitar chord for it?
silverchain
post Aug 13 2007, 06:15 PM

503 posts

i've been playin guitar for almost half a year..but yet still hasnt achieved anything ;;sob;; the only song i knew how to play is Evanescene - Broken. Not perfect though sad.gif when i listen to my friend at school playing cromok another you which caught many people attention..i was so jealous..i mean he just started playin like i do..how come he gets better so fast? ;;sad sad;;
SweetTooth
post Aug 13 2007, 06:39 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(silverchain @ Aug 13 2007, 06:15 PM)
i've been playin guitar for almost half a year..but yet still hasnt achieved anything ;;sob;; the only song i knew how to play is Evanescene - Broken. Not perfect though sad.gif  when i listen to my friend at school playing cromok another you which caught many people attention..i was so jealous..i mean he just started playin like i do..how come he gets better so fast? ;;sad sad;;
you should post this in the general guitar thread

don't worry i feel the same way.. been playing for almost a year but still so noob can't play any songs cry.gif
valkyrie1232
post Aug 14 2007, 12:03 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ May 14 2007, 01:13 AM)
eh.no la ..dun say that..

i am not qualified to be in the ..shredders war who play cleaner/faster/more technical wins competition  sweat.gif i will get pawned  blush.gif
Don't listen to this guy. He's in a league of his own. Speed and cleanliness and vibrato is his forte! notworthy.gif
Rustreaver can vouch for that too!

Yeah I've heard Rossie's Glasgow Kiss clip in Jamtank sometimes ago. Amazingly clean and accurate and his band also ...wah...sounds like the record siutttt.

jacksonyong
post Aug 25 2007, 01:26 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(silverchain @ Aug 13 2007, 06:15 PM)
i've been playin guitar for almost half a year..but yet still hasnt achieved anything ;;sob;; the only song i knew how to play is Evanescene - Broken. Not perfect though sad.gif  when i listen to my friend at school playing cromok another you which caught many people attention..i was so jealous..i mean he just started playin like i do..how come he gets better so fast? ;;sad sad;;
because he played more than you, or should i say, he spend time with the guitar more than you do.

This post has been edited by jacksonyong: Aug 25 2007, 01:27 AM
Thrasher
post Sep 4 2007, 11:04 AM

301 posts

For me:

Classical /Acoustic : Classical Gas - The Mason Williams

Electric Guitar : Canon Rock - Johann Pachelbel (check out funtwo vids in youtube)

This post has been edited by Thrasher: Sep 4 2007, 11:39 AM
[vogue]angel
post Sep 8 2007, 07:39 PM

107 posts

Rossie? ask erotomania, Abang Ular and Petrucci to demolar. they are great too smile.gif

What song should learn on guitar?
i think Flight of the bumblebee will be nice

Another song is call Speed Kills ( Michael Angelo Batio).
p/s: If u can nail the full song, must tabik u man.
Rossie
post Sep 8 2007, 08:02 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Eh... what?
I don't really get your post... lol...

You want speed? Learn anything by Rusty Cooley thumbup.gif
[vogue]angel
post Sep 9 2007, 02:58 PM

107 posts

hehe. sorry.

Abang Ular, Petrucci and Erotomania are jam tankers. sorry.
i noe that person. No Michael Angelo Batio or Al Di Meola fans?
raining again
post Sep 19 2007, 11:08 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

this is really useful ! thanx icon_rolleyes.gif
Karin
post Oct 24 2007, 08:01 PM

72 posts

for me :

a lil advance fingerstyle for acoustic..
(Kotaro Oshio)
- Hard Rain
- Wings you are the hero
- tension
- big blue ocean
- splash

gosh i can go on forever...

This post has been edited by Karin: Oct 24 2007, 08:02 PM
crazychris
post Oct 24 2007, 11:48 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

Jrock songs

LunaSea - I for you
L'arc~en~ciel - New World
L'arc~en~ciel - Drive

liew90kw
post Oct 31 2007, 12:43 AM

239 posts

I'll recommend songs for bassists, since I noticed the apparent lack of them. sad.gif

Beginner
Black Sabbath - Paranoid
Led Zeppelin - Livin Lovin Maid (ONLY the main riff. The rest gets rather confusing)
Dio - Stand Up and Shout
Metallica - For Whom the Bell Tolls (I put it here because it's actually 4 or 5 parts played over and over.)
Blue Oyster Cult - Godzilla (Don't laugh at the name, it's actually a pretty nice song)
Mötley Crüe - Rattlesnake Shake
Sammy Hagar - Heavy Metal (despite the name, it's really a party song.)
Just about ANY Rage Against the Machine song. Good warm up stuffs for beginners.

Party
There really are no "Party songs" on the bass, to be honest. How many times have you seen someone randomly pull out a bass and stat playing something with everyone else singing along? Rarely.

Must-Learn
Iron Maiden - Wrathchild (Just Plain Addictive)
Iron Maiden - No Prayer for the Dying (Complex yet Simple. You'll understand when you try)
Iron Maiden - Holy Smoke (Fun, Lively, Fast)
Iron Maiden - The Trooper (For learning triplet sequencings and how to use your ring finger for fingerstyle bass)
Tool - Schism (I'm surprised no one mentioned this yet.)
Dragonforce - Black Fire (Speed matters)

=======================

And just one for guitar

It should be under the Party category, just because playing it will either annoy everyone else, or make them laugh really hard and join in singing.

YES, I said it. Probably one of the most overplayed songs of all time.

Cheers

-Liew, KW
crazychris
post Oct 31 2007, 09:12 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

heavy stuff haha
soraxroxas
post Nov 5 2007, 11:49 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(Thrasher @ Sep 4 2007, 11:04 AM)
For me:

Electric Guitar : Canon Rock - Johann Pachelbel (check out funtwo vids in youtube)
I second that rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
canon rock is a cool song to perform!
-Adrian-
post Nov 5 2007, 09:16 PM

826 posts

joe satriani is the best
but still trying to figure out how to play it XD

anybody plays Jason Mraz?
i like the song I'm Yours

crazychris
post Nov 6 2007, 01:35 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

starry night - satriani
-Adrian-
post Nov 6 2007, 11:30 PM

826 posts

if u guys hav the choice to perform ONE song from Joe Satriani
which will it be?

Ten Words
Love Thing
Always With Me, Always With You
Until We Say Goodbye
Starry Night

remember the crowd pretty much hav no idea who JS is lol
which do u all think would be nice and enjoyable for them
crazychris
post Nov 7 2007, 10:06 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

starry nite smile.gif

love thing is sweet
if got surfin wit the alien even better haha
RootOfJesse
post Nov 7 2007, 06:21 PM

241 posts

Hey Canon rock is kinda hard man..Especially the sweeping part..is this song for beginners?

This post has been edited by RootOfJesse: Nov 7 2007, 06:23 PM
SweetTooth
post Nov 7 2007, 06:59 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Nov 7 2007, 06:21 PM)
Hey Canon rock is kinda hard man..Especially the sweeping part..is this song for beginners?
generally sweep picking is not advised for beginners smile.gif
unless you're stubborn like me wanna learn tongue.gif
neohardcore
post Nov 7 2007, 08:08 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 7 2007, 06:59 PM)
generally sweep picking is not advised for beginners smile.gif
unless you're stubborn like me wanna learn tongue.gif
actually,in the real world..the stubborn person can learn faster.. tongue.gif
soraxroxas
post Nov 7 2007, 08:21 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Nov 7 2007, 06:21 PM)
If a Beginner take his time slowly master that song, well that bigginer will naik pangkat very quickly la. *only if he is dedicated enough to learn*

QUOTE(neohardcore @ Nov 7 2007, 08:08 PM)
actually,in the real world..the stubborn person can learn faster.. tongue.gif
Yup, im another stubborn head too!!^^
[vogue]angel
post Nov 7 2007, 08:28 PM

107 posts

Joe Songs? i think should play the song call "The Extremist", really awesome song . Summer song by him is also great. But current fav song is Searching. The way he played on the DVD, G3: Live in tokyo really blew me away. Really love his "Lizard Down the Throat" technique. wonder anyone know how to nail this technique?
-Adrian-
post Nov 7 2007, 10:14 PM

826 posts

think i saw a Joe Satriani Masterclass video on the Lizard's Throat on YouTube
tho i cant remember which
search around there i think u'll find it

but im still n00b loL
playing Satriani's songs like him is like reaching perfection lol XD

RootOfJesse
post Nov 8 2007, 02:39 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 7 2007, 08:21 PM)
If a Beginner take his time slowly master that song, well that bigginer will naik pangkat very quickly la. *only if he is dedicated enough to learn*
Yup, im another stubborn head too!!^^
Oh..Then can you play that song OngPohHeng?

I can play the chords part, the chorus( although my finger confused a bit with alternate picking ) and the Intro tongue.gif

Added on November 8, 2007, 2:41 amThe crush of love by js is nice too smile.gif

This post has been edited by RootOfJesse: Nov 8 2007, 02:41 AM
-Adrian-
post Nov 8 2007, 11:26 AM

826 posts

sweep picking is so difficult lol
anybody knows simple excercises for it?

yea crush of love is an excellent choice

soraxroxas
post Nov 8 2007, 12:16 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Nov 8 2007, 02:39 AM)
Oh..Then can you play that song OngPohHeng?

I can play the chords part, the chorus( although my finger confused a bit with alternate picking ) and the Intro tongue.gif

Added on November 8, 2007, 2:41 amThe crush of love by js is nice too smile.gif

yup me too, only the stupid sweep picking part=.= cannot keep up the beat cry.gif
well practise makes perfect
i rather play a Hard song and learn if fully and feel happy at the end because of wat i achieved.

QUOTE(-Adrian- @ Nov 8 2007, 11:26 AM)
donno?? sweeping??? go get a broom and sweep tongue.gif
joknig la, go youtube.com they got everything there, lessons,reviews, etc etc
i find youtube veri informative
RootOfJesse
post Nov 8 2007, 03:25 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(-Adrian- @ Nov 8 2007, 11:26 AM)
erm..try to sweep let's say E chord with the shape of normal D chord one. ..then go down the F chord..then go to G chord..haha...that's how basically i see ppl improvise..But i can only sweep 3 strings.. biggrin.gif

Added on November 8, 2007, 3:32 pm[quote=ongpohheng,Nov 8 2007, 12:16 PM]
yup me too, only the stupid sweep picking part=.= cannot keep up the beat cry.gif
well practise makes perfect
i rather play a Hard song and learn if fully and feel happy at the end because of wat i achieved.

nod.gif if not then just play some kind of other riff or play some notes and do some whammy stunt in that split second..

This post has been edited by RootOfJesse: Nov 8 2007, 03:32 PM
strinq
post Nov 9 2007, 12:43 AM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

crazychris, u can play surfing with the alien by joe?
i want some lessons/tips cuz i'm learning it now.
-Adrian-
post Nov 9 2007, 04:43 PM

826 posts

currently learning love thing
when get gf must perform live for everyone to hear XD
strinq
post Nov 9 2007, 08:14 PM

602 posts

dude same name here haha
hey, we should jam, u teach me that song and i teach u always with me always with u (that is if u dunno la tongue.gif)
then we can sama-sama kau lui
-Adrian-
post Nov 10 2007, 12:19 AM

826 posts

lol no problem no problem
but i guitar noob only la lol

great that got ppl enjoy Joe Satriani's music

strinq
post Nov 10 2007, 08:39 AM

602 posts

guitar noob learning love song???
lol, u must be the best guitar noob out there
blink.gif
-Adrian-
post Nov 10 2007, 10:07 AM

826 posts

lol been playing guitar for two years
but basics still not steady la lol

stopped lessons due to busy schedule

but playing and learning by myself

learning the song but haven't master it yet lol

u leh strinq ?
how long hav u been playing?
can play JS songs already sure pro XD

quarantined
post Nov 10 2007, 11:03 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

strinq can play JS songs with both eyes closed ler... you say pro or not? biggrin.gif
crazychris
post Nov 10 2007, 11:20 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

string has a JS1000 blue color haha
sexy
-Adrian-
post Nov 10 2007, 02:32 PM

826 posts

my bro has one too
beautiful thing
until i broke a string XD
darn floating bridge

i feel so n00b in this forums lolz
strinq
post Nov 10 2007, 06:21 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Nov 10 2007, 11:03 AM)
strinq can play JS songs with both eyes closed ler... you say pro or not? biggrin.gif
eh don't tipu lah!
how u know? hmm.gif
I try hard hard also cannot play... blush.gif
-Adrian-
post Nov 10 2007, 08:32 PM

826 posts

u can play his songs rite? lol
sure pro mah

some more got awesome guitar XD

This post has been edited by -Adrian-: Nov 10 2007, 08:32 PM
strinq
post Nov 10 2007, 08:54 PM

602 posts

wah sai nolah
can only play his easier songs.
and having a good guitar doesn't give me good skills hahaha.
If i can play surfing then i can 'action' abit lol.
but i know that there's a lot of people out there that can play his songs...
-Adrian-
post Nov 11 2007, 03:08 PM

826 posts

yea wasted so far beyond my skill lol

anybody enjoy playing 80s rock music? lol

crazychris
post Nov 11 2007, 07:58 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

string and my gitarist has the exact JS1000 haha
they met in kajang
-Adrian-
post Nov 12 2007, 04:55 PM

826 posts

wow all da way in kajang lol

u leh chris? crazy fender and ibanez fan ah lol
Everdying
post Nov 12 2007, 05:40 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(-Adrian- @ Nov 11 2007, 03:08 PM)

wat 80s rock? poison? crue? tongue.gif
riziger
post Dec 12 2007, 10:13 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(-Adrian- @ Nov 11 2007, 03:08 PM)

JS wasn't good when he started guitar. He practiced like crazy to get where he is now.

You can do the same too.
pangping1510
post Dec 18 2007, 01:25 PM

1,007 posts

i am trying to learn guitar by myself..just getting basics from my brother who has just started guitar lessons..

anyone can recommend what songs (easy ones) for me to start practising?
Banzai_san
post Dec 18 2007, 03:03 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Dec 18 2007, 01:25 PM)
i am trying to learn guitar by myself..just getting basics from my brother who has just started guitar lessons..

anyone can recommend what songs (easy ones) for me to start practising?

listing say 10 of your fav band/group/singer would help others to suggest which songs to recommend so that you'll enjoy practising smile.gif
Irzani
post Dec 18 2007, 03:45 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

8 years ago, when I start to play guitar, I learn Blurry- Puddle of Mudd, just use Em, C, and D, no need to use the extra or advance chords since it's for advance use .. just use the 3 basic chords for the beginner smile.gif
crazychris
post Dec 19 2007, 09:49 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

wen i play blurry, i learn the harmonics, in a guitar mag
tats reli cool by tat time haha
Irzani
post Dec 20 2007, 10:14 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Dec 19 2007, 09:49 AM)
wen i play blurry, i learn the harmonics, in a guitar mag
tats reli cool by tat time haha
Harmonic? Wow, that need a good skills .. nod.gif
archinkent
post Dec 20 2007, 07:10 PM

285 posts

id recommend scorpions songs. if ur not a fan u should check them out. songs like rock u like a hurricane, big city nights and still loving u are easy and fun to rock out to. ac/dc songs like highway to hell and back to black are easy and fun too. metallica are great too but they are just so overplayed

This post has been edited by archinkent: Dec 20 2007, 07:11 PM
nargoe
post Dec 22 2007, 07:18 PM

87 posts

what songs should i learn using my wah wah pedal other than voodoo child? unsure.gif
aracia93
post Dec 22 2007, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(nargoe @ Dec 22 2007, 07:18 PM)
what songs should i learn using my wah wah pedal other than voodoo child? unsure.gif
errr... i would say the intro of Bat Country by Avenged Sevenfold has some nice sounding tremolo work. I don't really know, cause I don't use mine often, i always chug and use power chords. laugh.gif
mochamania
post Dec 22 2007, 10:43 PM

268 posts

Sweet Child O Mine?
archinkent
post Dec 23 2007, 08:06 AM

285 posts

joe satriani - love thing

joe satriani - the crush of love

This post has been edited by archinkent: Dec 23 2007, 08:36 AM
blacktrix
post Dec 23 2007, 10:28 AM

13,063 posts

Almost ANY metallica solo tongue.gif

aracia93
post Dec 23 2007, 01:49 PM

^ lol, yeah.. Metallica has AWESOME solos notworthy.gif
crazychris
post Dec 24 2007, 12:35 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

i like satriani - love thing smile.gif its romantic
i learn the rhythm accompaniment on bass

metallica are gud stuf to learn
enter sandman
master of puppets
supercolossal
post Dec 24 2007, 02:52 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Dec 24 2007, 12:35 AM)
i like satriani - love thing smile.gif its romantic
i  learn the rhythm accompaniment on bass

metallica are gud stuf to learn
enter sandman
master of puppets
Love thing is really nice, simple licks with only one/two fast parts to learn but very difficult to master. Joe really nails the soul part of the song with his playing.
crazychris
post Dec 24 2007, 09:26 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

havent caught up wit the new age,
any new songs to recomend for learning?
silverchain
post Dec 31 2007, 06:38 PM

503 posts

white lion - when the children cry
-Adrian-
post Jan 4 2008, 12:19 AM

826 posts

love thing is a beautiful song
a must learn!
especially if ur performing for prom (assuming ppl can appreciate la XD)

Fade to black is an awesome song to learn
not dat technical but helps u to shred

afs
post Jan 9 2008, 11:46 PM

294 posts

I see many JS fans here.

For bassist....beginner - songs to enjoy
Metallica - Fade to Black
Metallica - For Whom The Bell Tolls
GnR - Sweet Child O'mine
GnR - Don't Cry
Cromok - Metallurgical
Def Leppard - Hysteria
Green Day - Basket Case
Nirvana - all song

How I miss those days......

barney
post Jan 12 2008, 03:41 PM

332 posts

I play only the acoustic guitar and i play solo only. Here are the MUST play/learn songs if you play guitar

ENGLISH
James Blunt - You're beautiful
Eric Clapton - Tears of heaven
Oasis - Don't look back in anger
Coldplay - the Scientist
Mr. Big - To be with you
extream - more than words
Cranberries - Zombie (solo)
Plain White T's - Hey There Delilah
Take That - Back for good
Ronan Keating - When you say nothing at all

Japanese
Masayoshi Yamazaki - One more time, One more chance
Yui - all of them
Amane Kaoru - Stay With Me (Acoustic Version)

Classical
Canon in D

I can think of these only at the moment. Enjoy!

This post has been edited by barney: Jan 12 2008, 03:43 PM
veekster
post Jan 12 2008, 06:14 PM

43 posts

Well, in my opinion, play songs of the genre you're intrested in

so far on the acoustic, i've played and performed songs like the
the great escape - boys like girls, hands down - dashboard, hey there delilah - plain white t's, the saddest song - the ataris etc etc

you can tell im really into those kind of music smile.gif
edvpc
post Feb 3 2008, 08:45 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

NIRVANA set

Guitar :

beginner - Molly's Lips
party - Radio Friendly Unit Shifter
must learn - Serve The Servant

Bass :

beginner - Something In The Way
party - Love Buzz
must learn - Lithium

Drums :

beginner - Come As You Are
party - Aneurysm
must learn - Drain You

next band coming... icon_rolleyes.gif
[vogue]angel
post Feb 5 2008, 04:15 PM

107 posts

i love Joe Satriani. Wonder are there any Al Di Meola or Allan Holdsworth fans here?

love thing chunlar. but my fav is always with me, always with you
another song is Crystal Planet ( my sifu nail the song for me to see, crazy 1, the starting must use hammer on)

but my all time favourite is the extremist and searching.

metallica songs must include the song called "master of puppets" ( very chun song)

have u all heard of "Stockholm Syndrome" by Muse? POWER MAN
bLinKie
post Feb 12 2008, 03:38 AM

134 posts

guys ... u all forgot the most important party song of all !
joan jett - i love rock 'n' roll !

haha ... muse stuff is great too ... stockholm syndrome & plug in baby ... crazy ass riffs !
crazychris
post Feb 12 2008, 08:50 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

muse cud b a division in exploring the vastness of effects
bLinKie
post Feb 12 2008, 10:24 PM

134 posts

for both guitarists AND bassists ! cool.gif cool.gif
Anson-
post Feb 21 2008, 03:20 PM

115 posts

Breaking Benjamin - Breath
Breaking Benjamin - Diary of Jane
Breaking Benjamin - Until The End
Breaking Benjamin - Unknown Soldier
RED - Breathe Into Me
RED - Already Over
RED - Hide
Pillar - After the World
Three Days Grace - Never Too Late
freakfingers12
post Feb 22 2008, 12:23 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Ozzy Osbourne-Crazy Train

The riff is so damn fun!
Ridt_Henshin
post Feb 24 2008, 09:05 AM

380 posts

good song if your into metalcore and breakdown fun smile.gif

1. august burns red - composure
2. bring me the horizon - pray for plagues
3. bring me the horizon - for stevie wonders eyes only
4. parkway drive - romance is dead
5. arsonists get all the girls - shoeshne for neptune
6. killswitch engage - fixation on darkness

pleasuresaurus
post Feb 27 2008, 11:21 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

I'm currently working on a classic rock set to play at pubs and clubs, u definitely cant go wrong with these:

ZZ Top - Tush
Steppenwolf - Born to be wild
Queen - Tie your mother down
Led Zep - Rock n roll
Jimi Hendrix - Fire
Deep Purple - smoke on the water
AC/DC - Shook me all night long

don8ld
post Mar 6 2008, 09:35 AM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

Anyone up for Steve vAI??

For the love of god, TEnder Surrender , Juice?
Silver & Cold
post Mar 18 2008, 06:56 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Feb 24 2008, 09:05 AM)
good song if your into metalcore and breakdown fun smile.gif

1. august burns red - composure
2. bring me the horizon - pray for plagues
3. bring me the horizon - for stevie wonders eyes only
4. parkway drive - romance is dead
5. arsonists get all the girls - shoeshne for neptune
6. killswitch engage - fixation on darkness
woahhhoo metalcore!!! romance is dead's breakdown is damn nice, Boneyards is sick too. and composure's drums is so technical, like most of their other songs drool.gif

This post has been edited by Silver & Cold: Mar 18 2008, 07:02 PM
Cyclone1
post Mar 28 2008, 03:50 PM

408 posts

When talking abt song mz learn for acoustic guitar..the song oways come to my mind is tears in heaven.. i reli love this song.... definitely mz learn loh....
it's one of the songs that motivate me play guitar...

besides, guitar arrangement for marriage d'amour is nice too..
Kinova
post Apr 1 2008, 01:09 AM

44 posts

marriage d'amour damn hard to play =,= or izzit i noob...@.@..
IpohBoY
post Apr 1 2008, 01:29 AM

722 posts

Can anyone suggest a few of easy but fun guitar solos to learn for beginners?
blacktrix
post Apr 1 2008, 09:25 AM

13,063 posts

Please check the important message above. This thread will be closed soon.
Cyclone1
post Apr 3 2008, 07:43 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(Kinova @ Apr 1 2008, 01:09 AM)
marriage d'amour damn hard to play =,= or izzit i noob...@.@..
its hard when u 1st learning.. but after u keep on practise.. actually it quite easy
for me.. i still hav a few notes i cant get it smooth.. like from the 10th fret jump bec to 2nd fret that part.....i cant it smooth yet.... lolz

This post has been edited by Cyclone1: Apr 3 2008, 07:44 PM
archinkent
post Apr 4 2008, 07:07 AM

285 posts

for acoustic, if u cant sing (like me), here r some good songs to play...

led zeppelin - stairway to heaven
jeff buckley - hallelujah
eric clapton - tears in heaven
metallica - nothing else matters
3 doors down - here without you
damien rice - cannonball
eagles - hotel california
blind guardian - bard's song
guns n roses - don't cry
extreme - more than words
beatles - here comes the sun
queen - '39

vc12xan
post Apr 15 2008, 09:39 PM

45 posts

to me

electric guitar

1) sweet child o mine - guns n roses
2) stairway to heaven - led zeppelin
3) master of puppets - metallica
4) for the love of god - steve vai
5) wishful thinking - john petrucci
6) im alright - neil zaza

once you learn this 6 songs, im pretty sure you can nail other songs easily
monyonk89
post Apr 17 2008, 04:35 PM

17 posts

for me,, errm,,
anything by Dream Theater. seriously..
but they're extremely hard =P

for guitar, i recommend
-Romance d'amour (classic)
-Canon in D =P

For Bass,
-Anything by Red Hot Chilli Pepper (Flea is daaaaaaaaaarrn Good)

For Piano
-any classics!
-if I ain't got you_Alicia Keys (for beginner)
-Thousand Miles_Vanessa Carlton(for beginner)
-anything from Maksim (lurf his piano arrangement blended wif techno)

For Drums,
-dream theater's stuff.. extremely hard, but a lot of fun!

kakashi3108
post Apr 21 2008, 02:09 PM

45 posts

for those who likes acoustic guitars, i recommend the song named...
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence...
make sure u tune ur guitar to the requirements 1st
delon85
post Apr 30 2008, 01:53 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(kakashi3108 @ Apr 21 2008, 02:09 PM)
for those who likes acoustic guitars, i recommend the song named...
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence...
make sure u tune ur guitar to the requirements 1st
Kotaro Oshio's? It's a good song if you're into fingerstyle.
Cyclone1
post May 7 2008, 09:04 PM

408 posts

Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence is nice ! but im not gud enuff to play it T_T sobsob... and my lousy guitar wouldnt let me do a gud tap harmonic >_<"
sarcast
post May 18 2008, 01:38 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

Beginner
- Led Zep, stairway to heaven

Party
-That thing you do (Wonders) ( i jus start n finish learned this today..XD)
-white stripe, seven nation army
-Offspring, the kids arent alright

Must learn
-Nirvana, about a girl

the thing is, im learning using an acoustic to play this Eguitar stuff, can it work? i know it's hard, but it'll helpful when i switch to Eguitar
and Im learning a bass song too... also using acoustic, what can i do?.. dun have bass o eguitar..>.<

Bass
Offspring - come out and play

good luckk
frostfox
post Jun 7 2008, 02:35 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

im in love with a girl - gavin something
that song rocks
munky
post Jun 7 2008, 11:13 PM

1,971 posts

trivium - like light to the flies
Eccentrical
post Jun 7 2008, 11:58 PM

105 posts

Beginner
-Wherever you will go(The Calling)
-Plug in Baby(Muse)
-Hands of Blood(Bullet For My Valentine)

Party
-Most punk rock songs
-Aerosmith,Nickelback or any slow rock song

Must Learn:
-Canon Rock
-Hotel Carlifonia
-One(Metallica)
zeroglyph
post Jun 12 2008, 05:31 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ May 18 2008, 01:38 AM)

the thing is, im learning using an acoustic to play this Eguitar stuff, can it work? i know it's hard, but it'll helpful when i switch to Eguitar
and Im learning a bass song too... also using acoustic, what can i do?.. dun have bass o eguitar..>.<

good luckk
it'll work on a lot of songs. try metallica's master of puppets and battery on acoustic. it's cool and freaking fun to play laugh.gif (you'll need to alter it a bit though).
bonai
post Jun 19 2008, 02:36 AM

1,254 posts

why dont we go funk or something like that?
hotfootpowder
post Jun 22 2008, 10:26 AM

176 posts

black sabbath - into the void
SUSedge85
post Jun 23 2008, 05:27 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

I'll list down what I do =)

Beginner:
Romanza d'Amour (Classical)
Greenday - Good Riddance
Nirvana - In Bloom
Amon Amarth - The Pursuit of Vikings

Party:
The Eagles - Hotel California (rythm, lead, bass all must learn!)
Gary Moore - The Loner
ZZ Top - Sharp Dressed Man
Jerry C - Canon Rock

Must learn:
GnR - Sweet Child O' Mine
Stevie Ray Vaughn - Pride and Joy
Children of Bodom - Silent Night, Bodom Night

This post has been edited by edge85: Jun 23 2008, 05:30 PM
xmsa666
post Jun 24 2008, 10:40 PM

39 posts

If your broke and are a beginner , I suggest using a Guitar Synth with your favorite sequencer.

I suggest using Music Lab Real Strat ( for Electric Guitar Synth) & Music Lab RealGuitar ( Acoustic Guitar Synth) both of them can generate strumming sounds , have velocity and attack settings and you can even get the sound of the pick.... Both can also be used as VST plugin , If you have a midi keyboard I suggest using them with Ableton Live... If you dont then use it with Fruity Loops ...

I guarantee using the softwares will let you know all the chords their names , their sounds , then if you feel like it then you can buy a guitar , Personally I have no interest in doing so.

Oh yeah I also forgot to mention if you want to use an amp with Real Strat , I suggest using Amplitube instead of Native Guitar Rig , Why you say because I think Amplitube is way more flexible and dynamic than Guitar Rig ...

Hope this helped !

jimbo-evila
post Aug 8 2008, 10:27 AM

Must-learn for all instruments:

1. The Strokes- Reptilia (the guitar on the pre-chorus is super catchy, bassline is groovy.)
2. Rancid - Time Bomb (dammit, who can't hear the bassline for this?)
3. Red Hot Chili Peppers- Readymade

fatboythin
post Aug 8 2008, 06:25 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Must learn for electric guitar:

1) Children of Bodom - Kissing the Shadows
2) Megadeth - Holy Wars / Tornado of Souls
ristikol
post Aug 8 2008, 09:20 PM

\~*Grand Belial's Key*~/
1,049 posts

slayer - mandatory suicide
slayer - south of heaven

no solo sweat.gif
jayzac
post Aug 16 2008, 12:54 AM

225 posts

swwet child of mine by guns and roses !!!! nice to play esp da intro part
XP750
post Aug 23 2008, 05:34 PM

324 posts

should we add a new category?

[Songs for the girls]

more than words
wherever you will go
right here waiting
tears in heaven
when you say nothing at all
your body is wonderland

pls don't flame me tongue.gif
mR.t-boNE
post Sep 3 2008, 01:29 PM

45 posts

Must Learn: Jason Mraz-I'm Yours tongue.gif
sarcast
post Sep 4 2008, 02:35 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

yesh,, i have a bass..wee.. will learn after my exam! ^^
IpohBoY
post Sep 4 2008, 04:21 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 4 2008, 02:35 PM)
yesh,, i have a bass..wee.. will learn after my exam! ^^
shall we learn together? wub.gif
saru88
post Sep 5 2008, 12:05 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Sep 4 2008, 04:21 PM)
shall we learn together as well? wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
oxalato
post Sep 5 2008, 01:37 PM

609 posts

this thread seem to have too much non-related stuffs.
if its possible spams/junks should be removed for easier viewing.
the list should also be compiled together.
this is actually a very good thread.. i do come here and source for inspiration.. in the sense of what songs to learn smile.gif
just a suggestion smile.gif
sarcast
post Sep 7 2008, 12:30 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Sep 4 2008, 04:21 PM)
QUOTE(saru88 @ Sep 5 2008, 12:05 PM)
shall we learn together as well?  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif where r all u from?...

Sry oxalato.. will back to the topic..
a very fun song to learn n jam, guitars- the famous misery business by paramore,
Crush crush crush (paramore) , recommend for beginner for the rhythm guitar part- have some simple power chords
ianhooi
post Sep 7 2008, 03:51 AM

78 posts

joe satriani - Cryin
jackanory
post Sep 10 2008, 01:19 PM

349 posts

electric guitar (acoustic possible for some)-

beginner:

romance d'amour
fur elise - beethoven
smoke on the water - deep purple
come out & play - offspring
good riddance - greenday
wonderful tonight - eric clapton
winds of change - scorpions
summer of 69 - bryan adams
paranoid - black sabbath
she loves you, day tripper - beatles
otherside - red hot chilli peppers
hell song - sum 41

novice:

enter sandman, seek & destroy, nothing else matters - metallica
fear of the dark, the trooper - iron maiden
hotel california - eagles
sweet child o' min - guns n roses
back in black - acdc
hysteria - def leppard
dream on - aerosmith
black magic woman - santana
hey joe - jimi hendrix
highway star - deep purple
zephyr song, can't stop, californication - red hot chilli peppers
losing my religion, imitation of life - rem
all you wanted - michelle branch
you give love a bad name, living on a prayer - bon jovi
through the fire and flames - dragonforce

advanced:

master of puppets, one - metallica
bohemian rhapsody - queen
mr. crowley, crazy train - ozzy osbourne
far beyond the sun, black star - malmsteen
phantom of the opera, rainmaker - iron maiden
flying in a blue dream, crystal planet, summer song - joe satriani
eruption, panama - van halen
stairway to heaven - led zeppelin

some other catchy / popular misc. songs u might wanna learn:

canon rock
beethoven virus
the godfather theme (love theme) - guns n roses
top gun (movie theme) - joe satriani
johnny b goode - chuck berry
lemon tree

there u have it, might have missed a few.. sorry if some songs are a little too 'old school'..

SweetTooth
post Sep 10 2008, 05:01 PM

2,650 posts

i would put through the fire and the flames in advanced and master of puppets/one in novice
kenetix
post Sep 25 2008, 08:46 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Sep 10 2008, 05:01 PM)
i would put through the fire and the flames in advanced and master of puppets/one in novice
think most guitarists tend to start with those don't they? lol
SweetTooth
post Sep 26 2008, 12:34 AM

2,650 posts

i was referring to his list.
Mythras231
post Oct 10 2008, 11:07 PM

499 posts

Any songs suitable for a newbie who doesn't even know chords ? xD
abulabu
post Nov 3 2008, 06:15 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:07 PM)
Any songs suitable for a newbie who doesn't even know chords ? xD
hmm.gif...nirvana - about a girl/the vines - ms.jackson(cover) will do.......or go seek on youtube for lessons/cover icon_rolleyes.gif
Kurt Cookie
post Nov 8 2008, 01:11 AM

246 posts

Nirvana - SLTS/about a girl

Green Day - When i come around

hg_runt
post Nov 8 2008, 01:48 PM

90 posts

Eric Johnson - Cliff of Dover (1 of Guitar Hero 3 Song)

super syok to play..
ken0777
post Nov 12 2008, 12:22 PM

536 posts

Jimi Hendrix - Little Wings... Awesome solo, riffs and runs... And great song for those Blues kakiz...
beastwars
post Nov 20 2008, 01:14 AM

253 posts

ive been trying to play alter bridge-metalingus
but argghh...
isaacmiranda7
post Dec 2 2008, 08:51 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Guitar
--------
Electric
--------
Beginner
All The Small Things (Blink 182)
Smells Like Teen Spirit (Can also be used in Party songs)Nirvana
Meant to Live (Switchfoot)

Party
When I Come Around (Green Day)
Enter Sandman (Metallica)
Are you gonna be my girl (Jet)
Beverly Hills (Weezer)
Over my Head (Sum 41)
Sweet Child of mine (guns & roses)
Famous Last Words (MyChem Romance)

Easy - Medium Must Learn (For Practice)
-----------------------------------
Shadow of the day (Linkin Park)
Boulevard of Broken Dreams (Green Day)
Smoke on the Water (Deep Purple)
Bulls on Parade (Rage against the Machine)
Like A Stone (Audioslave)
Canon Rock smile.gif (JerryC)

Acoustic
---------
Tongue Tied (Faber Drive)
More than words (Extreme)
When You Say Nothing At All (Ronan Keating)
Collide (Howie Day)
One Year Six Months (YellowCard)

Drums!
-------
Beginner
When I Come Around - Green Day
Smell Like Teen Spirit - Nirvana

Party Songs
Bleed it Out (Linkin Park)
Its Not My Time (3 Doors Down)

Must Learn (COS ITS EASY)
+Not all lar....
--------------------------------
Before I Forget (Slipknot) - Good song to start dpedalling with.
Enter Sandman (Metallica) - Its easy and not that dominating.
Scream (Slipknot) - Intro. Work on it. Practice makes perfect.
Wait and bleed (Slipknot) Good stop-start dping.

kepalakeras
post Dec 4 2008, 10:58 PM

1,913 posts

Listening to Dream Theater songs is very good...
Mythras231
post Dec 5 2008, 12:10 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Dec 2 2008, 08:51 PM)
Guitar
--------
Electric
--------
Beginner
All The Small Things (Blink 182)
Smells Like Teen Spirit (Can also be used in Party songs)Nirvana
Meant to Live (Switchfoot)

Party
When I Come Around (Green Day)
Enter Sandman (Metallica)
Are you gonna be my girl (Jet)
Beverly Hills (Weezer)
Over my Head (Sum 41)
Sweet Child of mine (guns & roses)
Famous Last Words (MyChem Romance)

Easy - Medium Must Learn (For Practice)
Shadow of the day (Linkin Park)
Boulevard of Broken Dreams (Green Day)
Smoke on the Water (Deep Purple)
Bulls on Parade (Rage against the Machine)
Like A Stone (Audioslave)
Canon Rock smile.gif (JerryC)

Acoustic
---------
Tongue Tied (Faber Drive)
More than words (Extreme)
When You Say Nothing At All (Ronan Keating)
Collide (Howie Day)
One Year Six Months (YellowCard)

Drums!
-------
Beginner
When I Come Around - Green Day
Smell Like Teen Spirit - Nirvana

Party Songs
Bleed it Out (Linkin Park)
Its Not My Time (3 Doors Down)

Must Learn (COS ITS EASY)
+Not all lar....
--------------------------------
Before I Forget (Slipknot) - Good song to start dpedalling with.
Enter Sandman (Metallica) - Its easy and not that dominating.
Scream (Slipknot) - Intro. Work on it. Practice makes perfect.
Wait and bleed (Slipknot) Good stop-start dping.
No Bass ?
antidream unthought
post Dec 8 2008, 04:37 AM

397 posts

beginners shud try some Breaking Benjamin and In Flames.. pretty easy to play rclxms.gif
go up on a certain level *like game edy* and try faster stuff like Saosin, Thrice..
after that you may want to play technical stuff like Norma Jean, Mudvayne..

if ure into really crazy stuff, u can shred some Between The Buried and Me, Protest The Hero, The Human Abstract..
or play weird chords like Meshuggah, Ion Dissonance, Fellsilent rclxub.gif
bpk16
post Dec 8 2008, 06:07 AM

248 posts

sorry if this is the wrong section, i have a question regarding fingering exercise for guitars (fingers 1,2,3,4 on one specific string and then move to the higher strings). when i play, do i have to lift my fingers one by one? as in press 1, lift 1, press 2, lift 2, etc? or press 1, press 2, press 3, without lifting any?

This post has been edited by bpk16: Dec 8 2008, 06:07 AM
SweetTooth
post Dec 8 2008, 06:54 AM

2,650 posts

i think i was told to keep them down or something, thats why i keep them down until i reach the next string blink.gif
antidream unthought
post Dec 8 2008, 01:56 PM

397 posts

try to keep it down for muting certain strings
always have probs with these too
bpk16
post Dec 8 2008, 05:05 PM

248 posts

thanks for the replies smile.gif
beastwars
post Dec 9 2008, 03:22 PM

253 posts

electric beginner
*metallica- enter sandman and no leaf clover
*avenged sevenfold- chapter four

party ( im not really sure what do u mean by party here ) =p
* new found glory - my heart will go on
* fountain of wayne - stacy's mom

bass
* incubus- the warmth
* metallica- devil's dance
* eagles- hotel california

well thats all i can think of right now
bpk16
post Dec 11 2008, 07:35 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Dec 8 2008, 06:54 AM)
i think i was told to keep them down or something, thats why i keep them down until i reach the next string blink.gif
is it normal to experience wrist ache when you first start doing this?
qarlkross
post Dec 11 2008, 03:58 PM

88 posts

For Bass

Beginner

Cranberries - Zombie
Ozzy - Iron Man
too many can't remember...

Party

Incubus - Are you in, azwethinkweiz...
Fall out boy - take over the breaks over, dance dance...
RHCP - Can't stop, Around the world...
Bob Marley - Get up stand up, no woman no cry, three little birds...
many others...

Must Learn

Stone Temple Pilots - Plush, Sour girl, Big Empty...
Rage against the machine - killing in the name, bulls on parade, renegades of the funk...
Jamiroquai - virtual insanity, space cowboy, deeper underground...
and many others...

vassili
post Dec 19 2008, 05:22 PM

I don't care about what you think.
600 posts

Hey what about metal?
antidream unthought
post Dec 19 2008, 07:21 PM

397 posts

metal eh? icon_idea.gif
i'm perfecting Misery Signals - Nothing right now.. a good song to play n practice..

and try
In Flames - Bullet Ride
Insomnium - Drawn To Black
Swallow The Sun - Swallow (Horror Pt 1)

enjoy nod.gif
SweetTooth
post Dec 19 2008, 08:37 PM

2,650 posts

try hatebreeder by children of bodom, has a lot of classical elements in it and the solo's not very hard as compared to their other solos. there's also a malmsteem esque lick in it which should be a fun challenge smile.gif
beastwars
post Dec 19 2008, 11:21 PM

253 posts

can recommend me some d tuning songs?
antidream unthought
post Dec 19 2008, 11:49 PM

397 posts

a moment suspended in time - underoath (DADGBE)
never take friendship personal - anberlin (DADGBE)

aih.. not much lar.. me mostly drop C n below.. rclxub.gif
SweetTooth
post Dec 20 2008, 02:17 AM

2,650 posts

try lamb of god - laid to rest, trivium - like light to the flies, and any avenged sevenfold song from waking the fallen album.

oh and who could forget, duncan hills coffee jingle by dethklok! thumbup.gif
have fun
beastwars
post Dec 21 2008, 04:54 PM

253 posts

hey thanks..
SUSedge85
post Jan 3 2009, 08:25 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

I strongly recomend Passage of the Reaper by Children of Bodom...i take it as a drill, with melody =)
kepalakeras
post Jan 4 2009, 10:45 AM

1,913 posts

QUOTE(vassili @ Dec 19 2008, 05:22 PM)
Hey what about metal?
Metallica songs... thumbup.gif
antidream unthought
post Jan 5 2009, 02:52 AM

397 posts

born of osiris - bow down

the solo is pretty easy, but this one requires perfect timing on super fast start-stop riffing
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 5 2009, 12:42 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

alrite heres my point of view

beginners: all of nirvana unplug in new york songs
metallica - the unforgiven, enter sandman
the cranberries- zombie (of course)
Man Bai - kau ilhamku
Eagles - hotel california
incubus - drive

novice: metallica - one, ...and justice for all
distruction - my sharona
cromok - another you
chuck berry - johnny b. goode
elvis - jailhouse rock

expert: metallica - orion, damage inc., fade to black,
steve vai - juice
eric johnson - desert rose, cliff of dover
the allmans brothers band - jessica

errrhh... cant think of more... me stuck.....hohohoho....

oxalato
post Jan 5 2009, 02:34 PM

609 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jan 5 2009, 12:42 PM)

the allmans brothers band - jessica

allman brothers - whipping post is pretty good too
kepalakeras
post Jan 12 2009, 08:15 PM

1,913 posts

Eric Clapton's songs can make you pluck better...
antidream unthought
post Jan 17 2009, 07:25 PM

397 posts

Awaken The Dreamers - All Shall Perish
drummers go warm up ur feet~
silverchain
post Jan 17 2009, 09:07 PM

503 posts

can recomend me any songs that have nice sentimental plucking that arent too easy or too hard to play..for example songs that i want like:

cromok- another you
metallica - nothing else matter
white lion - when children cry
canon classical/rock
x-japan crucify my love

all these song have a rly relaxing and emotional tone, and its quite easy too master..now i want more songs of similar genre biggrin.gif come recomend me some smile.gif
vampires
post Jan 19 2009, 01:15 PM

23 posts

honestly, how can you guys list 'canon rock' under normal? i'm having such a hard time doing those sweep picking. GAWD!!!!
toobad
post Jan 20 2009, 06:57 PM

291 posts

Maybe you guys should try avenged sevenfold - seize the day

Not too easy and too hard solo.
slvn
post Jan 21 2009, 04:54 PM

384 posts

Beginner
--------------------
Bass: I will suvive (Cake)
Hotel California (Eagles)

Party
--------
Guitar: Isnt she lovely (Stevie wonder)
Happy Birthday
Autumn Leaves( nat king cole)

Must Learn
------------
Bass: Keliru (Ajai dan Nurul)
Jangan Kau Mimpi (Siti Sarah)
kepalakeras
post Jan 24 2009, 05:22 PM

1,913 posts

Bass: Around The world - RHCP
Guitar: Echo - Incubus
syiafuku
post Feb 4 2009, 11:58 AM

309 posts

guitar
butterfingers-lengkap semula

superb song.but no tabs found yet. tongue.gif
please tab one.haha.
jem77fp
post Feb 5 2009, 01:27 AM

28 posts

here are some nice songs to play when you're bored for guitar

Joe Satriani - Always with me, Always with you
Paul Gilbert - Hurry Up (really really really fun to jam)

Must-Learns:
Racer X - Scarified, Technical Difficulties
Dream Theater - Under A Glass Moon Solo, Metropolis
Paul Gilbert - The Curse Of Castle Dragon
Steve Vai - For The Love of God, Tender Surrender
Van Halen - Eruption

kepalakeras
post Feb 10 2009, 04:57 AM

1,913 posts

C. Santana - Black Magic Woman...
Blackened
post Feb 13 2009, 05:43 AM

1,068 posts

Assuming we ignore kirk's crazy solo, these songs would somewhat suit for metallica fans out there who wanna learn guitar. but we all know solo is the best part.. patience my friends tongue.gif

Beginner:
Nothing Else Matters
Enter Sandman
To Live Is To Die
For Whom The Bell Tolls

Advanced:
One
And Justice For All
Master of Puppets
Creeping Death
freakfingers12
post Feb 13 2009, 10:44 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

I think there's this one song everyone must learn.

A composed song.

It teaches so much compared to learning a cover song.
oxalato
post Feb 13 2009, 02:34 PM

609 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 13 2009, 10:44 AM)
I think there's this one song everyone must learn.
A composed song.

It teaches so much compared to learning a cover song.
not everyone can jump straight to composing though especially newbies. smile.gif
siles1991
post Feb 19 2009, 02:55 AM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

Any good beginner songs for parties for acoustic guitar.I know You & Me,Boulevard Of Broken Dreams,Romanza,Your Call.
abulabu
post Feb 19 2009, 05:06 AM

87 posts

Jimi Hendrix - Villanova Junction(woodstock,maui,studio version etc.) very good song thumbup.gif n its quite easy tbh but try to put some "soul" in it...hard man...or mayb "master" it.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by abulabu: Feb 19 2009, 05:09 AM
ViPeR r0-0m
post Mar 5 2009, 01:33 PM

76 posts

hey guys.. cmon stop bashing the bassists... ok... icon_rolleyes.gif Coz I'm One tongue.gif

well i play mostly metal / rock / ballads but my main passion is always FUNK icon_idea.gif

songs for beginners, well i the songs that i learned (i play guitar then switched to bass laugh.gif ) way back when...

Beginner Guitar
- knocking on heavens door - avril lavigne version
- phantom planet - california (the o.c. theme)
- my happy ending - avril

BASS
first song on bass...... END OF PASSION PLAY CRUMBLING AWAY, IM UR SOURCE OF SELF DESTRUCTION.... MASTER MASTER brows.gif

Beginner Bass
Any punk songs - coz mostly play the root with 8/4 beat tongue.gif good for stamina & muscle mem.

Advance
Metallica - ya i know maybe hard, but can learn a lot.... I love one by the way

Party - If u can groove, anything will feel good
Jackson 5
Ballads

Must learn
Metallica - One, puppets, sandman(haha), for whom bell, orion (if u can get the solo thumbup.gif )
Marcus Miller - Power, Run For Cover, Scoop... a lot more actually
Larry Graham - Check out old stuff (Graham Cen. Station, Sly etc. really funky stuff btw) :

KEEP ON GROOVIN' BASSIST UNITE!! flex.gif
aoibhealFae
post Mar 14 2009, 03:15 AM

224 posts

~Piano~
for beginner
Damien Rice - 9 Crimes
Moonlight Sonata
Bella's Lullaby
Tom Yorke - Analyse
How To Save A Life - Fray
OneRepublic - Apologize

teamloks
post Mar 15 2009, 03:28 PM

1,176 posts

did u all know where to find man who sold the world tabs? i search edy but all tab seems weird or maybe i play wrong cause just learn 1 weeks only
abulabu
post Mar 17 2009, 09:31 AM

87 posts

u mean nirvana rite?? quite easy actually...i learned the song via the unplugged video...
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 17 2009, 10:22 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

herwe u go.... unkel google got it all!!!

http://www.guitaretab.com/n/nirvana/13471.html
(btw this is one of the 1st song ive learn.... ngeee...)
teamloks
post Mar 17 2009, 04:12 PM

1,176 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Mar 17 2009, 10:22 AM)
herwe u go.... unkel google got it all!!!

http://www.guitaretab.com/n/nirvana/13471.html
(btw this is one of the 1st song ive learn.... ngeee...)
hehe thx bro btw i confuse before this cause many version lolx
post Mar 18 2009, 07:07 PM

101 posts

Party: Eric Clapton-Layla, electric and acoustic, both rocks your socks off especially electric version, Knockin on Heavens Doors-GnR(just makes ppl groove I don't know why)

Must Learn: November Rain-GnR,

This is for Electric guitar BTW

This post has been edited by 159: Mar 18 2009, 07:09 PM
hidzwan
post Mar 19 2009, 02:33 PM

377 posts

Must Learn(Beginner) :
1. Nothing else matter
2. Hotel California
3. Sweet Child of Mine
4. Smoke on The Water

Must Learn(Pro):
1. Jason becker - altitude
2. Dream Theater - stream of concsiouness
3. J.S.Bach - Air on G
4. Yngwie - echo etude
5. andy timmons - groovie or die
antidream unthought
post Mar 28 2009, 06:00 PM

397 posts

Opeth songs ftw man

now learning:

Harvest
Deliverance
For Absent Friends
Sadru
post Apr 1 2009, 01:59 AM

1,062 posts

im getting super confuse here, no one posted the acoustic song in italic? please post more acoustic song! >^<
abulabu
post Apr 1 2009, 04:13 AM

87 posts

go for drive by incubus maa...or dave matthews band - crash into me

Added on April 1, 2009, 4:14 amoh yea forgot...mexico by incubus

This post has been edited by abulabu: Apr 1 2009, 04:14 AM
colex08
post Apr 8 2009, 10:00 AM

90 posts

<------lots of cool song from this guy. 'Air' is perfect in increasing ur accuracy
QUOTE(hidzwan @ Mar 19 2009, 02:33 PM)
Must Learn(Beginner) :
1. Nothing else matter
2. Hotel California
3. Sweet Child of Mine
4. Smoke on The Water

Must Learn(Pro):
1. Jason becker - altitude
2. Dream Theater - stream of concsiouness
3. J.S.Bach - Air on G
4. Yngwie - echo etude
5. andy timmons - groovie or die
yngwie - echo etude is the guitar with somewat violin sound effect rite? not everyboy hav tat haha
hidzwan
post Apr 11 2009, 08:17 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(colex08 @ Apr 8 2009, 10:00 AM)
<------lots of cool song from this guy. 'Air' is perfect in increasing ur accuracy

yngwie - echo etude is the guitar with somewat violin sound effect rite? not everyboy hav tat haha
yup..if u able to play air even 80% accurate means u r very talented..

echo etude..the violin sound actually come from the volume adjustment..hard to play like that tho..but not impossible
latias93
post Apr 13 2009, 02:48 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

For Piano beginners I'd have to say Celine Deon - My Heart Will Go On. It must be the most-played movie theme on Piano! I've played different versions (and difficulty) of this song in G2, G3 and G5. I'm sure you guys played this songs before xD
riont
post Apr 14 2009, 09:18 PM

15 posts

songs for beginners

any songs with major chords....nuff said

any beginner MUST learn this
m3er
post Apr 14 2009, 09:38 PM

298 posts

major chords only? @@
how bout minor chords?
riont
post Apr 15 2009, 09:34 PM

15 posts

then later go there la...baby steps man..baby steps..
colex08
post Apr 16 2009, 09:41 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(hidzwan @ Apr 11 2009, 08:17 AM)
yup..if u able to play air even 80% accurate means u r very talented..

echo etude..the violin sound actually come from the volume adjustment..hard to play like that tho..but not impossible
I didnt noe tat.I saw once dat he controlled the violin sound tru a gadget. But who knows all the effects gadgets can produce these days...

If i able to play 80% of tat, i wld be student no more tongue.gif . Classical is very delicate IMO. Cld u? nod.gif
m3er
post Apr 16 2009, 03:13 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(riont @ Apr 15 2009, 09:34 PM)
then later go there la...baby steps man..baby steps..
isnt that in all key got minor chords, why wouldnt u just pick that minor chord?
it's same, 3 key, minor or major chords only need 3 notes.
amzarisari
post Apr 16 2009, 04:33 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(m3er @ Apr 16 2009, 03:13 PM)
isnt that in all key got minor chords, why wouldnt u just pick that minor chord?
it's same, 3 key, minor or major chords only need 3 notes.
its easy for u coz u haf oredi know d chords very well
but for beginners (mostly...) i bet they just know major chords only..
cheers icon_rolleyes.gif
m3er
post Apr 16 2009, 04:40 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(amzarisari @ Apr 16 2009, 04:33 PM)
its easy for u coz u haf oredi know d chords very well
but for beginners (mostly...) i bet they just know major chords only..
cheers icon_rolleyes.gif
lol, my point is, even for beginner, they usually learn the key first.
learning key, means major and minor chord also got.

like the most basic key of piano:-
C major key:-

u need to learn C major, A minor, D minor, G major... bla bla blaa...
it sounds different, but major and minor chords both constructed from 3 notes only.
and on C major key, it looks the same. 3 fingers.
just need to shift the positioning.

even on guitar:-
holding major chord not necessarily means easier.
Am chord still easy to hold what.

most of pop rock music also have minor chords.

This post has been edited by m3er: Apr 16 2009, 04:43 PM
Iriz
post Apr 16 2009, 04:43 PM

146 posts

should learn Hotel California (acoustic live version)....the first song i learned....learned the solo and the chords......it'll take hard work and dedication but its all worth it......if u can nail that song at beginner level,u can nail any song after that.....for me at least....
pleasuresaurus
post Apr 16 2009, 05:12 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Wei, where got so easy wanna find song all in major key only? How to resolve? The easiest songs use the simplest progressions which almost always uses M & m chords.
amzarisari
post Apr 16 2009, 11:31 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 16 2009, 05:12 PM)
Wei, where got so easy wanna find song all in major key only? How to resolve? The easiest songs use the simplest progressions which almost always uses M & m chords.
ade lol....
sliver - nirvana

i used to play dat song when i was really3 dumb on guitar...

dont believe u better play it urself...

oh, and 'i will survive' by cake also play all major chords...

This post has been edited by amzarisari: Apr 18 2009, 11:27 AM
annabelle89
post Apr 20 2009, 05:25 PM

54 posts

Any nice songs for violin? Just wondering.
g r a p e k e y
post Apr 20 2009, 07:13 PM

483 posts

I heart this thread so much~ =)
Fuuko Master
post Apr 20 2009, 07:36 PM

39 posts

For gui*ar: The EADGBE tune song

For bass: The EADG tune song

For piano: The middle C song (counting 1 2 3 4 on whole notes, half notes and quarter notes)

If you haven't even passed this, something is deeply wrong with you. tongue.gif

As for real songs, you must be able to play Pearl Jam's cover of Last Kiss on gui*ar. As for bass, I'd say Otherside by Red Hot Chili Peppers.
hidzwan
post Apr 21 2009, 10:29 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(amzarisari @ Apr 16 2009, 11:31 PM)
ade lol....
sliver - nirvana

i used to play dat song when i was really3 dumb on guitar...

dont believe u better play it urself...

oh, and 'i will survive' by cake also play all major chords...
lol..actually all song hv key..n u cant play all major chord theoritaclly in the entire song..but u can when u hv the creativity n the vocal part able to handle the chord..yes, kurt cobain did..

but to a beginner i guess minor chord is essential dude..minor + major..

btw, cake song actually in Am key..
amzarisari
post Apr 21 2009, 10:39 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(hidzwan @ Apr 21 2009, 10:29 PM)
lol..actually all song hv key..n u cant play all major chord theoritaclly in the entire song..but u can when u hv the creativity n the vocal part able to handle the chord..yes, kurt cobain did..

but to a beginner i guess minor chord is essential dude..minor + major..
btw, cake song actually in Am key..
ye ke?
but i play the M key. hahahhahaha.....

but thinking it back, it depends on how u play it rite?
hidzwan
post Apr 21 2009, 11:13 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(amzarisari @ Apr 21 2009, 10:39 PM)
ye ke?
but i play the M key. hahahhahaha.....

but thinking it back, it depends on how u play it rite?
mmm..im not that expert to clarify this..but my teacher did told me that sumtime in a song..we can pinjam2 chord yg xde dlm list key 2..

but, bout the major chord song..i dunno..coz even a song play with only two chord..yet it one major one minor (Lydian mode)
abulabu
post Apr 23 2009, 04:34 AM

87 posts

Guitarist

pro - Born Under A Bad Sign, Lover Man by jimi hendrix

beginner - Drive,11am by incubus

thumbup.gif
harvster
post Apr 26 2009, 03:55 AM

53 posts

can anyone suggest some easy newbie songs from any of the following bands? thanks!!

foo fighters
audioslave
incubus
nirvana
metallica
alter bridge
soundgarden
SOAD

or any simple solo's would be nice. thanks again
Fuuko Master
post Apr 26 2009, 01:52 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(harvster @ Apr 26 2009, 03:55 AM)
can anyone suggest some easy newbie songs from any of the following bands? thanks!!

foo fighters
audioslave
incubus
nirvana
metallica
alter bridge
soundgarden
SOAD

Is it for guitar only, or for all instruments? I only know Audioslave well though.

Audioslave:
Be Yourself
I Am the Highway
Like a Stone (you'll need a whammy pedal for the solo)
Light My Way (drop D tuning)
The Last Remaining Light

Their riffy songs like Cochise, Show Me How to Live and Set It Off require some speed, but they're actually quite easy.

Foo Fighters:
Learn to Fly

Soundgarden:
Black Hole Sun (drop D tuning; I think it's easy)

Nirvana:
Smells Like Teen Spirit (the obvious one)

This post has been edited by Fuuko Master: Apr 26 2009, 01:54 PM
harvster
post Apr 26 2009, 07:42 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Fuuko Master @ Apr 26 2009, 01:52 PM)
Is it for guitar only, or for all instruments? I only know Audioslave well though.

Audioslave:
Be Yourself
I Am the Highway
Like a Stone (you'll need a whammy pedal for the solo)
Light My Way (drop D tuning)
The Last Remaining Light

Their riffy songs like Cochise, Show Me How to Live and Set It Off require some speed, but they're actually quite easy.

Foo Fighters:
Learn to Fly

Soundgarden:
Black Hole Sun (drop D tuning; I think it's easy)

Nirvana:
Smells Like Teen Spirit (the obvious one)
yea, its for guitar man. thanks a lot for the suggestions. some i already have tried but a few new ones from audioslave there. didnt realize i am the highway would be easy.. thanks
Vio
post Apr 26 2009, 07:46 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(annabelle89 @ Apr 20 2009, 05:25 PM)
Any nice songs for violin? Just wondering.
i was wondering abt that too.. it's seems so hard to find violin sheets around..
DoubleU
post Apr 28 2009, 04:47 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

hey, some songs for the bass to play,

seven nation army by white stripes....

its like super simple to play, cause its mainly one riff, and oni got a prechorus and a outro, which is the same as the pc.

supermassive blackhole by muse
its a bit harder to learn, but still rather easy. the guitar part is also quite simple

abulabu
post Apr 28 2009, 11:56 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(harvster @ Apr 26 2009, 03:55 AM)

foo fighters
audioslave
incubus
nirvana
metallica
alter bridge
soundgarden
SOAD

11am,Drive,Clean,Mexico by incubus - those are quite ez actually...good for newbie thumbup.gif

Summer Romance, Take Me To Your Leader, Azwethinweiz - jazz songs..good for solo practices

soad - spider, BYOB

try master Call Of Ktulu by metallica...one of the easiest to learn..IMO...

dont forget the legend - Jimi Hendrix thumbup.gif

chingwooi
post Apr 29 2009, 12:08 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Yea, I also started by learning smells like teen spirit by Nirvana. You can try when I come around by Green Day or All the small thing by blink 182.

OT: After you have mastered that 2 songs you can try The Hell Song and Over my head by Sum41 and Swing swing by all american rejects, these are songs for beginner smile.gif
lordvega08
post Apr 30 2009, 03:37 PM

20 posts

For me, when i started to pick up guitars, these are the song i played:

When The Children Cry - White Lion
Hotel California - acoustic and ori version
All Metallica's song - preferably the first 4 album will be better
All Megadeth Song - i prefer holy wars, tornado of souls and vortex for right hand picking exercise
Canon Rock - oh yeah rclxms.gif

hidzwan
post Apr 30 2009, 10:14 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(lordvega08 @ Apr 30 2009, 03:37 PM)
For me, when i started to pick up guitars, these are the song i played:

When The Children Cry - White Lion
Hotel California - acoustic and ori version
All Metallica's song - preferably the first 4 album will be better
All Megadeth Song - i prefer holy wars, tornado of souls and vortex for right hand picking exercise
Canon Rock - oh yeah rclxms.gif
u start picking up with canon rock?..r u funtwo? notworthy.gif
lordvega08
post May 2 2009, 01:13 PM

20 posts

Funtwo laugh.gif nolah, but that guy is impressive, i mean with his naive style and looks, who can guess he can sweep picking quite nicely lol tongue.gif
btw for canon rock, i think Gustavo Guerra version is the best man, really jealous with that guy shocking.gif
hidzwan
post May 2 2009, 01:56 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(lordvega08 @ May 2 2009, 01:13 PM)
Funtwo laugh.gif nolah, but that guy is impressive, i mean with his naive style and looks, who can guess he can sweep picking quite nicely lol tongue.gif
btw for canon rock, i think Gustavo Guerra version is the best man, really jealous with that guy  shocking.gif
yah..i think he is korean or taiwanese..not sure..but his technique was superb man..seems like he sweep+hammer on in same time..btw, his guitar is quite nice as well rclxms.gif ..

Gustavo's is nice..but i more admire to mattrach version..

encikapeq
post May 7 2009, 08:31 AM

71 posts

starting wit canon rock??..dasat.....goreng sampai hangus.....
secondrate
post May 10 2009, 08:08 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Lifehouse - You and Me

When You Say Nothing at All - (by about half a dozen people)

My absolute fav still Green Day Time of Your Life. Only wish got drums so my friend can jam with me tongue.gif. Great song to play in guitar shops too.
JimmyR
post May 12 2009, 08:19 PM

Here's one for sure.

Birthday Party Song

-Happy Birthday to You.

i love JerryC's canon rock.

LONG LiVE CANON!!

This post has been edited by JimmyR: May 12 2009, 08:21 PM
CheeLeong33
post May 25 2009, 09:39 PM

22 posts

how to become a good singer?

.:zaxiao:.
post May 26 2009, 08:51 PM

470 posts

Wonderwall-Oasis.
badbad
post May 29 2009, 12:36 AM

Who here is more interested in acoustic playing style ala tommy emmanuel
antidream unthought
post Jun 3 2009, 11:03 PM

397 posts

In This Light by Sikth

its pretty hard coz they use ringing chords for riffs and im not good at this
plus awesome hearty solo

any tips for fingering chords more comfortably?
papermun
post Jun 20 2009, 02:29 AM

102 posts

Hey there delilah by plain white tees is pretty easy to pick up for the acoustic guitar
shafeex03
post Jul 13 2009, 12:31 PM

52 posts

someone can recommend any easy metalcore songs with good practice and exercise?
fReqZz
post Jul 17 2009, 10:01 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(shafeex03 @ Jul 13 2009, 12:31 PM)
someone can recommend any easy metalcore songs with good practice and exercise?
try lamb of god. pretty much riffing till you bleed. rclxms.gif

Added on July 17, 2009, 10:08 am
Beginner - emphasize on chord change

1. oasis - wonderwall
2. mr big - to be with you
3. def leppard - 2 steps behind
4. nirvana (all i guess)

Novice - emphasize on strumming, chord dynamic and pull-on chords

1. more than words - extreme
2. officially missing you - tamia
3. officially yours - craig davids
4. cater to you - some guy on youtube covers destiny childs
5. you body is a wonderland - john mayer

Intermediate - riffing, right and left hand coordination, chord variation ( no-solo allowed just yet)

1. day of the eagle - robin thrower
2. little wing - jimmy hendrix
3. aint talking bout love - van halen
4. limelight - rush

This post has been edited by fReqZz: Jul 17 2009, 10:08 AM
gan_deloitte
post Jul 24 2009, 11:42 AM

Beginner songs:

Poker face - Daughtry
Lips of an angel - Hinder
Without you - hinder
Jonas Brother - lovebug
John Lennon - Stand by me
Umbrella - Marie Digby
Drive - incubus
I'm yours - Jason Mraz
Viva la Vida - Coldplay
Avril Lavigne - nobody's home
Howie Day - collide

=)
afiqk
post Jul 31 2009, 12:09 AM

288 posts

think easiest song would me happy birthday song
mosh
post Jul 31 2009, 12:46 PM

149 posts

La bamba , lena di ulit mimpi baseline ( wings ) is gud to use for guitar tuning
afiqk
post Aug 1 2009, 12:15 AM

288 posts

y dont u used a tuner?
livinzo
post Aug 1 2009, 01:59 AM

293 posts

guys, suggest me a few beginner two guitars songs...
im into ac/dc , metallica, alternative rock, led zeppelin stuff...
afiqk
post Aug 1 2009, 03:20 AM

288 posts

jason mraz?lucky?
thebassist
post Aug 1 2009, 02:32 PM

109 posts

Here's my 2 cents worth for guitar

Beginner:
- Wonderwall by Oasis

- Everlong by Foo Fighters
- Nothing Else Matters by Metallica

Party Songs (also known as songs that people will sing along to, based on my experience smile.gif)
- Jamie All Over by Mayday Parade
- Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana
- Sweet Child O Mine by Guns N Roses
- You And Me by Lifehouse
- More Than Words by Extreme
- No Such Thing and Your Body's A Wonderland by John Mayer
- Cliffs Of Dover by Eric Johnson (okay so no one will sing to this, but if at any time you feel like showing off your skills, this is it)
- Seven Nation Army by The White Stripes (get a bassist friend and maybe someone to play the cajon and you'll find everyone clapping to the beat and singing along)

Must Learn
- In Loving Memory by Alter Bridge
- Stop This Train by John Mayer
- Hotel California by Eagles
- One by Metallica

whatsupbro
post Aug 1 2009, 10:14 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

QUOTE(livinzo @ Aug 1 2009, 01:59 AM)
guys, suggest me a few beginner two guitars songs...
im into ac/dc , metallica, alternative rock, led zeppelin  stuff...
well try to learn metallica enter sandman... thats quite easy...(very easy actually)... but u must learn master of puppets..

giuk
post Aug 10 2009, 05:46 AM

95 posts

My humble opinion for guitar players;

- Beginner Songs :
The Get Up Kids - Out Of Reach
Spanish Romance - Romanza
The Honorary Title - Far More
Silverchair - Ana's Song
Cake - I Will Survive

- Party Songs :
Blink 182 - All the small things
OAG - 60's TV
Butterfingers - Girl Friday
Green Day - Basket Case
Foo Fighters - My Hero
Puddle of Mud - She Hates Me

- Must-learn Songs :
Jim Hendrix - Little Wings
Pearl Jam - Yellow Ledbetter
Led Zeppelin - Stairway To Heaven
Metallica - Master of Puppets
Chuck Berry - Johnny B Goode
The Goo Goo Dolls - Iris
Rikipu
post Aug 11 2009, 03:05 PM

355 posts

hey there can anyone suggest any blues/rock songs? not too bluesy..
fReqZz
post Aug 21 2009, 10:15 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Rikipu @ Aug 11 2009, 03:05 PM)
hey there can anyone suggest any blues/rock songs? not too bluesy..
wanna play blues but not too bluesy? blink.gif

okay2.

this one is simple blues\rock formation.

1. kenny wayne shepherd - true lies
2. jimmy hendrix - little wing
3. rush - limelight
4. ufo - mother mary

good luck! thumbup.gif

AHCK
post Aug 24 2009, 07:16 PM

Just took Classical guitar lessons a few months back...
A newbie and undoubtingly still a noob doh.gif
But learnt two songs lately which would be nice choices for newbies :

Wonderwall : Oasis
(The chords i learnt was easy because doesn't involve in much changing for chords, but i think need a capo to get better quality of the song???)

Kiss Me: Sixspence None Than Richer
Depends on which chords u learn, there are two types i identified so far.... one of them quite easy for beginners.

Pls correct me if im wrong sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AHCK: Aug 24 2009, 07:17 PM
fReqZz
post Aug 25 2009, 01:34 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(AHCK @ Aug 24 2009, 07:16 PM)
Just took Classical guitar lessons a few months back...
A newbie and undoubtingly still a noob  doh.gif
But learnt two songs lately which would be nice choices for newbies :

Wonderwall : Oasis
(The chords i learnt was easy because doesn't involve in much changing for chords, but i think need a capo to get better quality of the song???)

Kiss Me: Sixspence None Than Richer
Depends on which chords u learn, there are two types i identified so far.... one of them quite easy for beginners.

Pls correct me if im wrong  sweat.gif
bro.. capo is not used to get a better quality of a song but the change the key of a song to suit ur voice.

with capo.. u can still play bar chords just like the open chords. rclxms.gif

i remember playing kiss me using 2 variation.

i prefer the one started with i think D chords? uhh.. cud not remember. but the same idea with capo. those variation are variation in the key.

carbonara
post Aug 26 2009, 10:05 PM

Beginners :
Plain White T's - Hey There Delilah
Coldplay - Viva la Vida
Incubus - Drive

Must Learn :
Canon Rock by Jerry C biggrin.gif
payne11
post Sep 2 2009, 03:15 AM

129 posts

beginners.
-all nirvana's song.

easy to learn, dun have many chord and complicated lead.
xts
post Sep 8 2009, 12:31 PM

159 posts

secret garden songs...

For pianist and violin player...
pllx
post Sep 16 2009, 12:19 AM

251 posts

For "Kiss Me" i think the C- chord variations is the original. For beginners, try "One Last Breath"- Creed. Repetitive but soothing smile.gif I gave up on Canon Rock = = Also for beginners with a band, Fall Out Boy's awesome to jam to. Singing's hard though haha.
Gaizer_Dragon
post Sep 22 2009, 11:05 PM

Could someone recommend me a good SHREDing or solo exercises.
payne11
post Sep 27 2009, 03:03 PM

129 posts

Gun N roses, sweetchild o mine. solo exercise= canon rock.
goathead
post Sep 27 2009, 03:21 PM

audioslave
payne11
post Sep 27 2009, 03:47 PM

129 posts

for shreding try a7x!
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 2 2009, 07:52 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

My lima sen biggrin.gif

Guitar
- Beginner Songs :
All Time Low - Stella
Nirvana - Come As You Are
Oasis - Wonderwall
Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here
Audioslave - Like A Stone
Cranberries - Zombie

Not SO Beginner but NOT pro yet biggrin.gif (after maybe 3 months?)
Avenged Sevenfold - Unholy Confessions
Doobie Brothers - Long Train Running
and of course...
Deep Purple - Smoke. On. The. Water biggrin.gif
Cream - Sunshine Of Your Love
My Chemical Romance - I'm Not Okay (I Promise)
System Of A Down - Toxicity
Back in Black - AC/DC

Songs You Should learn Just for the Solos-

Eruption by Van Halen
Floods by Pantera
Mr. Crowley - Ozzy Osbourne
Whole Lotta Love - Led Zeppelin
Master of Puppets - Metallica
Satch Boogie - Joe Satriani

- Party Songs :
Blink 182 - All The Small Things
JerryC- Canon Rock (Mmm... can't sing..but can get you attention)
The Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop
Santana - Black Magic Woman
Michael Jackson - Beat It

- Must-learn Songs :
Romance d' Amour (YES YES HAVE TO LEARN)
Red Jumpsuit Apparatus - Your Guardian Angel (For chicks mar biggrin.gif)
Guns & Roses - Sweet Child Of Mine
Led Zeppelin - Stairway to Heaven
Slayer - Raining Blood
Metallica - One
Eric Johnson - Cliffs of Dover

Drums -

gnsumas
post Oct 2 2009, 08:00 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Oct 2 2009, 07:52 PM)
My lima sen biggrin.gif

Guitar
- Beginner Songs :
All Time Low - Stella
Nirvana - Come As You Are
Oasis - Wonderwall
Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here
Audioslave - Like A Stone
Cranberries - Zombie
Not SO Beginner but NOT pro yet biggrin.gif (after maybe 3 months?)
Doobie Brothers - Long Train Running
and of course...
Deep Purple - Smoke. On. The. Water biggrin.gif
Cream - Sunshine Of Your Love
My Chemical Romance - I'm Not Okay (I Promise)
System Of A Down - Toxicity
Back in Black - AC/DC

Songs You Should learn Just for the Solos-

Eruption by Van Halen
Floods by Pantera
Mr. Crowley - Ozzy Osbourne
Whole Lotta Love - Led Zeppelin
Master of Puppets - Metallica
Satch Boogie - Joe Satriani

- Party Songs :
JerryC- Canon Rock (Mmm... can't sing..but can get you attention)
Santana - Black Magic Woman
Michael Jackson - Beat It
- Must-learn Songs :
Romance d' Amour (YES YES HAVE TO LEARN)
Red Jumpsuit Apparatus - Your Guardian Angel (For chicks mar biggrin.gif)
Guns & Roses - Sweet Child Of Mine
Led Zeppelin - Stairway to Heaven
Slayer - Raining Blood
Metallica - One
Eric Johnson - Cliffs of Dover

Drums -
You don't have lima sen dry.gif

If you got, you wouldn't owe so many people money dry.gif
spunkberry
post Oct 5 2009, 06:00 AM

å±ãªã„人ã§ã™
1,890 posts

it'll be nice if you guys could link sheet music too.
droo
post Oct 20 2009, 10:02 PM

100 posts

aiya why everyone recommend metallica/guns and roses/nirvana and all those common bands wan..no offence man but its too cliche..

heres my part-

guitar
1. blackest eyes - porcupine tree
2. blackwater park - opeth
3. babe im gonna leave you - led zep
4. comfortable - john mayer
5. summer romance - incubus
6. five - deja voodoo spells

those are meant for intermediate/experienced players tho..i dont know what to suggest for party songs/songs u must learn cuz everyone has different tastes etc..oh well, try those songs i suggested tho..

antidream unthought
post Oct 21 2009, 10:47 PM

397 posts

Opeth's are pretty hard, u need to have natural movements to the songs to be able to play it imo..
so far i've nailed some parts for Ghost of Perdition, Deliverance, and Master's Apprentices

when will it be for a complete song rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Blackest Eyes and Fear of a Blank Planet are also fun to play as well
leymar7
post Oct 22 2009, 10:06 PM

86 posts

easy song for beginners!

Metallica-nothing else matters
whatsupbro
post Oct 23 2009, 10:02 AM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

should be the easiest vai song... Die To Live
Life_House
post Nov 9 2009, 01:52 PM

505 posts

For electric guitar .... has anyone missed out Switch 625 by the late Steve Clark of Def Leppard ?

vinomanser22
post Nov 11 2009, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 19 2005, 07:56 PM)
Ok I'ill start :

(Guitar)
Beginner :

Party :
- Oasis - Wonderwall (Britpop)

Must-learn :
- Jimi Hendrix - Little Wing (Classic Rock)

Try to stick to the format. thumbup.gif

\

thanks this helps because i always dont know what to do
icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
sarvinG
post Nov 15 2009, 05:09 PM

Quality is better than Quantity
1,155 posts

Less songs recomendations for drummers here so i would like to post some.

Try this out drummers (and other intruments player as well)

The beautiful people - Marilyn Manson (Train your timing)
mOBSCENE - Marilyn Manson (Fun Beat)
Anti-Christ Superstar - Marilyn Manson
The Nobodies - Marilyn Manson
Sweet Dreams - Marilyn Manson
Heart Shaped Glasses - Marilyn Manson (Timing and fun song)
Hotel California - The Eagles (Not so easy but fill ins is quite fun but hard)
Tomorrow - Ozzy Osbourne (Train your timing)
Zombie - The Cranberries
MCR - I don't love you
Guns N' Roses - Knockin' On Heaven's Door
Guns N' Roses - Don't Cry
Guns N' Roses - November Rain

Some of the old and new songs which helped me as a beginner. Some of them requires more knowledge and you need scores too. Will update more soon. icon_rolleyes.gif

Wolffeh
post Nov 18 2009, 04:14 PM

59 posts

Any recommended party songs for a violin? Also, anyone know where I could find some scores for contemporary songs, other than books?
linachan
post Nov 18 2009, 04:44 PM

50 posts

BASS : STILL GOT THE BLUES?

BUT MY FIRST SONG IS ZOMBIE. HAHA
chephren
post Nov 21 2009, 10:00 AM

88 posts

hey..kinda curious..

how do u guys practice? view the the net for tabs or chord or just try the songs on your own?

some ppl can just listen to a song and after a seconds, he can just play it on guitar.demm!!dat was good but im not even close to that.

need to browse for some tabs and chords and play. what bout u guys?
whatsupbro
post Nov 21 2009, 11:07 AM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

recently I finished learn the song Die to live from steve vai....

Its very easy to learn I think... I would recommend this one for all steve's fans and to everyone who like something different to play...

payne11
post Nov 24 2009, 12:30 AM

129 posts

hey, you should learn Malaysian's own rock band likes Search,Wings, Cromok, Butter,ACAB, they rocks!

Fenderr
post Dec 7 2009, 03:02 PM

268 posts

Does anyone have the piano score for River Flows In You - Yiruma ?
I wantttt that song!
exsea
post Dec 7 2009, 03:04 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(linachan @ Nov 18 2009, 04:44 PM)
BASS : STILL GOT THE BLUES?

BUT MY FIRST SONG IS ZOMBIE. HAHA
the first song u learn is always the killer song..
poisons u...
Desvaro
post Dec 7 2009, 08:57 PM

639 posts

Hello, I'm an Acoustic Guitar player and I just found this section of the forums. Anyway I have a short list of songs that I'll call my 'Acoustic Love Songs'. I feel that these are nice songs to play at almost any situation (except of course consoling someone who just broke up), as people generally love these songs. I've also included some personal notes about the songs:

1) Boyzone - No Matter What

Tabs here: http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/b/boyz...er_what_crd.htm

The song is actually played in 2 keys, starts off with A and then proceeds to C key towards the end. The problem is that at some parts of the song, it vocals are very high. I personally tune my guitar down half a step (E flat, A flat etc) and play the entire song in A key.

2)The Calling - Wherever You Will Go

This youtube video features just the lead singer playing the acoustic version of the song, and the video focuses on the guitar - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JeuKf-J9Qo&feature=related

It might seem a little complicated, but it is easy to learn, and tabs are available easily. I myself learned the song from this video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wOuxwTL5mU

The original (album version) is done on Capo 2, however when they perform live it's done on Capo 1. You can go higher capo or no capo, but just make sure your voice can match what you're playing.

3)David Cook - Always Be My Baby

Very easy song to learn, very simple to play. Tabs here - http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/d/davi...ab.htm#comments

Who knew a Mariah Carey song can be transformed into manly song

4) Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight

This song is a classic. A very romantic song. Most acoustic guitar players however tend to stay away from this song because the original involves electric guitar solos.

However I came across this video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uAT7iyikwLo&feature=related

In the video the song is played in Capo 3, while the original song has no capo. I use the chords from here - http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/e/eric...rd.htm#comments

5) George Benson - Nothing's Gonna Change My Love For You

Another classic song, although covered not very long ago by Westlife. This song is actually played in 2 keys. The vocals do go up very high, so it can be a tough song to sing. However, there are a few things you can do to sort this out.

As you can see in the tabs - http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/g/glen...ve_ver2_crd.htm, the original song is in capo 2. I myself play it with no capo and only in the key of C. You can choose to strum, or play it like this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAmMG_ggwa0

I personally prefer the one in the video.

6) Michael Buble - Home

Very popular song. However, the original is more of a piano song. Then came Boyce Avenue's cover:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQTifkxs2F0

This song will take some time to learn. It sounds very nice on capo 1 and capo 2 as well, but only if your voice can go high. Here are the tabs:

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/m/mich...le/home_tab.htm

I hope this helps
Lamb Of Dog
post Dec 8 2009, 04:16 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Aug 19 2005, 08:16 PM)
Beginner:
Green Day - Good Riddance * Time Of Your Life*
Nirvana - About A Girl

Party Songs:
Green Day - Basket Case

Must Learn :
Alter Bridge - In Loving Memory
Dream Theater - Fatal Tragedy *Shredfest! *
ahhhh,about a girl,first song i ever played.
wat?no black dog by led zep?tat riff kills!

drum song-QOTSA's no one knows!
-Lamb of god's RUIN!

Added on December 8, 2009, 4:20 pmi bet every teen in here has played enter sandman's riff 500 times when they first learned it.

This post has been edited by Lamb Of Dog: Dec 8 2009, 04:20 PM
babyiswara
post Dec 9 2009, 01:47 AM

do you have the score sheets with you? ^^
trdcelica
post Dec 11 2009, 11:31 PM

122 posts

Any acoustic songs for piano? for a new learner

This post has been edited by trdcelica: Dec 11 2009, 11:32 PM
Toki Theng
post Jan 2 2010, 12:28 AM

45 posts

Try Coldplay-The scientist. Its really easy actually:D. You can look for tutorials at youtube.
SUSphantomkid
post Jan 2 2010, 01:01 AM

269 posts

Not a drummer, but this song is catchy, a lil.

Drum, Bass :-
Dance, Dance by Fall Out Boy(Beginner for drummers, a lil towards intermediate for bassists)

Sugar, We're Goin' Down by Fall Out Boy (Beginner for both)

Guitar :-
Decode by Paramore (Intermediate)

Umbrella (rock version) by All Time Low, my band changed this song's drumming to Vanilla Sky's version.(Beginner)

Sugar, We're Goin' Down by Fall Out Boy (Beginner)

If you can play a lil' metal-ish song on acoustic, Snuff by Slipknot.
Endless9930
post Jan 4 2010, 06:08 PM

757 posts

Seems like piano is not really popular here, hopefully there are more suggestion on the piano part.
WillyC
post Jan 4 2010, 11:59 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Dec 8 2009, 04:16 PM)

Added on December 8, 2009, 4:20 pmi bet every teen in here has played enter sandman's riff 500 times when they first learned it.
ahh..and that Smells Like Teen Spirit. tongue.gif

Added on January 5, 2010, 12:02 amOh yea.. no one can miss out Smoke On The Water by Deep Purple for beginners.
And also, Seven Nation Army by The White Stripes.

This post has been edited by WillyC: Jun 13 2010, 08:35 PM
EastSoil
post Jan 5 2010, 09:38 PM

38 posts

dude..dont just say la..post or link tabs or chords that you guys posts. only good ones..
Ah Shawn
post Jan 6 2010, 01:24 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EastSoil @ Jan 5 2010, 09:38 PM)
dude..dont just say la..post or link tabs or chords that you guys posts. only good ones..
laaa...u can find it all here...no nid susah susah..

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/
zencyc1123
post Jan 7 2010, 01:11 PM

75 posts

Bohemian raphosody can be one of the song
slayer_ben
post Jan 13 2010, 06:42 PM

32 posts

y dun have for saxophones?
ZintanthraX
post Jan 14 2010, 03:19 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

hello there...seems like dis thread is kinda intrsting...hoho

2 guitarist out there, try 4 Racer X - Viking Kong n Buckethead - Jordan...

SUSCharkoteow
post Jan 23 2010, 11:33 AM

225 posts

the list on the first post is dead? update please TS sad.gif
Jaemmae
post Jan 24 2010, 12:47 PM

31 posts

seems like alot more guitar players than piano players here.
Nice song list by the way.
whatsupbro
post Jan 24 2010, 01:15 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

QUOTE(Endless9930 @ Jan 4 2010, 06:08 PM)
Seems like piano is not really popular here, hopefully there are more suggestion on the piano part.
hahaha... to be a pianist u gonna need a piano which is quite expensive... so thats why a lot of guitarist and bassist here...

But I really like piano songs.. But I dunno the titles for those songs I like.. maybe some muse songs can be play on piano.. like the soldier's poem... or even unintended.. which Im pretty sure gonna sound great on piano...

Moses92
post Jan 29 2010, 02:30 PM

Harmonica
Beginner - Amazing Grace

Partly - English Medly

Must learn - Anything with 'frills'
abulabu
post Feb 4 2010, 08:46 PM

87 posts

Begineers
Jimi Hendrix - Killing Floor(Monterey)(BBC)(Studio Jam)
Jimi Hendrix - Castles Made of Sand
Jimi Hendrix - RED HOUSE rendition
Jimi Hendrix - Little Wing
Jimi Hendrix - Voodoo Chile(slight return/blues)

argh all jimis songs of coz..

oh it'd be better...u put backing track on it...ez to blend with...timing,taugeh notes etc.

1st timers/amateurs
Nirvana - about a girl
incubus - mexico
deftones - my own summer
dave matthews band - crash into me

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by abulabu: Feb 4 2010, 09:00 PM
xviix
post Feb 5 2010, 03:21 PM

71 posts

Beginner:
Green Day - "When I Come Around"
A Vain Attempt - "I Saw Her Face" (Super Easy Song)
Alkaline Trio - "Radio"

Party Songs:
Allister - "Somewhere On Fullerton"
Sum 41 - "Still Waiting"
Three Days Grace - "Animal I Have Become"

Must Learn :
Avenged Sevenfold - "MIA"
Escape The Fate - "This War Is Ours"
Alter Bridge - "In Loving Memory"
raul88
post Feb 8 2010, 01:38 PM

â–‘â–‘Madridista â–‘â–‘
2,280 posts

crazy train- awesome shit!
hantu666
post Feb 8 2010, 05:04 PM

13 posts

Instrumental Acoustic Guitar
-Romance
-Beatles - Yesterday
-Beethoven - Fur Elise
-Cromok - Another You
-Cromok - The Gift

Electric Guitar
-Nirvana - Lithium
-Metallica - Fade to Black
-Metallica - Nothing Else Matters
-Metallica - The Unforgiven
-Cromok - Misty
-Cromok - The Others
-Cromok - I Don't Belong Here
-Butterfingers - Faculties of the Mind
-Butterfingers - Girl Friday
-Butterfingers - Ruin by the Selling Out
-Muse - Plug in Baby
-Muse - New Born
-Muse - Sunburn
-Avenged Sevenfold - Dear God
-Slipknot - Snuff
-Slipknot - Duality
-Cradle of Filth - No Time to Cry
-Marlin Mason - Sweet Dreams
-The Pilgrims - Lawgiver Supremacy

paradiddle
post Feb 8 2010, 07:51 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(hantu666 @ Feb 8 2010, 05:04 PM)
Electric Guitar
    -Muse - Plug in Baby
    -Muse - New Born

+9000!

also want to add in must learn section:

* Gary Moore - Still Got The Blues (still working on final solo =.=)
* Dire Straits - Sultan Of Swing

Party Song (kinda)

* Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop
* Coldplay - Fix You
* Ahmad Dhani - Madu Tiga (i played this song at my friend wedding and all people eyeballing me. fun!)

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 9 2010, 11:26 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

I'll do drums first, Then guitar and bass later maybe smile.gif

Drums
Beginner
Green Day - When I Come Around
The Killers - Mr. Brightside (Helps on dance-type beats and consistency)
Good Charlotte - The River

Beginner-Intermediate
Slipknot - Before I Forget (Good introduction song to double pedals)
Walk - Pantera (Introduction to different timings and rolls)
System of A Down - Toxicity
Bullet For My Valentine - Hearts Burst Into Fire

Intermediate
Trivium - Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr
Dethklok - Go Into The Water

Intermediate - Advanced
System of A Down - BYOB
Avenged Sevenfold - Trashed and Scattered
Bullet for My Valentine - Scream Aim and Fire
Stone Sour - 30/30-150

Advanced
Lamb of God - Laid to Rest
All That Remains- This Calling
Frank Zappa - The Black Page

Extreme biggrin.gif If You can play all of these... You're definately an amazing musician.

Dave Weckl - Natural Evolution
Dream Theater - Honor Thy Father

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Sep 9 2010, 01:08 PM
raul88
post Mar 6 2010, 05:10 PM

â–‘â–‘Madridista â–‘â–‘
2,280 posts

mardy bum artic monkey
catchy song
roh@1z@h90
post Mar 11 2010, 03:35 PM

we must learn more music

Added on March 11, 2010, 3:35 pmwe must learn more music

This post has been edited by roh@1z@h90: Mar 11 2010, 03:35 PM
raul88
post Mar 11 2010, 07:08 PM

â–‘â–‘Madridista â–‘â–‘
2,280 posts

muse plug in baby
easy guitar lick
antidream unthought
post Mar 11 2010, 07:30 PM

397 posts

Born of Osiris - An Ascent (Drop C)

something tricky, and its awesome if there's 2 guys playing this piece
finalzz
post Mar 11 2010, 08:52 PM

531 posts

guitar:
between the buried and me - obfuscation
between the buried and me- white walls
between the buried and me- selkies the endless obsession
racer x- scarified
racer x- yro
racer x- bro
paul gilbert- eudaimonia overture
megadeth- holy wars
megadeth- tornado of souls
cynic-veil of maya
jason becker- altitudes
jason becker- perpetual burn
cacophony- images
cacophony- speed metal symphony
cacophony- concerto
joe bonamassa- so many roads
john mayall and the bluesbreakers- so many roads
eric clapton- layla
eric johnson- cliff of dovers
deep purple- burn
extreme- cupid's dead

scary songs to learn sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by finalzz: Mar 11 2010, 09:02 PM
sarvinG
post Mar 14 2010, 11:13 PM

1,155 posts

QUOTE(isaacmiranda7 @ Feb 9 2010, 11:26 PM)
I'll do drums first, Then guitar and bass later maybe smile.gif

Drums
Beginner
Green Day - When I Come Around
The Killers - Mr. Brightside (Helps on dance-type beats and consistency)
Good Charlotte - The River

Beginner-Intermediate
Slipknot - Before I Forget (Good introduction song to double pedals)
Walk - Pantera (Introduction to different timings and rolls)
System of A Down - Toxicity
Bullet For My Valentine - Hearts Burst Into Fire

Intermediate
Trivium - Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr
Dethklok - Go Into The Water

Intermediate - Advanced
System of A Down - BYOB
Avenged Sevenfold - Trashed and Scattered
Bullet for My Valentine - Scream Aim and Fire
Stone Sour - 30/30-150

Advanced
Lamb of God - Laid to Rest
As I Lay Dying - Nothing Left
Frank Zappa - The Black Page
Trivium - Ascendancy
Woah im a drummer and you have great songs there. But cant really play all cause of dont have the needed equips. Anyway, from there i choose the best :

Avenged Sevenfold - Unholy Confessions others haven't try

This post has been edited by sarvinG: Mar 14 2010, 11:22 PM
sarvinG
post Mar 14 2010, 11:23 PM

1,155 posts

Soldier of fortune - Deep purple
Psychosocial - Slipknot (Should have certain skills)**
Sweet Child o' mine - Guns and Roses**
Scream - Avenged Sevenfold**
The beautiful people - Marilyn Manson
Smooth - Escape The Fate*
Toxic - A static lullaby*
Tomorrow - Ozzy Osbourne **
Little piece of heaven - Avenged Sevenfold ***
SIC - Slipknot ****
Wonderful Tonight - Eric Clapton
If i die tomorrow - Motley Crue*
Home Sweet Home - Motley Crue*

* Not so hard ** Harder ***Skills and practice needed **** A lot of Skills and practice needed

And that is based on my personal ratings. I can only play up to ***(some). More to come.
SUSphantomkid
post Mar 15 2010, 04:24 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(hantu666 @ Feb 8 2010, 05:04 PM)
Electric Guitar
    -Slipknot - Snuff
I just learned this song a couple of weeks back. The strumming part tho *til my pick broke*. The electric guitar part isn't hard, really except it needs tremolo effect or something, I'm not really good effects myself but yeah, this song is good.
hidzwan
post Apr 13 2010, 05:24 PM

377 posts

just play n mastering all Jason Becker song..surely u'd be better than Man Kidal..hehe
mangaliseng
post Apr 14 2010, 01:48 PM

38 posts

any LONG list for piano biginner? notworthy.gif
leohammerd
post Apr 14 2010, 05:16 PM

172 posts

Guitar
-Beginner Songs:
Green Day - Time of Your Life
The Offspring - Kristy Are Doing Okay
The Clash - I Fought The Law

-Party Songs:
Blink 182 - First Date
The Offspring - You're Gonna Go Far Kids
Atreyu - Ex's and Oh's
Butterfingers - The Chemistry (Between Us)
Green Day - East Jesus Nowhere

-Hard Songs:
Avenged Sevenfold - Dear God (umm,it's hard for me though)
Atreyu - Bleeding Mascara
Versailles - Ascendead Master

hoohhoho...try it icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
EFei
post Apr 24 2010, 12:02 PM

69 posts

Howie Day's Collide [Even the Best Fall Down Sometime] is great for Acoustic Guitar and Piano.
Don't know what level it is...but is so cool! Anyone know where to get the sheet for this song?
SUSseller009
post Apr 24 2010, 02:13 PM

457 posts

----

This post has been edited by marsalee: Nov 21 2010, 10:14 AM
FinFin
post May 9 2010, 04:29 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(mangaliseng @ Apr 14 2010, 01:48 PM)
any LONG list for piano biginner?  notworthy.gif
seriously i recommend those easy classical music pieces rather than those pop songs if you want to improve your skills.

- Fur Elise by Beethoven
- Sweet Bye and Bye by Walter C. Stier
- Turkish March by Mozart

Technically, you improve more type of skills by playing classical pieces.
beatlesalbum
post May 9 2010, 04:36 PM

1,711 posts

I know he is not a mainstream popular guitarist, but I think all guitarist should try songs from Yngwie Malmsteen.
Drugcola
post May 11 2010, 03:18 PM

Runaway train!
jaclynjac
post May 14 2010, 04:40 PM

297 posts

how long for beginner to master piano ?
SUSseller009
post May 14 2010, 05:30 PM

457 posts

2 weeks
Cyndi6293
post May 22 2010, 10:38 AM

32 posts

Beginner:
Yiruma - River Flows In You

Party:
Beatles - I Wanna Hold Your Hand

Muz learn:
Secondhand Serenade - Fall For You

Added on May 22, 2010, 10:39 am
QUOTE(jaclynjac @ May 14 2010, 04:40 PM)
how long for beginner to master piano ?
it depends on you though..
but one month or so will be ok..
of coz, see wad do u mean by "master" as in get to know it or really become very geng... lol

This post has been edited by Cyndi6293: May 22 2010, 10:39 AM
mhaniff_11
post Jun 9 2010, 04:30 PM

128 posts

Afterlife-Avenged Sevenfold..
Difficult song..
Ridt_Henshin
post Jul 2 2010, 06:57 PM

380 posts

racer x - technical difficulties.

will greatly improve ure picking(alternate) i cnt nail down the song..so long tried..
bustedbrainiac
post Jul 8 2010, 03:03 PM

must learn...err..gaga?

black sabbath-iron man

pandora110
post Jul 14 2010, 02:12 PM

I like the song that is my heart will go on!

Very nice!

christian110
pandora charm bracelet-ed hardy swimwear-pandora bracelets
junky_man
post Jul 14 2010, 03:06 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

- Must-learn :

Drums
- Phoenix - "Lisztomania"

I'm not a drummer, but when you hear this song, it makes you want to play the drums.

Guitar
- This Town Needs Guns - "Panda"

Awesome guitar plucking. If you're into math rock, this one's for you.
tiffanys1
post Jul 15 2010, 10:28 AM

I'm not a drummer, but when you hear this song, it makes you want to play the drums.

----------------------------------
pandora style beads tiffany rings moncler coats thomas sabo kaufen

Jacko De La Vega
post Jul 28 2010, 03:27 AM

[cool.gif[FONT=Arial][SIZE=14]im offering lyrical services.for those who needed my services?012-3924495 is the number for yall to call[FONT=Arial][SIZE=14]
Sofia_wong88
post Aug 5 2010, 02:22 PM

The simple n easy songs for the beginner...
Xakz
post Aug 5 2010, 03:11 PM

13 posts

any songs for alto sax players? biggrin.gif I tried playing sweet child o' mine on alto and its frigging tiring. Cheeks burning by the time I reach half the song
jamesbrooke
post Aug 11 2010, 09:13 AM

Drum must learn

Neutron star collision-Muse

this song is good for some tom-tom fills.
number79
post Aug 13 2010, 09:54 AM

69 posts

songs for aweks :

1. when u say nothing at all.
2. why dont u and i.

icon_rolleyes.gif
ianisnoob
post Aug 24 2010, 11:47 AM

100 posts

must learn songs for pianist? ^^
pinky696
post Aug 30 2010, 11:20 AM

Validating
29 posts

short and easy song tongue.gif
kumbang
post Aug 30 2010, 12:18 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(pinky696 @ Aug 30 2010, 11:20 AM)
short and easy song tongue.gif

clocks from coldplay
pleasuresaurus
post Aug 31 2010, 05:43 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Muse - sunburn, or Keane - somewhere only we know. Actually, any piece from 'eane would make nice piano cover material
SUSTham
post Sep 10 2010, 05:00 AM

1,576 posts

Here :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LBduq3HNVHY

SilentSerpent
post Sep 10 2010, 04:49 PM

It sucks to be you
699 posts

Guitar

Beginner:
- Romance/Romanza (Spanish Classical Song) also known as song from a Korean series (i forgot the title)

Party:
-That Thing You Do - The Wonders
-Last Kiss - Pearl Jam
- The Man Who Sold the World - Nirvana

Must-Learn:
- More than Words - Extreme
-Another You - Cromok
-Classical Gas - Eric Clapton
SUSTham
post Sep 11 2010, 04:38 AM

1,576 posts

This girl, 20 at that time, from the small town of
Chester, South Dakota, was featured in the "Spotlight"
page of the September 1985 issue of Guitar Player magazine.

She sent me her solo demo tape after I wrote to her
sometime in early 1986.

I believe that is the sound of her Kramer Pacer Imperial.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmYnf0Pv-iY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3R0G-eQO1w

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvdBXLejyR4

select
post Sep 18 2010, 12:28 AM

42 posts

Piano and Guitar

Canon in D
SihamZhai
post Sep 25 2010, 11:16 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

QUOTE(ianisnoob @ Aug 24 2010, 11:47 AM)
must learn songs for pianist? ^^
November rain - Guns n Roses? Lol..

Classical la...and Yiruma - River flows in you

0.1933sec    1.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:26 PM