U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #3, Internet for just RM28/month

Ngto
post Nov 19 2011, 08:17 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Nov 19 2011, 01:58 AM)
try to plug the modem to onboard USB port, not USB hub, see got any different or not.
Already did that in my first post where I complained about the slow 2 to 3 Mbps speed remember. But the position was near the floor level.

Another test I did this morning at 8.15 am

But I tell you this U Mobile is a Jekyll and Hyde nut case. A retest immediately after the first proves it. Potong stim :-

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 19 2011, 08:24 AM
digilife
post Nov 19 2011, 08:24 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 19 2011, 08:17 AM)
Already did that in my first post where I complained about the slow 2 to 3 Mbps speed remember. But the position was near the floor level.

Another test I did this morning at 8.15 am

hey this is good speed, mind to tell your location and did u plug the modem straight into the usb of the pc or via hub?

Ngto
post Nov 19 2011, 08:30 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2011, 08:24 AM)
hey this is good speed, mind to tell your location and did u plug the modem straight into the usb of the pc or via hub?

Don't praise too soon, look at my edited post results sad.gif

Like I said before , I was getting 2 to 3 Mbps last night at peak hours with modem directly on PC ports which was near the floor.

After that in order to move it higher to a better position, I connected a Hub (powered, but don't know if it mattered or not) and connected the Modem to the Hub.

Mind you this is just to raise the level of the modem to a better position. The performance is not due to the hub, just that my previous position was too near the floor.

But I will test again later at peak hours. I think it will return to 2 to 4 Mbps again.
digilife
post Nov 19 2011, 08:35 AM

8,025 posts

did the modem came with a usb extension cable, try it out and use a strainer if possible

(borrow from the maxis thread - no nid the router as i dun believe any 3G router will support this modem ZTE MF680 currently)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2097183

This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 19 2011, 08:36 AM
Ngto
post Nov 19 2011, 08:38 AM

4,350 posts

Digilife , what modem package are you using with your YES connection? What's the cost? Are you getting 19Mbps+ in outdoor area or from home?

Btw, I am staying in Puchong area.

Added on November 19, 2011, 8:45 amThat strainer thing, must it be facing some sort of wall or something?

Also I think U Mobile must be exaggerating the data usage. I only used 2 to 3 hours last night + this morning 1 hr (normal usage and doing speed test) but already reaching the Quota 500MB. I think I better stop or else I won't be able to claim the 7 day money back guarantee.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 19 2011, 08:45 AM
digilife
post Nov 19 2011, 08:56 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 19 2011, 08:38 AM)
Digilife , what modem package are you using with your YES connection? What's the cost? Are you getting 19Mbps+ in outdoor area or from home?

Btw, I am staying in Puchong area.

Added on November 19, 2011, 8:45 amThat strainer thing, must it be facing some sort of wall or something?

Also I think U Mobile must be exaggerating the data usage. I only used 2 to 3 hours last night + this morning 1 hr (normal usage and doing speed test) but already reaching the Quota 500MB. I think I better stop or else I won't be able to claim the 7 day money back guarantee.
i am using YES with the Zoom and Go , with YES u can hav mutiple device on one ID

my speed was achieve at my workplace, Seremban, just normal placement, no nid near window or door

now i am at home, the speed is a bit low compared to my workplace

Ngto
post Nov 19 2011, 09:20 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2011, 08:56 AM)
i am using YES with the Zoom and Go , with YES u can hav mutiple device on one ID

my speed was achieve at my workplace, Seremban, just normal placement, no nid near window or door

now i am at home, the speed is a bit low compared to my workplace

Wow, quite a diff between your Office and home. So I guess UM still acceptable after all. Don't know if want to try other or to stick with UM.

What do you think?
digilife
post Nov 19 2011, 09:26 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 19 2011, 09:20 AM)
Wow, quite a diff between your Office and home. So I guess UM still acceptable after all. Don't know if want to try other or to stick with UM.

What do you think?
i still believe Um still offer the best value per GB as compared to YES and other telco, PROVIDED your area hav UM3G

pls run some more test with your modem as i am also interested with it, mind if we swap device to test, meaning i lend u my GO and ID and you lend me your modem?

pls PM to discuss further

Ngto
post Nov 19 2011, 09:52 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2011, 09:26 AM)
i still believe Um still offer the best value per GB as compared to YES and other telco, PROVIDED your area hav UM3G

pls run some more test with your modem as i am also interested with it, mind if we swap device to test, meaning i lend u my GO and ID and you lend me your modem?

pls PM to discuss further

My 500MB trial quota is almost reached , remember smile.gif. Can't use much further for money back Guarantee purposes. Am currently back to using my Digi now.

Haha look at my Digi RM38/- p.m lite packge speed :-

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 19 2011, 10:01 AM
digilife
post Nov 19 2011, 10:07 AM

8,025 posts

Digi although capped at 1Mbps is still fast and responsive, i used to use the rm100 for 100days prepaid bb b4, the only shortfall is the quota at 100MB/day sweat.gif only good for browsing and not heavy DL
dgboy
post Nov 19 2011, 12:19 PM

5,076 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Nov 19 2011, 12:12 AM)
I'm not sure how IDD SMS important to you?
I prefer SMS, and I don't main paying if the fee is reasonable. Got a few friends in Singapore that I sms daily. Anyhow, I tested and it works. New to Um, so just exploring what they offer.

Ngto
post Nov 19 2011, 12:39 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 19 2011, 10:07 AM)
Digi although capped at 1Mbps is still fast and responsive, i used to use the rm100 for 100days prepaid bb b4, the only shortfall is the quota at 100MB/day sweat.gif only good for browsing and not heavy DL
Ok, update at lunchtime :-

Am definitely returning for 7 days Guarantee, At busy hours, UM is as slow as my Digi RM38/- lite. Might as well keep my Digi and save RM30/- p,m.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 19 2011, 12:40 PM
mynewuser
post Nov 19 2011, 01:54 PM

2,549 posts

How do they charge wh the Pen online using PAYU. RM 0.05 per MB.

I notice everytime I online for few second and exit. It will charge 0.05 per entry even though my access only 10kb.
dgboy
post Nov 19 2011, 04:27 PM

5,076 posts

that's the problem

the PAYU charges look cheap

but they charge 05 sens per connection

komputermuzik
post Nov 19 2011, 04:42 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 19 2011, 12:36 AM)
Just got the M68 (42Mbps) with zte modem this evening. Paid RM350/- with some rebates pending in future billings.

Big Bullsh*t from the seller, said could sometimes even go above 42Mbps.

But end up with just 2 to 4Mbps DL. Even though my area coverage on UM website showed Excellent Coverage. Big Con job, this UM. Will cancel for refund tomorrow.
feel u man. i already returned mine. full refund will take effect within 30 to 45 days vmad.gif
digilife
post Nov 19 2011, 06:41 PM

8,025 posts

similiar to P1 doh.gif
radi0head
post Nov 20 2011, 08:49 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 19 2011, 12:39 PM)
Ok, update at lunchtime :-

Am definitely returning for 7 days Guarantee, At busy hours, UM is as slow as my Digi RM38/- lite. Might as well keep my Digi and save RM30/- p,m.

Umobile is better than digi. me myself using digi too but digi is more consistent I agree but digi speed is stuck at 700-1.1mbps nia. nvr higher d... tho umobile is not consistent but higher time, it gives u good speed but low time, it will probably drop down to dig's norm speed.

I'm keeping the umobile as compared 2 digi... digi is way too slow ler... I don play games or a heavy downloader, so it's sufficient 4 me...

now u r paying rm48 only mar rite with de rm20 rebate?

wink.gif

Ngto
post Nov 20 2011, 09:01 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Nov 20 2011, 08:49 AM)
Umobile is better than digi. me myself using digi too but digi is more consistent I agree but digi speed is stuck at 700-1.1mbps nia. nvr higher d... tho umobile is not consistent but higher time, it gives u good speed but low time, it will probably drop down to dig's norm speed.

I'm keeping the umobile as compared 2 digi... digi is way too slow ler... I don play games or a heavy downloader, so it's sufficient 4 me...

now u r paying rm48 only mar rite with de rm20 rebate?

wink.gif
Don't be fooled, RM48 just for few months only, after that you pay full RM68/-.

I have calculated for 5 mths. If I keep UM I will be paying RM300/- more (Modem + charges) than my current Digi. After the 5th month I will be paying another RM30/- more every month onwards.

Of course my Digi is just the cheap package where night time capped to very low speeds. I will eventually upgrade my Digi, but at the moment UM just not the answer with it's slow speed during peak hours. It's still faster than Digi of course but the rates are almost double the amount I am paying for Digi right now.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 20 2011, 09:11 AM
digilife
post Nov 20 2011, 09:21 AM

8,025 posts

try YES for rm68/3.5GB+150mins voice

mynewuser
post Nov 20 2011, 09:56 AM

2,549 posts

Any package cheaper than umobile RM 28 prepaid internet package? Looking cheapest for data access. Monthly basis.

154 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:55 PM