Yes Life! App for iOS, Get a 2nd no. for iPhone & cheaper calls

TSterryfu
post Jun 2 2011, 09:06 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(akira @ Jun 1 2011, 10:11 PM)
Just downloaded and tested it. It works quite well but no intention to subscribe. Anyway, after the expiry, can I download / re-install and re-register again to get the free RM 5 credit when I am going overseas?
You can try that but your record and number will still be there. I pre-registered when YES first launched and I check that account is still active and being billed RM 30 every month even though I did not activate it. Now I also have this new YES telephone number which will probably run as well if I stop using the free connection.
TSterryfu
post Jun 15 2011, 08:43 AM

514 posts

Just got back from UK & France. Been using Yes Life (got a local unlimited 3G card there around 10 pounds), and it's been quite ok. Calls are clear (since 3G is quite good here), and can receive calls as well.

My opinion - good but to maintain every month. Need to think twice about that as I don't travel too much overseas. Unless of course can claim from company (since save company money smile.gif).
TSterryfu
post Jun 15 2011, 11:00 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 15 2011, 10:24 AM)
terry,

Which UK telco you bought the 3G sim card from ? It can be used in France with unlimited 3G data without kena the data roaming charge ? I know in UK there is a free prepaid sim call Lebara, just need to top up 5 pound and calls to Malaysia at 5p/min and free data 10mb/day.
I'm going to EU too.
For UK I use O2, which has free 500 MB unlimited 3G for a month. Of course can use for local calls since has 10 pound value. For France, I think I use Orange with similar program.

Best of all no need to register name or anything. Very fast get the prepaid sim card.
TSterryfu
post Jun 23 2011, 08:43 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:06 PM)
been using YES for almost a month now... calling my friend studying in indonesia.... not bad at all... for those who wanted to call oversea but wont want to have that bill spike... i would recommend this...
Good point.

Looks like not much users for Yes Life unless they subscribe the full 4G network. YTL needs to look into the commitment thing but my guess is they need a revenue stream. Either that or extend the RM 30 to a year would be better as not all of us travel overseas every month smile.gif
TSterryfu
post Jun 23 2011, 06:46 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 23 2011, 03:34 PM)
There is no mass revenue from these category of customers, their numbers are limited and they can't just give away their limited phone numbers to anyone without a promise of revenue or fixed ARPU.
Well I'm not a telco business expert, but I think I would like it from a consumer point of view if the line can be up to 1 year long. If not mistaken when I was in UK, there were some providers giving away prepaid cards with one payment but the connection lasts a year.

0.0199sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:21 PM