unknown
post Jul 10 2006, 06:44 AM

12,012 posts

Buffon - It is a dream come true
skysports.com
Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon admitted it was a dream come true to win the World Cup.

The Azzurri held their nerve from the penalty spot as they beat France 5-3 in a dramatic penalty shoot-out in Berlin.

Buffon was always confident his side could achieve success and he paid tribute to his team-mates.

"After the extra-time I thought there weren't problems and that, with a little luck, we could win," beamed Buffon. "And so it has been.

"I think to all the times when I was a child, I dreamt to touch the cup and to win it.

"We need luck, but there has been also help from above high.

"Any win can't arrive without the group's strength and the humility that allowed us to win.

"Comparison with Zoff? I don't think so. I always followed my way, other people must decide this."

Fabio hails his team-mates
skysports.com
Italy captain Fabio Cannavaro praised his team-mates as his side won the World Cup.

Cannavaro inspired his side to victory as he marked winning his 100th cap in style in Berlin.

The Juventus defender admitted Italy had surprised many people by winning the tournament despite all the turmoil in domestic football.

"Italy have wanted this for a long time and, coming after everything that has happened in the past few months, it was really needed," Cannavaro said.

"It's a fantastic feeling. My son asked to sleep in my bed last night, but I told him he could share it with me and the trophy soon.

"No one would have imagined it at the start of the World Cup, but we have won so we're happy.

"I knew this could be my last World Cup and I asked my team-mates to make sure I reached this milestone here.

"I have to say they arranged it in the best of ways."

Cannavaro was arguably one of the players of the tournament and the defender admitted he even surprised himself with some of his performances.

"I've had good form for two years but even I didn't expect to play this well at the World Cup," concluded Cannavaro.

Halfhearted04
post Jul 10 2006, 06:46 AM

Sloth
1,942 posts

fabio grosso the HERO!! again icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
kcng
post Jul 10 2006, 07:41 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

Congrats italy...

ViVa Italia

notworthy.gif
rEDs
post Jul 10 2006, 08:00 AM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

Actually lets ViVa Italia + Argentina...
DevilKia
post Jul 10 2006, 08:03 AM

Retiring
1,048 posts

Congrats to Italy.... and what happen to Zidanne doh.gif
ahbenggay
post Jul 10 2006, 08:36 AM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

LoL...haih...sia sui .. . . last match tio red card..spechless

but ITALY DA MAN biggrin.gif
Ken
post Jul 10 2006, 08:44 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

i think cannavaro really has a great tournament, his tackle, interception, marking...awesome!!!
tsg
post Jul 10 2006, 08:59 AM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

Materazzi
- the one who fouled & give the penalty to France,which zz took it
- the one who headed the equaliser for Italy
- the one that being head butt by zz

my personal "player of the match" laugh.gif laugh.gif
bluefries
post Jul 10 2006, 09:44 AM

3,618 posts

ahaha yeh TSG .....i tink he is man of the match ...kekeke ...

Viva Forza Azzurri
zoidx_chung
post Jul 10 2006, 09:55 AM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

yeah!!! Italy won 4th champion in WC!!!
hope Azzurri can repeat it again in Europe Cup!!!
Ken
post Jul 10 2006, 11:18 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

would love to see if thread starter change the thread title to 'Italy - The 2006 FIFA World Cup Champion' rclxms.gif
Nostalgia
post Jul 10 2006, 11:42 AM

2,878 posts

Wohoo!! ITALIA WON!!!! rclxm9.gif
FORZA AZZURRI!!!!!!!! thumbup.gif
kueks
post Jul 10 2006, 03:03 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

anyone here thinks that the serie A scandal will be a happy ending ?

i don think yest they won the wc......the next few days announce that the teams involved are guilty and the top clubs are to be demoted to lower division
refnulf
post Jul 10 2006, 04:03 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Maybe this will keep the top 4 clubs from being relegated.
jdreamer
post Jul 10 2006, 04:23 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Yea, I have a feeling that they might escaped from relegation after winning the WC.
rEDs
post Jul 10 2006, 04:36 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

.......those argentine must be jelous of camo win.
beck_ken
post Jul 10 2006, 04:38 PM

4,716 posts

^yeah...chances are high!

Grosso - 94 minutes "dive" and sent Australia out in the last 16.
- Semi final 2nd half extra time's goal sent Germany home.
- Last penalty taker in the final to crash France dream.

He is the man of the match.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by beck_ken: Jul 10 2006, 04:39 PM
nck_ck
post Jul 10 2006, 04:40 PM

2,583 posts

Respect to Cannavaro........IMHO the man of the tournament. notworthy.gif ...Didn't even get a booking an he's a DEFENDER shocking.gif ...terror sial...can jump damn high for his height as well notworthy.gif
jdreamer
post Jul 10 2006, 04:56 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Yea, Cannavaro! Thats a really impressive tournament for him. notworthy.gif
ming2020
post Jul 10 2006, 04:57 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(rEDs @ Jul 10 2006, 04:36 PM)
.......those argentine must be jelous of camo win.
On the contrary I'm thinking the Argies should be happy for Camo and the Azzurri for helping them to knock Germany out. rclxms.gif

On July 9th 2006 he was one of the players who won Italy's 4th World Cup. After the game he had his famous long black hair cut off before his side collected the trophy. When the TV camera approximated him in the middle of the field, he dedicated the world championship in Spanish "...para los pibes del barrio..." (for the guys in my neighborhood)

And Cannavaro... I'm banking on him to win the Golden Ball now that Zizou has won the Golden Head. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ming2020: Jul 10 2006, 05:01 PM

111 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:25 AM