5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

Harddisk
post May 23 2011, 01:13 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2011, 12:41 PM)
tats is the latest incarnation of brut.map. after I installed that my SGS was slow and always heat up. battery also gone crazy. I suspect tat was the culprit.  Maybe I did it wrong who knows. =) your using ownhere mod? no issues?
I have been using this Maps app since 5.2. Used it on stock ROM, CM7 and even Simply Honey now. No slowing down issue like you mentioned. I enabled Latitude as well.

Harddisk
post May 23 2011, 01:29 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2011, 01:16 PM)
Well I'll give it another go. Maybe I just had the issue cos I never formated my internal memory. And having 10 gb of media may not have helped xD
Hope it works for u cause I really love this hacked Maps. smile.gif
Harddisk
post May 23 2011, 02:49 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2011, 01:39 PM)
so far so good. lets give it a test run for a few days. Now if only I can restore Car Home app... hmmm
Since you are using Doc's ROM, there's an option to include the Car Home app in Doc's Kitchen, right?

I remember I saw it and I untick it. laugh.gif

Added on May 23, 2011, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 02:44 PM)
haha..i know but last i try to restore titanium backup from jvk to cm7, it crash and i have to reflash again..
then now i scare if i backup then titanium backup will mix with the jvk apps and data..so not dare to backup..
as for nandroid, i never tried b4 so no idea at all..
Try MyBackup app. It's able to restore settings to most, if not all apps. Such as Handcent SMS, Titanium failed to backup/restore the settings.

Another thing is, don't backup system apps cause you most likely don't need it on another ROM.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 23 2011, 02:51 PM
Harddisk
post May 23 2011, 05:35 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 23 2011, 05:04 PM)
after 1 day of using darky 10.1, i would say the battery has a bit of improvement..

unplugged it on last night until now still left 59% (wifi/3g always on, fb,twitter,etc(average usage))

will see how it goes on next few days
*envious*

I never get such long performance if I have my 3G always on. Even on wifi, leave it to standby maybe ok.
Harddisk
post May 23 2011, 07:14 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 07:12 PM)
gmhafiz, tried using the GPS aid alread. no different also sweat.gif
yalo bro, slowly learning now. working duty quite heavy, less time to spend to fix the phone
arrrgghhhh...i need the GPS working on my phone...now even the google maps is like  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Use ODINNNNNN. biggrin.gif

Easy job. Forget about 2e 3e, as long as you have download mode.
Harddisk
post May 23 2011, 08:21 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 23 2011, 07:15 PM)
try the rom then tongue.gif
Aiyo, so many ROMs to try. Summore CM7 new 1 just released.

Really gotta give up Simply Honey. It's so simply, even the antenna also damn simply. Came out from lift, can't get connected to network. Very very very baddddddd.... doh.gif

If I do not want to make calls, I'll get a Galaxy Player ler... tongue.gif

Added on May 23, 2011, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 07:17 PM)
oh flash using ODIN that easy kah?
then i shall do some research on ODIN smile.gif
Yup, I Odin-ed all the way, except for Simply (keep saying Sweet) Honey, which has to use CWM one.

Added on May 23, 2011, 8:26 pm
QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 08:13 PM)
oh ic....basically i prefer GB, not much but at LEAST, i need a good GPS fix no matter on which ROM also  blush.gif
I think GB's GPS is superb. So far I have tested (other than the Samsung's leaked ROM), GPS locked in <10 seconds. Using location wifi/network though. But I have never pre-cached my GPS before (means never try connecting previously) right after rebooting. Tried that on outdoor and in a car, moving.

Anyway, maybe Doc's Kitchen is a good place to start for you if you want to try Odin flash? Though i haven't flash 1 myself, maybe I will try to flash it, tonight maybe? brows.gif

Added on May 23, 2011, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 08:20 PM)
most of the ppl in GB rom dun quite complaint about gps...
Aside from accuracy, there isn't anything to complain about. They practically fixed the locking time, it was... unbelievable.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 23 2011, 08:27 PM
Harddisk
post May 24 2011, 01:00 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 24 2011, 12:25 AM)
i dont think cm7 will have video call. and if i am not mistaken sgs is the only android phone supported video call right?
Nexus S and SGS2 as well, if not mistaken.
Harddisk
post May 24 2011, 08:33 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 24 2011, 01:34 AM)
u have to use odin flash to stock xxjvh and then flash with cwm its very easy just follow the instruction.
erm. nexus s must use data,internet. cant call like normal if i am not mistaken.
Yup, you are right. Somehow, Gingerbread was supposed to have 3g video call capabilities. I wonder what happened to Google's initial plan. Maybe they wanna make ways for their Gtalk video call and dropped the implementation? hmm.gif
Harddisk
post May 24 2011, 09:22 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 24 2011, 09:11 AM)
hey guys. wanna see something effed up? PlugIns for ChainFire3D

I just tried "Samurai II: Vengeance", a Tegra 2 exlusive games, and it's working SUPER smooth on my SGS with CM7.
this is another BS from Nvidia, after so many years doing dirty works in desktop gaming. damn you, Nvidia!  vmad.gif
Did nVidia claimed that the game won't run smoothly on other devices?
Harddisk
post May 24 2011, 10:38 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ May 24 2011, 06:22 PM)
talking about amazing battery life.. see hw much this guy got wif his SGS
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...29&postcount=10
I think mine would have last that long too..... if I set it to flight mode. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post May 29 2011, 01:28 AM

2,967 posts

Just flashed to Turbo Ginger.

After done, booting up. First impression, kena spammed with apps FC. I haven't even start the registration steps yet!!! doh.gif

EDIT: then it rebooted itself and forever kena boot-loop. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 29 2011, 01:30 AM
Harddisk
post May 29 2011, 01:31 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 29 2011, 01:29 AM)
lol. forget to wipe data?
Ok, I go wipe it now. Hope it works.

I flashed back to the JVK leaked rom then CF it then only flash TG.

EDIT: cache wipe whatever there is to clear done. Still boot-loop. I shouldn't use CF kernel flash perhaps?

According to this link, author asked to flash Speedmod... Froyo version. doh.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1010860

Dunno to laugh or cry.

Added on May 29, 2011, 1:35 amOk, try GingerReal now instead.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 29 2011, 01:35 AM
Harddisk
post May 29 2011, 01:53 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 29 2011, 01:46 AM)
haha, next time read the instruction carefully. btw I looked into gingerreal rom first page. very clean like insanity, not messy like darkyy or simplyhoney. Now I'm tempted to try that rom
Lazy to go through the whole thread of Turbo Ginger. But I think it's a really flawed ROM anyway.

Let's hope GingerReal is good for me. rclxms.gif

Still downloading the ROM, brickphone is sleeping. lol
Harddisk
post May 29 2011, 02:37 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ May 29 2011, 02:02 AM)
haha wth guys?

think i'm gonna try holding the phone to sleep later, n see if it'd be running on honeycomb 3.0 when i wake up tmrw  tongue.gif
Not unless you flashed into Simply Honey ROM before you sleep. lol

Added on May 29, 2011, 2:41 amOh boyyyyyy... GingerReal is soooo Nexus S man!

Just what I wanted.

Let's see how it fare over the time. Restoring data and apps now. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 29 2011, 02:41 AM
Harddisk
post May 29 2011, 12:34 PM

2,967 posts

maps5.5.0-ownhere-resign.apk doesn't work in GingerReal. sad.gif

Anyone manage to get it to work?

EDIT: got it to work finally, after much fiddling around. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 29 2011, 12:52 PM
Harddisk
post May 30 2011, 11:23 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 30 2011, 06:22 PM)
I'm not satisfied with gingerreal. Being used to insanity rom, it has got too many bloat and unnecessary apps in the /system/app folder. Had to remove using Nitrality app.

there were also occasional jerkiness and lags which is very apparent after being used to having CM7 for weeks.

Also, the kernel doesn't have voodoo sound infused!

Will wait for the next CM nighty. Its changelog is long and looks promising http://cm-nightlies.appspot.com/?device=galaxysmtd
Will CM fix the horrifying battery issue? That's the only major complaint I have, aside from the hunt for Swype and some necessary goodies bundled with Sammy.
Harddisk
post May 30 2011, 11:30 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 30 2011, 11:22 PM)
o. froyo. i think you have to try gingerbread. gps problem solve on gingerbread. no need faster fix any more. i would recommend you juwe rom. it is the most stable rom for gingerbread among all i had tried. smile.gif
Using GingerReal now. Very stable as well, so far no FC's yet.

But it has this Home button on and delay in unlocking phone through pattern. As well as the initial sync lags after getting out of Flight mode.
Harddisk
post May 30 2011, 11:36 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 30 2011, 11:33 PM)
what horrifying battery issue? latest cm7 nightly seems to drain slightly more (very slightly) than stock jvo rom, for me. nothing compared to the old days of cm7, but your mileage may vary.. depends on usage, apps loaded, user behaviour etc, which is why for every happy cm7 user, there is at least another unhappy user.
Running on HSDPA with my usual sync, on weekends (meaning LNT was synced at every 2 hours instead of push)

Unplugged at around 1pm, dried at 6:30pm. With occasionally surfing and minimal GPS (for testing). sweat.gif
Harddisk
post May 30 2011, 11:51 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 30 2011, 11:46 PM)
same here. butfor me not as stable as juwe la. ya a bit delay on unlock screen. hmm. hmm.gif
Wah... ok, try Juwe this coming weekends, if got time. rclxms.gif

But I kinda like the GREEEEENS in GingerReal, very Nexus S like, especially the response I get on the ADW launcher. biggrin.gif

*oh ya, I scrap of TwLauncher using TB tongue.gif
Harddisk
post May 31 2011, 12:04 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 30 2011, 11:52 PM)
dunno what LNT is. on weekends, my phone leaves the charger at 8am, with 100%. 3g/hsdpa always on, wifi always on, bt always on (more convenient for me), gps always on, brightness at auto, gmail/gtalk/whatsapp always enabled for push notification with maybe total of 1 hour active usage, foursquare checkins everywhere I go, tweetdeck manual refresh with some posts/comments on tw/fb, occasional web browsing, about 30mins of voice calls, 5-10 SMS, some light camera usage, heavy xda premium (tapatalk) usage. back home around 10pm with 40% left in my 2700mah battery. not sure if the stock 1500mah batt can handle my usage though.
LNT is my Lotus Notes Traveller, sync to office mail + calendar.

The rest are basically Talk, 2 Gmail, Reader, 1 Blogger, 3 Calendars, 2 Contacts, 2 Docs, 1 Latitude
Twitter, FB, WhatsApp.

No 4square, only FB Check-In and Lati's Check-In.

And also the battery drain issue during phone charging, which I posted screen cap previously. sweat.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0704sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:27 AM