Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

lightning69
post Jun 3 2011, 12:22 PM

2,298 posts

Just flash to Juwe's rom.

I flash with 100% battery but after the flash it shows only 97%. Charging also stops at 97% unlike Froyo which shows 100% but drops to 96-97% when unplug.

Is this normal for GB?
lightning69
post Jun 3 2011, 12:38 PM

2,298 posts

No Chinese keyboard for Juwe's GB? Where can I get pinyin chinese keyboard?

lightning69
post Jun 3 2011, 02:18 PM

2,298 posts

Notice that Astro Filie Manager doesn't work with GB Juwe. Anyone facing the same problem?
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 09:39 AM

2,298 posts

I flash to Juwe's Smart Edition v4.3.1 based on XWJVH yesterday from Darky Extreme V9.5 froyo. After using it for 1 day, here are the few things I discover....

+
It feel faster and smoother than Darky V9.5

-
1. Its till did not fix my GPS loack issue. I can't get a lock at all with Papago.
2. no more chinese support
3. poor battery life. I am working offshore right now and there is no phone signal here so I have been putting my phone on Airplane mode the past 2 days when I am still on froyo. While on stand by for almost 2 days, the froyo hardly use up any power (only 3% for 2 days). But I was on Juwe GB, I went to bed last night at 10.30pm with 45% bat left and work up at 7.00am with only 32% left. Check my battery usage and cell standby use 78% of the bat!!!

4. I am using Extended widget where I set my shortcuts for 3G/2G, Wifi, Bluetooth, GPS etc as shown by the picture below...
Previously on Darky V9.5, I can directly toggle on/off for wifi, GPS, Data except for 2G/3G where it will bring out the Mobile network setting page. But in GB, when I press the Data widget, it won't toggle data on/off anymore but instead it bring out Mobile Network Setting page like shwon below...

This is the same for GPS. Previously the GPS widget would just toggle GPS on/off but now in GB it cannot do that anymore but instead it open up this page...
5. Phone crash once last night....

Now I am very disappoint after going thru all the troubles to update but only to get things worst off.

I think I pretty much understand the SGS phone running Android now. And I can summarize it in one sentence....

"It let you do a lot More, but you actually achieve Less"

lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 09:59 AM

2,298 posts

How to flash to stock GB DXJV9?

I notice that those custom rom is in .zip format while stock rom comes with 3 files in md5 format as shown below...

PDA_XWJVH.tar.md5
CSC_NEE_JV3.tar.md5
PHONE_XXJVO.tar.md5

Can I use ODIN for stock rom?
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 11:22 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 10:59 AM)
Yes you can.

There is a special instructions for DXJV9 ROM flashing through ODIN.

Read this http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1102881
Thanks...really very informative.

Not sure I want to stay on GB. See absolutely no advantage over Froyo. I thought it might fix my GPS but it did not. Battery on GB use up a lot even on standby Airplane mode.

Anyone can recommend a good custom rom base on froyo? Is stock froyo with speed fix ok?

lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 11:53 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 11:29 AM)
Regarding the GPS issue you are facing, send it back to Samsung Service Center for them to fix for you. It is free if your phone is under warranty. Changing ROM won't really fix it for you.

Added on June 4, 2011, 11:30 am

Thanks for the feedback!  thumbup.gif
Mine is AP set so I am afraid I cannot sent it back to Samsung.

Really disappointed with Samsung for making and selling broken phones. This problem have existed since the launch of the SGS yet my phone which was bought 9 months later is still ship with GPS problems. WTF!

In my opinion, Samsung is an irresponsible company that just launch its products without much QC and testing....sell them first, then relaunch a new models to replace it a few months later. Just look a SGS II which is luanch only recently yet SGS 3 is already coming soon.

But, I have learn my lesson so no more samsung !
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 01:04 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Jun 4 2011, 12:29 PM)
haha normally i'll be very good and send it out on the day i bought haha...
wonder if they would upgrade to dxjv9 for me then i can flash custom kernel back home haha lazy to do it

Added on June 4, 2011, 12:33 pm

My friend then what would u say about the antenna gate problem of iphone4?  icon_rolleyes.gif

Most company do so, look at apple, roughly 1 year 1 phone also. HTC for example, ever since Desire > Desire HD, Desire Z, now? Desire S, Incredible S, Sensation? LOL just small differences and they release new phones.

THey just announced that SGS3 is on the works and if not mistaken it should b by next year so i dont see any problem with that. This is technology, ppl go broke chasing it  tongue.gif

Dun worry man, bring it to the samsung centre and try ur luck, its better than none.
Antenna gate problem happens in low signal area and is easily solve with a case which almost everyone use one anyway.

Apple only release one phone a year and so far their strategy works well. With just 1 phone in the market, they manage to capture the largest market share beating out all the rest of the manufacturers that have dozens of models line up at any one time.

There is a reason for everything and apple did not achieve all that success due to luck or product hype. Most Andriod fans hate the iphone because of certain limitations apple put on the iphone, but the truth is that iphone is still the most simple phone to operate and has the best collections of apps in any phone, and that is just what most users need.

Enough about this iphone comparison. For me I just want my SGS work work well for me and I am still searching for that firmware.
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 01:35 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 4 2011, 01:12 PM)
hi all sifoo of i9000, im considering to buy my first android phone i9000 for 1250 ap set. is it worth it? sum of the forumer advice me to wait for the sgs plus, but i almst cant tahan d... so is this phone worth every peny i spent? thanks for ur opinion guys
If you were to ask me, i say don't buy this phone. Or may be I sell you my SGS which is only 1 month old biggrin.gif

The AP set is cheap but you get what you pay for. Its got lots of problem like my set GPS is not working. Original firmware is very slow and laggy. Custom firmwares are faster but got many bugs too like OS bug that use up the battery even when you not using the phone, crash, hang etc.

Hope that helps
sweat.gif
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 01:46 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(sliqueliques @ Jun 4 2011, 01:41 PM)
I think its depend on luck also..mine also AP set but no problem at all. New firmware just work like charm. Pretty fast. Battery life also good..Last night idle with Wifi on just use only 4% battery for 10 hours.
Would you like to take your chance with your hard earn cash? Is not like there are no other phones to buy.
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 02:09 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 4 2011, 01:51 PM)
man, thats very a sad case bro.... crash n hang one of thing that i want to avoid in phone  sweat.gif
i also heard a lot of good review for this phone bro.... thats why im considering it now....
really confused ryte now  rclxub.gif
Most reviews are made when the phone is new without many apps installed. But when you buy a phone, you would want to install softwares and games and then it start to become slow and crash etc. Most reviews also don't use the phone for long to really discover the problem and bugs.
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 03:07 PM

2,298 posts

Why is my Cell Standby battery consumption so high?

lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 03:52 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(fongwei @ Jun 4 2011, 11:27 AM)
DXJV9/DXJV9/OLBJV9/Sbl (MultiCSC): Download (158.1 MB) (Build date: Wed May 18 19:32:07 KST 2011)
(MultiCSC: CCM, DGI, GLB, KOR, MIS, MM1, SIN, SMA, STH, THL, UMB, XEV, XME, XSE, XSO, XSP, XTC, XTE, XXV)

Special for DXJV9:
1. Flash with re-partition using 513.pit.
2. You will see a lot of red text after the flash is done, don't panic, just do a 'wipe data/factory reset' and reboot the device when done.
3. Let the device boot all the way then turn it off.
4. Re-enter Download Mode and re-flash only the CSC file without pit and without re-partition.
5. Enjoy

!!

root your device withFile Type: zip  CF-Root-XX_OXA_JVO-v3.2-CWM3RFS.zip (6.70 MB, 20057 views)

i successfully upgraded to DXJV9!
Do you use any lagfix?
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 06:20 PM

2,298 posts

Just flash to DXJV9. Why asia version no chinese support? Only Samsung keyboard and no Gingerbread keyboard. Haiz
lightning69
post Jun 4 2011, 08:20 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Jun 4 2011, 06:27 PM)
Gingerbread keyboard is for Nexus S, it was extracted... if u want it u can install it back...

What do u mean by no chinese support? Cant type chinese? Install DioPen, Google PinYin, Sogou, etc etc those allows u to type, even euro firmwares displays chinese characters so i assume u have problem typing chinese
I came from Darky Extreme V9.5 and everything was there. Now it has to be install from third party. Hmmmm
lightning69
post Jun 5 2011, 08:21 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 4 2011, 10:22 PM)
when did u bought your phone? actually samsung did change the gps. if your phone are produce after november i think should be no gps problem. i bought my phone this year and have no gps problem. 

latest is it 06042011?
I bought my SGS AP set last month. I was running Darky Extreme V9.5 and I can get the GPS to lock sometimes and it as to be outside in the open. Sometimes it just won't lock at all.

I try Juwe's GB and stock GB DXJV9 last 2 days and try Papago and the GPS desn't lock at all even in wide open space outdoors.

Added on June 5, 2011, 8:24 am
QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ Jun 4 2011, 10:28 PM)
any review for dxjv9? is it worth updating? got Malay swype or not?
Yes, DXJV9 got Bahasa Malaysia Swype. I just try it and its there.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 5 2011, 08:24 AM
lightning69
post Jun 5 2011, 10:23 AM

2,298 posts

Can someone send me DarkyRom Configurator please. I don't have wifi connection and cannot download from the Market.

Added on June 5, 2011, 10:55 amJust Flash to Darkys_v10.1_Extreme_Edition. I am on Rom flashing marathon.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 5 2011, 10:55 AM
lightning69
post Jun 6 2011, 08:28 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 5 2011, 04:40 PM)
is this because of the phone is trying hard to get signal?
need to disable 3g if 3g signal is weak..general rule i guess
I was on Airplane mode so its not running 2g/3g, no wifi etc.

I flash to Darky V10.1 and last night before I go to bed it was 18% left on Airplane mode. This morning I wake up the phone is off with no bat left. That is disappointing.

On Darky V9.5, i left my phone on Airplane mode for 2 days and it only consume 3% of the battery. I guess froya is still better.

Added on June 6, 2011, 8:56 am
QUOTE(asha24 @ Jun 5 2011, 11:34 PM)
i just bought Galaxy S GT-19003, and got Papago X5 installed. However...the GPS seems keep searching for current location and its just stucked at KL map...
is there something wrong on phone settings or wat  sad.gif  icon_question.gif
Mine having the same problem. Its the SGS problem with GPS.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 6 2011, 08:56 AM
lightning69
post Jun 6 2011, 03:22 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(matsuru @ Jun 6 2011, 08:56 AM)
Anyone tried JUWE's "[SCRIPT] The best Memory (RAM) optimization"?? http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1111145

I tried it and it seems to make the phone feel faster and respond better.
I have try it on on Darkys_v10.1_Extreme_Edition. So far so good.
lightning69
post Jun 6 2011, 05:55 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 6 2011, 05:33 PM)
yes, but that is only for deodexed rom. not stock rom.

Added on June 6, 2011, 5:35 pm
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1011901 try this. even with bootloader , you will only get 3 files. but the file name should have sbl at the back for example, "GT_I9000_DDJV6_DDJV4_ODDJV6_Sbl". PDA file should be something like this "PDA_DDJV6_Sbl.tar.md5".
That is where I download my GT_I9000_DXJV9_DXJV9_OLBJV9_Sbl. but I also got 3 files only. What kind of file is bootloader and how do we know if we flash it or not? I don't remember checking the "phone bootloader update" button so not sure if I have update my phone bootloader.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0781sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:36 PM