Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

CrossX
post May 17 2011, 12:50 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ May 17 2011, 12:37 AM)
u bet it is!! but u shld kno it's only for Tegra rite smile.gif  if u wanna play on SGS, do some google-ing

and to tell u too... so far gameloft's games work like how it is on Froyo except Nova
huh tegra 2 games works on SGS???

pls share pls pls pls
CrossX
post May 24 2011, 11:06 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 24 2011, 10:31 PM)
the GPS performance is severely below par, running on stock Froyo now, but my SGS is an AP set, is that possible I can bring to Samsung center to fix for free? doh.gif
ei pfz... XD
shi ha kon upgrade hi gingerbread kon ha...

Added on May 24, 2011, 11:10 pmhey guys, any new rom to play with??? i was with stock deodexed GB for the past 2 weeks and it was fine... but getting boring d...

This post has been edited by CrossX: May 24 2011, 11:10 PM
CrossX
post May 29 2011, 11:46 PM

726 posts

hey guys, i notice there's a few roms out there with 9 lockscreens, but i wanna remain on stock + cf kernel is there a way to extract the 9 lockscreen and flash it without any theme or roms?
CrossX
post May 30 2011, 11:27 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ May 30 2011, 08:24 AM)
flash ramad's deodexed rom smile.gif
only deodexed rom can use custom lockscreen.

then browse through xda for the lockscreen.
this one from dhiru:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1036859
hehe, i'm very aware of that, i'm already using 5 lockscreen mod, with tw4 but i wanna try the 9 lockscreen without using custom ROM

I've been using stock deodexed JVH with CF kernel ext4 lagfix on. So far so good, smooth all the way, no FC, no lag, no problem at all... GB custom roms has caused me a lot of problems, like previous GB doc's rom has issues with media scanning (i reflashed and issue still there), Juwe's is also a bit sluggish after some time, and the list goes on... stock remains the most stable but of coz with reduced features cry.gif
CrossX
post May 30 2011, 12:51 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(darkz88 @ May 30 2011, 12:29 PM)
oleophobic screen protector reduce the finger print but do you notice there is alot of "small small dot" when you look at the screen?
u mean matte surface? oleo is not matte i seen one and its actually just easier to wipe off smudges and oil only...

matte surface is the one which has the rough surface and also makes the screen has some rainbow effects
CrossX
post May 30 2011, 01:18 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ May 30 2011, 12:59 PM)
lucky u clarified...=D...cuz I just bought one oleophobic off the web right be4 that comment was posted.LOL...hopefully its good.
Cannot stand my antifingerprint d...nid my clarity back =P
i suppose most of us cant... ^^

anyways, even the SGP ultra clear sp is good enuf, i'm using one which comes with my sgp ultra slider case, its great, oil and so on can be wiped off easily just not as good as oleo... oleo is completely gone haha mine is like after u wipe u can still see a bit of wave like stain LOL

CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 11:33 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 11:29 AM)
Regarding the GPS issue you are facing, send it back to Samsung Service Center for them to fix for you. It is free if your phone is under warranty. Changing ROM won't really fix it for you.

Added on June 4, 2011, 11:30 am

Thanks for the feedback!  thumbup.gif
which samsung service center and how long would it normally take? if so i might wanna flash back to froyo and send it back to fix it tongue.gif
going to lowyat later... flashing back to froyo dxjpe just in case, anybody who did the fix from samsung how long would it take?

This post has been edited by CrossX: Jun 4 2011, 11:45 AM
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 12:02 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 11:47 AM)
I sent it to the Samsung Service Center along Federal Highway. About 2 - 3 hours depending on people.

Service no 1800-88-9999

Oh, bring your receipt.
cant call the service number haha erm i bought this as a 2nd hand from a girl who got the phone from maxis so i should take the warranty card there instead?
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 12:07 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 11:47 AM)
I sent it to the Samsung Service Center along Federal Highway. About 2 - 3 hours depending on people.

Service no 1800-88-9999

Oh, bring your receipt.
one other problem, i just realized the girl didnt send the warranty card back to samsung within 7 days after date of purchase... just great T_T
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 12:10 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 12:08 PM)
Think can gua. As long as there are some documentation for them to process..

http://www.samsung.com/my/support/location...ERVICE.LOCATION
ok gonna go try my luck now... ^^ thanks for the info
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 12:29 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 4 2011, 12:10 PM)
No problem la. The 7 days warranty card send back procedure is stupid. What is the purpose for that not sure.. As long as you got something to prove it is bought in Malaysia, they will honour the obligations to provide you the service you well deserve...  biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2011, 12:13 pm

1. Don't know.
2. Yes. The latest is DXJV9 (aka Gingerbread ROM)
3. No.
haha normally i'll be very good and send it out on the day i bought haha...
wonder if they would upgrade to dxjv9 for me then i can flash custom kernel back home haha lazy to do it

Added on June 4, 2011, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 4 2011, 11:53 AM)
Mine is AP set so I am afraid I cannot sent it back to Samsung. 

Really disappointed with Samsung for making and selling broken phones.  This problem have existed since the launch of the SGS yet my phone which was bought 9 months later is still ship with GPS problems.  WTF!

In my opinion, Samsung is an irresponsible company that just launch its products without much QC and testing....sell them first, then relaunch a new models to replace it a few months later.  Just look a SGS II which is luanch only recently yet SGS 3 is already coming soon.

But, I have learn my lesson so no more samsung !
My friend then what would u say about the antenna gate problem of iphone4? icon_rolleyes.gif

Most company do so, look at apple, roughly 1 year 1 phone also. HTC for example, ever since Desire > Desire HD, Desire Z, now? Desire S, Incredible S, Sensation? LOL just small differences and they release new phones.

THey just announced that SGS3 is on the works and if not mistaken it should b by next year so i dont see any problem with that. This is technology, ppl go broke chasing it tongue.gif

Dun worry man, bring it to the samsung centre and try ur luck, its better than none.

This post has been edited by CrossX: Jun 4 2011, 12:33 PM
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 06:27 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 4 2011, 06:20 PM)
Just flash to DXJV9.  Why asia version no chinese support?  Only Samsung keyboard and no Gingerbread keyboard.  Haiz
Gingerbread keyboard is for Nexus S, it was extracted... if u want it u can install it back...

What do u mean by no chinese support? Cant type chinese? Install DioPen, Google PinYin, Sogou, etc etc those allows u to type, even euro firmwares displays chinese characters so i assume u have problem typing chinese
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 06:33 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 4 2011, 06:31 PM)
"9mm" a new game coming to iPhone, iPad, and Android by Gameloft laugh.gif

GTA styled gameplay??? rclxms.gif
CrossX
post Jun 4 2011, 06:43 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 4 2011, 01:12 PM)
hi all sifoo of i9000, im considering to buy my first android phone i9000 for 1250 ap set. is it worth it? sum of the forumer advice me to wait for the sgs plus, but i almst cant tahan d... so is this phone worth every peny i spent? thanks for ur opinion guys
hi there, i would say depend on your budget, if u can wait and u got at least 2.2k in your pocket then y not wait for SGS2? ^^

I wont say SGS is the perfect phone but at least for me, its the best single core android smartphone i've ever used. Only two things u should worry, LAG and GPS
1. Lag : Lagfix are all over, developers works hard on it and constant updates on their kernels make this issue negligible
2. GPS : Also fixable, if u got the time bring it to samsung service centre, they will fix it for you but since AP is what ur considering, u might have to pay a little extra while ori users get it for free tongue.gif

What else to worry? erm none i guess, apps and games force closes for some reasons, incompatible app/games, unstable rom, file corruption? there's many other reasons but so far i have not much trouble yet other than using *ahem* downloaded game.

Gingerbread is released for our region already and by far i've been using Gingerbread stock rom for my SGS and its been great.

If ur new and u have itchy hands, u like flashing ur phone to get deeper customization then SGS is one of the many that is great for starters since SGS wont brick so easily.

The choice is urs ^^ good luck bro.
CrossX
post Jun 5 2011, 12:50 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 4 2011, 08:20 PM)
I came from Darky Extreme V9.5 and everything was there.  Now it has to be install from third party. Hmmmm
thats becoz darky is a custom rom, that time there was this hype about gingerbread used in nexus, haha all having gingerbread keyboard la, gingerbread launcher and so on... its not really meant for us but it can be used thats all ^^

Added on June 5, 2011, 12:51 am
QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 4 2011, 07:23 PM)
thanks for ur detail information bro, really appreciate that.
so maybe i will go for sgs.... tongue.gif
no prob ^^
go with the one u like thats what i always tell others, no point buying a phone which ppl says its nice its good and its perfect, after u buy and realize its not the phone u want, then it would be too late biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CrossX: Jun 5 2011, 12:51 AM
CrossX
post Jun 5 2011, 12:54 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 5 2011, 12:53 AM)
i have used maybank debit card successfully in google checkout buying widgetlocker app.
LOL make me feel like buying spectral souls... but... but... its so expensive!!!
CrossX
post Jun 5 2011, 01:03 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 5 2011, 12:57 AM)
support the app which you can support  smile.gif
haha i use free apps most of the time ^^
even now i love touchwiz, bobclock, quickpic, dunno what else hahaha
but sygic is really worth the bucks compared to papago XD its more professional
CrossX
post Jun 5 2011, 02:21 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jun 5 2011, 02:14 AM)
hey lightning69

you remind me of my old self when I first got my phone. i'm so angry with Samsung. come to think of it, I sounded a bit childish and immature. but now, I love Samsung so much. can't live without it.

I honestly think that you just need more experience. then, you'll be happy.

for now, stop comparing Apple to Samsung, iphone to SGS, etc. we don't really want to hear that. seriously.

cheers
rclxms.gif

CrossX
post Jun 5 2011, 02:37 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 5 2011, 02:30 AM)
IMO, he pointed out several well made fair arguments. It's just that his knowledge in android ecosystem is not deep enough. If you go to appleinsider forum or macnn, you'll go  rclxub.gif  over their kool-aid support of apple and steve jobs.

We don't treat our android phone like an electrical appliance (e.g. television, blender, refrigerator, microwaves). We use it like a miniature computer. That's what an android phone is.

Most people do not want to think much when using a phone. They treat it as an electrical appliance.
much like how we need to set up a router b4 we get to go online and not like a blender when its on it blends and does what it does best.

I suppose thats what u mean? XD

Wonderful little thing android phones are... rclxm9.gif
CrossX
post Jun 5 2011, 02:46 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 5 2011, 02:43 AM)
Not quite that. I know setting up a router is easy but I know people who can still make screw ups.

Besides cosmetic difference, on what sense android is harder to use? We got useful widgets and pull down notification bars, among others. That's easier than iOS.

Is more options = harder to use?
guess so since people tend to like stuffs straightforward, or in a meaner way of saying it mayb they are lazy to learn?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0478sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:54 AM