Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V11, Intel SB vs incoming AMD Llano

fJok3R
post Jun 14 2011, 09:41 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Acher13 @ Jun 14 2011, 09:33 PM)
thats nice spec, what model are those? Asus?
I never used Asus before but I'll look for it, any suggestion on Dell and Compaq?
all asus, lol

well for dell maybe this

Inspiron 14R, i5-2410M + AMD HD6630@RM2249, Free 2nd year warranty: expires 23 June
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 06:07 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jun 15 2011, 12:48 AM)
rclxub.gif

heard from a friend that should wait till august or sept to buy new lappy??

is thr any news what will be coming out??? sifus! ^^  notworthy.gif    whistling.gif
buy what you need, when you need. if can wait, then wait.

QUOTE(juststayreal @ Jun 15 2011, 01:32 AM)
sifus .. i would like to ask some question biggrin.gif
i'm looking for gaming laptop and budget between 2.5k-2.8k
i saw asus a43sv and dell inspiron 14R amd 6630 is about same price
but i check amd 6630 is worse than nvidia 540 right? den i find dell that has nvidia 540 is the dell XPS which is rm3699 .. lol why so expensive(compare to a43sv)..=.=
please enlighten me ya tq biggrin.gif
can't judge the price alone based on spec laugh.gif

TimelineX 4830TG, i5-2410M + GT540M@RM2499[2.2kg]
N43SL, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599[2.4kg][Bang & Olufsen]
Pavilion Dv4, i5-2410M + AMD HD6750@RM2899
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 12:24 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jun 15 2011, 11:49 AM)
btw, a43sv doesnt have optimus???? i read it's site didn't say anythinh bout optimus aso... but its Nv wor...  shocking.gif
depend on manufacturer implementation, sadly no
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 02:15 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(juststayreal @ Jun 15 2011, 02:04 PM)
tq sifu  biggrin.gif 
but then.. curious bout the difference between n43Sl and a43sv
timeline better than a43sv? unsure.gif
i'm not sifu, just some guy who wanders around mobile computing since i'm also getting a laptop laugh.gif laugh.gif

n43sl is more to multimedia series and a43sv is more to the budget-line
do take note that a43sv doesn't comes with optimus tech and theoritically,
n43sl should be relatively better.

iirc, timelineX is supposed to be premium line for acer,
but the question is, better in what? spec wise, both comes in i5-2410m + gt540m variant

This post has been edited by fJok3R: Jun 15 2011, 02:16 PM
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 03:18 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 15 2011, 02:26 PM)
1. Brand - Any (if can suggest MSI or ASUS brand,of coz other will do if worth )
2. Budget. RM2k -3k (if can of coz as low as possible)
3. Specs. Normal gaming,surf net, download alot files
4. Size. normal
assuming normal is 14" laugh.gif ,

A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2399[2.44kg], [6-cell 4400mAH]
N43SL, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599[2.4kg][Bang & Olufsen]
U41Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2899[2.14kg]
Pavilion Dv4, i5-2410M + AMD HD6750@RM2899
Y470, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM2999[JBL]
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 06:00 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:55 PM)
if only dell offers lappy with gt 540m in 3k range....

gt 525m compare with 540m big diff?
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 07:08 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 15 2011, 07:02 PM)
hi sifus
which laptop suite my parents to play facebook's poker, angry birds and etc mini games nod.gif
budget 1.5k and below, prefer bigger screen than netbook with pretty nice graphic card
suggestuin thx wub.gif
those flash games won't need dedicated gpu imho, plus with budget 1.5k, i would suggest to get amd brazo variant hmm.gif

15" that fulfill your requirement will be

K53U, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1199, FreeDOS, [6-cell 5200mAH]

but it's freedos so if you want one with preinstalled window

Aspire 4253, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1499[2.3kg], W7HP
K43U, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1299[2.6kg], W7S, [6-cell 5200mAH]
MSI CR650, AMD E350 + AMD HD6310@RM1399, W7S, McAfee (3 users)

This post has been edited by fJok3R: Jun 15 2011, 07:11 PM
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 07:30 PM

1,419 posts

hmm.gif in garage sales also not available?
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 07:41 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Jun 15 2011, 07:38 PM)
Thanks for the replies. 

Besides the above "Hello I am looking for a laptop about RM2-3k, reliable and stable. 14/15", good after market support as well, used for gaming and studies as well. "

I would like to clarify that I'll be overseas studying. Thus, needing a laptop with global warranty?
iinm, asus offer by default 2years intnl warranty
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 07:45 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 15 2011, 07:41 PM)
oh...thx for the feedback
quite dissapointed  sad.gif
how about 15inch MSI CR650X, AMD E350 + AMD HD6310@RM1299, FreeDOS, McAfee (3 users)
hard to find in market also?  hmm.gif

edit:is there any other choice?prefer with free dos to save cost smile.gif
i supposed so sweat.gif rare to find someone carrying msi notebook tbh,

but for 14" freedos, can try take a look at this

K43U, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1199[2.6kg], FreeDOS, [6-cell 5200mAH]

not sure about availability
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 09:01 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Hamster X @ Jun 15 2011, 08:56 PM)
Is it still a good idea to get the Asus N models since the chipset problem announcement?
http://event.asus.com/2011/SandyBridge/notice/
already fixed long time ago
fJok3R
post Jun 15 2011, 09:13 PM

1,419 posts

sweat.gif i don't own one, so im sorry, don't really know but then you can ask for dedicated user thread here

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1887497

supposed comes with win 7 home premium
fJok3R
post Jun 16 2011, 06:46 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Fadly @ Jun 16 2011, 01:09 AM)
i have a RM5000 budget to buy new computer. Right now i'm split between Alienware M11x laptop and building my own customize desktop. Any suggestion?
if u don't need portability, with that budget can build a badass gaming desktop alrdy laugh.gif

QUOTE(kwekz @ Jun 16 2011, 01:18 AM)
I've attached 4 images of my laptop HP Pavilion DV4 3023TX (Indonesia Model) *as i've promise  biggrin.gif *

hope you guys can take a look.. It has different model with Malaysia one but the spec is same..  thumbup.gif

one thing i don't really like is the arrow button.. the half size Up/Down, need time to get used to it..

[attachmentid=2276203][attachmentid=2276204][attachmentid=2276205][attachmentid=2276206]
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

[offtopic]
oo i just notice the rating system in every profile on the left is gone already laugh.gif laugh.gif
[/offtopic]
fJok3R
post Jun 17 2011, 11:14 AM

1,419 posts

so a question here,

so intel hd3000 in i7-2630qm theoretically should be relatively better compared to intel hd3000 in i5-2410m.
due to higher clock speed and stuff, am i right?
fJok3R
post Jun 17 2011, 11:20 AM

1,419 posts

i see, so in another word, at one point intel hd3000 in

i5-2520m > i7-2630qm ?

fJok3R
post Jun 17 2011, 11:26 AM

1,419 posts

just the stock cpu, upgrading will be too pricey plus i don't think i need that
no confirm the order yet, have a lil bit problem on my side, sweat.gif
if everything can be settled, well i'm gonna ordering it in these few days nod.gif
fJok3R
post Jun 17 2011, 11:36 AM

1,419 posts

^ haha, not much customization i've made,

i opt for the 2x2gb ram, no plan of upgrading ram in the future, i hardly use more than 3gb in my current desktop
also not upgrading hdd, i'm fine with 320gb but i do opt for 64bit sp1 windows.

haha, no idea about the dual pointing but i do upgrade since it is backlit keyboard laugh.gif
not to forget upgrading to 900p screen too nod.gif
fJok3R
post Jun 17 2011, 11:43 AM

1,419 posts

but in the customization page, there is two option for adapter, 65W and 90W,
i wonder why is that? hmm.gif
fJok3R
post Jun 17 2011, 11:48 AM

1,419 posts

but is 90W usable for default battery?