43 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Guitars Guitar/Bass Pickups Thread, SingleCoils? Humbuckers? It's all here

Criptonox89
post Jul 18 2006, 11:08 PM

2,792 posts

hmm...do u saw seymour duncan SH-4 JB model there?

blacktrix
post Jul 19 2006, 07:13 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Now I'm thinking of getting a Jeff Beck Humbucker for the ol' strat......... probably when I get my amp end of the year.......

Or is there any other humbucker you can recommend that is more edgy but still retains most of the strat's sound?

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jul 19 2006, 07:15 AM
Everdying
post Jul 19 2006, 07:18 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

i had a JB before in a charvel.
very good for rock/metal, but no way does it retain any part of a strat sound.
perhaps if it was wired for splitting, then the single coil part might do it, tho i never did try.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jul 19 2006, 07:19 AM
blacktrix
post Jul 19 2006, 07:30 AM

13,063 posts

Hmmmmmmm cool. cool...... Any other suggestions for a Humbucker in it then? Would want to play some Green Day stuff too..... that's why I wanted a Humbucker init.....
Everdying
post Jul 19 2006, 07:40 AM

30,735 posts

greenday? thought he uses the duncan invader?
i would guess most decent humbuckers would be able to pull off greenday stuff.
only question would be is the split coil sound good enough for that strat sound.

blacktrix
post Jul 19 2006, 08:12 AM

13,063 posts

Yeah....... Looks like it's going to be split coil config for me..... Anyone knows a reasonablly priced humbucker for me???
ian31
post Jul 19 2006, 11:28 AM

101 posts

hey guys.. is there any different between humbucker and trembucker?... is it just the size or does it affect the sound?

browsed through seymour duncan's site.. and noticed that there is sh-4 as well as tb-4
echobrainproject
post Jul 19 2006, 02:14 PM

4,765 posts

try putting in ur epiphone stock humbuckers in it tongue.gif
Everdying
post Jul 19 2006, 04:20 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ian31 @ Jul 19 2006, 11:28 AM)
hey guys.. is there any different between humbucker and trembucker?... is it just the size or does it affect the sound?

browsed through seymour duncan's site.. and noticed that there is sh-4 as well as tb-4
trembuckers pole pieces is spaced for floyd rose guitars, ie. pole pieces wider apart.
Criptonox89
post Jul 19 2006, 10:09 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jul 19 2006, 02:14 PM)
try putting in ur epiphone stock humbuckers in it tongue.gif
haha...then it would be weird.....less strat with hubucking pickup......tele with humbucking still acceptable..... biggrin.gif

wanna ask u guys who replace their pickup before......how do u deal with ur ex-stock pickup? just keep it into drawer?

This post has been edited by Criptonox89: Jul 19 2006, 10:13 PM
Bassix
post Jul 24 2006, 02:42 PM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Jul 19 2006, 03:09 PM)
haha...then it would be weird.....less strat with hubucking pickup......tele with humbucking still acceptable..... biggrin.gif

wanna ask u guys who replace their pickup before......how do u deal with ur ex-stock pickup? just keep it into drawer?
take them apart and try to rewire them. Or if you dont want them give them to me tongue.gif
I learning to rewire PUs now... biggrin.gif And i don't want to spoil mine
MetalZone
post Aug 1 2006, 01:19 AM

2,515 posts

I'm thinking of changing my bridge pickup.... having a tough time deciding between a Seymour Duncan SH4 JB Model and a DiMarzio Steve's Special... I'm slightly more inclined towards the Steve's Special though... I wonder if Woh Fatt has them. Other than them any other shops carry DiMarzio's?
Everdying
post Aug 1 2006, 01:40 AM

30,735 posts

i think bentley are the distributors for both duncan and dimarzio.
hydrogen
post Aug 1 2006, 10:30 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Noob Question:
what pickups does an Ibanez GRG270 use? i mean, i dono how to identify them/differntiate them.
Pix
post Aug 1 2006, 02:20 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

it should be ibanez models, nothing famous... to know the exact reference, check out the website (i'm too lazy, sorry smile.gif )
MetalZone
post Aug 1 2006, 04:16 PM

2,515 posts

Hmmm.... called Bentley, they don't carry DiMarzio's.
And Woh Fatt doesn't have the Steve's Special.
I think the SD JB Model isn't suitable for my guitar coz of the floating trem, the string distance is wider. DiMarzio has F-spaced models to cater for these.
SD's trembucker series are designed to cater for floating trems but the sound doesn't capture my taste.

btw, criptonox... Bentley is selling the JB Model for RM340.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Aug 1 2006, 04:19 PM
Everdying
post Aug 1 2006, 04:32 PM

30,735 posts

between normal pickups and F-spaced, with distortion etc i seriously doubt anyone will be able to tell the difference.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 1 2006, 04:33 PM
Criptonox89
post Aug 1 2006, 04:46 PM

2,792 posts

oh...thanks...u tried it out today?

i was just think of asking u to get one more for me.....when i read the following post...u've change ur mind....hahaha

u're planning to solder the sh-4 to ur grx?
MetalZone
post Aug 1 2006, 06:05 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 1 2006, 04:32 PM)
between normal pickups and F-spaced, with distortion etc i seriously doubt anyone will be able to tell the difference.
You're right i guess... perhaps if u listen carefully, an F spaced will have just slightly better string balance but I doubt most people will be able to notice.

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Aug 1 2006, 04:46 PM)
oh...thanks...u tried it out today?

i was just think of asking u to get one more for me.....when i read the following post...u've change ur mind....hahaha

u're planning to solder the sh-4 to ur grx?
Nope, i called Bentley.

sweat.gif choosing pickups is a tough task... You can't just plug and test and try another till you're happy. Unlike other stuff like amps and effects. I'm only basing my decision on sound clips, descriptions and reading lots of reviews.

I haven't got anything yet leh...
planning to put the Steve's Special into my RG1570 bridge position.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Aug 1 2006, 06:07 PM
Criptonox89
post Aug 1 2006, 09:48 PM

2,792 posts

do u go to youtube to check out some sample?

btw...i'm quite satisfy with sh-4 jb model......hopefully u can find ur real baby soonly.....how about EMG?laugh.gif

43 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0243sec    1.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:39 PM