FiiO E11 Portable Headphone Amp, Just the initial impression!

TSClieOS
post May 5 2011, 09:03 PM, updated 12y ago

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Warning: This is just the initial impression."Take it with a grain of salt"

So, this little thing arrived just a few hours ago. So far I have only managed to listen to it very briefly and did some quick A/B with other ultra-portable and sub-$150 amp I have. I won't think it is fair if I went straight to the 3MOVE and Stepdance - those will be left for the final review

First, I switch it to low current mode (the switch is under the battery), set it to low gain, not bass boost. Then I did a quick listening via RE0. My first impression is...

Then I flipped the switch to high current mode, high gain. My impressive goes like...

Yep, it is true - that is my impression. How does FiiO make this happens is beyond me. I am just glad it is what it is. So, I will put some time on it before I will write my final review, possibly going to take a week or two. I will also source a battery with bigger capacity just see if E11 will take it, and that will take time as well. Here are my last piece of advice...

Enjoy another photo for now.

CHR15
post May 5 2011, 09:07 PM

141 posts

wow nice when is this coming out and where can i buy it
tunertoobe
post May 5 2011, 09:14 PM

9,309 posts

I'll have my money ready by then! drool.gif
MrJinggles
post May 5 2011, 09:16 PM

1,285 posts

Oh wow, and I was just thinking of buying an amp to pair with my lonely Fuze. Not that the ACS T1s sound bad or anything, just wanna see how they perform with an amp laugh.gif

And look at the size!! It's as if FiiO had the Fuze in mind when making the amp biggrin.gif
TSClieOS
post May 5 2011, 09:18 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

It should be out before the end of the month if everything goes well. Not sure if local dealer will have it or not.
MrJinggles
post May 5 2011, 09:19 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 5 2011, 09:18 PM)
It should be out before the end of the month if everything goes well. Not sure if local dealer will have it or not.
I'm sure they will... with impressions like the one you just wrote, I'm sure they will biggrin.gif
CHR15
post May 5 2011, 09:22 PM

141 posts

oic then i have to keep my search engine on for it
noobandroid
post May 5 2011, 09:30 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

ah crap! another time to sell stuff to get the cash for this..
CoolBoy89
post May 5 2011, 10:09 PM

Hear No Evil.
1,801 posts

Now that's something really worth looking forward for..Waiting for ur full review! nod.gif
SUSd3m0n
post May 5 2011, 10:20 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

Oh no.. Here we go again. I knew it E11 would be a good product.
watekeke
post May 5 2011, 10:33 PM

2,158 posts

expected price??
silver69
post May 5 2011, 10:34 PM

154 posts

dilemma on whether get myself a E9 or E11....since i got E7 at first....how TS will rate this baby compar to it's brother E9??
lkleon
post May 5 2011, 10:39 PM

65 posts

wub.gif OHH! I want this!
jinggothegreat
post May 5 2011, 10:42 PM

333 posts

bro clieOS, vs pico slim?
TSClieOS
post May 5 2011, 10:43 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(watekeke @ May 5 2011, 10:33 PM)
expected price??
US$60, about RM$180~200 or so.

QUOTE(silver69 @ May 5 2011, 10:34 PM)
dilemma on whether get myself a E9 or E11....since i got E7 at first....how TS will rate this baby compar to it's brother E9??
I haven't heard the E9, so can't really tell you much. I can only tell you it is better sounding than E7.

Added on May 5, 2011, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ May 5 2011, 10:42 PM)
bro clieOS, vs pico slim?
Don't have Pico slim (or RSA shadow, in case you wonder).

This post has been edited by ClieOS: May 5 2011, 10:45 PM
jinggothegreat
post May 5 2011, 10:45 PM

333 posts

ummm... battery life?

omg, i'm just about to snatch a T3d when pico slim is blardy expens..
TSClieOS
post May 5 2011, 10:50 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Just received it this morning and I haven't done any test on it yet, but the listed battery life is >10hrs, probably on low current mode.
kaoru
post May 5 2011, 11:11 PM

353 posts

dem where to get this , like where n how u get it?
Archangelmc
post May 5 2011, 11:17 PM

56 posts

wooo...looks interesting! anyone know when will it reach malaysia?
Andy0625
post May 5 2011, 11:21 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

anyone know can 2.1 speaker benefits from an headphone amp? especially the E7 with usb dac?
tunertoobe
post May 5 2011, 11:56 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 5 2011, 11:21 PM)
anyone know can 2.1 speaker benefits from an headphone amp? especially the E7 with usb dac?
I'm guessing there will be very little benefit(if any at all).
Won't speakers require vast amounts of current because they generally have very low impedance?
Agnaem
post May 6 2011, 12:13 AM

439 posts

Head amp: Little if any? hmm.gif
usb dac: This have a potential to give better sound, especially if your source is on-board sound card..

TSClieOS
post May 6 2011, 01:13 AM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

PC speaker already has an active power amp inside, adding an amp before it just make it double amp (and generally bad). What you need is a good DAC.
E1 - AKG
post May 6 2011, 07:36 AM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(silver69 @ May 5 2011, 10:34 PM)
E9 is a desktop amp build to dock the E7. If you are using the USB/DAC function on the E7 and need much higher output to drive your headphones, the E9 is the way to go.

Will open a separate thread for pre-ordering of the E11 by the coming Tuesday.

awyongcarl
post May 6 2011, 07:50 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 6 2011, 07:36 AM)
E9 is a desktop amp build to dock the E7.  If you are using the USB/DAC function on the E7 and need much higher output to drive your headphones, the E9 is the way to go.

Any price estimation?
tunertoobe
post May 6 2011, 07:52 AM

9,309 posts

Any pre-order specail prices? brows.gif
CHR15
post May 6 2011, 08:31 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 6 2011, 07:36 AM)
E9 is a desktop amp build to dock the E7.  If you are using the USB/DAC function on the E7 and need much higher output to drive your headphones, the E9 is the way to go.

Bro ugpm
E1 - AKG
post May 6 2011, 10:53 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ May 6 2011, 07:50 AM)
Any price estimation?
QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 6 2011, 07:52 AM)
Any pre-order specail prices?  brows.gif
QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 6 2011, 08:31 AM)
Bro ugpm
RM222 for pre-order.

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: May 6 2011, 10:58 AM
CHR15
post May 6 2011, 12:31 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 6 2011, 10:53 AM)
RM222 for pre-order.
add me into ur pre order list pls
thank's
awyongcarl
post May 6 2011, 12:53 PM

1,870 posts

Rm222? I'm sold.
MrJinggles
post May 6 2011, 01:10 PM

1,285 posts

Very tempting price tag. I'll wait for ClieOS' review before I cash in on this.
Honky
post May 6 2011, 01:55 PM

58 posts

Clie, does the E11 have bass boost?
Andy0625
post May 6 2011, 02:01 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 6 2011, 01:13 AM)
PC speaker already has an active power amp inside, adding an amp before it just make it double amp (and generally bad). What you need is a good DAC.
tunertoobe, Agnaem & ClieOS: thanks for the reply. in this case, anyone know if the E7 is a good usb-dac? or I'm better of with the wolfson wm8501? sorry to ot.
TSClieOS
post May 6 2011, 02:27 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(Honky @ May 6 2011, 01:55 PM)
Clie, does the E11 have bass boost?
Yes, 2 level actually. It boost more sub-bass then mid-bass, so it is the more gentle kind.

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 6 2011, 02:01 PM)
tunertoobe, Agnaem & ClieOS: thanks for the reply. in this case, anyone know if the E7 is a good usb-dac? or I'm better of with the wolfson wm8501? sorry to ot.
The WM874x series (including the WM8740 in E7) is still considered to be best of Wolfson DAC. Though I haven't heard any DAC based on WM5801.
tunertoobe
post May 6 2011, 02:27 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 6 2011, 02:01 PM)
WM8501 is a good DAC, I've tried it myself.
However if you're thinking of hooking something up that might benefit from amping, the E7 will be a better choice. You can rely on the E7 as your volume control as well. Also, I think the E7 also uses a superior DAC(WM8740) IINM.

Added on May 6, 2011, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 6 2011, 10:53 AM)
RM222 for pre-order.
OMG!! drool.gif
Hmmmm. but might collide with my Atrio purchase though...have to think this through. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: May 6 2011, 02:29 PM
jinggothegreat
post May 6 2011, 05:34 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 6 2011, 02:27 PM)
Yes, 2 level actually. It boost more sub-bass then mid-bass, so it is the more gentle kind.
The WM874x series (including the WM8740 in E7) is still considered to be best of Wolfson DAC. Though I haven't heard any DAC based on WM5801.
drool.gif

@E1-AKG, the pre-order how long does it take usually to arrive? i might grab one
SUSd3m0n
post May 6 2011, 10:21 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ May 6 2011, 05:34 PM)
drool.gif

@E1-AKG, the pre-order how long does it take usually to arrive? i might grab one
I can answer that on behalf of bro E1 - AKG, end of May.
jinggothegreat
post May 7 2011, 09:12 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ May 6 2011, 10:21 PM)
I can answer that on behalf of bro E1 - AKG, end of May.
thanks 4 that info, will pm him shortly. daym, the size really identical to fuze drool.gif

design wise, the input/output is placed inline with volume controller which, for me, is pocket/pouch friendly not to mention LOD friendly also

rsa shadow doest comply to that:

pico slim oso have design like that:

sked LOD stretch too much and got spoiled. sad.gif

E1 - AKG
post May 7 2011, 10:15 AM

6,439 posts

Goodness doh.gif Had placed an order for 60 units and the demand is so high that FiiO can only ship 20 blush.gif So can only have 14 units for pre-order at RM222 drool.gif @jinggothegreat had already jumped the gun and banked-in the full amount doh.gif
tunertoobe
post May 7 2011, 11:09 AM

9,309 posts

Well well, quite the jumpy one there. laugh.gif
CHR15
post May 7 2011, 11:43 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 7 2011, 10:15 AM)
Goodness  doh.gif  Had placed an order for 60 units and the demand is so high that FiiO can only ship 20  blush.gif  So can only have 14 units for pre-order at RM222  drool.gif  @jinggothegreat had already jumped the gun and banked-in the full amount  doh.gif
omg then am i in it shocking.gif
i can bank in to u 2moro if u want

Added on May 7, 2011, 9:25 pmso ClieOS any update on e11 since u use for few days already
how long the batt can last ?
any pros and con ?

This post has been edited by CHR15: May 7 2011, 09:25 PM
MrJinggles
post May 7 2011, 10:23 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 7 2011, 11:43 AM)

Added on May 7, 2011, 9:25 pmso ClieOS any update on e11 since u use for few days already
any pros and con ?

I too would like to know if the battery life lasts 10 hours as stated. Also, how does the E11 improve on the sound? Is there a boost in certain parts of the frequency?
TSClieOS
post May 7 2011, 11:42 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 7 2011, 11:43 AM)
omg then am i in it  shocking.gif 
i can bank in to u 2moro if u want

any pros and con ?
Most update has been posted in Head-fi.org. Nothing really major, still lovin' it!!! tongue.gif

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ May 7 2011, 10:23 PM)
I too would like to know if the battery life lasts 10 hours as stated. Also, how does the E11 improve on the sound? Is there a boost in certain parts of the frequency?
RMAA test reveals that the FR is quite flat (=transparent), no boost anywhere. Bass boost is as I commented before, mainly on the sub-bass region.

I am actually doing a battery test right now - low power mode, low gain, no bass boost and a fairly loud 4/9 volume - 11hrs+ so far. "Myth Confirmed" cool2.gif

This post has been edited by ClieOS: May 7 2011, 11:43 PM
i_djoel2000
post May 7 2011, 11:51 PM

311 posts

how do you compare this amp to soundmagic a10, clieos? is this in the same level as a10, or above it?

sound signature comparison?
TSClieOS
post May 8 2011, 12:01 AM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

It is better than A10. Quite close, but still better. Full comparison will have to wait till final review though.
MrJinggles
post May 8 2011, 12:12 AM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 7 2011, 11:42 PM)
Most update has been posted in Head-fi.org. Nothing really major, still lovin' it!!!  tongue.gif
RMAA test reveals that the FR is quite flat (=transparent), no boost anywhere. Bass boost is as I commented before, mainly on the sub-bass region.

I am actually doing a battery test right now - low power mode, low gain, no bass boost and a fairly loud 4/9 volume - 11hrs+ so far. "Myth Confirmed"  cool2.gif
Great! I was hoping you'd disappoint me... I feel my RM222 slipping from me. I'll eagerly wait for your final review.
CoolBoy89
post May 8 2011, 01:48 AM

Hear No Evil.
1,801 posts

A comparison between E7 and E11 posted by Mike from headfonia

E7 and E11 briefly (with the JH16Pro, yea I know what an overkill. Just
want to make sure I can hear every single detail because both amps are
very close in terms of performance).
1. As I've said, very close voicing, very close signature and
technicalities. (Does the two share the same op-amp? Sounds like they do).
2. E7 is more lively, has better treble, more spacious. The midrange is
more congested and confused though.
3. E11 is warmer, fuller mids, better mids and thicker lows than the E7.
Overall warmer and slight darker than the E7. I like the signature
better but I wish it can be as open sounding as the E11.
4. I can use the E11 to drive a HE-500 till my ears bleed (seriously), I
can't do that with the E7
5. I'd get the E11 just purely because of the mechanical/analog volume knob alone. Getting the volume up and down is a slow business in the E7.
6. No problem with the ultra-sensitive 18 Ohms JH16Pro with both amps.
7. I also tried both amps with the Sony ZX700 and ATH M50. Good sound with both headphones.

CHR15
post May 8 2011, 12:46 PM

141 posts

omg u guys make me can wait to get my hand on it drool.gif drool.gif
MrJinggles
post May 8 2011, 02:47 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(CoolBoy89 @ May 8 2011, 01:48 AM)
I can't find that article, mind providing the link?
kaoru
post May 8 2011, 04:07 PM

353 posts

yeah i need to know whats the difference between E7 and E11 like which one is better
tunertoobe
post May 8 2011, 04:46 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(kaoru @ May 8 2011, 04:07 PM)
yeah i need to know whats the difference between E7 and E11 like which one is better
E11 is a superior amp compared to the E7. The E7 is a DAC/amp combo while E11 is a pure amp. Fiio says the E11 will be(and seems to be) their best amp to date.
i_djoel2000
post May 8 2011, 05:22 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(kaoru @ May 8 2011, 04:07 PM)
e7 amp section is the same to fiio e5, if not worse. CMIIW

This post has been edited by i_djoel2000: May 8 2011, 05:28 PM
hahariz
post May 8 2011, 07:48 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(CoolBoy89 @ May 8 2011, 01:48 AM)
Oh wow now I'm really interested in E11.

I already have Maverick D1 and GoVibe Peak, still not sure if I wanna buy this. But I'm not the kind of person who listen to music on the go.

This post has been edited by hahariz: May 8 2011, 07:49 PM
CoolBoy89
post May 8 2011, 08:03 PM

Hear No Evil.
1,801 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ May 8 2011, 02:47 PM)
I can't find that article, mind providing the link?
Another guy quoted this article in headfi E11 thread. I don't have the original link.
E1 - AKG
post May 8 2011, 08:10 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ May 8 2011, 12:12 AM)
Great! I was hoping you'd disappoint me... I feel my RM222 slipping from me. I'll eagerly wait for your final review.
Patiently waiting for you brows.gif
hahariz
post May 9 2011, 08:59 PM

222 posts

Review is out.

http://www.headfonia.com/fiio-e11-portable-amplifier/
nabzblitz
post May 9 2011, 09:07 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

okay i'm sold. DEFINETELY getting the E11 now. haha
CHR15
post May 10 2011, 12:45 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(hahariz @ May 9 2011, 08:59 PM)
wow nice
now have to wait for my e11 to arrive cool.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 12 2011, 12:22 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 10 2011, 12:45 PM)
wow nice
now have to wait for my e11 to arrive  cool.gif
According to FiiO, they are facing material shortage and will only be able to ship end-May blush.gif So it's early June delivery now blush.gif
MrJinggles
post May 12 2011, 12:25 AM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 12 2011, 12:22 AM)
According to FiiO, they are facing material shortage and will only be able to ship end-May  blush.gif  So it's early June delivery now   blush.gif
Ahh, I also heard that the X3 is delayed cry.gif

This post has been edited by MrJinggles: May 12 2011, 12:26 AM
jinggothegreat
post May 12 2011, 01:01 AM

333 posts

According to FiiO, they are facing material shortage and will only be able to ship end-May  blush.gif  So it's early June delivery now  blush.gif
sweat.gif it feels soo looong. lul
IsTheTime
post May 12 2011, 07:47 AM

18 posts

cant wait to pair it with superlux h688b blush.gif
CHR15
post May 12 2011, 12:33 PM

141 posts

According to FiiO, they are facing material shortage and will only be able to ship end-May  blush.gif  So it's early June delivery now  blush.gif
cry.gif was hoping it will come soon so can try out those headphone from u too shakehead.gif
GenericMav
post May 12 2011, 03:26 PM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

how does it compare with E5? hmm.gif
IsTheTime
post May 12 2011, 05:23 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ May 12 2011, 03:26 PM)
how does it compare with E5?  hmm.gif
should be a far away better than simple e5 smile.gif
Honky
post May 12 2011, 05:59 PM

58 posts

Clie, thanks for answering my question about the bass boost, i have another question though if you don't mind.

Would the e11 be able to drive the DT770 250 ohms?
E1 - AKG
post May 13 2011, 08:16 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(IsTheTime @ May 12 2011, 07:47 AM)
cant wait to pair it with superlux h688b  blush.gif
Yet to receive your order hmm.gif
TSClieOS
post May 13 2011, 08:18 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(Honky @ May 12 2011, 05:59 PM)
Sorry, don't have DT770 250ohm or anything close to that caliber. All I can tell you is that it drives ER4S, RE262, and PK1 (all 150ohm) pretty well.
E1 - AKG
post May 13 2011, 08:21 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(Honky @ May 12 2011, 05:59 PM)
Clie, thanks for answering my question about the bass boost, i have another question though if you don't mind.

Curious hmm.gif Do you actually wears your DT770 everywhere you go as a portable hmm.gif hmm.gif
tunertoobe
post May 13 2011, 08:57 PM

9,309 posts

If something is called a portable amp, it's not necessary to bring it around with you. Maybe he needed something small that won't take up space on his desktop, and doesn't need to be fed with the wall outlet.
I plan on a Graham Slee Voyager or anything similar...and those are called portable amps.....I'd be nuts having them around. laugh.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 16 2011, 01:36 PM

6,439 posts

Good news, FiiO is shipping the E11s this week nod.gif

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: May 16 2011, 01:38 PM
CHR15
post May 16 2011, 03:31 PM

141 posts

wow goooood rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
is been like ages
jinggothegreat
post May 16 2011, 06:13 PM

333 posts

rclxm9.gif
waa very gooding! this thing will cover my hunger for picoslim for awhile.
CHR15
post May 17 2011, 01:28 PM

141 posts

bro e1 Estimated time of arrival of e11 ?
E1 - AKG
post May 17 2011, 03:48 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 17 2011, 01:28 PM)
bro e1 Estimated time of arrival of e11 ?
Hopefully by Monday.

CHR15
post May 17 2011, 04:16 PM

141 posts

good good rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif
timing so perfect
got it then burn in for a week then snsd jap album should arrive by then
nabzblitz
post May 17 2011, 04:31 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 17 2011, 04:16 PM)
good good  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
timing so perfect
got it then burn in for a week then snsd jap album should arrive by then
amps need burn in meh? blink.gif

This post has been edited by nabzblitz: May 17 2011, 04:32 PM
CHR15
post May 17 2011, 05:03 PM

141 posts

gonna test on ear wang form bro e1 if i like it i terus ambil mah lol
nabzblitz
post May 17 2011, 08:54 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

i. cannot wait. for this. to arrive. on my doorstep.
TSClieOS
post May 17 2011, 10:59 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Will be posting my review before the end of the week, stay tuned.
MrJinggles
post May 17 2011, 11:01 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 17 2011, 10:59 PM)
Looking forward to it wink.gif
CHR15
post May 19 2011, 04:27 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 17 2011, 10:59 PM)
good been waiting for u review rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSClieOS
post May 19 2011, 11:57 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Review posted:

http://www.inearmatters.net/2011/05/impression-fiio-e11.html
MrJinggles
post May 20 2011, 12:11 AM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 19 2011, 11:57 PM)
Great review, I'm surprised about the battery life being able to last more than 20 hours.
nabzblitz
post May 20 2011, 01:33 AM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

Great review! To think it's on par with something twice it's price.
Good thing i already ordered it. biggrin.gif
CHR15
post May 20 2011, 07:13 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 19 2011, 11:57 PM)
Good review and nice read too
No I have no regrets buying it
Thanks sifu notworthy.gif
hellfire8888
post May 20 2011, 11:03 AM

3,196 posts

ok just ordered mine together with the L3...

patiently waiting now..
jinggothegreat
post May 20 2011, 02:01 PM

333 posts

3 moar day to monday. +2 day delivery to my doorstep. omg omg very long kenot tahan liao. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jinggothegreat: May 20 2011, 02:03 PM
E1 - AKG
post May 20 2011, 03:47 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ May 20 2011, 02:01 PM)
3 moar day to monday. +2 day delivery to my doorstep. omg omg very long kenot tahan liao. laugh.gif
The shipment left FiiO yesterday afternoon via UPS.
nabzblitz
post May 20 2011, 04:01 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 20 2011, 03:47 PM)
NICE.
Will it arrive to you on Monday or arrive to the buyers on Monday?
I reaaally cannot wait anymore ahahaha.
hellfire8888
post May 20 2011, 04:24 PM

3,196 posts

i hope i can hear out the diff compare to my e5..
CHR15
post May 20 2011, 07:28 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 20 2011, 03:47 PM)
it take 3 days to arrive rite not counting sat and sun then monday should get it rclxm9.gif
let the countdown begin tongue.gif
Invalid Username
post May 21 2011, 06:58 PM

323 posts

guys, how would you compare the fiio e11 vs hippo box+? biggrin.gif
noobandroid
post May 21 2011, 07:04 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

e11 has volume control, more power control(switch low/high), and a lot of feature that hippo tiada
tunertoobe
post May 21 2011, 07:51 PM

9,309 posts

The Hippo Box+ has no colouration(none that I can hear), except when you switch on bass boost. Weighty sub-bass there, and doesn't really touch anything else other than the low frequencies. With only gain on, I notice sound coming from a Fuze+, the WM8501 DAC and laptop, going through the amp has the exact same sound as if the amp isn't there(except the noticeable amplification of hiss and volume of course).

Not sure which of the two(E11 and Box+) is more neutral though.
I think for Hippo to compete with Fiio, they really need volume control on the Box+, its only drawback.
slimfox
post May 21 2011, 11:28 PM

392 posts

Does anybody know where I can get this retail?
MrJinggles
post May 21 2011, 11:33 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ May 21 2011, 11:28 PM)
Does anybody know where I can get this retail?
It's not out on retail shelves yet, but E1-AKG is doing a limited pre-order for RM222 per unit. He has a thread in the trade section, look it up.
CHR15
post May 22 2011, 01:17 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ May 21 2011, 11:33 PM)
It's not out on retail shelves yet, but E1-AKG is doing a limited pre-order for RM222 per unit. He has a thread in the trade section, look it up.
the stock should arrive 2moro
can't wait for it rclxm9.gif
nabzblitz
post May 22 2011, 07:16 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 22 2011, 01:17 PM)
the stock should arrive 2moro
can't wait for it  rclxm9.gif
Heheh almost here maan. smile.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 23 2011, 09:27 AM

6,439 posts

Update: As of this morning, the shipment is still in FedEx facility in Guangzhou, China doh.gif
nabzblitz
post May 23 2011, 09:50 AM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2011, 09:27 AM)
Update:  As of this morning, the shipment is still in FedEx facility in Guangzhou, China  doh.gif
awwh crap. sad.gif
CHR15
post May 23 2011, 11:42 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2011, 09:27 AM)
Update:  As of this morning, the shipment is still in FedEx facility in Guangzhou, China  doh.gif
Omg cry.gif
Like that have to wait another 2-3 days
Only can get lor
ryanz
post May 23 2011, 12:01 PM

80 posts

Bro's how is this amp compare to Headstage Arrow HE12 ??
Thinking to intro an amp for my friend..
E1 - AKG
post May 23 2011, 01:37 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(ryanz @ May 23 2011, 12:01 PM)
Bro's how is this amp compare to Headstage Arrow HE12 ??
Thinking to intro an amp for my friend..
You may want to PM ClieOS sifu. nod.gif

Added on May 23, 2011, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 23 2011, 11:42 AM)
Omg  cry.gif
Like that have to wait another 2-3 days
Only can get lor

Added on May 23, 2011, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(nabzblitz @ May 23 2011, 09:50 AM)
awwh crap. sad.gif
FedEx: http://www.fedex.com/cn_english/

Tracking no: 874119296728

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: May 23 2011, 01:44 PM
CHR15
post May 23 2011, 01:50 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2011, 01:37 PM)
You may want to PM ClieOS sifu.  nod.gif

Added on May 23, 2011, 1:43 pm

Added on May 23, 2011, 1:44 pm

FedEx: http://www.fedex.com/cn_english/

Tracking no:  874119296728
Estimated delivery May 24, 2011 by 6:00 PM
Assumes no delay to final delivery
arrive at klia 6 pm then have to wait kastam approve we might get it on 25 lor doh.gif
nabzblitz
post May 23 2011, 02:53 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 23 2011, 01:50 PM)
Estimated delivery    May 24, 2011 by 6:00 PM
Assumes no delay to final delivery
arrive at klia 6 pm then have to wait kastam approve we might get it on 25 lor  doh.gif
If poslaju on 24th night will get on 25th meh?! ahaha
CHR15
post May 23 2011, 03:01 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ May 23 2011, 02:53 PM)
If poslaju on 24th night will get on 25th meh?! ahaha
huh y postlaju not fedex meh ?? doh.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 23 2011, 03:27 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 23 2011, 03:01 PM)
huh y postlaju not fedex meh ?? doh.gif
Send to you via Poslaju. Use Poslaju main at Sentral before 8pm, you should receive the next day.

CHR15
post May 23 2011, 04:10 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2011, 03:27 PM)
Send to you via Poslaju.  Use Poslaju main at Sentral before 8pm, you should receive the next day.

lol i was curious y from fedex change to poslaju suddenly
but i cod with u at bukit bintang guess noon only can get
shawn87
post May 23 2011, 09:08 PM

2,154 posts

is this item for sale now?
E1 - AKG
post May 23 2011, 10:08 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(shawn87 @ May 23 2011, 09:08 PM)
is this item for sale now?
Tuesday onwards.
shawn87
post May 23 2011, 10:10 PM

2,154 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 23 2011, 10:08 PM)
Tuesday onwards.

how much is the price? can u give me the link about E7 vs E11 if there is any??
MrJinggles
post May 23 2011, 10:42 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(shawn87 @ May 23 2011, 10:10 PM)
how much is the price? can u give me the link about E7 vs E11 if there is any??
Search the trade zone http://forum.lowyat.net/AudioRelatedAccessories
E1-AKG has a topic for pre order.
shawn87
post May 23 2011, 10:54 PM

2,154 posts

oh okay thanks..

Added on May 23, 2011, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(MrJinggles @ May 23 2011, 10:42 PM)
Search the trade zone http://forum.lowyat.net/AudioRelatedAccessories
E1-AKG has a topic for pre order.
ok thanks

This post has been edited by shawn87: May 23 2011, 10:55 PM
tunertoobe
post May 23 2011, 11:42 PM

9,309 posts

I assume that the pre-order price won't stay. What is the actual market price here in Malaysia?
E1 - AKG
post May 24 2011, 12:34 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 23 2011, 11:42 PM)
I assume that the pre-order price won't stay. What is the actual market price here in Malaysia?
RM259
nabzblitz
post May 24 2011, 02:38 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

Just checked FedEx tracking. THE FIRST BATCH OF FIIO'S E11 IS HERE! biggrin.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 24 2011, 05:04 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ May 24 2011, 02:38 PM)
Just checked FedEx tracking. THE FIRST BATCH OF FIIO'S E11 IS HERE! biggrin.gif
CHR15 just picked up his' 45 mins ago together with the L3 LOD and the Fanny Wang On-ear Wang's nod.gif

CHR15
post May 24 2011, 05:22 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 24 2011, 05:04 PM)
CHR15 just picked up his' 45 mins ago together with the L3 LOD and the Fanny Wang On-ear Wang's  nod.gif

yup got my stuff from bro e1 nice guy hope to deal with him again
btw [SCREAM] rclxm9.gif
per request from bro e1

p.s. sorry for the LQ pic
tunertoobe
post May 24 2011, 05:52 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 24 2011, 12:34 AM)
RM259
That's actually not bad....not bad at all.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: May 24 2011, 06:06 PM
jinggothegreat
post May 24 2011, 06:00 PM

333 posts

nghhh....

E1 - AKG
post May 24 2011, 11:33 PM

6,439 posts

for those that had already paid the full amount, the E11 is already on the way to you via Poslaju. Should receive by tomorrow or latest by the day after.

nod.gif

nabzblitz
post May 25 2011, 04:15 AM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 24 2011, 11:33 PM)
for those that had already paid the full amount, the E11 is already on the way to you via Poslaju.  Should receive by tomorrow or latest by the day after.

nod.gif
Tracking number? biggrin.gif haha. Quite paranoid i won't be home when it comes. Have to run errands tomorrow..
CAN'T WAIT THOUGH.

RECEIVED! Charging now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by nabzblitz: May 25 2011, 09:56 AM
jinggothegreat
post May 25 2011, 04:54 PM

333 posts

received oso brows.gif

gonna post pic later cool.gif

the performance out of the box WOWOWOW. lul. sorri ClieOS steal ur line.
E1 - AKG
post May 25 2011, 07:26 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ May 25 2011, 04:15 AM)
Tracking number? biggrin.gif haha. Quite paranoid i won't be home when it comes. Have to run errands tomorrow..
CAN'T WAIT THOUGH.

RECEIVED! Charging now biggrin.gif

Added on May 25, 2011, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ May 25 2011, 04:54 PM)
received oso brows.gif

gonna post pic later  cool.gif

the performance out of the box WOWOWOW. lul. sorri ClieOS steal ur line.
Did the E11 manage to cure the withdrawer syndrome of the past couple of days hmm.gif

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: May 25 2011, 07:27 PM
CHR15
post May 25 2011, 08:26 PM

141 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
all got their e11 now time to enjoy
dunno bout u guys but i'm loving it
noobandroid
post May 25 2011, 09:13 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

oh my gooood, my heart pounding so hard now, feel like buying d... but my hippo box + will.....
TSClieOS
post May 25 2011, 09:25 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Come on, boys and girls. Keep the impression com'in!!!
noobandroid
post May 25 2011, 09:25 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

itchy itchy.. need antibiotics... cough cough
CHR15
post May 25 2011, 09:33 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
lol sifu not all good with word
i liking the e11 but dunno how to put into word to describe how much i love it
noobandroid
post May 25 2011, 09:34 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 25 2011, 09:33 PM)
lol sifu not all good with word
i liking the e11 but dunno how to put into word to describe how much i love it
pass it to me then, and i help u "impression" tongue.gif

Added on May 25, 2011, 9:37 pmnow i need a reason to dump my hippo box, cause this "box" sounds good too, just lack sound control, which will be nice for e11

This post has been edited by noobandroid: May 25 2011, 09:37 PM
CHR15
post May 25 2011, 09:42 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 25 2011, 09:34 PM)
pass it to me then, and i help u "impression"  tongue.gif

Added on May 25, 2011, 9:37 pmnow i need a reason to dump my hippo box, cause this "box" sounds good too, just lack sound control, which will be nice for e11
nope loving it so much can't even put it down for 1 min whistling.gif
nabzblitz
post May 25 2011, 10:03 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

Haha simply put, the E11 is GREAT!

I even went to Jaben today and Walabies/Yuheng (not sure which is which) had a try hahaha.

I haven't fully immersed myself with it yet though, i suspect it will happen soon enough. smile.gif

This post has been edited by nabzblitz: May 25 2011, 10:03 PM
E1 - AKG
post May 25 2011, 10:18 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ May 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
Frankly, was busy sending the E11s out, didn't even get to listen to it properly blush.gif

hellfire8888
post May 26 2011, 03:28 PM

3,196 posts

damn damn damn unit not arrive yet
CHR15
post May 26 2011, 04:53 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 26 2011, 03:28 PM)
damn damn damn unit not arrive yet
huh how come take to long still not arrive yet ? doh.gif
did u ask bro e1 to track for u hmm.gif
hellfire8888
post May 26 2011, 08:33 PM

3,196 posts

It is deliver to a guy base on the tracking number.. I will go back to company to see who is that guy
CHR15
post May 26 2011, 09:11 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 26 2011, 08:33 PM)
It is deliver to a guy base on the tracking number.. I will go back to company to see who is that guy
omg hope that guy stole urs e11
hellfire8888
post May 26 2011, 09:18 PM

3,196 posts

Lol
noobandroid
post May 26 2011, 10:44 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 26 2011, 09:18 PM)
Lol
actually it got delivered to my home, thanks ah friend
E1 - AKG
post May 26 2011, 11:14 PM

6,439 posts

Any other review yet hmm.gif

kiscyn
post May 27 2011, 05:05 AM

QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ May 7 2011, 09:12 AM)
thanks 4 that info, will pm him shortly. daym, the size really identical to fuze  drool.gif

design wise, the input/output is placed inline with volume controller which, for me, is pocket/pouch friendly not to mention LOD friendly also

rsa shadow doest comply to that:

pico slim oso have design like that:

sked LOD stretch too much and got spoiled. sad.gif
That is a perfect dock cable for Pico shocking.gif , Could you please tell me where id you buy it?
Thanks! nod.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 27 2011, 09:45 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(kiscyn @ May 27 2011, 05:05 AM)
That is a perfect dock cable for Pico shocking.gif , Could you please tell me where id you buy it?
Thanks! nod.gif
The FiiO L9 is coming in late June, limited units due to Japan's earthquake.

hellfire8888
post May 27 2011, 11:24 AM

3,196 posts

ok receive my LOD and e11..
jinggothegreat
post May 27 2011, 11:32 AM

333 posts

its been 3 days, my 20+ hours impression:

test rig: sansa Fuze v2 + upocc silver LOD by i_djoel2000 + fiio E11

I have 3 iems and 1 headphones at disposal (+1 at my gf):
IEM: UE TF10vi, Hippo VB, Meelectonic M11p+
Headphone: senn HD555.

Songs used:
as i'm a metal songs fan, this impression maybe bias on others:
Agahodaimon - Winterchild (Main)
Children of bodom - trashed lost and strungout (highs/speed attack)
Epica - Fools of damnation (harmony/soundstage)
Lenka - Everything at once (vocal) <-- this is pop song, metal song usually lacks of vocal clarity

SQ:
The gain is thumbup.gif and the EQ switch is fun to play with. generally most phones got wider soundstage on gain and extra bass punch added. drool.gif mids & highs are notably improved on iems but not much on HD555 maybe due to the low current mode. hmm.gif

i cannot agree less with ClieOS for the nature of the amp; quite neutral, unless the EQ switch is turned up to level 2.

Vocal:
crispy clear and seems tad a little brighter for my TF10, but i enjoy that. cool.gif not that it matters much in metal songs.

Sibilant:
nothing to note on this. my phones are not naturally reeks of sibilance. hissing? barely noticeable, even on stop playing + 30% volume

Well, this oughta stop me from upgrading for the time being, next stop maybe 2050mah batt brows.gif used by sifu ClieOS
i got a D10 cobra but comparison with E11 seems unjust, sorry for a nooby impression notworthy.gif

hellfire8888
post May 27 2011, 01:33 PM

3,196 posts

sound better compare to E5 but donno is due to amp or due to LOD
CHR15
post May 27 2011, 01:58 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 27 2011, 11:24 AM)
ok receive my LOD and e11..
oh good so that guy didn't telan ur e11 rclxms.gif
hellfire8888
post May 27 2011, 03:34 PM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ May 27 2011, 02:58 PM)
oh good so that guy didn't telan ur e11  rclxms.gif
if he did he will be fire...
CHR15
post May 27 2011, 04:41 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 27 2011, 03:34 PM)
if he did he will be fire...
fire u mean hellfire oh yeah let him burn
E1 - AKG
post May 27 2011, 05:53 PM

6,439 posts

any more pictures of your other gears with the E11 hmm.gif
noobandroid
post May 27 2011, 06:26 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

if i have it, it will be connected to my pc using ssyycc techflex cable and the other end the SRH 440
CoolBoy89
post May 27 2011, 06:57 PM

Hear No Evil.
1,801 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 27 2011, 06:26 PM)
if i have it, it will be connected to my pc using ssyycc techflex cable and the other end the SRH 440
What are u trying to imply here? sweat.gif
jinggothegreat
post May 27 2011, 07:38 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 27 2011, 05:53 PM)
any more pictures of your other gears with the E11  hmm.gif
Nah

From Top: My phone (HTC TP2), FiiO E11 & Sansa Fuze V2

Dont they look alike with the same color theme? laugh.gif

portable listening rig in action
calmshot
post May 27 2011, 07:50 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

nice fuze setup, great combination with the e11.
hellfire8888
post May 27 2011, 08:33 PM

3,196 posts

later free i take foto post..
noobandroid
post May 27 2011, 08:54 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(CoolBoy89 @ May 27 2011, 06:57 PM)
What are u trying to imply here?  sweat.gif
that mine is on the way
viruz019
post May 28 2011, 12:53 AM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

I'm doing something i don't think I'm suppose to do (i think). But I'm enjoying it! wub.gif

connect my laptop to my FiiO E11 input and output to my Edifier C3 and my woofer bass become instant punchy wub.gif wub.gif

Pictures of my E11 paired with my devices coming soon! tongue.gif
hellfire8888
post May 28 2011, 01:02 AM

3,196 posts

what u use E11 to power a desktop speaker? somemore Edifier c3?? i wonder will it help for my edifier s2.1D?
viruz019
post May 28 2011, 02:25 AM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

hahah..cause i was looking at it and thinking what will happen..plug it in..and it shows good results..my woofer become punchy...but then the oni prob is i duno if it's good for the amp or not hmm.gif
Honky
post May 28 2011, 02:16 PM

58 posts

Just got the E11 from E1-AKG couple days back (awesome seller thumbup.gif )

Tested it for 2 days now with different gears and my early impressions are like Clie, simply WOWOWOW. Here's a quick rundown of gear i tested with:

Headphones:
Sennheiser HD558
Beyer Dynamic DT770
Sennheiser PMX680 Adidas sport
Roccat Kave(not tested yet)

Amplifiers for comparison:
Go vibe peak desktop amp
HippoBox+

Sennheiser HD558:
This is my preferred headphone to be paired with the E11, being only 50ohms it was easy for the E11 to drive it. The soundstage and sound separation was greatly improved with the E11, and the bass boost at maximum just about adds enough bass without sacrificing the mids and highs, the Govibe's bass boost instead overboosts at times and causes some crackling sounds sometimes.

Beyer DT770:
I was suprised that the E11 could actually drive my 250ohms DT770, albeit not as good as the Govibe deskamp, but still sounded good enough. It get a little muddly at much higher volumes, but then again the 770 wasnt really meant as a portable headphone in the first place.

Sennheiser PMX680 Adidas sport:
Being an intraaural headphone with a subpar driver, I wasn't expecting much from pairing it with the E11, but oh my, i was so wrong. The E11 actually made the mids and high more clear and crisp, bringing new life to my underwhelming PMX680. Though bass boost can't be used here as it muddles the mids and highs and the bass became too boomy.

Comparing to HippoBox+:
I don't own a hippobox but i've tested it thoroughly once with my 558, its a nice little amp but since it cost RM300 which is nearly 80 bucks more than the E11, and doesnt really sound any better than the E11, plus the E11 has better bass boost compared to the HippoBox, i'd definitely say the E11 is a better buy. And it has a volume control, which the HippoBox lacks. Only advantage i see in the HippoBox is the smaller size and metal housing

Gripes:
The only 2 issues i have with the E11 is that you can't use it while charging, and the housing is purely plastic, unlike other portable headamp (Ibasso, HippoBox etc)

All in all, the E11 is a definite good buy and bloody great value.You folks should get this from E1-AKG while its still on preorder price. If Fiio keeps improving like this and still keeping it economical, they're gonna spoil the market soon tongue.gif

Pictures will be uploaded later

This post has been edited by Honky: May 28 2011, 02:17 PM
CHR15
post May 28 2011, 07:32 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Honky @ May 28 2011, 02:16 PM)
Just got the E11 from E1-AKG couple days back (awesome seller thumbup.gif )

Tested it for 2 days now with different gears and my early impressions are like Clie, simply WOWOWOW. Here's a quick rundown of gear i tested with:

Headphones:
Sennheiser HD558
Beyer Dynamic DT770
Sennheiser PMX680 Adidas sport
Roccat Kave(not tested yet)

Amplifiers for comparison:
Go vibe peak desktop amp
HippoBox+

Sennheiser HD558:
This is my preferred headphone to be paired with the E11, being only 50ohms it was easy for the E11 to drive it. The soundstage and sound separation was greatly improved with the E11, and the bass boost at maximum just about adds enough bass without sacrificing the mids and highs, the Govibe's bass boost instead overboosts at times and causes some crackling sounds sometimes.

Beyer DT770:
I was suprised that the E11 could actually drive my 250ohms DT770, albeit not as good as the Govibe deskamp, but still sounded good enough. It get a little muddly at much higher volumes, but then again the 770 wasnt really meant as a portable headphone in the first place.

Sennheiser PMX680 Adidas sport:
Being an intraaural headphone with a subpar driver, I wasn't expecting much from pairing it with the E11, but oh my, i was so wrong. The E11 actually made the mids and high more clear and crisp, bringing new life to my underwhelming PMX680. Though bass boost can't be used here as it muddles the mids and highs and the bass became too boomy.

Comparing to HippoBox+:
I don't own a hippobox but i've tested it thoroughly once with my 558, its a nice little amp but since it cost RM300 which is nearly 80 bucks more than the E11, and doesnt really sound any better than the E11, plus the E11 has better bass boost compared to the HippoBox, i'd definitely say the E11 is a better buy. And it has a volume control, which the HippoBox lacks. Only advantage i see in the HippoBox is the smaller size and metal housing

Gripes:
The only 2 issues i have with the E11 is that you can't use it while charging, and the housing is purely plastic, unlike other portable headamp (Ibasso, HippoBox etc)

All in all, the E11 is a definite good buy and bloody great value.You folks should get this from E1-AKG while its still on preorder price.If Fiio keeps improving like this and still keeping it economical, they're gonna spoil the market soon  tongue.gif

Pictures will be uploaded later
i agree with that thumbup.gif
wkkm007
post May 28 2011, 07:46 PM

3,123 posts

Just want to know will fiio e11 boost Sony Ericsson MH-500 Bass Reflex earphone cause I still want to use the mic. Does this bottleneck fiio e11? If want to upgrade to IEM cheapest need how much to pair e11? I am using ipod touch 4th gen and SE x10. fiio e11 using 3.5mm so I can use it on both device.

CODE
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1751771&hl=MH+500

here is the pic that I add silicon earbud (ibud) to my MH-500 Bass Reflex earphone.

Another question there are how many type technology of earphone drive beside Bass Reflex. Does Bass Reflex good?

This post has been edited by wkkm007: May 28 2011, 07:52 PM
calmshot
post May 28 2011, 10:55 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ May 28 2011, 07:46 PM)
Just want to know will fiio e11 boost Sony Ericsson MH-500 Bass Reflex earphone cause I still want to use the mic. Does this bottleneck fiio e11? If want to upgrade to IEM cheapest need how much to pair e11? I am using ipod touch 4th gen and SE x10. fiio e11 using 3.5mm so I can use it on both device.

CODE

here is the pic that I add silicon earbud (ibud) to my MH-500 Bass Reflex earphone.

Another question there are how many type technology of earphone drive beside Bass Reflex. Does Bass Reflex good?
Bro, suggest u to upgrade ur earphone to any audiophile earphone available. Sony erricsson earphone is not good at all and it sux for music listening unless it is only sony, sorry to say.

There are 2 type of earphone driver which is dynamic driver and balance armature driver. No such bass reflex, it just marketing name. Dont get fooled by those.

So rather than buying an amp, please upgrade ur earphone first.

This post has been edited by calmshot: May 28 2011, 11:07 PM
jinggothegreat
post May 29 2011, 12:20 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ May 28 2011, 07:46 PM)

CODE

hmm.gif u still want the mic function?

i cant imagine how you utilize the mic while hooking it up to any amp bigger than fiio E3/E5 rclxub.gif

i also agree with bro calmshot. get urself an audiophile iem before thinking of amping it
wkkm007
post May 29 2011, 01:21 AM

3,123 posts

I am kind person new to audiophile world. This year just read about audiophile world thing. Last time,I ve 0 knowledge on this. I was shock price of Sennheiser earphone (1k++) in Machine@Sunway piramid. I usually buy the Sony MDR-E818LP Fontopia Earphone(earbud type rm25) always spoil (1 side no sound) then I buy Sony MDR-Q38LW Clip type (like wearing bluetooth handfree) headphone cause when jogging or running time this won't drop. When I get my SE x10 earphone and I listen it is the best of all my earphone. Then I get ipod the stock earphone even worst the SE x10 earphone. So, a pair of good earphone have bass and what are the other factor? All audiophile sifu here can recommend me what earphone is suitable for me just a beginner to enter audiophile world. Most of my song collection are in mp3. Does sony good? like ex monitor series. does IEM provide Noise Canceling?

This post has been edited by wkkm007: May 29 2011, 01:29 AM
calmshot
post May 29 2011, 02:13 AM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

Please go to recommendation thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1849925 and ask wat u need and wat is ur budget.

Why u looking at rm1k iem? There is lotsa below rm250 good audiophile iem with mic. Even there is rm80-100.

Again please discuss this in the link given.

Added on May 29, 2011, 2:16 amBro e1 got sell KOSS iem with mic. And it is affordable.

This post has been edited by calmshot: May 29 2011, 02:16 AM
jinggothegreat
post May 29 2011, 02:54 AM

333 posts

doing a personal favor for bro E1-AKG. impression using AIAIAI TMA-1:

this can was utilized by my gf (around 50+ hours of usage)

EQ:
the gain was spectacular! these cans can cope the speed of tiny double pedal beat with good precision and details. highs improved well on first EQ, soundstage widen more and piercing highs on second stage of eq. the brightness of second eq flip might irritates those loving trance and disco beat.

mids are not the strength of dj monitoring headphones, but the amp does squeeze enough mids for bassheads. for me? no. no no no no noooooooo cool.gif. dont hate me for thr honest opinion icon_rolleyes.gif

vocal:
vocals are clear, vocal-music separation also improve maybe due to soundstage widening. this makes pop song more attractive

sibilant:
too little too notice. hissings also same

note: the second eq makes tma-1 shining so bright that i can only bear 2 songs before needing a break. first EQ is fine. below is the setup picture:

wkkm007
post May 29 2011, 03:11 AM

3,123 posts

cool u are using e11. the cable from ur sandisk sansa to e11 cause how much? what is the name of the connector,it is PDMI?
E1 - AKG
post May 29 2011, 08:11 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ May 29 2011, 03:11 AM)

cool u are using e11. the cable from ur sandisk sansa to e11 cause how much? what is the name of the connector,it is PDMI?
FiiO does have a LOD for the Sansa.
hellfire8888
post May 29 2011, 01:22 PM

3,196 posts

When I use LoD for iPhone , then I goto the phone equalizer it still affect the sound.. So what is the real purpose of Lod for iPhone..? I thought it will emit ori sound without amping but changing the equalizer setting on phone do have effect wo... Hope u guys can teach me
tunertoobe
post May 29 2011, 01:36 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 29 2011, 01:22 PM)
When I use LoD for iPhone , then I goto the phone equalizer it still affect the sound.. So what is the real purpose of Lod for iPhone..? I thought it will emit ori sound without amping but changing the equalizer setting on phone do have effect wo... Hope u guys can teach me
I don't know if it's actually accurate or not, but it is logical.
What I learn from Sansa Fuze is that, with the Sansa, volume control is done at the CPU stage rather than the amp stage. The data is added to the audio before going through the amp.
Probably this is what's happening with the Iphone EQ. The data is added to the audio, then goes through the DAC. The audio itself has been changed at the fundamental level. Amp or no amp the EQ isn't affected.

Please correct me if I'm wrong anyone. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: May 29 2011, 01:40 PM
nabzblitz
post May 29 2011, 01:56 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 29 2011, 01:22 PM)
Interestingly, i've never tried changing the EQ while using my LOD. So all i've noticed so far is that the volume can only be changed with the amp.
Needless to say the SQ is a lot better with the LOD, but i assumed since volume control can't be done in the iPod itself, the EQ can't be changed either.

Also, i thought what the LOD does is bypass the internal amp entirely. So maybe the EQ isn't the function of the internal amp? Hmm..

This post has been edited by nabzblitz: May 29 2011, 01:58 PM
Cyclone1
post May 29 2011, 05:43 PM

408 posts

Guyz, how do I know if my player need a amplifier in order to drive my headphone?

I'm using Superlux HD668B (56Ohms) and my players are usually my PSP, phone (galaxy S), ipod shuffles and sometimes my laptop.
tunertoobe
post May 29 2011, 06:09 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ May 29 2011, 05:43 PM)
Guyz, how do I know if my player need a amplifier in order to drive my headphone?

I'm using Superlux HD668B (56Ohms) and my players are usually my PSP, phone (galaxy S), ipod shuffles and sometimes my laptop.
Weaker sound characteristics, like when a familiar song should have a tight bass, it seems blunted off a bit. Also you'll notice that you need some extra volume.
Silenced
post May 29 2011, 07:30 PM

439 posts

guys,i am thinking to upgrade my source,now i am using hippo vb and superlux 681,and pairing with my zune hd.

so should i get a C30 mp3 player or an E11 amp?
viruz019
post May 29 2011, 08:50 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

you already have your Zune HD, i would say stick to it and grab the E11 Amp. Though the C30 player is good as well.
viruz019
post May 29 2011, 09:17 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

I'm just a newbie in Audiophile world, so I don't think my review will proof any big difference tongue.gif.

Firstly, let me present some pictures of the FiiO E11.

The box is simple yet nice. Like the metal box provided, using it as my carrying case.

Back of the box.

Some technical Specifications of the E11.

Without hesitation, i quickly open up my casing like a little kid opening his can of candies tongue.gif

All the accessories that is provided inside the box.

The amp itself. Small and light, very easy to carry around.

Power and battery status indicator.

The high/low gain along with the Equalizer.

USB/Charger slot and the input/output jack.

Opening the battery hatch will expose the battery.

Take away the battery and you will notice there's a switch below. High Power / Low Power.

My Audiophile Rig.

Here comes a nooby review smile.gif. As shown above, i tested the E11 amp with my C30 MP3 player, F1 ProCube IEM and Shure SRH440. I didn't really try out the amp with the F1 Cube yet as it's in the process of burning in. But when i hook the E11 with my Shure SRH440, i was simply amaze with what this amp can do. Wider soundstage, higher mids and highs and definitely stronger bass. I tried hooking up my FiiO E11 with my Edifier C3 to my laptop (I seriously don't know if this is good for the amp or not tongue.gif) and the woofer from the C3 becomes really punchy and produce deep strong bass. I'm shock with what that little thing can do. In my honest opinion, spending RM228 on this amp is seriously worth it. As they say, "Every penny well spent" tongue.gif.

In-terms of size, the E11 is small and easy to carry around. It fits into the pocket nicely as well. Below are some pictures of a comparison chart of the size of the E11.

(Left-Right) Cube C30 MP3, FiiO E11, HTC Desire HD with Case-Mate PoP! Case, Western Digital MyPassport.

My final verdict, go for it. As a beginner, this is a really good amp to try out. Like someone posted here, better get this fast before their price shoot up if they keep producing something as great as this. smile.gif. Hope you enjoy viewing this biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by viruz019: May 29 2011, 09:18 PM
hellfire8888
post May 29 2011, 11:18 PM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ May 29 2011, 06:43 PM)

i try E11 with superlux hd681 and hd668b ...seriously e11 + hd668b would not give you a major upgrade in sound if that is what you are expecting..in fact to the untrain ear you would not even notice the different . the only diff u will ever notice i guess is the bass..

Added on May 29, 2011, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(nabzblitz @ May 29 2011, 02:56 PM)
Interestingly, i've never tried changing the EQ while using my LOD. So all i've noticed so far is that the volume can only be changed with the amp.
Needless to say the SQ is a lot better with the LOD, but i assumed since volume control can't be done in the iPod itself, the EQ can't be changed either.

Also, i thought what the LOD does is bypass the internal amp entirely. So maybe the EQ isn't the function of the internal amp? Hmm..
volume cant be change from iphone when using the LOD but the equalize can...goto setting > ipod > Eq and change while you are playing a song..u will hear the different..that is the reason it make me wonder if the LOD on iphone 4 is really bypassing the iphone 4 internal amp or not..

This post has been edited by hellfire8888: May 29 2011, 11:20 PM
noobandroid
post May 29 2011, 11:34 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 29 2011, 11:18 PM)

Added on May 29, 2011, 11:20 pmvolume cant be change from iphone when using the LOD but the equalize can...goto setting > ipod > Eq and change while you are playing a song..u will hear the different..that is the reason it make me wonder if the LOD on iphone 4 is really bypassing the iphone 4 internal amp or not..
well, LOd works kinda like ASIO in the PC, you cant control the "wave" button, but you can still control eq and sorts, so yeah, generally LOD bypasses the amp but not the software control of the item
hellfire8888
post May 30 2011, 12:12 AM

3,196 posts

Some picture as requested..

This post has been edited by hellfire8888: May 30 2011, 12:16 AM
TSClieOS
post May 30 2011, 12:23 AM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 29 2011, 01:36 PM)

Probably this is what's happening with the Iphone EQ. The data is added to the audio, then goes through the DAC. The audio itself has been changed at the fundamental level. Amp or no amp the EQ isn't affected.

Please correct me if I'm wrong anyone.  biggrin.gif
Yes, you are right. Most digital source these days do their EQ in tehe digital domain, meaning EQ has been added to the digital stream before it is sent to the DAC.

volume cant be change from iphone when using the LOD but the equalize can...goto setting > ipod > Eq and change while you are playing a song..u will hear the different..that is the reason it make me wonder if the LOD on iphone 4 is really bypassing the iphone 4 internal amp or not..
Most digital source's volume is also digitally controlled too. Actually there is probably volume control (similar to an amp stage) in the DAC stage, but it is digitally disable to give a line-out signal. Now some might mistake that line-out must mean no amp, but there real thing is a little more complicated than that. The only requirement to be a line-out is that signal must be in line-level. As long as it is on line-level, it is a line-out (of course some line-out might be better than others)
Silenced
post May 30 2011, 12:32 AM

439 posts

i try E11 with superlux hd681 and hd668b ...seriously e11 + hd668b would not give you a major upgrade in sound if that is what you are expecting..in fact to the untrain ear you would not even notice the different . the only diff u will ever notice i guess is the bass..

Added on May 29, 2011, 11:20 pm
how does it pair with HD681 then? hmm.gif
CHR15
post May 30 2011, 10:11 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 30 2011, 12:12 AM)
Some picture as requested..
nice pic thumbup.gif
wkkm007
post May 30 2011, 11:59 AM

3,123 posts

Why I don't see audiophile user use sony walkman mp3/4 player? It is not so good rclxub.gif ? eg: Sony Walkman NWZ-A840(Audiophile series with s-master digital amp). how about creative zen x-fi2? And hippo gumstick(class A amp brows.gif ). These players oso come with internal stock (build in) amp, so does these player can/need pair with fiio e11 to enhance the IEM/Headphone performance ? Let say the user have a pair of good IEM/ headphone. I see so lyn audiophile user use sandisk-sansa player does it good?
tunertoobe
post May 30 2011, 04:10 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ May 30 2011, 11:59 AM)
Why I don't see audiophile user use sony walkman mp3/4 player? It is not so good rclxub.gif ? eg: Sony Walkman NWZ-A840(Audiophile series with s-master digital amp). how about creative zen x-fi2? And hippo gumstick(class A amp brows.gif ). These players oso come with internal stock (build in) amp, so does these player can/need pair with fiio e11 to enhance the IEM/Headphone performance ? Let say the user have a pair of good IEM/ headphone. I see so lyn audiophile user use sandisk-sansa player does it good?
S-Master is a marketing gimmick. Supposedly amplifies the digital signal rather than the analog signal. I don't know if the benefit of that is tru(lesser distortion they say) but I don't see other people doing it, or marketing it that much. Although they do sound quite fun and full bodied.
I've tried Zen X-Fi2, and I don't know if it's the setting, but holy crap, they were very bloated with bass.

Mind you, every single portable player in existance has an amp in them. If not we'd be listening directly from the DAC. laugh.gif It's just that some uses one that is a bit better than others. People use amp with their portable sometimes if they want their rig to sound a certain way, or the portable can't drive the IEM/headphone efficiently(needing more volume on the DAP to the point of distortion, having weaker characteristics like "lazy" bass, recessed mids etc.)

I've had a Sansa, very good for its price. Warm, but sometimes it feels like the flat frequency response needs a bit of encouragement. tongue.gif
E1 - AKG
post May 31 2011, 07:59 PM

6,439 posts

Wow! The pictures are like having the E11 disected tongue.gif

wkkm007
post May 31 2011, 10:34 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 30 2011, 02:10 PM)
S-Master is a marketing gimmick. Supposedly amplifies the digital signal rather than the analog signal. I don't know if the benefit of that is tru(lesser distortion they say) but I don't see other people doing it, or marketing it that much. Although they do sound quite fun and full bodied.
I've tried Zen X-Fi2, and I don't know if it's the setting, but holy crap, they were very bloated with bass.

Mind you, every single portable player in existance has an amp in them. If not we'd be listening directly from the DAC.  laugh.gif  It's just that some uses one that is a bit better than others. People use amp with their portable sometimes if they want their rig to sound a certain way, or the portable can't drive the IEM/headphone efficiently(needing more volume on the DAP to the point of distortion, having weaker characteristics like "lazy" bass, recessed mids etc.)

I've had a Sansa, very good for its price. Warm, but sometimes it feels like the flat frequency response needs a bit of encouragement.  tongue.gif
Can sansa play lossless file? Another question, cheapo mp3/4 player internal amp how bad? Bro calmshot told me big amp(eg: Fiio E11) need very good earphone/headphone to pair with it, how about the audio player(I mean cheapo mp3/4)? I know 2 thing cheapo mp3/4 player no Dock Adapter Cable and lossless feature.

This post has been edited by wkkm007: May 31 2011, 10:44 PM
MrJinggles
post May 31 2011, 10:57 PM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ May 31 2011, 10:34 PM)
Can sansa play lossless file? Another question, cheapo mp3/4 player internal amp how bad? Bro calmshot told me big amp(eg: Fiio E11) need very good earphone/headphone to pair with it, how about the audio player(I mean cheapo mp3/4)? I know 2 thing cheapo mp3/4 player no Dock Adapter Cable and lossless feature.
Clip/Clip+:
http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a...lip%20supported

Fuze/Fuze+:
http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a...d-music-formats

Sansa View:
http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a...iew%20supported

You're welcome.

Agnaem
post May 31 2011, 11:06 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ May 31 2011, 10:34 PM)
Define cheapo. Cuz, sansa clip+ and cube c30 is pretty much cheap to me, but have a decent SQ(sound quality) and can play lossless format.

Anyway, as for pairing source, amp and headphones; AFAIK the ideal would be a a good source with line out, good amp and good headphones. (or replace the word good to great if you'd like tongue.gif)

Though, the synergy between components is usually more important i.e. a setup that doesn't use headphone out to amp may sound better than another setup which uses line out, despite the fact that they're using the same amp and headphones. In the end, you'll have to test out the combination of player/amp/headphone yourself to know.

Just my 2 cents. Experts are welcomed to CMIIW. biggrin.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 1 2011, 11:01 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

aiyaaa, sial timing!! when i just went home, the PosLaju guy left 5 minutes before, now i have to arrange Self Collect my E11, zz
E1 - AKG
post Jun 1 2011, 11:27 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 1 2011, 11:01 PM)
aiyaaa, sial timing!! when i just went home, the PosLaju guy left 5 minutes before, now i have to arrange Self Collect my E11, zz
Goodness shakehead.gif
islubio
post Jun 2 2011, 03:12 AM

90 posts

That's sad lol.
Enjoying my e11 as i reply. Like the wider soundstage from the e11. xD

E1 - AKG
post Jun 2 2011, 08:20 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 1 2011, 11:01 PM)
Getting high on your poison by now hmm.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 2 2011, 09:41 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

it's been into the third hour

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:03 pmokay here is my impression of Fiio E11 with my PC Rig
Songs i am testing on:

喔爱 - 曹格(MP3 VBR V2 44.1Khz)

I will not go into specifics like treble bass and stuff, i will just do an overall, vocals are clear, with saxophones, flutes, drum, pitches, background vocals all visibly audible. Sound stage is very clearly separated, i can differentiate if the sub-vocals are near the singer, saxophones at quite behind with the flutes, and drums in the center stage, placement differentiation is nice. An A for a VBR format MP3 playback

Mutiny - Hans Zimmer The OST of "On Stranger's Tide" ( FLAC 912 kbps 44.1Khz)

This soundtrack is fully orchestral, and i can hear very clearly all the minor details in the song, like the small "oomph" sound by the vocal team, the echo of the equipments, which normally nobody would mention. Superb performance for Flac based songs, with all details coming out and can notice even the slightest "hm" sound by the vocal team.

Turn Around (5,4,3,2,1) (Prod. by DJ Frank E; Dada Life, Oligee) - Flo Rida (MP3 CBR 320kbps 48Khz)

This is a rap + techno song, and basically hearing for DJ mix in background, which was not very obvious in my Hippo Box, in this it is clear that the DJ mixed up some of the sound effects, and background vocals. Keyboard playback is clear running through left and right of the SRH440.

and thats about all audio format commonly listened by us, and i categorized it out, and i have to conclude:

FLAC - of course in FLAC format songs, i get my maximum hearing pleasure with all he detailing well placed and positioned
VBR MP3 - this is kinda a balanced one, some details are able to reflect well, some don't, maybe cause of the nature of VBR format
CBR MP3 - now, this is an all rounder, not much goes out of line, and also lost, everything is flat through the line, but still in elevated level in comparison

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:06 pmforgot to mention all are used under "High Power High Gain Zero EQ" and ASIO F2k, max vol on PC, volume at only 2 (very loud d!!!) on Fiio E11

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Jun 2 2011, 10:06 PM
CHR15
post Jun 3 2011, 12:01 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 2 2011, 09:41 PM)
it's been into the third hour

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:03 pmokay here is my impression of Fiio E11 with my PC Rig
Songs i am testing on:

喔爱 - 曹格(MP3 VBR V2 44.1Khz)

I will not go into specifics like treble bass and stuff, i will just do an overall, vocals are clear, with saxophones, flutes, drum, pitches, background vocals all visibly audible. Sound stage is very clearly separated, i can differentiate if the sub-vocals are near the singer, saxophones at quite behind with the flutes, and drums in the center stage, placement differentiation is nice. An A for a VBR format MP3 playback

Mutiny - Hans Zimmer The OST of "On Stranger's Tide" ( FLAC 912 kbps 44.1Khz)

This soundtrack is fully orchestral, and i can hear very clearly all the minor details in the song, like the small "oomph" sound by the vocal team, the echo of the equipments, which normally nobody would mention. Superb performance for Flac based songs, with all details coming out and can notice even the slightest "hm" sound by the vocal team.

Turn Around (5,4,3,2,1) (Prod. by DJ Frank E; Dada Life, Oligee) - Flo Rida (MP3 CBR 320kbps 48Khz)

This is a rap + techno song, and basically hearing for DJ mix in background, which was not very obvious in my Hippo Box, in this it is clear that the DJ mixed up some of the sound effects, and background vocals. Keyboard playback is clear running through left and right of the SRH440.

and thats about all audio format commonly listened by us, and i categorized it out, and i have to conclude:

FLAC - of course in FLAC format songs, i get my maximum hearing pleasure with all he detailing well placed and positioned
VBR MP3 - this is kinda a balanced one, some details are able to reflect well, some don't, maybe cause of the nature of VBR format
CBR MP3 - now, this is an all rounder, not much goes out of line, and also lost, everything is flat through the line, but still in elevated level in comparison

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:06 pmforgot to mention all are used under "High Power High Gain Zero EQ" and ASIO F2k, max vol on PC, volume  at only 2 (very loud d!!!) on Fiio E11
wow good review so detail thanks
me too,enjoy e11 very much but not as detail as u did all i can say is it sound good doh.gif

tunertoobe
post Jun 3 2011, 01:28 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(islubio @ Jun 2 2011, 03:12 AM)
That's sad lol.
Enjoying my e11 as i reply. Like the wider soundstage from the e11. xD

Those IEM look a lot like Vsonics....are they?
E1 - AKG
post Jun 8 2011, 07:35 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jun 3 2011, 01:28 PM)
Those IEM look a lot like Vsonics....are they?
Any more photos hmm.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 8 2011, 08:33 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

this is where i sit at least 6 hours a day

E1 - AKG
post Jun 8 2011, 08:52 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 8 2011, 08:33 PM)
this is where i sit at least 6 hours a day

Wow! Did you use Bluetac to stick the E11 hmm.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 8 2011, 08:54 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

no, i use sticky pad called "Gekko", re-washable and reusable
CHR15
post Jun 8 2011, 10:34 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 8 2011, 08:54 PM)
no, i use sticky pad called "Gekko", re-washable and reusable
last time nissan was giving the gekko free just like their page at facebook and go to their showroom test drive then got it thumbup.gif

noobandroid
post Jun 9 2011, 03:49 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ Jun 8 2011, 10:34 PM)
last time nissan was giving the gekko free just like their page at facebook and go to their showroom test drive then got it  thumbup.gif
i still got stock for Gekko.. interested? brows.gif
E1 - AKG
post Jun 10 2011, 09:07 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 9 2011, 03:49 PM)
i still got stock for Gekko.. interested? brows.gif
Any more opinion hmm.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 10 2011, 09:16 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 10 2011, 09:07 PM)
Any more opinion  hmm.gif
opinion on what??
E1 - AKG
post Jun 10 2011, 09:20 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 10 2011, 09:16 PM)
opinion on what??
The E11 of course blink.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 10 2011, 09:25 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 10 2011, 09:20 PM)
The E11 of course  blink.gif
then y u quote my text jeh, made me misunderstand shakehead.gif
E1 - AKG
post Jun 15 2011, 06:57 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 10 2011, 09:25 PM)
then y u quote my text jeh, made me misunderstand  shakehead.gif
Have another 10 units coming, anyone else interested hmm.gif
DeMoNBLooD
post Jun 29 2011, 03:27 PM

195 posts

will fiio e11 make any sound , bass ,and soundstage any different for my ipod shuffle 4th g and sennheiser ie6?
noobandroid
post Jun 29 2011, 04:27 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(DeMoNBLooD @ Jun 29 2011, 03:27 PM)
will fiio e11 make any sound , bass ,and soundstage any different for my ipod shuffle 4th g and sennheiser ie6?
well basically wider soundstage, deeper bass with good control, vocal pused up a bit, very nice elevations overall
DeMoNBLooD
post Jun 29 2011, 04:36 PM

195 posts

ok thx noobandroid i think is worth buying a amp huh @_@
noobandroid
post Jun 29 2011, 06:31 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(DeMoNBLooD @ Jun 29 2011, 04:36 PM)
ok thx noobandroid i think is worth buying a amp huh @_@
this one is the best for poor budget people like me
predicate undefined
post Jul 5 2011, 10:46 AM

30 posts

what would be best for my next UPGRAGE

Sony NWZ S746 (32GB) > FiiO e11 (waiting arrival) > Grado Sr60; AKG K26P; Philip SHP 8900

still waiting e11 to arrive as my Little dot micro + died because of ants infection... mad.gif bad ants

so what would be my next upgrade?

should I buy Ipod + LOD or sony is better?

or should I buy Senn HD555 or other (ER4p or ur suggestion)?

please... need advise icon_question.gif
E1 - AKG
post Jul 11 2011, 08:51 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(predicate undefined @ Jul 5 2011, 10:46 AM)
what would be best for my next UPGRAGE

Sony NWZ S746 (32GB) > FiiO e11 (waiting arrival) > Grado Sr60; AKG K26P; Philip SHP 8900

still waiting e11 to arrive as my Little dot micro + died because of ants infection...  mad.gif bad ants

so what would be my next upgrade?

should I buy Ipod + LOD or sony is better?

or should I buy Senn HD555 or other (ER4p or ur suggestion)?

please... need advise  icon_question.gif
The newer Sony models does not have a dock connection right hmm.gif Which means you can't bypass the characteristic of the in-built amp.

By the way, had taken the liberty to re-post your review at the sales thread, hope you don't mind.

This is a sum of 2 different posts by Bro @predicate undefined at the E11 sales thread:

Post #59

emm...
what can I say...
in short, it BLEW me away

recently I begin to listen to Kenny G - Loving you
I used to play saxophone before, I play tennor saxophone
but listen to grado, with unamped, never really pleased me,
when the amp arrive, and that is the first song I listen to...
sheeeet... its sounds almost real...
darn, its good.

then I plug in philips SHP8900, I never expect much from this
but its even better for saxophone sound. the high notes really 'hit the spot'
I can't get THAT sound on my AKG K26p, or Grado SR60, or Sony NC earphone
too bad the cable sleeve starts to break and fall apart to pieces. aging problem I think. need to recabble,
now I begin to like my SHP8900

the only down part is
there are gap when turning volume CW to CCW.like 1mm gap, is it normal or just mine?
of course it doesn't effect anything, just.... u know. being fussy I guess

summary:
it increase the soundstage of my grado and akg
it adds clear and crisp, can hear clearly during vocal offbeat of Flyleaf - All around me
it can drive my philip SHP8900
the EQ selection from 0,1,2 really helps when switching earphone/headphone.
consider as small
Excellent, at least for me

it beat my previous amp, little dot micro +.

Post #61

Now enjoying Keisha - Blow. My grado vibrates because of the bass boost.
not that I enjoy loud music and big bass, but enuff to show of to people who don't know 'audiophile'
and keep saying 'why the heck I spent the money for all that stuff'

and the journey continues...

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Jul 11 2011, 08:52 PM
SUSnordingh
post Jul 12 2011, 11:43 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

Hmmm... don't know where to start.... anyway here is my opinion:

Got my E11 yesterday evening thumbup.gif. Have bought E3 (sold) and also E5 (both 1st version, bought just after available to market).

Compare to E5, E11 give more OMMPH to the music. flex.gif Without the amp, my SRH440, I can hear some sound that missing before. Added E11, there is even more. Bass tighter and punchier. Balance in high and mid.

Most of time I put gain to Low and EQ to 1 or 2, depend on the music type. That what I like about E11, got switch that will give a different sound. I like to change it on the fly.

Really recommended to all if you use DAP most of the time.

My friend got CMOY but haven't have time to really compare with E11. (always bz at the office). doh.gif

Current setup:
raysiew
post Jul 17 2011, 09:42 PM

50 posts

bros, any comments if i am to use e11 with beats tour on ipad2? sweat.gif

mind my noobness
E1 - AKG
post Jul 17 2011, 10:14 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(raysiew @ Jul 17 2011, 09:42 PM)
bros, any comments if i am to use e11 with beats tour on ipad2?  sweat.gif

mind my noobness
With FiiO E11 via FiiO L3 LOD, you will get much improved clarity on the mid/hi and tighter bass from your iPad to your Tour. nod.gif
mhsey75
post Jul 18 2011, 12:37 AM

I wonder how is the improve sound if E11 pair with IPod Touch + Koss PortaPro? Hmm........
SUSnordingh
post Jul 18 2011, 04:28 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

I have test E11 with a few headphone, I can say it will improve the bass (low feq) but still depend on the set you using... even with some cheap2 one will hear some different but not so much.

Last saturday, I bring my E11 to Times Square to test some cheap headphone. The seller there never see E11 before and really curious to test it. From what I can see in their face impression, they really like it and keep asking where I bought it.
raysiew
post Jul 18 2011, 06:10 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jul 17 2011, 10:14 PM)
With FiiO E11 via FiiO L3 LOD, you will get much improved clarity on the mid/hi and tighter bass from your iPad to your Tour.  nod.gif
so bro, for a budget of approx rm1500, is this the best i can get?

e11 + L3 LOD + beats tour?

i have not purchased any one of them yet. still thinking which combination is the best. am more favourable to beats branding for the plugs as i understand its more bass oriented. any suggestions bro?

thanks cool2.gif
SUSnordingh
post Jul 18 2011, 07:33 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(raysiew @ Jul 18 2011, 06:10 AM)

i have not purchased any one of them yet. still thinking which combination is the best. am more favourable to beats branding for the plugs as i understand its more bass oriented. any suggestions bro?

thanks  cool2.gif
If you like bass then Beat can beat all others... you can feel the bass vibrate on your ears...
E1 - AKG
post Jul 18 2011, 09:09 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(mhsey75 @ Jul 18 2011, 12:37 AM)
I wonder how is the improve sound if E11 pair with IPod Touch + Koss PortaPro? Hmm........
You will need to connect the iTouch to the FiiO E11 via FiiO L3 LOD and you will get much imporved clarity.

Added on July 18, 2011, 9:17 am
QUOTE(raysiew @ Jul 18 2011, 06:10 AM)

thanks  cool2.gif
Do consider the Quincy Jones Signature Line's Q350 from AKG. It comes with 3 button Control Talk for Play, Pause, Skip, Volume. However, as with the Beats Tour, when you use an add-on amp, the Control Talk will not function.

Added on August 31, 2011, 9:51 amFor those who had missed out on the first two shipments of 30 units, the next batch of 10 units is arriving on the week of 5th September. nod.gif

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Aug 31 2011, 09:51 AM
E1 - AKG
post Aug 31 2011, 09:53 AM

6,439 posts

For those who missed out on the first two shipment of 30 units, the next batch of 10 units is arriving on the week of 5th September nod.gif

SUSnordingh
post Aug 31 2011, 01:37 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

I saw on website, E6 already featured there.
Lennox
post Aug 31 2011, 08:01 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Aug 31 2011, 09:53 AM)
For those who missed out on the first two shipment of 30 units, the next batch of 10 units is arriving on the week of 5th September  nod.gif

only 10? reserved one for me bro!
noobandroid
post Sep 1 2011, 11:29 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

somebody out there please make up a Fiio fans club, the audiophile section is getting populated with "Fiio"ers d
Lennox
post Sep 2 2011, 12:01 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 1 2011, 11:29 PM)
somebody out there please make up a Fiio fans club, the audiophile section is getting populated with "Fiio"ers d
Bro E1 should do it smile.gif
SUSnordingh
post Sep 2 2011, 12:45 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 1 2011, 11:29 PM)
QUOTE(Lennox @ Sep 2 2011, 12:01 AM)
Bro E1 should do it smile.gif
Done

Fiio Fan Clubs

Come.. join...
E1 - AKG
post Sep 2 2011, 12:50 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Sep 2 2011, 12:45 AM)
Done

Fiio Fan Clubs

Come.. join...
rclxms.gif
Lennox
post Sep 2 2011, 08:40 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Sep 2 2011, 12:45 AM)
Done

Fiio Fan Clubs

Come.. join...
notworthy.gif
Far_76
post Sep 7 2011, 05:05 PM

97 posts

Question.. I have a E7 but im thinking of getting a Asus Xonar STX. Would there be a difference if i connect the two together? Or is it better if i just buy a E9/E11 and connect it to the E7? hmm.gif Usually use speakers (cheapo Edifier E3100..hehe), ATH-T500 or Monster Turbines.
E1 - AKG
post Sep 7 2011, 08:46 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(Far_76 @ Sep 7 2011, 05:05 PM)
Question.. I have a E7 but im thinking of getting a Asus Xonar STX. Would there be a difference if i connect the two together? Or is it better if i just buy a E9/E11 and connect it to the E7? hmm.gif Usually use speakers (cheapo Edifier E3100..hehe), ATH-T500 or Monster Turbines.
Don't understand the rationale behind what you are trying to achieve rclxub.gif
Lennox
post Sep 7 2011, 08:55 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

Are you wanna connect everything together?
SUSnordingh
post Sep 7 2011, 11:00 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

If you use E7 as USB DAC (connected using USB cable), then what is the point getting Xonar. It's will bypass Xonar anyway or your current sound card. If you use E7 as amp only (connect sound card output to E7 input), no point to keep your E7, you not utilize the DAC function.

If you use E7 + E11 then it will double amp. That doesn't mean good.

The best is to use E7 + E9. E9 connect to PC using USB. Edifier E3100 will be connected to RCA line out at E9. And when want to use headphone, plug in at E9 (in front).
Far_76
post Sep 8 2011, 11:03 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Sep 7 2011, 11:00 PM)
If you use E7 as USB DAC (connected using USB cable), then what is the point getting Xonar. It's will bypass Xonar anyway or your current sound card. If you use E7 as amp only (connect sound card output to E7 input), no point to keep your E7, you not utilize the DAC function.

If you use E7 + E11 then it will double amp. That doesn't mean good.

The best is to use E7 + E9. E9 connect to PC using USB. Edifier E3100 will be connected to RCA line out at E9. And when want to use headphone, plug in at E9 (in front).
I see. Sorry. Im really new at this. So basically the E11 is an upgraded version of E7 right? hmm.gif
Lennox
post Sep 8 2011, 11:25 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(Far_76 @ Sep 8 2011, 11:03 AM)
I see. Sorry. Im really new at this. So basically the E11 is an upgraded version of E7 right? hmm.gif
No, the E11 was a pure AMP and the E7 is a AMP + DAC! They are diferrent. Not an upgrade version or whatever. So if you only need an AMP then the E11 is better than E7 in terms of AMP. If u need DAC function as well then u need to get yourself the E7! Currently E7 + E9 combo is the best in Fiio product.
SUSnordingh
post Sep 8 2011, 12:41 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

clik on my signature for fiio products info...
Slekerz
post Sep 8 2011, 07:53 PM

Life is like a Box of Chocolate
806 posts

i just receive my e11 order from ebay, connect it with my samsung galaxy s2. headphones i use is hifiman re0, my first impression is very good, very new to this audiophile world so i can't reviews in detail. nice to meet you all. biggrin.gif
amzary77
post Nov 3 2011, 12:48 AM

20 posts

Dear Fiioers, just bought myself Fischer Audio's Silver Bullet, please advise me which model of Fiio should i buy. Currently i'm pairing it with my IP4 or Ipad2. Thanks.
GenericMav
post Nov 3 2011, 12:59 AM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

QUOTE(amzary77 @ Nov 3 2011, 12:48 AM)
Dear Fiioers, just bought myself Fischer Audio's Silver Bullet, please advise me which model of Fiio should i buy. Currently i'm pairing it with my IP4 or Ipad2. Thanks.
cheaper solution, E6 hmm.gif
SUSnordingh
post Nov 3 2011, 01:16 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Nov 3 2011, 12:59 AM)
cheaper solution, E6  hmm.gif
Not cheaper solution is E11. icon_idea.gif
Lennox
post Nov 3 2011, 01:29 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

E6 and E11, your call nod.gif
nikitaaa
post Nov 8 2011, 06:12 PM

83 posts

Hi
just a few questions..
how much is the e11?
and was wondering, how does this fare when using with B&W P5 headphones?
will it give a much better quality or the headphones are enough d?
thanks for the sifu ya

noobandroid
post Nov 8 2011, 06:14 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Nov 8 2011, 06:12 PM)
Hi
just a few questions..
how much is the e11?
and was wondering, how does this fare when using with B&W P5 headphones?
will it give a much better quality or the headphones are enough d?
thanks for the sifu ya
I'm selling my e11, SQ will have definite improvement, characteristics of e11 is generally warm sounding and more forward

Added on November 8, 2011, 6:15 pm
Im selling my E11, SQ is warm and forward

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Nov 8 2011, 06:15 PM
nikitaaa
post Nov 8 2011, 06:20 PM

83 posts

ic..
why sell yours if its good ??
just curious smile.gif
noobandroid
post Nov 8 2011, 06:23 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Nov 8 2011, 06:20 PM)
ic..
why sell yours if its good ??
just curious smile.gif
cause im getting e10! thats why biggrin.gif
nikitaaa
post Nov 8 2011, 06:26 PM

83 posts

aiks..e10 is better than e11?
hehe sorry la..im very very new to all this ler..
need ur advise tongue.gif
noobandroid
post Nov 8 2011, 06:33 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Nov 8 2011, 06:26 PM)
well lets just say that e10 is a 2 in 1, while e11 is a strong solo, it dials down to what u gonna pair it with

e10 = PC's best friend
e11 = mobility with power

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Nov 8 2011, 06:34 PM
E1 - AKG
post Nov 8 2011, 07:23 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Nov 8 2011, 06:26 PM)
You can't compare the E10 with the E11. They are built for different applications. You will need to decide on your needs before considering either the E10 or E11, maybe even the E7.

E10 = DAC + AMP, only USB input and power. Design to be used solely with your computer.

E11 = AMP with 3.5mm analog input and in-built re-chargeable battery. Design to be used with both your computer and DAP as just an external amplifier.

noobandroid
post Nov 8 2011, 07:50 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

woohoo say bye bye to my e11 and helooo E10
nikitaaa
post Nov 8 2011, 10:08 PM

83 posts

and whos selling
FiiO L3 LOD? how much ar?

Added on November 8, 2011, 10:09 pmnvm...i searched d..ignore my post pls sad.gif

This post has been edited by nikitaaa: Nov 8 2011, 10:09 PM
noobandroid
post Nov 8 2011, 10:09 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Nov 8 2011, 10:08 PM)
and whos selling
FiiO L3 LOD? how much ar?
that less than RM50 i think, and seller is me on the e11, it comes with L shaped 3.5mm cable also for LOD
nikitaaa
post Nov 8 2011, 10:11 PM

83 posts

yeaps..just pm-ed u... smile.gif

noobandroid
post Nov 8 2011, 10:16 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Nov 8 2011, 10:11 PM)
yeaps..just pm-ed u... smile.gif
hope you will consider it
FaezFarhan
post Nov 9 2011, 03:04 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Tried the E10 with my TMA-1, loved it instantly! It's brighter than my E11, which is perfect for the TMA-1. But sadly, it's only for USB.

So now I'm selling my E11 to find a brighter amp. Probably a cmoy with a bright opamp. Hopefully I can find one that sounds fun like the E10 hmm.gif
noobandroid
post Nov 9 2011, 05:32 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 9 2011, 03:04 AM)
Tried the E10 with my TMA-1, loved it instantly! It's brighter than my E11, which is perfect for the TMA-1. But sadly, it's only for USB.

So now I'm selling my E11 to find a brighter amp. Probably a cmoy with a bright opamp. Hopefully I can find one that sounds fun like the E10 hmm.gif
hehe, my e11 sold d luu whistling.gif
naminakata87
post Nov 23 2011, 02:41 PM

706 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 9 2011, 03:04 AM)

how this "bright" sound,"bright" amp meaning?
noobandroid
post Nov 23 2011, 10:35 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

any xp user solved the issue ASIO/KS not working with e10?
dennisyeoh
post Feb 9 2012, 11:51 AM

teehee
718 posts

i wanted to buy a fiio e11 secondhand got ppl want sell?

Added on February 9, 2012, 11:51 ami wanted to buy a fiio e11 secondhand got ppl want sell?

This post has been edited by dennisyeoh: Feb 9 2012, 11:51 AM
zawani
post May 26 2012, 10:34 AM

333 posts

hello ..
sorry for my noob question ..
can i use e11 to improve my headset use in pc ..
do i still need the sound card ..
between fiio e11 VS ASUS Xonar DX ..
which one should i buy .. can't afford both of them ..
please giv ur opinion .. thankz ..

noobandroid
post May 26 2012, 10:53 AM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ May 26 2012, 10:34 AM)
hello ..
well if you need all the 5.1 and gaming sound gimmicks, asus will do, but if plain audio listening, e11 or e10 or e17 will do, externals are better than internal to some extent
E1 - AKG
post May 26 2012, 12:49 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ May 26 2012, 10:34 AM)
hello ..
FiiO E11 is an amplifier not a DAC (soundcard) nod.gif

You should consdier the FiiO E10 DAC / amplifier combo instead nod.gif

shawn87
post May 28 2012, 05:13 PM

2,154 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 26 2012, 12:49 PM)
FiiO E11 is an amplifier not a DAC (soundcard)  nod.gif

You should consdier the FiiO E10 DAC / amplifier combo instead  nod.gif

how much is the e10 series?
zawani
post May 30 2012, 10:43 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 26 2012, 12:49 PM)
FiiO E11 is an amplifier not a DAC (soundcard)  nod.gif

You should consdier the FiiO E10 DAC / amplifier combo instead  nod.gif

sorry for my nxt noob question .. hahaha~~

what is DAC .. how to use it on my pc ..

most of the time i use it for music only ..

can e10 used with samsung galaxy s2 ??
E1 - AKG
post May 30 2012, 10:58 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ May 30 2012, 10:43 AM)

DAC: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital-to-analog_converter

PC only:
PC > USB > FiiO E10 > Headphones / Powered speakers

PC & S2:
PC > USB > FiiO E7/E17 > Headphones
PC > USB > FiiO E7/E17 > FiiO L7 > Powered speakers
S2 > 3.5 to 3.5 > FiiO E7/E17 > Headphoners / Powered speakers

josephting
post Feb 19 2014, 04:55 PM

Hi There!
776 posts

Wow! I didn't know ClieOS was a Malaysian until I saw this thread on LYN and went and find that out.

Your posts on Head-Fi was really useful. Really proud to see a Malaysian to be putting out such good content for the community. rclxms.gif
liquidgal
post Feb 20 2014, 01:11 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ May 30 2012, 10:43 AM)

The function between amp and dac is different.

Amp will provide power to amplify analog signature (especially for high impedance or low sensitivity headphone) and decorate the timbre. A good amp will let the sound become lively.

DAC means "digital/analog converter". It can convert digital signal (010101...) which come from computer or CD into analog signal (sound). A dac with good D/A quality will provide good music details, big sound stage, neutral sound signature...

There many kind of digital input, such as usb, optical, coaxial, i2s...
If you just want to connect dac to your computer, can buy a dac which has usb input, like Fiio E10, E17, X3, Anue T1...

Some old dac just has optical or coaxial output. They are designed to connect CD transporter.
If you want to connect these kind of dac to your computer, have to buy to DDC (digital to digital converter) which can transfer usb signal to optical/coaxial signal.

This post has been edited by liquidgal: Feb 20 2014, 01:19 AM
ktek
post Feb 20 2014, 10:34 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(josephting @ Feb 19 2014, 04:55 PM)
Wow! I didn't know ClieOS was a Malaysian until I saw this thread on LYN and went and find that out.

Your posts on Head-Fi was really useful. Really proud to see a Malaysian to be putting out such good content for the community. rclxms.gif
lol im terbalik, saw clieos here before headfi forum. anyway, its great to learn from local sifu around.
TSClieOS
post Feb 20 2014, 11:13 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Glad to be of help blush.gif

0.1320sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:03 AM