PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V4, Comparison and advice needed

shirohamada
post Jul 19 2012, 07:16 PM

944 posts

Music 50%
Movie 40%, occasional live sport streaming.
Games 10%, which mostly ps2, psp, wii emulator. psp especially have crappy quality audio.

I'm currently using some cheap sonic gear.

will an edifier R1600T plus be a good upgrade? I'm just worried crappy source like youtube will pierce my ears.

My sonic gear is great, as streaming live sports is bearable but the speaker is dying.
shirohamada
post Jul 24 2012, 11:54 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 24 2012, 01:47 PM)
I'm thinking to upgrade from Edifier R1900TIII to M-Audio AV40. Isn't worth? I'm just listening mp3, flac and some movie.
wanna sell me your R1900TIII?

how good is it compared to a 2.1 system?
i don't need a lot of bass, but would love clarity.
shirohamada
post Jul 25 2012, 07:13 PM

944 posts

Looking for great clarity in mid and high range. base doesn't need to be thumping, just presentable. Mostly will be on low volume. Wanna move on from a 2.1 system, as I always set the bass to mid low anyway.

I haven't got the time to test these speakers in their showroom but I narrowed down my choices to;

Edifier R1600T Plus. Main concern is, it might not fit my desk. Is it overkill for low volume playback?

Creative T20. Main concern is, it's more expensive than the R1600T.

Creative T10. If I'm feeling cheapskate.
shirohamada
post Jul 25 2012, 08:11 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jul 25 2012, 07:36 PM)
T10? lol... whistling.gif
i know right, if i buy a t10 i'll get laughed at all over.
shirohamada
post Jul 25 2012, 11:10 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Jul 25 2012, 09:31 PM)
R1600T Plus to me is better than Creative T20 and T10 overall, but for space problem Creative T20 and T10 might be a good solution.
You can check out the dimension and see whether it fits your table or not.

R1600T Plus does not have low bass to fill up the music, the mid and high are great at that budget. Normal listening is enough with low and moderate volume, it can't blast at all.

How far your budget can go?
budget is as far as the R1600T Plus can go. well i guess the R1900T must be really special before i'll fork out that extra 100.
i know it can't do low bass, but if it can deliver what a cheapo 2.1 can, i'll be happy.
shirohamada
post Jul 27 2012, 12:55 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(Anti-Crime @ Jul 26 2012, 09:00 PM)
Haha, yeah, its too bad compare to last time RM2xx can get a very good quality speaker but now need RM4xx-5xx for the same quality for any brands.

Anyway i planning to buy the new speaker for my Desktop PC in a Small Room, do i need buy extra SoundCard with the Build-In SC as below? No money to buy the SC as the good one its too expensive for me  sweat.gif

(Mobo EP45-UD3R)
Realtek ALC889A codec
High Definition Audio
2/4/5.1/7.1-channel
Support for S/PDIF In/Out
Support for CD In

MAX Budget around RM500, need Sifus give me some idea  hmm.gif I don't know what is the difference of 5.1, 2.1 and 2.0 speaker actually, confusing  rclxub.gif
And currently eyeing on the Logitech Z623, Edifier R501, C3, S330(Not S330D as if i not wrong the digital input is for those staff like PS3 which i don't need) and other brand and model as well, im noob in the Audio System hence need Sifus give some advise  notworthy.gif

70% for Movie (Most the time is watching Action Movie , like Transformers, Avengers and those Pew Pew Pew Ji Ba BOOOOM movie  thumbup.gif
20% for Game (Online MMORPG, i seldom play FPS game as will gonna vomit and feeling dizzy after play those like Call of Duty  rclxub.gif
10% Music (Almost just listen to Internet Streaming Radio, seldom got for MP3)
i think it's better to go bit streaming rather than getting a soundcard.

5.1 is surround sound. you'll have 6 speakers and wires all around. if you watch movies off youtube it's a waste of time.
2.1 is 2 satellite + subwoofer. the most common cheap solution nowadays.
2.0 is no subwoofer. for this setup it's best to get bookshelf speakers but because the lack of a woofer it won't go boom.

for your purpose get 2.1 or 5.1

your mobo has coaxial and optical out. so you can get S330D

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Jul 27 2012, 12:57 AM
shirohamada
post Jul 27 2012, 05:41 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Anti-Crime @ Jul 27 2012, 04:59 PM)
S330D? hm.. what about S330? Is there a difference when connecting using difference input or normally just using the 3.5mm Jack? Im noob in speaker ... haha  blink.gif

Anyway, if i wanna test the speaker for Edifier and Logitech, is there a good place near PJ or KL?
s330d difference?
maybe placebo. rolleyes.gif
it depends on their dac.

well i never tried them, so i do not know.

anyway, saw HCS2330 in the curve.
RM279 + RM30 coupon. salesgirl said it's kfc coupon.

they don't have R1600T for me to check out, so dunno.
shirohamada
post Jul 27 2012, 08:31 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Anti-Crime @ Jul 27 2012, 05:49 PM)
wow, RM279 + RM30 coupon, nice deal bro, is there selling C3 and S330 as well? mind to tell the location and the name of this shop  drool.gif
it's in e-curve, or what it's name. previously cineleisure. the store is near the hotel entrance. can't remember the name. there have s330. all edifier comes with coupons.
shirohamada
post Jul 27 2012, 08:37 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Anti-Crime @ Jul 27 2012, 08:32 PM)
out of budget  rclxub.gif

how about the C3? is that nice for the internal DAC?
C3 has digital in?
shirohamada
post Jul 27 2012, 11:07 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Anti-Crime @ Jul 27 2012, 09:18 PM)
i not sure  blink.gif  Let me go see see. How about the shop you mentioned earlier bro, can tell me which one a? i go survey see see smile.gif
e-curve. old name cineleisure.
groundfloor.

shirohamada
post Jul 28 2012, 01:21 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jul 28 2012, 01:12 AM)
that t-muso usb dac that I just mentioned for Anti-Crime?
it's the cheapest good stuff you can get
don't forget strepsil box, rubber washer, screw and nuts. whistling.gif
shirohamada
post Jul 28 2012, 05:53 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Jul 28 2012, 04:13 PM)
Current running:

Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Logitech X540 5.1

the logitech is quite OK for games and movies because of the 5.1 setup.. but when it comes to music I'm kinda disappointed with its result..

I wonder what can I get as add on for RM300..

by the way, I listen to rock, pop as well as classical
Edifier R1900T III
shirohamada
post Jul 29 2012, 07:27 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Anti-Crime @ Jul 29 2012, 06:26 PM)
budge raise from 2xx to 4xx and still need to get a DAC converter, Audiophiles really a wallet killer  rclxub.gif

But anyways thanks for the advise Power911 bro smile.gif
just get the speakers first. get a dac or soundcard later if your onboard realtek is not sufficient for your needs or liking.
if you don't have a good speaker to begin with, the soundcard/dac is a waste of time.

shirohamada
post Jul 30 2012, 04:19 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Jul 30 2012, 06:32 AM)
need opinion, between altec lansing vs4621 and logitech z523, which is better?
neither, better get edifier for wooden cabinet.
shirohamada
post Aug 2 2012, 12:08 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ Aug 1 2012, 11:31 PM)
too bad... i using laptop cry.gif  what can i do ?
external usb dac.
or if your graphics can do bitstreaming through hdmi.
shirohamada
post Aug 2 2012, 12:24 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ Aug 2 2012, 12:12 AM)
sorry that i am noob in audio... how much is a USB DAC cost ?
what is bitstreaming ? i got HDMI port on my laptop...
read 2 pages before this.

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Aug 2 2012, 12:24 AM
shirohamada
post Aug 2 2012, 04:23 PM

944 posts

that satellite looks exactly like a divoom xforce 1.
or the other way round.
shirohamada
post Aug 4 2012, 03:43 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Aug 4 2012, 03:13 AM)
anhy good soundbar outthere for my plasma tv.... stock speaker really suck? any are below 1000
you can get a whole surround system for 1000.
just saying.
shirohamada
post Aug 4 2012, 03:39 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Aug 4 2012, 11:44 AM)
I looked online and they have bookshelf speakers around the 400 to 600 range getting pretty good reviews. That's why I'm wondering if there's anywhere that sells them or lets me audition them a little haha.
Apocalypx?

better get
Edifier R1900TIII
shirohamada
post Aug 6 2012, 07:12 AM

944 posts

can't decide man.
Edifier P3080M, HCS 2330 or used R1900TIII?

haven't tried out R1900TIII, it's no where to be found.

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Aug 7 2012, 02:00 AM

0.0451sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:35 AM