7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

QUEENS PARK RANGERS, NORWICH CITY & SWANSEA CITY, PROMOTED TO THE PREMIER LEAGUE!!!

Duke Red
post May 4 2011, 10:39 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 4 2011, 01:21 AM)
I dont really care who they have on their roster or how they will survive next season..I just love it that they're back..Im a more sentimental guy so to see two founder members of the Premier League winning promotion to the Premier League again is wonderful..

I have been watching the Premier League since it started back in 92 and to see old footage of QPR and Norwich back then made me miss some of those old teams..it doesnt matter how bad their football may be but certainly QPR and Norwich have deserved their promotion based on their performance this season..how they perform next season is another matter..

Now Im just hoping Forest can win the play offs should they get there..or Leeds if they manage to overtake Forest..these 2 legends back in the Premier League would be great..in fact, I'll be happy with any of the play off teams to be promoted..except maybe Reading since they were recently in the Premier League and PL teams have also regularly played them in the Cups..Cardiff and Swansea to make their debuts in the league would also be special..

BTW guys, which Premier League team would u wouldnt mind getting relegated or which team would u dearly like to be saved? Lets be realistic with our choices shall we?
Likewise. I started watching during the days of the old First Division and I too look forward to the day when the likes of Oldham, Luton and Notts Country return to the top flight, if ever. These clubs have faced Premiership exile for 2 decades now. Unlike back then, the wealth disparity between clubs in the top flight and the rest of the league is huge now and it will be an uphill task for them to survive their first season back. I doubt you'll see a repeat of feats from clubs like Blackburn or Newcastle who finished in the top quarter of the league in their first seasons back. These days, just escaping relegation is a victory in itself. I can see why given that it's also pretty hard for clubs who go down to bounce right back up. Middlesbrough are going to finish just above the relegation zone and Portsmouth aren't too far away either.

I'd like to see West Ham stave of relegation. I've had a soft spot for them for some time now. Anyone remember facist and controversial striker, Paolo Di Canio's show of sportsmanship? To say that Di Canio has a temper is an understatement which made his display for fair play even more surprising. It was against Everton that keeper Paul Gerrard got injured and lay on the pitch prone as the ball was played to Di Canio who was faced with an open goal. In a move that stunned everyone, he caught the ball and pointed to the injured keeper instead of smashing it into an empty net. Won himself a FIFA Fairplay award for that too.

I think Ian Holloway has done a great job at Blackpool and I'd like to see them stay up. With a squad that hardly anyone would notice if they walked by them on a street, he's managed get some pretty good results especially at home, including a victory against Man Utd.

I don't think Wolves and Wigan have done much to justify their place in the top flight. Martinez is a nice guy but he's never really transformed Wigan from Premiership strugglers into anything. If they do go down, I reckon they'll struggle in the Championship as well especially when you consider that players like Al-Habsi, Rodallega and N'Zogbia are unlikely to stay.
sickx
post May 4 2011, 10:53 AM

:)
1,232 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 3 2011, 12:49 PM)
Yes but he's only there on loan and I really doubt he'll still be there next season playing against us, and I was clearly referring to their chances next season. I've no idea who Lansbury is. Why the surprise?
sorry.i thought you probably know lansbury,another upcoming prospect from arsenal academy.the boy who scored against tottenham earlier in carling cup.

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 4 2011, 01:21 AM)
BTW guys, which Premier League team would u wouldnt mind getting relegated or which team would u dearly like to be saved? Lets be realistic with our choices shall we?
for me it would be wolves and west ham.

wolves because i think they're just not good enough for premier league.not consistent enough to stay on top flight.

west ham because i think they should get relegated few seasons ago due to the tevez saga.

i would like to save wigan.they are inconsistent,just like wolves,but when they're on fire,they can beat anyone they want.

dundermifflin
post May 4 2011, 11:53 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 29 2011, 12:24 PM)
Hasn't been that long since we've seen Norwich in the Premiership. Friend of mine will be delighted being a fan of the Canaries. Unless my memory fails me, they were sponsored by Lotus back then and they played an exhibition match in Kelana Jaya. Darren Huckerby was their marquee player then.
IIRC for 1season, they played with Proton (away kit) and Lotus (home kit) on their shirt..

and they put Proton logo on corner flag..
myhotgary2
post May 4 2011, 01:40 PM

617 posts

FORESTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTAAAAAAAAAA..........
Lol just coz i'm currently based in nottingham tongue.gif
sahathai
post May 7 2011, 08:34 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 4 2011, 10:39 AM)
I'd like to see West Ham stave of relegation. I've had a soft spot for them for some time now. Anyone remember facist and controversial striker, Paolo Di Canio's show of sportsmanship? To say that Di Canio has a temper is an understatement which made his display for fair play even more surprising. It was against Everton that keeper Paul Gerrard got injured and lay on the pitch prone as the ball was played to Di Canio who was faced with an open goal. In a move that stunned everyone, he caught the ball and pointed to the injured keeper instead of smashing it into an empty net. Won himself a FIFA Fairplay award for that too.
I remember watching that game.. At first I was cursing.. "WTF?".. before I realize the keeper is lying injured.
Had much respect for him after watching that.
TSdxjb
post May 7 2011, 10:04 PM

807 posts

FINAL RESULTS:
QPR ESCAPE POINTS DEDUCTION AND ARE PROMOTED AS CHAMPIONS..
NORWICH WIN THE SECOND AUTOMATIC PROMOTION PLACE..

CARDIFF, SWANSEA, READING AND NOTTINGHAM FOREST GO INTO THE PLAYOFFS..

Playoff Semi Finals:
CARDIFF CITY VS READING
SWANSEA CITY VS NOTTINGHAM FOREST

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 8 2011, 12:36 AM
TSdxjb
post May 8 2011, 03:14 PM

807 posts

Friday 13 May 2011

English nPower Chmpionship Play-off Semi Finals 1st Leg
NOTTINGHAM FOREST VS SWANSEA CITY
ASTRO SUPERSPORT (CH811) 2.40 am LIVE

Saturday 14 May 2011

English nPower Chmpionship Play-off Semi Finals 1st Leg
READING VS CARDIFF CITY

Tuesday 17 May 2011

English nPower Chmpionship Play-off Semi Finals 2nd Leg
SWANSEA CITY VS NOTTINGHAM FOREST

Wednesday 18 May 2011

English nPower Chmpionship Play-off Semi Finals 2nd Leg
CARDIFF CITY VS READING

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 8 2011, 03:14 PM
HumbleCMY
post May 8 2011, 04:22 PM

96 posts

Cardiff should be able to get promoted. But I think they playoff for few years already everytime also failed to get promoted.
skylinelover
post May 9 2011, 10:35 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

since leeds wont b coming back anymore sad.gif i putting my money on forest 4 the old time 79-80 european glory sakes

not 4getting this famous victory against the mighty catalan in the super cup while messi is not even born yet laugh.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1979_UEFA_Super_Cup

2nd choice will b cardiff since it is managed the 1malaysia way hahaha

TSdxjb
post May 10 2011, 03:17 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 9 2011, 10:35 AM)
since leeds wont b coming back anymore sad.gif i putting my money on forest 4 the old time 79-80 european glory sakes

not 4getting this famous victory against the mighty catalan in the super cup while messi is not even born yet laugh.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1979_UEFA_Super_Cup

2nd choice will b cardiff since it is managed the 1malaysia way hahaha
Yup..my 1sst choice also Forest..coz it would complete the return of the Premier League old boys after QPR and Norwich..and coz I love their ground..would be great to see Premier League football there again..

N I remember Portugal vs Czech Republic there I think in Euro 96..wonderful team, wonderful ground for historic reasons..

2nd choice would be Cardiff..3rd Swansea..but my 4th choice and least favourite are Reading (because they were recently in the Premier League and usually play Premier League teams in the cups) but they are the in-fprm team at the monent..

Dont forget the play off semi-finals are LIVE on Astro..good time for us to see these teams.. nod.gif
TSdxjb
post May 12 2011, 11:44 PM

807 posts

MATCHDAY REMINDER: 13 & 14 MAY 2011 (early Friday and early Saturday morning matches)

Friday 13 May 2011
NOTTINGHAM FOREST VS SWANSEA CITY

Saturday 14 May 2011
READING VS CARDIFF CITY

Tune in and watch who will continue their journey to join QPR and Norwich as the newcomer to the Premier League next season!!!
SUSdemamkuning
post May 12 2011, 11:46 PM

91 posts

READING~~~!!
TSdxjb
post May 13 2011, 12:12 PM

807 posts

RESULT: SEMI-FINAL 1st LEG

NOTTINGHAM FOREST 0-0 SWANSEA CITY
READING 0-0 CARDIFF CITY

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 15 2011, 10:38 PM
liez
post May 13 2011, 12:45 PM

1,346 posts

if draw means wad? means the other 2 teams have higher chance to enter?

or theres second leg? which will in turns go to AET and PK if draw again like FA.
nanamiwashio
post May 13 2011, 03:59 PM

112 posts

kan atas tu dah tulis 2 leg
macam semi > final > champion promoted

This post has been edited by nanamiwashio: May 13 2011, 03:59 PM
TSdxjb
post May 15 2011, 10:37 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(liez @ May 13 2011, 12:45 PM)
if draw means wad? means the other 2 teams have higher chance to enter?

or theres second leg? which will in turns go to AET and PK if draw again like FA.
This is 2 leg play off semi finals..the next leg is on Monday and Tuesday night (early Tuesday and Wednesday morning Malaysia)
Away goals rule apply only after extra time..mean is 90 minutes, they dont count..extra time and penalty apply if necessary)

There is a one off final..on May 30 at Wembley..
skylinelover
post May 17 2011, 06:08 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

swansea 3 forest 1 sad.gif there goes another season wait 4 forest 2 try again climb back 2 bpl sad.gif

S britton 28
S dobbie 33
F earnshaw 80
S pratley 90

all goals here laugh.gif rclxms.gif
http://www.101greatgoals.com/live-video-up.../93974/#respond

This post has been edited by skylinelover: May 17 2011, 06:10 AM
legendofhafiz
post May 17 2011, 10:49 AM

82 posts

aihh Leeds couldn't make it. now N.Forest.

I can see Swansea vs Cardiff
mhyug
post May 17 2011, 03:25 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(legendofhafiz @ May 17 2011, 10:49 AM)
aihh  Leeds couldn't make it. now N.Forest.

I can see Swansea vs Cardiff
well swansea it self is good for the epl.more and more older clubs are making it back.hoping to see the tangerines survive too.

as for leeds would love to have a go at them again in the league but as of now 2nd tier is what they are worth.
minority
post May 17 2011, 07:23 PM

Stop looking at me
2,171 posts

I watched Swansea vs. Forest. What a game. Forest are desperately unlucky with a penalty shout and three denials by the tiang. They dominated and were far more threatening but in the end, it was two good individual efforts that put Swansea through (the third was again, bad luck, when the Forest player slipped and let the Swansea dude pick up the ball and put it into the empty goal).

If Swansea does not improve from that game, I think an all-Welsh final will sea Cardiff through.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0510sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:46 AM