13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V9, D5100 stock arrived !

celciuz
post May 5 2011, 05:53 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ May 5 2011, 05:49 PM)

sigmalux OOF? sweat.gif
Totally out laugh.gif

Like I said, if sometimes OOF sometimes sharp its most likely not back/front focus. Cause back/front focus is constant.

If it is random, most likely due to body or lens capability already.

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 5 2011, 05:53 PM
celciuz
post May 5 2011, 06:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ May 5 2011, 05:53 PM)

sigmalux in focus

Added on May 5, 2011, 5:54 pm
ya bro.. I think I need to calibrate it.
the problem is sometimes I shoot in 1/100s ++ still OOF.  sweat.gif
eh bro.. meaning my sigmalux is not compactible with my body?  shocking.gif
Are you sure that is in focus? Image looks soft to me.
celciuz
post May 5 2011, 07:24 PM

14,037 posts

Better than aldo's but this is the sigma? Lemme see if I have any or not... not as sharp as I expected...
celciuz
post May 5 2011, 07:29 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 5 2011, 07:27 PM)
definitely not sigmalux .haha
last time bliz sigma very sharp wor. i saw kent's one also sharp .
Haha, last year I went KLIMS with Bliz. Tested his 50mm a while sian already >_< not good enough at f/1.4
celciuz
post May 5 2011, 08:51 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 5 2011, 07:31 PM)
but in higher end body like d300 and above , the body can correct the foccusing problem right ? iinm,
Only if it is due to front focus or back focus.

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 5 2011, 07:43 PM)
hmm i just noticed canon dslrs have no af assist beam.
D3 also got no AF assist tongue.gif
celciuz
post May 5 2011, 09:03 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ May 5 2011, 08:59 PM)
All sifu,

So i bought a D5100 with kit lens, been reading alot of articles, magazine and books, although i started to see stuff differently, and understand a little bit more on the world of photography.

What's next?

Enroll  into Class offer at Nikon center?
Buy the new Nikon 50mm lens?
Buy a camera bag - Crumpler 5 million?
Buy a Flash Gun?
Buy a spare battery?
Buy a neck strap?
Buy a new camera body only.
Buy more lens?

Whats next, which 1 is priority? and what is recomended.

Million thanks in advance
Use the D5100 and you will soon know what you need.
celciuz
post May 5 2011, 09:23 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ May 5 2011, 09:09 PM)
waa.. my sigmalux confirm focusing problem sad.gif
tested for shooting my friend cannot find the sharp one.
Best is to verify using a focus test chart and mount your camera on a tripod. Make sure its 45 degree. Post the pic here.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 07:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ May 5 2011, 10:54 PM)
i think my body got a bit back focus problem...
as i adjusted in d AF Fix in D700...
i use +20...
slightly better compare to 0...
use d same setting for 85G & 1635 F4...
1635 is ok as DOF is quite long...
but but using 85G stil can't get focus on d spot...
slightly back abit...
Nikkor lens especially the gold rings usually pretty good QC. Like i said, check with focus test chart. If you nail the focus test chart then it is ok.

QUOTE(Isepunye @ May 6 2011, 12:10 AM)
for those who said 1750 vc said slow motor, not sharp enuff, i still earn using that lens till today. its been a year already

Added on May 6, 2011, 12:11 ammy target this image is catch eye~! did i make it?
Don't understand here, it is still a slow lens in terms of focusing but you can still nail pics if patient enough.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ May 6 2011, 01:15 AM)
Poisoned by the bokeh of 85 f1.4 day by day. The reason I bought the 80-200 f2.8 is for the bokeh, now I'm in doubt again hmm.gif
Haha I did a comparison between 70200 and 85mm bokeh before. One is large aperture type, another is the long tele lens type.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 6 2011, 02:07 AM)
@ @

and canon user can use most of their lens with AF too, no need to worry to see AF-D ka AF-S ka, laugh.gif
Because all Canon lens have motor, none of their body having built in motor.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 6 2011, 03:33 AM)
^looks fine for me .
Looks a little back focus to me.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 08:47 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 6 2011, 08:26 AM)
Sigmalux backfocus lo tongue.gif
Ho ho, finally got people same opinion as me xD.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 09:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ May 6 2011, 09:12 AM)
sleep.gif thats why i hate buying third party lens
Nikon 50 1.4G not enuf meh ? tongue.gif
Not good enough, but then again even the Sigma isn't good enough tongue.gif.

The 50mm f/1.2 AiS optics however is drool.gif but no AF. Awaiting Nikkor to update it with Nanocoat and AF-S!

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ May 6 2011, 09:17 AM)
jz downloaded d focus chart...
will try wif d focus later...
Setup on a tripod ;-)

QUOTE(junior5417 @ May 6 2011, 09:20 AM)
can anyone tell me why 70-300 price so low?
Are you comparing with 70200? Different league of lens!
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 12:04 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ May 6 2011, 10:24 AM)
and who cares about under. exposure is where you have to play. you don't have to get the correct exposure every time what?
for food I prefer over expose. why would you stick in the correct exposure?
I didn't pp this one  sweat.gif
try to give me and let me try. tongue.gif
This is exactly my thinking when I was a newbie. laugh.gif

I didn't bother much with exposure when shooting portraiture and always asking myself why me and my friends shooting the same thing but their subject looks better than mine!

Same subject, different exposure.

Some random pic taken from her FB,

My shot,
PIKOM PC Fair 2011 (I) by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 12:09 PM

14,037 posts

When I view on large, it doesn't appear sharp anymore :S.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 12:13 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ May 6 2011, 12:11 PM)
The 1st sample always reminds me off ppl using olden days digital P&S + flash when they r still 5mp, lol....
Maybe it is a point and shoot? Who knows laugh.gif
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 12:40 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ May 6 2011, 12:14 PM)
huge difference. The tonality difference between the 2 photos give the viewer a totally different feel.

The first one made her face look so oily, but the second one feels more lively and her face looked like as if she has just came out from a facial session. smile.gif

That's what DSLR owners should strive to achieve.
Actually I tried to compare my first PC Fair... wah the skin don't look good -.- newbie haha~!

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ May 6 2011, 12:16 PM)
Simple.... that's y all models like CY to tag their photo la....
LOL, which girl don't want to look good?

QUOTE(0168257061 @ May 6 2011, 12:16 PM)
The first pic took by DSLR also ? laugh.gif
DSLR so common nowadays, probably?

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ May 6 2011, 12:17 PM)
Btw... Bro celciuz... Calibrate lens & body is free if it's under warranty rite? Btw,way to bring if I'm going to send for service...?
Never done that... but should be.

Added on May 6, 2011, 1:48 pmFeeling bored, more pics to show how exposure actually affects a photo for portraiture.

Agnes by CY Pixels, on Flickr

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 6 2011, 01:48 PM
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 02:40 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(hackerzx @ May 6 2011, 02:30 PM)
what the 50mm price nowadays..last nov dec i can get rm350..
Good price, if you can get it again I would say go for it.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 02:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ May 6 2011, 02:42 PM)
Love the contrast! Is it because of the lens or editing? smile.gif
You just need to get your WB and exposure right for this. And I guess this is the 85G prime after all ;-) if the color reproduction isn't good, I wonder how will the older lens fare tongue.gif.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 03:20 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 6 2011, 02:49 PM)
Care to share your guidance and secrets for proper exposure? nod.gif
Err, no way... but generally for portrait you can judge from how the skin appear. If sort of caota/bbq -> under.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 6 2011, 03:10 PM)
The one with CY and the one without CY has clear differences rclxms.gif
If they shoot on auto, it might try to expose for the background as well, thus the subject may get underexpose. Spot metering will help to expose the subject but it may also overexpose. This all comes to the skill of the photographer and also whether you have the time to adjust the settings and try out.

Lastly, there maybe people with different preferences or point of view like, the highlights blown, or the white clothing blended with the background thingy. It's hard to get the perfect picture unless the camera has higher dynamic range or we do HDR? Anyway, for this scenario, personally, I would prefer the subject is properly expose like CYs photo.
Actually from my office monitor, her clothing is blending with the background cry.gif . But at home with my own monitor it is ok.
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 03:23 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ May 6 2011, 03:21 PM)
So does my laptop.
Lemme double check when I get back tongue.gif On my office monitor my images usually looks overexposed -.-...
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 03:26 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 6 2011, 03:23 PM)
No way as in tak mau share... shocking.gif
Oh, no lah. Generally there's no 'guidance or secret'. I shoot in manual mode, basically take 1 shot then adjust accordingly based on experience.

Only hint is when you see the skin looks like kena bbq -> underexposed.

Cheryl, Ee Ling and Kyra by CY Pixels, on Flickr

See, for this photo their face actually is underexposed.. looks like BBQ... but then it suits this kinda style.. so it depends what you're looking for.. but generally, properly exposed portraiture looks better in my opinion.

Kyra by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post May 6 2011, 03:39 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ May 6 2011, 03:30 PM)
If their face look small, then should be OK, but close up and still under then i need to recover light with reflector liao... Eyes got some catchlight also look appealing too. smile.gif
They don't mind their face looking big actually tongue.gif

Diana by CY Pixels, on Flickr

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0476sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:45 AM