110 posts

whoa, new thread! bookmarked! biggrin.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 18 2011, 07:49 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Apr 18 2011, 07:35 PM)
The top complain for this model is lag. For those who don't flash and don't apply lagfix, nothing much can be done. I can safely say the lag problem is fixed in 2.3.3.  smile.gif

The second top complain is GPS. Sporadic. Does not happen to me so can't say much.  smile.gif

I think third is 'No camera flash'. Buyers should have checked before buying this phone. Yet, there are still some who complain about this.  doh.gif
yeap, all 3 major issues right there
though GPS on my WJVB is significantly better and locked satellites pretty quick
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 01:24 AM

110 posts

lol i like iphones cuz they have so many freaking 3rd party accessories to choose from!

but i hardly change my phone casing..
i guess i just like the idea of having alot of accessories..haha
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 12:46 PM

110 posts

lol y are iPeople trolling at SGS' thread?

relax laa people, its just phones. dont need to get all extreme and bash each other

anywayy, im on JVB and battery like sucks!
charged till full yesterday night ..left idle till this morning, checked battery status - left only 44%!
saw that android OS took 72% battery consumption!
anyway i can rectify this?
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 05:51 PM

110 posts

im downloading Goatrip custom ROM

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1031038

"Instructions:

1: flash stock Odin XWJVB
2: flash CF-Root 3.1
3: install Goatrip.1.7 in CMW"

im on stock XWJVB and rooted CF3.1 already,
so all i have to do is go to cwm and install .zip file?

anybody else tried this ROM before?
thanks! biggrin.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 06:50 PM

110 posts

just updated to GoaTrip 1.7!
really snappy!
though im hoping the battery life is improved
it also has the gingerbread scroll glow when u hit the end of the list instead of the usual elastic thing
here are some screencaps

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by zumapuma: Apr 19 2011, 06:55 PM
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 07:14 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Apr 19 2011, 07:10 PM)
I'm coming~!!!
XD
just managed to flash to JVB... took like 15min to boot up... weird
come come!
jump ship to goa trip! or is it goat rip..?
haha
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 07:22 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Apr 19 2011, 07:15 PM)
seriously i was thinking about the name this afternoon...
goatrip??

Go At RIP?
lol go at rip..nice one..though it probably will make ppl not want to jump ship cuz scare will die soon..haha
zumapuma
post Apr 19 2011, 07:53 PM

110 posts

whoaaa
GPS for Goatrip is really good!
off wifi n data, on gps, on papago
less than 20secs, got current position
and im in my house!
im impressed!
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 12:03 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Apr 19 2011, 08:06 PM)
What modem does it use?
Im not sure which one's the modem... blush.gif haha i think its written in the pic..right? XXJVK..?

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Apr 19 2011, 08:21 PM)
look great!!! rclxms.gif mind to share review, battery life, wifi signal bla bla bla~~~~~
havent played around with it yet! but first impressions:

great GPS! less than 20 secs lock without wifi/data
snappy! though sometimes got a reasonable lag..
better battery consumption compared to stock XWJVB
wifi signal ok i think
nice and different ui!
live microbes live wallpaper! can feed the microorganisms with our touch!

will update more when i get to play around with it smile.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 01:08 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Apr 20 2011, 12:56 AM)
really poison by your review..will flash to this ROM tonite..
lol im glad i could help! rclxms.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 01:23 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Apr 20 2011, 01:13 AM)
just wanna ask, can this rom change wallpaper for lockscreen?
means have different wallpaper for lockscreen.
I'm just waiting my phone to fully charge to flash to this rom..huhu
20% to go..
can, i dont usually change wallpaper for lockscreen but i checked and there's an option for it
im using the live microbes live wallpaper. very cool!
before this, used the nexus S live wallpaper
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 11:21 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 20 2011, 10:36 AM)
gps on goatrip ROM suck!!!...i cannot find a single sat....a drawback albeit the eye catching beautiful rom...

thinking of reverting to stock jvb rom...
serious?
im on goatrip and my gps can lock within 20secs!
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 11:58 AM

110 posts

im on Goatrip and my battery dropped from full charge (98%) to 83% after 10 hours..after some messaging and a few calls
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 12:31 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 20 2011, 12:05 PM)

dead serious..i'm waiting like 45minutes under the scorching sun wait for signal..none....

setting : no wireless..hot start, s/w test mode...

what your setting?

but i never experienced this using stock JVB...i can lock under 15sec
dont know how to help u dude...cuz i didnt change any settings whatsoever
just switched on GPS and Papago and i had a lock on my current location in 24 secs..

zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 04:44 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(phyz @ Apr 20 2011, 01:02 PM)
What version & did you enable data network?
im on goatrip 1.7
nope, didnt on data for today cuz was at home or at class most of the time
on wifi though for a while
but didnt use the phone heavily
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 05:22 PM

110 posts

oooh look what i found from XDA

"The fix has been working on JVK and JVB ROMs, check other threads about this issue. You can delete the data of the Software Update application, but it will be regenerated after a reboot. If you want to get rid of this, just root the phone and delete the following APKs

syncmldm.apk
syncmlds.apk
wssyncmlnps.apk

Just look at this: After 17 hours with light usage, still 68% battery."

anybody tried this before?
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 05:39 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Apr 20 2011, 05:34 PM)
i always kill 'software update' app when the phone start, as per advice by one of us here. can't recall who. sorry mate.

since you have point out the guide to stop the app, i'll try it.

thanks.
if im not mistaken, sifu Mengsuan was the one who suggested we clear data for "software update"
many thanks to him! smile.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 06:53 PM

110 posts

Someone found out how to completely fix ur GPS problem.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1043034

all u have to do is remove ur SGS casing and press lightly(put pressure) on the top of ur gps antenna(to the right of the speaker)
so what this guy did was he applied some double sided tape at the top of the antenna

i tried pressing the top of the gps antenna and immediately locked up to 12 sats. sorry for the bad pic, i couldnt screen cap just now.

zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 07:23 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Apr 20 2011, 07:12 PM)
u mean press the screw?
nono, press the top of the long thing that seems to be wrapped by a black tape on the right side of ur speaker.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:38 AM