zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 08:33 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 20 2011, 08:09 PM)
nice finding zumapuma...will try it later.... rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

another main issue of sgs solved I guess. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
and to think that after all this time, all the roms/modems/kernels that we flash, the best solution for our SGS' crappy GPS signal is some duct tape on the gps antenna!
ahahahaha doh.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 08:48 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 20 2011, 08:44 PM)
zumapuma,

u put slight thick tape or just normal duct tape?
havent tried applying duct tape yet..not sure also which to choose, either the thicker black tape or normal masking tape..
i think as long as when u put back ur back cover and it pushes the gps antenna thing slightly, that should be ok
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 10:38 PM

110 posts

oh man..the GPS fix didnt work for most of u guys except for nasrulbond...
sorry to hear it guys

here's the link to the GPS fix thread at XDA, i dunno. maybe i missed something. while ur at the link, checkout post number 14. it also shows a pic of where to press/stick the tape.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1043034
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 11:06 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Apr 20 2011, 11:04 PM)
Hi I'm new  blush.gif

How do I check which firmware I am on? How to upgrade to the latest firmware? Please guide me  sweat.gif
lol and the king is back! rclxms.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 11:08 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Apr 20 2011, 11:06 PM)
bossessssss... can answer my noob question ah ? you guy's sgs gps have to use with DATA on ?
nope, mine dont have to..just switch on GPS and im rdy to go! huhu
zumapuma
post Apr 20 2011, 11:28 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Apr 20 2011, 11:18 PM)
Instant lock on!!!
that makes 3 of us. me u n nasrulbond
dunno y it doesnt work on other ppl..hmmm
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 11:49 AM

110 posts

went to sleep yesterday with my phone fully charged and woke up to find that battery is at 50%!
checked batt status, android OS - 70%!
crappppp
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 11:56 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Apr 21 2011, 11:52 AM)
what rom you using?
im on goatrip 1.7
had this same problem when was on stock XWJVB
then i updated to goatrip 1.7 wipe
so everything was ok for like 2 days..then today woke up with this!
all i can remember yesterday is downloading alot of games
hmm
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 01:30 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(kfc @ Apr 21 2011, 01:17 PM)
I'm preparing to flash JVB from darky 9.5.

There's a few things I would like to find out before I do that.

1.) how do i get the same shortcut "restart", "data on/off", "recovery", "download mode" by holding the power button? is there something that I can install to get JVB to have this function?

2.) What if I'm not happy with JVB. can I still flash back to darky 9.5 or other custom rom in 2.2.1 straight away?

stock JVB doesnt have all the shortcuts when u press/hold the lock/power button, but custom ROM has
so when u flash to stock JVB, flash CFroot, then at CWM install zip goatrip(custom rom)

correct me if im wrong, sifus! hehe
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 05:31 PM

110 posts

i still dont get what bootloaders are and what they're for
but i know if we're from froyo to gb, must get the one with bootloaders(sbl)
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 06:33 PM

110 posts

anyone tried simply rom 3.1 yet?
not loving the launcher..

im on jvb goatrip, if want to update to simply rom 3.1
all i have to do is install zip via cwm right? or do i have to go to stock jvb first?
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 07:14 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Apr 21 2011, 07:04 PM)
why dont you just change the launcher instead of change the whole rom?

unless you want to test the simply rom then nevermind  biggrin.gif
i want to try simply rom (cuz its my first custom rom. lol nostalgic!)
but i dont like the stock gb launcher..hmm
maybe i'll stick with goatrip for awhile
though i'm tempted to try miui! haha
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 07:54 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Apr 21 2011, 07:30 PM)
oooh, how do i install it? any rom can ah? or only stock jvb?

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 21 2011, 07:49 PM)
bro, no more miui for u? just now my phone wont turn on after i reboot in miui, and after that i tried to pull the battery back and masuk balik, cannot lagi. after that, my last solution is i just cabut the gps fix and then when i put back the battery, baru okayy. but during at time in between i put and pull the battery in, i tried to access recovery pun cannot. gilaaa, so scaryy owh.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
so u had to cabut the tape or something on ur gps in order for ur phone to reboot?hmm
zumapuma
post Apr 21 2011, 08:34 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 21 2011, 08:23 PM)
first it started like this, i noticed no line at all so i cant make a call. i tried reboot from the toggle menu, and 'poof!' suddenly cannot boot. i was like, 'WTH?' and try la cabut battery balik, on hp again and still cannot. after cabut the duct tape baru okay  sweat.gif . mmg my last solution tadi is to flash back to ZSJPJ, try dwload mode and it works. but dunno why, after that i can reboot back. i cleared all the cache and wipe dalvik cache just to be sure cause im coming from zach's and going to bilboa's kernel ( much smoother.) now the phone okay dah, but seriously this is like almost second time already i thought my sgs will gonna DIE.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
hmm..so u suspec the tape on the gps antenna to be at fault?
i guess its not so safe after all la kot..
but then no one at xda have complained about it yet
zumapuma
post Apr 22 2011, 10:26 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 22 2011, 09:59 PM)

if you sync contacts to gmail, its much easier  smile.gif
how to sync contacts to gmail ah?
via the vsf or something ah?
thanks! biggrin.gif
zumapuma
post Apr 22 2011, 10:41 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 22 2011, 10:31 PM)

hmm, under contacts, when you usually want to add a new contact, it will ask whether save to phone/sim/gmail

owh..but then, how do u sync existing contacts?
zumapuma
post Apr 23 2011, 02:31 AM

110 posts

i've just downloaded MIUI RC6!
but dunno when i'll flash it to that! have to find some free time first..haha
im from jvb goatrip, so i have to go to stock froyo first..?
zumapuma
post Apr 24 2011, 12:12 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Apr 24 2011, 12:09 AM)
any other apps that can match root explorer? i get FC of it in JVB
i use Super Manager
decent root explorer app
never had any problems with it
zumapuma
post Apr 24 2011, 09:51 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Apr 24 2011, 09:18 PM)
yeah poknik..someone here had posted the 3 service that need to be stop to prevent the battery drain..i cannot find the post..huhuhu
did u mean this?

"The fix has been working on JVK and JVB ROMs, check other threads about this issue. You can delete the data of the Software Update application, but it will be regenerated after a reboot. If you want to get rid of this, just root the phone and delete the following APKs

syncmldm.apk
syncmlds.apk
wssyncmlnps.apk

Just look at this: After 17 hours with light usage, still 68% battery."

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0471sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:39 AM