Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V16, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 12:29 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Apr 26 2011, 09:42 PM)
o. so u meant only early batch sgs have gps problem? new batch no problem?
should be. need other's confirmation

QUOTE(jojoe @ Apr 26 2011, 09:47 PM)
Called to Samsung service center PJ. They ask me sent the phone to them verified. Since I running cm7 now and if I wanna return I need to restore back to original state and quite hassle to back up all the stuff out from phone internal memory. I not sure it worth to do it or not... possible as return nothing is fix.
you can restore all apps in one click if you have backed up using titanium backup. it is worth it. just copy the tb backkup folder to your pc.

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Apr 26 2011, 09:51 PM)
Yes you are right. Gingerbread bootloaders are backward compatible with Froyo's bootloader.

I flashed back 2.2.1 by flashing Speedmod using Odin and then flashing the a full Kitchen wipe ROM onto it, then using nandroid to restore data only.

Works good.
didn't know that. thanks thumbup.gif
gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 12:41 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Apr 26 2011, 10:00 PM)

Added on April 27, 2011, 12:32 am
I asked u abt it in the previous thread. rmb to update ur 1st post biggrin.gif
Owh, I must have missed it. Next time, just pm me.

I already closed that thread. our TS, noobie1 need to do the modification biggrin.gif
gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 01:07 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Apr 26 2011, 10:27 PM)
And yes, flashing bootloaders one too many times is ill advised. One power outage, accidentally tercabut your USB or just suddenly something happened then your SGS can become expensive paperweight.
IMO, having bootloader corrupted is very slim as the bootloader file size is very small - it'll get copied in an instant. You are safer if flashing using a laptop. It's difficult to have the usb cable disconnected accidentally because the connection is fairly strong.

But I agree changing bootloader too many times is unnecessary.
gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 01:32 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

There's a good article on battery saving: http://lifehacker.com/#!5795796/how-to...r-android-phone
gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 09:35 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(karim_effendy @ Apr 27 2011, 06:58 AM)
in the apply script only got 2 option.
/sdcard/sgstool/mount_system_rw.q.txt

and

/sdcard/sgstool/mount_system_ro.q.txt

the backup_efs_q.txt is not present

and i already rooted with CWM.  Maybe i miss one step which is install to sd card. but the option is not given after i complete install it.
From where did you download sgstools? Try downloading the one from the first page.
gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 05:25 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Apr 27 2011, 02:43 PM)
FCs when
add page, folder
when ur at homescreen try to press the home button... mine fc as well... haiz...

now its the battery drain that piss me off the most...
Is that with stock folder widget? Same fc if using simi folder?
gmhafiz
post Apr 27 2011, 11:08 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 27 2011, 08:36 PM)
user list?
there are too many users to list out and TS gonna be more busy
I agree that it is too much of a work. Unless, we set up a wiki.
gmhafiz
post Apr 28 2011, 12:16 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Apr 27 2011, 09:25 PM)
since wiki have an open to all to edit policy, anyone can edit it, so we just make a page, make a table, then ask anyone who want their name in there to edit that page and put it their name.
or another way that i can think is, we create a google document, an excel document maybe, and up it up, anyone can also edit that list.

some how i kinda got the feeling that wiki will be soooo much great, anyone can contribute of filling in those information, it will be like everyone is a TS. we can put in link to thread that sell SGS accessory and anyone can put in links to the latest roms, and reviews.
any idea on a good free wiki hosting?
gmhafiz
post Apr 28 2011, 12:32 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Apr 27 2011, 09:54 PM)
Yea, wikia is a very popular one.

So does everyone agree on having a wiki? If yes, what name?

The first page can still serve as its current function. OTOH, the wiki can be a place where everyone can come in and add useful information. Then, it can slowly be added to the first page.

This way, information can be added faster and TS won't get a headache.
gmhafiz
post Apr 28 2011, 01:01 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

haha you guys are really creative biggrin.gif anyway,

new google docs: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.g...droid.apps.docs

found out yet another good free keyboard: www.cootek.cn
testing it now, feels really nice. can't comment on the chinese input though.
gmhafiz
post Apr 28 2011, 01:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Apr 27 2011, 10:32 PM)
except for the new interface.. nothing new with TW4.. no FC so far
(got bored so flash any 'ringan2' things hehe)

Added on April 28, 2011, 1:04 am
any chance u know any GB keyboard with capable to handle fast type?
my current GB keyboard couldnt catch up with my type speed.. sometimes pop up weird window for alternative alphabet or lag  rclxub.gif
No idea. but this touchpal (cootek.cn) input feels more responsive than swype at tapping.
gmhafiz
post Apr 28 2011, 01:14 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Apr 27 2011, 10:40 PM)
Kek lok si S~~ hahahaha.. SGS Fun Club pun bolehlah
That's like KFC fun club tongue.gif

I like a name that is more descriptive. Something along with greetgoat's suggestion. it's just that sgs means nothing and expanding it will make it too long.

gmhafiz
post Apr 28 2011, 11:20 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Apr 28 2011, 08:40 PM)

Added on April 28, 2011, 11:11 pmWah, what happen now? Everybody seems jump ship back to froyo..
Tried MIUI and JVK. IMO, both are alpha quality. Went back to froyo. I'll wait for a finished cyanogenmod or official gingerbread rom.
gmhafiz
post Apr 29 2011, 12:52 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

There no more lbstestmode in samsung's gingerbread. So,for those on JVK or JVB gingerbread.

How to invoke AngryGPS:

CODE

adb shell am start -a com.android.angryGps -n com.android.angryGps/.AngryGPS

Tonight is really slow. Everyone following galaxy sII launch? It looks really hot! Review is very promising. Bootloader is confirmed to be unlocked. In fact the firmware (I9100XWKDD) is already uploaded to samfirmware
gmhafiz
post Apr 29 2011, 07:06 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(chris7524 @ Apr 29 2011, 09:43 AM)
wow... andriod free app is more than iphone app
can update first post (why not iphone 4)

source http://www.engadget.com/2011/04/28/shocker...ee-iphone-apps/
And number of apps will be more than ios in 5 months time. We know that quality is more important than quantity. But Steve Jobs will have one less thing to gloat about the next iphone5 haha!

also remember that each book is considered as an app. Many 'apps' in ios are not really apps. that's why the number is inflated.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Apr 29 2011, 02:09 PM)
Most ppl shld be busy on SGS II's launching, if not, on the Royal Wedding laugh.gif
royal wedding? who cares?? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Apr 29 2011, 04:21 PM)
should i get 9gb or 16gb ? yawn.gif
I don't think there is 8gb version in malaysia. Maybe with AP set.

Added on April 29, 2011, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 29 2011, 04:35 PM)
im on jvb and wanna flash back to froyo. how to deal with the bootloader stuff?
The gingerbread bootloader is backward compatible with froyo. So just flash the froyo CWM zip file. preferably wipe version.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Apr 29 2011, 07:08 PM
gmhafiz
post Apr 29 2011, 07:19 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Apr 29 2011, 09:42 AM)
Ok... if you're talking about SGS eco system, it is different from the rest 512MB + move2sd architecture. In fact, we never really care much on where the app is installed.... If you're really interested...

1. All your apps will be installed in /data (After factory reset you will have around 1.8GB)
2. Additional apps files (like game data, GPS map data etc.) will be installed in /sdcard (internal sdcard) (13.5GB)
3. Optional. If need bigger space, you can dump your files (music, video, docs etc..) in /sdcard/external_sd (external sdcard) (From 2GB and upwards)
QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Apr 29 2011, 04:41 PM)
ya i mean the AP set. lol. is 8gb enough for games n apps?  tongue.gif
I think space for apps & games for 8gb and 16gb are the same, which is 1.8GB. It's just that internal storage for file & media are 13.5GB for 16GB version and maybe 8GB less in 8GB version.

1.8GB is plenty of space. Never needed to move the apps. Kudos to samsung.

Added on April 29, 2011, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Apr 29 2011, 04:45 PM)
Likewise on Android Market ler. So, can't complain.
Owh is it? I only download books from aldiko & laputa only.

Even so, there's many other ways how number of apps in ios is inflated. Not just books.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Apr 29 2011, 07:21 PM
gmhafiz
post Apr 30 2011, 02:33 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 30 2011, 12:16 AM)
TW4 with galaxy II icons =D
I see no direct copy against iOS. Neither do touchwiz 3. In fact. TW 3&4 has more functionalities like widgets. Apple has no case.

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 30 2011, 01:19 AM)
one thing i'll never understand about samsung @ google @ android itself, why the Nexus S already got the 2.3.4 upcoming OTA updates while galaxy s still stuck with buggy GB? shouldn't they be realizing the facts that Galaxy S is much top-seller than Nexus S? haiyaa
nexus phones are developers phones. They intend to release latest firmwares to developers first before they are released to consumers.

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 30 2011, 04:00 AM)
dun know why, suddenly got the urge to trade sgs for nexus s.....
don't. trade for galaxy s II!
gmhafiz
post Apr 30 2011, 07:58 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Sunshines @ Apr 30 2011, 04:44 PM)
hi, may i know what's a reasonable price for a samsung galaxy s? do you think it's worth waiting for s2?
In my opinion,

If you haven't got a smartphone and have big budget, it's worth the wait for galaxy s II.

If you already own a high-end smartphone, you might want to save money for a next gen smartphones.

If you have low budget, go for sgs. It should be less than RM2000. Google and ask the shops around.
gmhafiz
post May 1 2011, 01:23 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(chayjeong @ Apr 30 2011, 09:51 PM)
okay~ i read d but still don't understand T_T
Which part did you not understand?

QUOTE(chayjeong @ Apr 30 2011, 10:09 PM)
er... btw can i str8 flash to deodex jvb with xwjvb with bootloader? or do i need to do anything first b4 flashing to deodex jvb?
1. Make sure your 3 button combo is working (can go to download mode)
2. Backups::
-- Phonebook & email: Synchronise with google.
-- apps and data: can use Titanium Backup (must root)
-- SMS and MMS: can use SMS Backup+ by Jan Berkel

After you have done all this, can flash to any deodexed gingerbread rom
gmhafiz
post May 1 2011, 10:33 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

I just read a tweet from codeworkx that firmware 2.3.4 is available. BRB.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:24 AM