Streamyx The Official Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V4, Streamyx 4 Mbps Discussion Thread Q&A

Mr.Wang
post Apr 19 2011, 03:58 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(zerashk @ Apr 19 2011, 02:47 PM)
I also noticed my 4mb actually is 2mb from the modem UI, i.e. 192,168.1.1, what should I do? Can I do any further troubleshooting prior calling 100 and report the matter?

Pardon me for not having read through V1 to V3 yet should my question already have been raised before . . .
I also having the same problem starting last week. Use 4mbps but when i check my modem UI, only 1.8mbps or 1mbps, and snr margin only 4.5dB. When I restart modem, it will getting back to 4mbps again and snr margin back to 36dB. I've made a report but so far TM haven't fix it.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 20 2011, 12:46 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Apr 20 2011, 11:23 AM)
they said server hang.. huh how come server cause ..account setup downgrade to 2mb from 4mb? they still working to fixed~
Shogun, can you pls elaborate more on this?

If memory serves me right, one of the 2nd level cust service also told me about the server problem.

Now my speed is ok but if i restart the modem sure problem will come again...

Mr.Wang
post Apr 20 2011, 03:15 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Apr 20 2011, 02:12 PM)
my account is 4mb, but in the modem setting is showing only set 2mb only.. that why speed only can get 1.7mb..
i log a call to 100 and report , one of the techical support say in the server side having problem its hang,
but i don understand why my profile 4mb..downgrade to 2mb ?..
they still working to fixed...now.
My internet suddenly disconnected. Now when reconnected, my modem setting also set to 2mbps. Everything is normal except for the download speed, which is usually capped at 5mbps.

=============================================================================
UPDATE:
I saw TM technician doing something at the cabinet. Just received a call from TM. They said already change port 2mbps and will upgrade it too 5mbps.

============================================================================
UPDATE:

Seems like OK already. But they downgrade my port speed from 5120kbps to 4096kbps. So speedtest results only get 3.2mbps. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Wang: Apr 20 2011, 04:02 PM
Mr.Wang
post Apr 20 2011, 06:09 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Apr 20 2011, 05:56 PM)
hahaha this is what is going happen to me later
I'm so pissed. Called 100 ask them cap me back to 5120kbps but they not allowed....gave me lot of excuses.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 12:42 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 20 2011, 09:16 PM)
Lol what you said?

Added on April 20, 2011, 9:17 pm

Just say like that only?  whistling.gif
U can't lie to them cos they will send technician to your house to verify your complaint.

They (TM 100 CUST REP) told me my speed oredy reached 80% of 4mbps, so no problem. And when I insist them to cap me back to 5mbps, they said no more port for 5mbps, only got 4mbps....bullshit.

I got one of the technician tel number so I called him and told the story. He said he will try to upgrade it back to 5mbps. Hopefully he's the type that will keep promise. If he didn't upgrade then I will call him back until he scared to see my name on his handphone...lol

Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 12:52 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 12:48 AM)
laugh.gif Later technician cap you at 380 kbs and run away.
Why don't you just say you got slow speed, then when technician come on your house, hide a laptop in your toilet while downloading a movie, then your speed = mega slow  rclxms.gif
I've thought that idea already. But how to hide the modem's WLAN LED lights that keeps blinking? If they saw the blinking LED lights, sure they know someone is using wireless.

This post has been edited by Mr.Wang: Apr 21 2011, 12:52 AM
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 02:07 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 01:39 AM)
Usually when the computer is on the light will automatically blink what. Maybe MSN or some background services loading on your computer can cause blinking, doesn't mean download only. Just on your comp with MSN on when he comes then open the speedtest site for him  whistling.gif
Or you can send pics of your speedtest results to level 2 via email? Copy paste someones results and then give them  cool2.gif
But the DATA and DSL lights on the modem blink faster if download something. The TM cabinet is very near to my house, maybe can do something to it...lol. Chances to upgrade back to 5120kbps is slim... sweat.gif
But I won't give up easily.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 12:01 PM

377 posts

I'm back to 5120kbps. Guys, how much upstream speed for 4mbps? Last time my neighbour complaint tm about slow upstream speed, then TM upgrade his upload speed from 512kbps to 712kbps. No joke. I see his modem setting and clearly see his download is 5120kbps and upload is 712kbps.

I wouldn't dare to ask the technician cap me at 7mbps, dunno stable or not.

Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 01:05 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 21 2011, 12:04 PM)
wah
so good
the actual should be 512 only
i got
this is mine
Downstream Line Rate (Kbps): 5118
Upstream Line Rate (Kbps): 511
Internet Connection Status:  Up
Mode:  ADSL2+
SNR Margin (dB):Down/Up  31.1/28.3
Attenuation (dB):Down/Up  23.5/5.2
I think I will call the technician to upgrade upload speed too cos it is only 388kbps, not even up to 80% of 512kbps.
Mine one is:

Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin (dB) 36.0 25.0
Attenuation (dB) 5.0 2.0
Output Power (dBm) 7.5 10.0
Attainable Rate (Kbps) 13280 1228
Rate (Kbps) 5120 512

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 12:14 PM)
How  shocking.gif

Btw you told your technician to leave you on FAST or INTERLEAVE?
It is always on INTERLEAVE mode. People say FAST is better for gaming, but I don't play online games. Only download movies, so INTERLEAVE should be fine I guess.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 01:36 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 21 2011, 01:12 PM)
u got 512
incorrect meh?
or speedtest result not achieve 80%?
overall ur SNR and attenuation is better than mine thumbup.gif
I got 512 but if I run speedtest only get 388kbps, so not up to 80%. So can complaint TM again rclxms.gif

I think the SNR and attenuation if something to do with how far your house to the TM CABINET. And also what mode you're on. I'm on G.dmt mode, not ADSL+2. I dunno why.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 01:58 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 21 2011, 01:54 PM)
GMT is not for 4M user
ADSL2+ is the mode for 4M user
GMT will keep dc and that y ur speed cant achieve 80% for upload shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
just a guess blush.gif  blush.gif
I dunno. This is what stated in my modem settings.

Mode G.dmt
Latency Interleave
Trellis Coding Enable
Status SHOWTIME.
Power Level L0
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 02:27 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(akuinsan @ Apr 21 2011, 02:04 PM)
can't, nowdays TM technician that come to your premis will bring their own laptop+modem for testing.
That's right. And I think they will test with their own account too.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 05:33 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Apr 21 2011, 04:59 PM)
haih.. just received a call from tmnet, said the port already upgraded to 4mb.. i think its 4096 not 5120 as per originally setup..
but nvm.. another 2 month left, after this will terminate 4 mb.. not really use 4mb. speed.. but if setup to 5120. the download speed is very2 good..
Check in your modem settings. It's difficult to ask them cap you back to 5mbps. Unless you are lucky the 2nd level cust support that attend u willing to help. Even better if you know who is the tech man that fix your internet.

Now I don't think I will call 100 (except to open a report to get a rebate) for help anymore because the technician that helped me upgrade my internet back to 5mbps said just directly give him a call if got problem with internet. rclxms.gif
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 05:55 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Apr 21 2011, 05:45 PM)
wah so good , but normally  they will ask to call 100. i getting back my speedd !!! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
BUT dont know for how long , until it will reset back to 2mb.. hopefully not.. haha btw, i already request the termination for formm

ermm think again.. to terminate.. hahah  biggrin.gif
That's a good news...! Yes normally they will ask call 100 first. But I don't know why he said just directly call him. I guess that's because he's in charge of fixing telephone/internet line in my area. So if I call 100, the cust support will forward the report to him also.

One of my neighbour also use 4mbps but only surf facebook, email, etc. No heavy usage.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 06:40 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 06:29 PM)
5 days already I open report. Been bomboaring 100 hotline everyday. They'll just say they will email the New Installer Department and will rush them. 5 freaking days I call everyday get same reply.

Adui all sleeping is it? One feedback call also never receive from them, my speed still the same. Upgraded from 1mbps to 4mbps 2 weeks ago. Port all set up, tech came and fix everything, just my account profile in their server 1MBPS, dunno which noob tech never go update then ask me go make report.

So simple thing upgrade my profile in their server also cannot do. Damn pissed now. Everytime get same reply.
Since you got a report, just proceed to report this problem to MCMC. Otherwise dunno until when u have to wait. Don't forget to get a rebate once your problem is solved.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 09:05 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 08:34 PM)
I complain got what use? I just call again, this time they said they need one freaking week to update my account in their server. Extremely ridiculous people. I also don't know what to do. The NI department got emailed so many times also never call me once in this 5 days. Aiyo this type of service how to become #1 broadband

Added on April 21, 2011, 9:00 pm

I just sent email to MCMC and CFM regarding my issue. Will they take my complaint seriously and help me? Or should I call them directly? I tried but it's after their working hours now.
Last time I complaint online via the MCMC form. They will take action but in my case need to wait about 1-2 weeks time before any action taken.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 09:47 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 09:33 PM)
Woah why so long? I can't wait 1-2 weeks again, already waited 2 weeks and still haven't gotten my speed  mad.gif
I just need MCMC to rush these lazy peoples butts so they can work faster and help me solve my problem.
I dunno TM or MCMC that took so long. What I know is I received a call from TM after about 1 or 2 weeks (I can't remember) after I submit MCMC online complaint. You better telephone MCMC to follow up tomorrow if you want fast.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 21 2011, 09:58 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ Apr 21 2011, 09:49 PM)
Ok thanks, I'll do that tomorrow and see what I get  smile.gif
tomorrow is good friday doh.gif
Mr.Wang
post Apr 22 2011, 03:59 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Apr 21 2011, 05:45 PM)
wah so good , but normally  they will ask to call 100. i getting back my speedd !!! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
BUT dont know for how long , until it will reset back to 2mb.. hopefully not.. haha btw, i already request the termination for formm

ermm think again.. to terminate.. hahah  biggrin.gif
How is your internet so far? Is it stable at 4mbps? Mine is still not stable. Sometimes up to 4mbps but sometimes only 1.8mbps speed test results. And I see in my modem settings the downstream drop to 608kbps - 1.8mbps and few minutes later jump up to 5mbps again...up and down...weird rclxub.gif

Try to restart your modem few times...see if it stays on 5mbps or not.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 24 2011, 12:24 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 23 2011, 08:25 PM)
[attachmentid=2174966]

My 4 Mbps line degraded and report has been dispatch for them to fix it

SNR suddenly #fakap

Cannot sync at 5120kbps
Dude I got same problem recently, intermittent. Sometimes it's normal 5120kbps , sometimes not.

0.0457sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 PM