4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC

TSGen-X
post Dec 19 2011, 05:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I also got a call today from 011-10699906 informing that they are banks' out source centre asking if I want to convert to installment plan.

If it is a mobile number, just don't entertain them.
TSGen-X
post Jan 10 2012, 03:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mrul @ Jan 5 2012, 05:25 PM)
i also received a call just now from 016 6652473...offering me a medical plan + bla bla bla...ask her whether hv to pay or not n she said need to pay rm 450...immediately said not interested n she immediately hang up!

p/s: she lure me to tell me what is the expiry date of the card but i immediately ask her whether hv to pay or not...
QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Jan 10 2012, 11:44 AM)
I just receive a call from 0147283092, claim from maybank and ask me if i have any issue using their credit card.

As i know this is fraud call, i ask why you calling from mobile number, she say this not a mobile number this TM direct line they play on hold tone for me, its not relevant at all.

She ask me again if i have issue with my master card and read out fast2 the credit card number. Aware that this and i try to not layan her and when she ask something i answer some rubbish try not to say yes on any part of the conversation.

she get mad at me and say "pukimak" and hang out the phone, i save the number as to Spam001, i'll start saving every number from this thread today onwards, just to be on safe side.
Thanks for the feedback, but I am having trouble with 1st post. Last few times I edited to add something, everytime when I submit modified post, the post goes blank. 1st time it happened made me panic as all our hard work disappear, luckily when I click "go back one page", info still there. Made a mistake did not reserve 2nd post.

Will try to figure out how to reorganize the valuable info provided by all.
TSGen-X
post Feb 3 2012, 08:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Read this Thread on CC Suspicious Calls.

It is termed as Caller ID Spoofing where a genuine telephone number is used.

Those of you who have a credit card, please read the thread posted above for your own good.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 3 2012, 08:22 AM
TSGen-X
post Feb 13 2012, 12:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 13 2012, 12:33 PM)
+60162117917
Got a call.. And tell me he offering the privilege card for visa cardholder..

I'm very noob, did give him my address and card number (front only) I thought it's free.. Then turned up need to pay.. I said.. I don't want.. Please cancel it.. Then he say.. Ok.. And hung up..

Can he do something? What should I do?
Next time read first post. Mobile number ignore it! Call you card CS and see if they can block the transaction.
TSGen-X
post Mar 9 2012, 01:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rikitik @ Mar 9 2012, 12:18 PM)
Please add these numbers from Warisan Takaful also
01110800279 (someone named Aliah)
Thank you. Problem is whenever I edit the first post, it goes blank after I submit it! Give me sometime and I'll try to come out with a format that I can add new numbers to previous numbers . Now, I see first post also blur don't know how to make it systematic.
TSGen-X
post Mar 23 2012, 12:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Updated the numbers to first page BUT split into 2 post i.e. Post#1 for land lines and Post#11 for mobile lines.
TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 05:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Updated post#1 for report by danieltan and for mobile numbers see post#11

if you note below two reports, the syndicate must have bought a bunch of prepaid numbers is series..

0102209673 post#248.. claiming to call from 'credit card service centre' for all credit cards. Claiming want to send me some discount card or something.. Ask me to give one of my credit card no and expiry for validation.. there I start questioning...Then she revealed it was a company name kembara something..ZiNKaK

0102209671 and 0102209672 post#249. Claimed to be from MBBservice card center...everyone will receive this kind of service.. and you cannot say you don't want... the registration fee is RM499 ..in installment... About RM20-30++ permonth....asked for visa details for confirmation.
I'm so stupid to provide the visa details... Had called MBB and she help me block my visa card.They provide some sort of service card, touchngo and free insurance coverage for 1 year by RHB.... After I heard RHB i feel something not right...JonnY

They must be changing prepaid numbers very frequent, now it starts with 010. Last time, we need to go to Telco Centre and register prepaid number with our IC. Nowadays it seems it is not the case. Our government agencies sometimes do come out with good policies but as usual Malaysia Boleh and what is said today can change tomorrow.

And why are LYN members still being conned? You guys should share this thread with other fellow members at other sections.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 23 2012, 05:48 PM
TSGen-X
post Jun 21 2012, 12:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LordChaos @ Jun 21 2012, 11:13 AM)
+60 19 675 0068, malay lady asking about my CC maybank expiry date, haven't even picked up the cards yet. Stupid maybank can't event secure their customer's data.
QUOTE(Zaman85 @ Jun 21 2012, 12:01 PM)
it also happen to me...how they get our info...with the same number
Lets do some detective work:

Answer the following:

1. Where did both of you apply the card?
a. Location and Date (approximately).

IF not at a Maybankard Centre, please answer question 2 to 4.
2. Was it thru a agent or a Maybank Staff?
3. Got the name of the agent(s) you applied the card with? You should have asked for name card.
4. Name of the agent company?

If you answer Q1 Not at Maybankard Centre and Q2 to Q4 don't know, then you were asking for trouble in the first place.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 21 2012, 12:38 PM
TSGen-X
post Jun 22 2012, 10:45 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Zaman85 @ Jun 22 2012, 10:36 AM)
apply using m2u about 2 week ago...
received sms approval on 14/6
scam attempt on 15/6
QUOTE(LordChaos @ Jun 22 2012, 01:06 AM)
Applied at maybank beside Sri Pentas, attached with gloria jeans coffee roughly 2 weeks ago. Directly at the counter.

Received a call on 20/6 to pickup the cards, scam attempt on the 21/6.
from Zaman85's post, I conclude that Maybank needs to do an internal investigation on their side sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 22 2012, 10:46 AM
TSGen-X
post Jun 22 2012, 10:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 22 2012, 10:16 PM)
Well that depends, it IS possible to obtain an approval code without the VCC (those three numbers at the back.) To be safe it's better to cancel the card.
agree, better call CS immediately and cancel the card.
TSGen-X
post Jul 11 2012, 02:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ck23 @ Jul 11 2012, 02:29 PM)
03-23326984

scam called received today!
about what? Elaborate lah.
TSGen-X
post Jul 12 2012, 11:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(deviantART @ Jul 12 2012, 05:27 PM)
Got a call from 0162086243 and 0162120475 today
The first call - 0162120475

She asked if I have receive my CC. I acknowledge. She then asked what type of card Visa or Master? I said I couldnt remember as the card is not with me right now. She said she will call me back tomorrow for confirmation.  rclxub.gif
Second call - 0162086243 (1 hour after the first call)

Saying they are from Maybank and wanted to offer me a discount card since i have 2 CC from Maybank.

He got my full name & IC number. He then gave me a warning to not give the 3 digits behind the CC to anyone because bank will never asked for it (to make it seems legit? hmm.gif )

He also explained that the 16 digits in front is "nombor pendaftaran" and is safe to give other people this number. He then asked for my 16 digits and expiry date on my CC.

I decline to give.
yah, this is worrisome, many who has the MBB 2 Cards reported here that somehow people know they name and IC number
TSGen-X
post Jul 18 2012, 10:58 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 18 2012, 10:48 AM)
This number 03-79501177 everyday will call you if you didn't answer the calls.....
!@@##$%^^^
answer lah and see what's it about and if they know your name and card number.
TSGen-X
post Sep 6 2012, 12:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Saustic @ Sep 6 2012, 12:22 PM)
Would MBB call you from a private number?

Ever since I get numerous fake calls regarding my credit card, I made the habit of saying I don't have a credit card (thus cutting the conversation short), but this person said, "Eh, if you don't have a credit card then why do I see transactions here? If that's the case, I'm going to block this card."

Realizing I may have made a mistake, before I could say anything, she hung up. lol? doh.gif

Just wanted to clarify with you guys onthe private number from MBB before I call their CS to check back.
You should call CS and confirm. Even if the call was genuine, not a problem. Better be safe than sorry. And you can always instruct them to reacitivate the card if it was really suspended. Maybe always tell us they won't call or email us asking for personal details mah.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 6 2012, 12:27 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 7 2012, 10:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ah_ken @ Oct 6 2012, 12:47 AM)
Today I received a call from 052415188, they claim that they are from maybank.
Any number that does not start with area code 03 is a sign that it is most probably a fake call.

If people call you using mobile phone to offer credit cards or personal loans, one should be extremely cautious and should not even entertain them.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 7 2012, 10:48 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 9 2012, 10:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 8 2012, 06:05 PM)
Received a call from 03-23801905 offering credit re-structure plan from Hong Leong. I asked how he got my name and number and he said I may have a credit card with Hong Leong. I pointed out that I have no credit card or any relation with Hong Leong, and he said he is not from Hong Leong but an outcource centre for many banks  rclxub.gif
I received a similar call yesterday from a mobile line claiming to be a company outsourced by RHB for offering lower interest rate for outstanding balance. As usual, they got my name correct but call the wrong phone. (I have many phones with active numbers and one number specifically for banks only which is not disclosed to others). And the best part is he asked if I got a RHB credit card doh.gif Told him nicely not interested and ended the call.
TSGen-X
post Feb 22 2014, 10:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 21 2014, 03:49 PM)
Just to share on how to handle suspicious calls.  Recently I got a call from a Bank to say that my CC had been compromised and they wanted to issue me with a new CC.

Our conversation went something like this:

CS - Can I do some verification
Me - Fine
CS - Can u give me your NRIC Number
Me - How can I be sure that you are really calling from XXX Bank.  Can u give me my last 4-digits of my CC

CS - We cannot reveal customer data
Me - But there is no way I can be sure you are calling from XXX Bank. Can u give me one merchant that I have auto debit with
CS - We cannot reveal customer data.

Me - Then, I cannot reveal to you my NRIC Number
CS - But your card has been compromised. We have to block your card and issue you with a new card. Do u want your new Card.
Me -Yes of course, but BNM says don't reveal personal info over the phone to strangers

CS - okay, I will get the system to send you an SMS to call by the Helpline. Is that okay with you
Me - Yes

So, the CS puts down the phone and I get a sms immediately to call my Helpline and that my card has been compromised.

So, I call the Helpline and true enough, my card had been compromised and I was issued a new card.

So guys, remember, never reveal any personal info to strangers over the phone.
Bro, what I would have done was tell the guy that since I cannot verify the source of the call, I'll call CS (number behind the card and not any other number).

TSGen-X
post Jul 16 2014, 02:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Jul 16 2014, 01:56 PM)
I received a call from 016-3300245 & 012-5518453

Claimed from HLB and will help me to reduce my cc balance but need to know my statement (bring along during meeting) and also my cc & ic?

Called HLB and the cust service said no such thing as Balance Conversion but the closest they have is Balance Transfer, which i assume not the same..

My plan is to meet this guy but not disclosing anything as yet.. maybe i'll just email him later lah kan..

Anyone has had this kind before?
Wah, you so free to go meet up with the guy. Take photos of him and the meeting place and post here please.

To ALL:

As warned in Post No.1

alexwsk - one simple fact to highlight: banks will never call from hp number
TSGen-X
post Jul 30 2014, 04:57 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(dcon @ Jul 30 2014, 04:49 PM)
03-21888899
Called from voice message claimed from AMBank, to verify a transaction made on Poh Kong around RM3000 ++, then press 0 to spoke to the operator, being told i have RM6000++ outstanding balance in the credit card since May, which i had never applied, provide them my name and IC for verification,  I didn't provide them my full address - just the area, but i have ask lots of questions with them, ask for their exact name, call back number, billing address, my outstanding balance etc... then he transfer my line to someone claimed from bank negara. Maybe they getting too many questions and they just dropped off the call say will call back.
Called Ambank to verify, being told it's a scam, luckily didn't provide much information to them.
What, they still using the same trick.

If you had read Post#1 where I complied reports from members here, you will know you just experience a Caller ID Spoofing. And I did mentioned it in my article titled Credit Card Fraud Calls, where I also gave a link in Post#1.
TSGen-X
post Mar 30 2015, 12:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(VDread @ Mar 30 2015, 11:45 AM)
+60 11-1076 4574

Received a call from this number earlier. Person on the line claims that she is calling from an 'insurance company' that I didn't quite their name (was it OBE? QBE?) that claims my Maybank card had a Personal Insurance embedded when I applied, and it was in the final year of coverage after two years.

They claimed they are terminating my so called 'coverage' and will be charging my card RM399. Naturally I said no and argued that they cannot do it, and I strictly told them to not proceed with the transaction (since I do not remember my Maybank card comes with Personal Insurance).

The woman on the line insisted that everything is in the T&C of my credit card, and her 'top management' will continue with the transaction of RM399 even without my consent. She hung up with a 'Fine, Goodbye!' after I lambasted her.

Has anyone encountered this before?
Call Maybank Customer Service immediately to report and block that transaction.

By the way, did he mentioned your full name and your I.C. NO or Card number?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0206sec    1.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:52 AM