4,202 posts

@ZeratoS:
wow sounds like an awesome project.

you got a business model for that liao?
ZeratoS
post Oct 17 2009, 02:57 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 16 2009, 04:56 PM)
@ZeratoS:
wow sounds like an awesome project.

you got a business model for that liao?
Nope! Its a side-project for all of us. The problem isn't the capital, its the staff. If we can develop an engine sufficiently capable of rendering the game in the way I want it with the intended physics engine, then we can think of more. Think of Uncharted 2 and Bayonetta style of gameplay. Fast-paced, interactive with the landscape.

Team Echo : Gaia Project - Programmers Needed!

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Oct 17 2009, 03:00 AM
frags
post Dec 18 2009, 07:45 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Interesting times for indie or starting/beginner game devs. A couple of game dev platforms have been released for free.

Unreal Development Kit - yes Unreal engine 3 dev kit is now available for free(but for non commercial purposes. If interested in commercial applications you could apply for a different license latter on)

http://www.udk.com/

Unity - A web based engine that was quite impressive with the amount of detail it is able to render in 3D on a web browser. The Unity SDK also allows users to compile for Windows too apart from unity's own web based app.

http://unity3d.com/unity/

Dark Basic - A little old, but absolutely no limitations in terms of license.

http://darkbasicpro.thegamecreators.com/

Direct download - http://files.thegamecreators.com/darkbasic...oOnlineFree.zip

Game maker 7.0 - Not quite free, but there is a free version that you can tinker with. The full version isn't very expensive.

http://www.yoyogames.com/make

You can download any of these tools to start playing with game creation. Plenty of tutorials for all of them.

SUSPanadol
post Jan 1 2010, 12:50 PM

211 posts

If you're planning to start small but want to earn money straight from the get go without having to hone your 3d modelling and texturing skills to godly level, consider picking up Flash/AS3. The market is already there, do a decent game and you can easily fetch USD1k+.

Here are a few example websites that will pick up your game for sponsorship if it's halfway decent:

http://www.kongregate.com
http://www.armorgames.com
http://king.com
http://www.newgrounds.com

Or better yet, check out http://www.flashgamelicense.com/

The AS3 community is fairly matured now with people porting various frameworks into AS3. For example

Erin Catto's Box2d ported to AS3
http://box2dflash.sourceforge.net

Adam Saltsman's Flixel (sprite based platforming engine)
http://flixel.org

Papervision3d
http://code.google.com/p/papervision3d/
http://dailypv3d.wordpress.com/

You'll have to be fairly competent with AS3 before you can start using them. Not exactly a walk in the park but it'll be worth it.
elan
post Jan 5 2010, 12:35 PM

69 posts

Hey guys, LG is coming up with a new Flash game contest

http://www.lgborderless.com.my/contest/

Guidelines:

• Games are designed with either Flash or Java applet.
• Games must be developed as web games played via online websites.
• LG’s game competition website will model http://www.kongregate.com
• Simple and fun game preferably puzzle, shooting, action, rhythm, tower defense, etc.
• No database collection
• LG logo flash upfront for few seconds before the game commence
• LG will share the rights to the games submitted

Some other information :
• The winning game of this contest will be featured in LG's upcoming product website.
• Youth Asia will invite 80,000 of our active members from YouthSays.com to play the game

Process:
• Provide us the game in flash file (.swf) or Java Applet file and we will upload it to the LG sponsored game website
• Users will rate the game, based on the playability and fun factor
• Winners are announced based on 50% users voting and 50% internal judge panel

Prize
First place : RM 10,000 + Trophy
Second place : RM 3,000 + Trophy
Third place : RM 2,000 + Trophy
5 x consolation prizes : RM 1,000

(Optional to get associated with institution and campus)

For more info, email ronn@youthasia.com

This post has been edited by elan: Jan 5 2010, 12:39 PM
SUSd3m0n
post Feb 16 2010, 09:54 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

This is a nice thread for people who are interested in game development. Never knew there is actually a number of game developers in Malaysia. Am interested in making a simple rpg game myself. Any pointers for me all Gurus?
ZeratoS
post Feb 23 2010, 11:08 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Feb 16 2010, 09:54 PM)
This is a nice thread for people who are interested in game development. Never knew there is actually a number of game developers in Malaysia. Am interested in making a simple rpg game myself. Any pointers for me all Gurus?
Begin with a plotting out your path and project. If you've got goals set, you can move on. I guess then you should get aqquainted with the programming language of choice. C++ would be a good start (or Visual Basic if you'd like). I'm by no means an expert, so you might want to ask others too!
frags
post Mar 12 2010, 04:40 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Nothing really new here but just an outline of Blizzard's design philosophy:
http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=27640

In a lecture Thursday at GDC, Blizzard EVP of game design Rob Pardo shared Blizzard's core design concepts, offering examples of places where the World of Warcraft developer succeeded and failed in creating compelling multiplayer experiences.

Pardo offered a plethora advice to the designers present, stressing that these lessons may not necessarily gel with other studios and suggesting that everybody go through this same exercise to set down their individual design team's rules.

Below are a few of Blizzard's rules that we found particularly helpful. Some may seem obvious, but often it is the obvious advice that we tend to forget about first.

Gameplay First

Blizzard's core design philosophy is to design around the core fun gameplay concepts, rather than working around other aspects such as tech. By way of example, significant changes had to be made in the world's lore between Warcraft III and World of Warcraft in order to make a more fun and balanced game, despite pushback from some who felt the lore was sacred.

Pardo was quick to point out that he doesn't mean design comes first, as it is easy to fall into a trap where designers come up with things they like that don't work so well for the players.

Easy to Learn, Difficult to Master

More specifically, Pardo says the objective he pushes at Blizzard is more akin to "Easy to learn and almost impossible to master." Because almost all Blizzard games are primarily multiplayer, the company must focus a significant amount of depth to the multiplayer.

"When we shipped WoW, people say we dumbed everything down," said Pardo. "Actually, WoW is a really hardcore game, it just happens to be more accessible than a lot of other games."

Pardo says that the Blizzard design pipeline is to design the games depth first, because it's the hardest part of design. He suggested that rather than worrying about the multiplayer component of a game last, Blizzard tweaks that component first and feeds what they learn into the single-player campaign.

Make Everything Overpowered

"We want to take everything to 11," said Pardo. "Every unit and class has to feel like this unit and class can not be stopped. That's the feeling we want to give."

The ultimate goal of balancing classes, said Pardo, is to make players feel like every new class they play with is better than the last one. This applies not only to gameplay, but to characters and lore as well.

"All of our main characters are fifty feet tall," said Pardo. "And if it happened in the past, it happened ten thousand years ago."

Play Don't Tell

This is of course a gameplay-tweaked version of the "show don't tell" writer's mantra. Blizzard makes a point to make sure story is told through gameplay, rather than just being told through text.

"Use things like text and voiceovers to enhance the story, but not tell it," said Pardo.

Make It A Bonus

As designers, say Pardo, there is a natural tendency to worry about punishing the player rather than rewarding them, but a clever designer can play with a player's psychology and turn it into a bonus.

Pardo related an example of World of Warcraft's rest system: when the game launched, players were punished for playing too long by having their experience gain percentage drop from 100 to 50 percent after a couple hours of play.

"Beta players universally hated this idea and were screaming bloody murder," said Pardo.

The fix? Turning this into a bonus scenario instead. Players now start at 200 percent experience and drop down to 100 percent. It's the exact same mechanic, but now it's a bonus instead of a punishment.

Added on March 12, 2010, 4:49 pmGDC: Indie Keynote - Championing Immediacy And Depth

http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=27596

This post has been edited by frags: Mar 12 2010, 04:49 PM
frags
post Mar 14 2010, 01:09 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

GDC: Sid Meier's Lessons On Gamer Psychology
http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/27654/G..._Psychology.php
http://gdc.gamespot.com/video/6253529/ (video)

GDC: Will Wright Peels Back Layers Of Entertainment, Games
http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/27662/G...nment_Games.php
ChrisTan92
post Mar 25 2010, 10:40 PM

57 posts

Hi guys ... I'm new towards this forum and i'm just wondering if i could ask some question here.

Since i started secondary school, games change my life ALOT, i like games so much that i would be willing to risk my future and try to enter the game industry and i'm planning to take graphic design.

Anyone had any idea on how to continue after i'm done with my degree??

I had a few ideas but i just wrote it down on a paper about the storyline , gameplay and the characters but i had no idea on how to create and program my own game using software...

Any tips anyone??
frags
post Apr 1 2010, 05:30 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(ChrisTan92 @ Mar 25 2010, 10:40 PM)
Hi guys ... I'm new towards this forum and i'm just wondering if i could ask some question here.

Since i started secondary school, games change my life ALOT, i like games so much that i would be willing to risk my future and try to enter the game industry and i'm planning to take graphic design.

Anyone had any idea on how to continue after i'm done with my degree??

I had a few ideas but i just wrote it down on a paper about the storyline , gameplay and the characters but i had no idea on how to create and program my own game using software...

Any tips anyone??
Get a job. Don't look for a games related job. Just a job to earn a salary. Make games, lots of em. Get experience making games for a hobby. Keep applying for game industry related jobs don't give up and update your resume as you complete your games(and include links where prospective employers can take a look at it).
Cheese
post Apr 2 2010, 02:06 PM

295 posts

hi chris, just so you're aware, a degree in graphic design doesn't always prepare people for the game industry much less the one here, in malaysia which is still far from maturity. having these skillsets however means you can look into advancing your career in the field of game art. from there, you can advance into technical art or concept art eventually taking a lead position or becoming an art director.

note that there's a common misunderstanding between graphic design and game design. one roughly deals with the creation of art content and visual concepts while the latter, depending on which camp you encounter later on, is about the conceptual production/mechanics/story etc. of the game.

if you work with a larger team, your scope may become even more specialized as a game artist and you may find yourself handling only the visual aspects of the game. (writers and levellers will conceptualize while designers will plan mechanics)

getting into a game company isn't exactly about portfolios. it may work for the graphic design/illustration field, but most companies already understand that most of what institutions teach can't be applied directly into game development. as long as your skillsets are sufficient to their needs, they'll be looking at your personality, and attitude towards your career next. after all, better a humble graduate with no experience who's ready to learn than the 1st class game design degree snob who thinks everyone should make his game.

and for that matter, do be aware that auteurship is rare in this field, so rather than having a mindset of making 'my' game, always keep the 'what can i contribute to this' approach in your endeavours. good luck and all the best to you

This post has been edited by Cheese: Apr 2 2010, 02:08 PM
SUSPanadol
post Apr 3 2010, 04:07 PM

211 posts

A breakdown of the flash game Steambird's earnings and other details:

http://www.andymoore.ca/2010/03/steambirds-by-the-numbers/

The game itself on ArmorGames:

http://armorgames.com/play/5426/steambirds
frags
post Apr 30 2010, 05:01 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Anyone interested in learning game design with a buddy(me) using Unity3D 2.6 please PM me. I feel it would be better to learn it with someone else. Absolute beginners are also welcomed but must have strong drive to learn the tool.

This post has been edited by frags: Apr 30 2010, 05:01 PM
frags
post May 21 2010, 02:00 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(kypronite @ May 18 2010, 02:51 PM)
you learning unity engine to program on iphone is it?
I focus on PC development, but the group is open to anyone.
SUSmylife4nerzhul
post Jun 1 2010, 04:11 PM

270 posts

What is the unity engine? Is it freeware? Is it simple to use?
H@H@
post Jun 1 2010, 04:53 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

http://unity3d.com/

Its technically free for use for the PC, but if you want more features (Like for iPhone) or want to sell it commercially, it isn't. The biggest selling point is that all their games can run from within a web browser with just a plugin (Or none at all if you're using Chrome)

Its incredibly robust and allows you to make full 3D games easily with most of the stuff that other SDKs provide.
frags
post Jun 1 2010, 05:53 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jun 1 2010, 04:53 PM)
http://unity3d.com/

Its technically free for use for the PC, but if you want more features (Like for iPhone) or want to sell it commercially, it isn't. The biggest selling point is that all their games can run from within a web browser with just a plugin (Or none at all if you're using Chrome)

Its incredibly robust and allows you to make full 3D games easily with most of the stuff that other SDKs provide.
Actually the free indie package(now just called Unity) is available for commercial releases. The caveat is that for registered companies that made US100,000 in the last fiscal year, they need to purchase Unity Pro. Which means you can use it for a first commercial release for free(and if you make 100,000 you need to upgrade).

I think it's a great option for start ups.

PS : UDK(thats the Unreal 3 tech) however doesn't allow users to commercially release their game using the free version. You will need to pay a royalty based scheme where you pay USD99 up front and once you get sales past USD5,000 Epic takes a 25% royalty on all sales from then onwards.

Added on June 1, 2010, 5:54 pmI created this work group for discussions on general game design and Unity.

http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/gamedesignmalaysia/

Join up if anyone is interested.

This post has been edited by frags: Jun 1 2010, 05:59 PM
LanoG
post Jun 29 2010, 12:56 PM

Developing game is fun... if you had a passion, then this is the right job for you to do full time or part time...
plankton
post Jul 1 2010, 11:40 AM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

great info.

frags, applied for the group, will most probably be on the sideline for now until I get a bit familiar with Unity3d.

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:20 PM