Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards, Discuss about your HSBC CC

sj0217
post Nov 4 2012, 07:31 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Oct 19 2012, 11:09 AM)
The minimum income requirement for theci is RM36,000 per annum.
Currently holding HSBC Gold card, but it seem like no any benefit attracted me to be spend. Only point for accumulated, but not cash back. sad.gif

I'm prefer cash back rather than point accumulate, some more the point got expire time within 2 years, right??

But may I ask any benefits for HSBC Amanah MPower Visa Platinum Credit Card-i as I have go through with HSBC website, its seem like more attempt to hold a card for cash back. hmm.gif

Added on November 4, 2012, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(fly126 @ Oct 18 2012, 12:49 AM)
Just Ignore them... blink.gif I got Calls from HSBC almost Every Month which offer me Balance Tranfer, Personal Loan, Cash on Call etc... sweat.gif
received a called as well, is regarding insurance plan rclxub.gif doh.gif

This is third time already, also Indian girl, look like she is forcing me to buy it from her, zzz

I think just ignore these kind of call in future.

This post has been edited by sj0217: Nov 4 2012, 07:34 PM
sj0217
post Nov 5 2012, 08:44 AM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 4 2012, 08:37 PM)
Click here to read my review of the HSBC Amanah MPower Platinum Card

I would say the HSBC Amanah MPower with 0.5% cash back for general transaction is better compared to your Gold or my Visa Signature which earn reward points.

If you want cash back cards, click here to my Cash Back Card Page to see list of cards offering meaningful cash back for transactions. Check out my article on MACH by Hong Leong Bank where I have a prepared a comparison table.
Much more appreciated on your comment and useful link. notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

Initially, I have decision that OCBC Tit credit card is my first choice on my daily spending in term of 5% cash back but I have no eligible to hold it. I know all the benefits for this cards and suit for me too, also I have go through with your link and keep updating in Forum of OCBC Tit cards. Think will try to apply next year.

Luckily, I have MBB2 cards which really good for me to spending on weekends, earn 5% cask back and rewards point but these benefits only for weekends spending, no weekdays, weekdays only for rewards point.

Therefore, end up OCBC Tit cc is my first choices that can be spend on weekdays for 5%/1% cask back. Second is Citibank Platinum cask back card but this card for requirement is RM48k per year. sad.gif

I personally think that above cc mentioned (HLB) that is not suit for me as this is quite make trouble, I don't have HL bank saving account, if want to open a new accounts where will be charge money right? And some more need to spend minimum RM1k with it every month, if not; there will be get nothing oh

sj0217
post Nov 6 2012, 01:25 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Nov 5 2012, 02:10 PM)
just called to cancel as my more than 20 times attempts to get the CS have been futile.  LOL
You just called to terminal this “HSBC Amanah MPower Visa Platinum Credit Card-I” ? Some more 20 times?!! shocking.gif

Is there so hard to terminal their service? I’m planning to terminal it as well in end of the month as I seldom use it, if not, there will be chargeable hmm.gif

Added on November 6, 2012, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(Explorer II @ Nov 6 2012, 11:56 AM)
The minimum income requirement for the Citibank Cash Back Platinum is RM40k per annum, not RM48k per annum.
oh??!! I tot the minimum income will be RM48 per annum, I think this is old information that I referred doh.gif

This post has been edited by sj0217: Nov 6 2012, 01:27 PM
sj0217
post Jan 14 2013, 10:43 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(noos @ Jan 14 2013, 10:19 PM)
Hi all, I need some advice...
Last year Dec. I've been persuade to apply for HSBC AMANAH Platinum Visa CC, & I've agree to apply this CC.
In 29/12/12 I received my CC and activate in the same day. My 1st swipe for the CC was on 31/12/12.
Just in last week, I received a bill statement from HSBC & they charge me for RM50 gov. tax for yr 2012, I'm so shock to see this charges.
By just owning the CC for 3 days I needed to pay the gov. tax it really feels like kena CON by the sales agent.

Question: Can I call up HSBC to ask them remove the gov. tax since I only used it 3 days?
Based on my understanding, the govt tax for RM50 is charge on the date of issued of your credit card, not charge for each calender year.

The next govt tax for your credit card should be 29/12/13.

sj0217
post Jan 30 2013, 05:20 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ Jan 30 2013, 03:58 PM)
Hi mates,

I have some problems with HSBC credit card.

In December 2012, I contact CS to cancel HSBC credit card via telephone.

Subsequently in January 2013, i found that they charge GST for my card (looking via internet). I contacted CS again and questioned them why they still charged GST as the card had been cancelled in Dec 2012. The CS replied that because the Cancellation Dept still hasn't called me and so the cancellation haven't be finalized. So, she said that allow 10 working days to process.

After 10 working days, no call from the Cancellation Dept and when I checked through the internet, the RM50 GST is still there. I called again, another CS said that the card had been blocked and the GST is still in the process to zerolise(no need to pay). She said I need to wait for the call.

Till now, I still haven't received any call from HSBC to confirm the cancellation despite the numerous calls to HSBC. My question is if the confirmation call still haven't received from HSBC, is it mean that the card never be formally cancelled. (I had tried to use the card after my cancellation call and it proved that it had been blocked by HSBC in Dec 2012). But if the card had been cancelled, why they still charge GST for my card after cancellation...

Anyone experience this? What can I do if I still haven't received any call from HSBc???

Please advise and thank in advance!
Bad to heard that!

Have you try walk in center and ask about this matter instead of waiting a call from HSBC bank?

I think this is the direct solution from there? perhaps you have do so??

sj0217
post Jan 31 2013, 01:20 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ Jan 31 2013, 08:57 AM)
After the incident, I did walk to the local branch to talk about this. She said she can't do anything now and need to wait for the cancellation call from the HQ

The local branch officer said there are 2 types of cancellation:-
1). By using telephone. This method is very mafan, you need to wait for the cancellation call from the HQ or you need to call back to check whether the card has been formally cancelled or not.

2). Direct walk to the local branch and fill in the cancellation form, cut the card by the officer and sign. Get the photocopy cancellation form if possible to prove if later on require to do so.
Based on yr mentioned above of cutting the card in front of the staff there, is this possible to hold it as for collection?? But all the cancellation will need to be done, just for the card itself only, anyone exp this before? hmm.gif

OR by using number 3 method which fax in the cancellation letter with the photocopy of the paper that the card has been cutted, but actually the card is not being cut yet by yrself
sj0217
post Jan 31 2013, 04:59 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ Jan 31 2013, 03:56 PM)
The officer told me that she needs to cut the card by herself and obviously u can't keep the card if u cancel the cards by going to the local branches.
Oh I see, maybe can try to termine it by calling or fax. sad.gif

sj0217
post Feb 22 2013, 07:24 AM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Feb 22 2013, 12:21 AM)
introduced in singapore on november last year..
hopefully it will soon be in malaysia..will it?
yeah the card looks ugly with no colour at all but i want it..lol
Very nice design with the black color background, and also good for card collection as well drool.gif drool.gif thumbup.gif
sj0217
post Mar 25 2013, 01:56 PM

6,484 posts

Anyone have this exp before? If you going to cancel the card and the balance for this card still has RM0.19.

How u going to settle this amount before you terminate the card service to bank? Besides, I don't have HSBC bank saving account.

Only one way I can do is walk in to bank and pay the balance to counter staff to be settlement??
sj0217
post Mar 25 2013, 02:39 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 25 2013, 02:15 PM)
Just go to the nearest HSBC bank to settle or just get a friend to help you. Or IBG but waste IBG fees
But what I concern is that if walk in to bank and settle the balance, the staff will ask me to show the credit card and cut but I wanna keep it.

Friend can on behalf of me to settle the balance??

hmm.gif , thinking to use IBG, although it will be charge RM2 per transaction

Thanks for your advice rclxms.gif
sj0217
post Mar 27 2013, 05:59 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Mar 27 2013, 01:35 PM)
Just bring your card and pump petrol till RM9.81, next month go bank and pay up RM10...than cancel...simple
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif good idea.. Will try and do thumbup.gif
sj0217
post Jul 12 2013, 04:09 PM

6,484 posts

Bank has waived for me for GST charge, and the card is in active on that moment. After few months passed (3 months guess), checked with the branch get to know that the card is inactive.

May I know is the card will be auto turn to inactive if there is no done any transaction within few months??

sj0217
post Sep 11 2013, 10:50 PM

6,484 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Sep 11 2013, 09:55 PM)
I just cancelled my Gold Visa..Go to branch and cut it up. Just in time before Govt tax due. Yeah!
They are not offer you waiver for GST when u requesting to cancel the card?

the card is cut by you or the staff?

0.0215sec    2.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:14 AM