Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards, Discuss about your HSBC CC

Vestor
post Apr 25 2012, 12:34 AM

825 posts

Hi guys, Im newbie here.
Would like to check what are the benefits of HSBC card?
Someone suggested Visa signature, but i noticed it needs RM100k to qualify. Is this true?
Appreciate on any feedback, thanks.
Vestor
post Apr 25 2012, 11:13 AM

825 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 25 2012, 07:48 AM)
Bank are strict about income requirements these days. And card types are segregated by market segment thus you see card types.
I believe you want the Visa Signature because of the perceived "status" value - if everyone qualifies for it then where's the perceived "value" ? And i'm sure you don't want such a card.

Simple hypothetical test

Citibank VISA Signature
MBF VISA Signature

From the above, which one people think has better perceived value ? (hypothetical same card type)
You know your own answer right ?
Thanks for the reply. Quite agreed with your argument.
On top of that I would also like to check whether Visa Signature (for whom one must have annual income of RM100k to qualify) quantifies for a higher credit limit?

Added on April 25, 2012, 11:17 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 25 2012, 08:39 AM)
Give me FREE for Life MBF World MasterCard or VI also I don't want, hahaha
Bro, what is VI stands for?
Btw, why you refuse to take either of the card? Can share your thoughts, thanks.

This post has been edited by Vestor: Apr 25 2012, 11:17 AM
Vestor
post Apr 25 2012, 11:48 AM

825 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 25 2012, 11:43 AM)
As for CL, I can tell you HSBC VS CL starts from RM5K!!! This is because there were some previous Plat holders were automatically upgraded to VS. However, most HSBC VS card holders I know of (which is very limited) have higher CL  than HSBC Premier World MasterCard.

As for VI - it stands for Visa Infinite. And why I don't want (not that I can qualify for it), is as mentioned by hye - perception.
Waa, they do simply upgrade one kah? That will pull down the standard and perception.
I always have good impression in HSBC, especially it's tagline "Your world local bank" or something like that.
Anyway, within HSBC card type, which is the one that can provide highest CL?

Vestor
post Apr 25 2012, 08:22 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 25 2012, 03:44 PM)
That's what happened when you use it as a marketing ploy. We don't blame them as a large percentage of the readers who come in here want nothing less than a Platinum and sometime Premier range cards - unfortunately in most cases as well they don't qualify for it. With the credit card market tightening due to BNM rules so how else to attract customers ?

Don't blame the banks ... banks offer products which are driven by customers demands. Customers want "perceived" prestige / class and that's exactly what they will get.

Sorry again ... but CL these days are "conservatively" awarded by the banks. Card type would not impact HSBC CL decision.
True to what you mentioned above.
I'm not really blaming the bank for the upgrade as I believe it is done on case to case basis.

Since card type does not have impact, then I will just try to apply for the VS. Thanks for your input.

Added on April 25, 2012, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 25 2012, 05:51 PM)
FYI, in the first quarter of 2011, HSBC launched their Visa Signature where the annual income requirement is RM100K. Prior to the VS, HSBC Plat annual income requirement was also RM100K but because they were "hadap" for customers, one did not need to earn RM100K to get a HSBC Plat (applies to all banks back in 2011 where one can apply for a credit card based on existing card).

And HSBC Plat card benefits are so so only and in order to maintain their customer base, they upgraded all Plat cardholders to Visa Signature which is deemed as a Premier Card (but benefit also so so only).

Click here to read my artilce titled HSBC Visa Signature - Gone is the Visa Plat published back in March 2011 at My Credit Cards blogspot.
Yes, agree fully to the above. Now banks are stricter in awarding CL to be in accordance with BNM wishes. Which is a good thing.

Vestor,

CL has nothing to do with Card Type in general but based on the bank evaluation on the customer's worth. Like I mentioned, previously, my HSBC Plat (of course now upgraded to VS) had a higher CL than those who has AUM of minimum RM250K with HSBC and automatically awarded their HSBC Premier World Credit Card. Up to today, I never had a HSBC banking account, so you go figure it out.

But if you want to know what is the minimum CL for Premier Credit Cards, click below link to see my table. However, the data for the table was obtained thru my no budget propriety research back in November 2011. Since then, HLB have reduced the annual income requirement for the Ex-EON VS from RM180K to RM80K and therefore the minimum CL should also decrease as of today. And it was reported by another forummer here that his CL for his MBB VI is RM20K!!! When I talked to MBB CS back then, I was told initially the minimum CL for MBB WMC and VI was RM70K but later was informed it was RM50K.

And did you know that RHB Tesco credit card CL go can up to RM100K  smile.gif

Malaysia Premier Credit Card - Ranking based on credit limit.
Hmm, i guess CL has much to do with how big the income is.
Surprise to learn that RHB Tesco CC has CL of RM100k. Is this open to selected group of people only?

This post has been edited by Vestor: Apr 25 2012, 08:40 PM
Vestor
post Jun 7 2012, 03:51 PM

825 posts

I tried to my HSBC card to access the Premier lounge at KLIA but was denied. Reason given is because the card was not issued in Hong Kong. Is this true? If it is so, then this is a big disappointment. What a let down.
Vestor
post Jun 11 2012, 11:14 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Jun 11 2012, 08:58 PM)
HSBC Megasale promo is now on!
Bro, can you post some links on the promotional activities? Banyak terima kasih...
Vestor
post Jun 11 2012, 11:19 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(unknown @ Jun 11 2012, 11:17 PM)
Alamak, this kind of spending-promotion not really interest me. I stopped doing this many many many years ago. Thanks for sharing anyway. notworthy.gif
Vestor
post Jun 19 2012, 09:17 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(Catherine CKI @ Jun 19 2012, 11:09 AM)

I'm swiping RM 1,600 using my HSBC Amanah on end May and send SMS to register their i-Flixi Payment plan. They replied me sms that my RM 1,600 spend has successfully converted to Flixi Plan but the coming June statement does not show it is being converted!! Im been calling to CS since last week and keep following up every 3 days until now still no feedback!!

Anyone encounter this problem before? Thanks~~
Hi, just a side track question, what is i-Flixi Payment plan? Is it a kind of installment payment scheme?
Vestor
post Jun 25 2012, 11:07 PM

825 posts

I applied for HSBC VS and was charged RM50 for annual fee. Can I get this waived?
Vestor
post Jul 26 2012, 10:50 AM

825 posts

For HSBC Visa Signature, what are the benefits in term of:
- Dining
- Shopping
- Travelling
- Freebies
Will be very appreciated if any one can share on above, in a paragraph of two (without referring me to another link) smile.gif
Vestor
post Jul 26 2012, 11:00 AM

825 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 26 2012, 10:56 AM)
One word enough : Lazy.....
rclxms.gif betui....

Added on July 26, 2012, 11:02 am
QUOTE(den @ Jul 26 2012, 10:58 AM)
Not much benefit. Don't get it.
Noted bro...will heed yr advice smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vestor: Jul 26 2012, 11:02 AM
Vestor
post Jul 26 2012, 07:34 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Jul 26 2012, 12:26 PM)
Check on MY post 699 at v17 credit card I had reply to u nod.gif

Added on July 26, 2012, 1:09 pm
They are right not much benefit on HSBC Visa Signature, U better get a Cash Back card

HSBC Visa Signature Benefit are bellow:
1) 5x reward points on Overseas spend (sometime Local also)
2) Travel Services, Pre-Trip Assistance & FREE Travel Insurance up to $1,000,000
3) Home & Away for Local Offer (mostly PARKSON) Worldwide & Exceptional VIP Privileges
4) Card Protection & Insurance Coverage with CPP & CGP (optional)
5) 24 /7 Concierge Service
6) Comprehensive Remarkable Reward Programe (they RWP vaild up to 3 years) 
& Visa Exculsive Golf Privileges so and so.... better U check on HSBC Websiite

This Card benefit more to people who travel Overseas often wink.gif
Thanks bro. Btw, what is 24/7 concierge service? Can ferry to/fro airport kah?
Vestor
post Jul 26 2012, 11:07 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 26 2012, 09:46 PM)
Above is mentioned in Post#1 too.
Yah, our sis has been most helpful in copying stuff from the bank website and spoon feeding Vestor without understanding the product. But at the rate she's going reading about credit cards and being a contributor to this section, soon she be a credit card sifu thumbup.gif
Hahaha...dont shoot me la...anyway many thanks to jiejie fly126 for the explanation.

I kind of undecided between UOB/HSBC/Citibank. Not sure which two to keep. Seems like have to cancel HSBC then.
*Initially i took HSBC because of its benefit in golfing but this form of indulgence is no longer a luxury for me, time wise....sad.gif
Vestor
post Jul 31 2012, 10:03 AM

825 posts

Hi guys, can anyone provide the customer service email address of HSBC credit card centre? Many thanks indeed...........
Vestor
post Aug 13 2012, 05:37 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 13 2012, 02:35 PM)
Did anyone receive a promo on 15% discount for Zalora.com.my shopping using HSBC Creditcards?
for Zalora, better go to Starbucks, they give up to 30% discount but u need to buy a cuppa of coffee la.... rclxms.gif
Vestor
post Oct 3 2012, 10:09 PM

825 posts

How long normally it takes to get the HSBC redemption items sent to you?
Vestor
post Oct 5 2012, 04:59 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 5 2012, 04:45 PM)
No. Credit card service tax can never be waived. Banks are in no authority to waive the credit card service tax as it is not paid to them but LHDN.

Anyway, some banks do offer some cash or rewards points to offset the credit card service tax. And there is also this OCBC Bank TMC that automatically credit RM50 into your credit card account as long as you've spent at least RM10K in the past one year. The RM50 is given to you as a bonus to offset the credit card service tax.

And by the way, you can give up on trying to get HSBC to offer you free reward points to offset this credit card service tax because it just won't happen.
Thanks Miles for the info.
I guess I will proceed to fill up the cancellation form next week. cool2.gif

0.0441sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:58 AM