Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards, Discuss about your HSBC CC

hye
post Sep 5 2012, 11:28 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(khorkahyong @ Sep 5 2012, 01:24 AM)
Hi.. I'm going to uk to study soon and my parents are considering to get me a supp HSBC premier WMC but seems like it has not much benefits for me.
10x points for hotel and dining is pretty much useless when it is unnecessary to stay in a hotel and I will get screwed if I dined in expensive places.

No free entry to VIP airport lounge which is pretty sad.
sad.gif
Hi ... you are only getting a SUPPLEMENTARY card from your parents. Do you have a fixed permanent income ? Or are you just a student ?
Talk about privileges when you are entitled and earning your own card and not before that.
hye
post Sep 5 2012, 12:00 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(khorkahyong @ Sep 5 2012, 11:49 AM)
im a student. why can't talk about privileges as i'm also using the card? like you don't talk about advantages of cars when you are a student??

after i do some research, i found out that this card has not much benefits besides the waived of annual fees and other charges so i don't have to pay anything if i don't use it. i'm not going to spend alot with this cards so reward points seem useless for me.
in my case, i prefer a card which comes with free stuff, like free entry to airport lounge, so i can get some benefits from it even i seldom use the card. i think alliance platinum card has this kind of benefits.
Read your own post. As a student I don't get any VIP airport lounge or good hotel or even dream of getting such for free. I enjoy this after I earn my own money and my own card. I dream of cars as well but it stops there.

If you have the thoughts about Alliance Platinum card, so what's stopping you ? Please get it and share your experience in here.

You want something from the card your parents is giving to you. I'm sorry but I felt you need to be realistic of your expectations and not to talk like a spoilt kid although you have the right to write and behave like one.
hye
post Sep 26 2012, 08:06 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@maru

Please watch your language. I have clearly stated I have no tolerance towards profanities and I shall not repeat myself.
hye
post Sep 30 2012, 08:12 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@ xyngfei

Please watch your language. Profanities is not allowed here. Was it really necessary for you to do that ?

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 30 2012, 08:12 PM
hye
post Oct 5 2012, 08:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I'd like to mention to @chester_85, @Denis & @Vestor
You guys better learn and keep in mind what is the difference between GST offset and GST waiver. (Thanks Bro Miles!) I don't allow such wrong term to exist here.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 5 2012, 08:51 PM
hye
post Oct 8 2012, 11:01 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@Denis

Since you intent to win your argument.

1. Please ask HSBC to actually use the term "GST Waiver" in your statement instead of calling it something else in your statement.
2. Please send us a copy of your statement and post the statement with the use of the "GST Waiver" here publicly.

No need to be haughty with your statement. The crystal clear fact is that bank pays the GST for you (Congratulations!) ... waiver did not exist as still somebody pay the GST for you. You are merely lucky to have an entity agreeing to transfer the liability off you. So, do your claims count ? And what do you propose we to call it ... sorry your attempt to transfer the question back to us doesn't work here.

You must be very proud of your achievements ... do post a proof of your claims (of a clear picture of your entire statement) and we would love to share it around. A picture is worth a thousand words.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 8 2012, 11:03 PM
hye
post Nov 22 2012, 11:47 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I would like to warn members to watch their language when threading in the forums. Anything obscene - either directly or implied are not allowed.

The recent members namely - @kenji1903 and @sj0217 are suspected to have violated the T&C (specifically language restrictions) in this forum by participating/exchanging in such conversations.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 22 2012, 11:48 PM
hye
post Jan 1 2013, 09:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Dec 31 2012, 12:22 PM)
Hi guys, I'm a Premier Account holder and was considering taking out a CC from HSBC. It's probably used for rent and utility bills and maybe some meals as well as the occasional Steam sale. Was wondering if you guys could advise either for or against using one from HSBC? Apparently I am just charged 50 ringgit a year or something like that so the charges probably aren't a bother for me.
@xKeneshirox, nobody was questioning nor belittling your ability to manage your own finances. Over here we advise people and it's up to anyone to do what they want at their own risk. However, we are proud to offer offer frank and responsible advice and not anything which serve to push our readers off the personal finances cliff.

Typically HSBC will offer the Premier Mastercard to their Premier members. However, I'm not sure whether they will still enforce the income checking for those not working. Choice of credit card is up to an individual spending pattern as one want to be rewarded by it but do have in mind the potential debt trap. Often those who fall are those who are in denial and I'll stop here as I don't appreciate nor want you to snap at me as you did with fly126.

As for your question whether HSBC is good or not then ... it's up to you to determine your own spending pattern and match that with a suitable card. If holding that card benefits you (or it's the only bank wanting to offer you a card) then it's alright then. For some of us, it's not the best card (myself included). And if you intend to constantly use it for cross border transactions then you need to note and have in mind the recurring cross border fees that you need to bear. (No discount on this nor it is waiverable)
hye
post Jan 1 2013, 12:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Jan 1 2013, 12:15 PM)
Whoops. Sorry, did I give the impression that I was acting hostile/rude? My bad. I'm just horrible at phrasing questions =/ I was wondering if it was possible to keep track of spendings via the internet banking page. I've only used the HSBC debit card so far, so the CC side of it is a bit foreign to me.

Also, if I soundeed rude, sorry >.<
The simple answer is YES. Plus there's also a monthly account cc statement too. You'll need to refer to this when you pay your cc bills every month.
hye
post Mar 30 2013, 10:08 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ Mar 30 2013, 12:40 AM)
hi guys, anyone has this exp b4? credit limit revised.....or so called decreased/downgraded.

i've been using this amanah i cc few months already, last few days just received a letter regarding revising my credit limit sad.gif

feels like wanna cancel it d...
Yes ... CL revision will happen if your income is below RM36K p.a which you can only hold max 2 cards and total CL from all cards cannot exceed 2x of your monthly salary. So did you fall into this category? - which you should not feel victimized coz everyone kena this rule and many people experienced this. (answered your question already)

or your income is more than RM36K p.a ?

0.0438sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:28 AM