10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

hushymushy
post Jan 26 2015, 09:07 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 25 2015, 06:11 PM)
Where are you moving to ler? Just about kowtim my new place and I shud be also moving there in May as well. Looking at furniture these days. Got to measure the lift entrance first or else sangkut like mad. Means that I will be auditioning the Passlabs sometime after I move in. Most probably will go into my study whilst the Ķrell will be outside.
GI JIE......i'm moving back into my house lor....currently under renovation.....staying at a nearby rented place at the moment

if you wanna do passlabs in your study room......or where ever you wanna put it....tap a single phase in and put another sub DB if you can...less noise....
hushymushy
post Jan 26 2015, 01:23 PM

1,708 posts

try to separate your lights and cd player....
rather you share preamp and cd player than your cd player with your lights.....you might get noise

if you wanna use US sockets, wattgate is good...but hard to find in MY...
i'll still looking for mine....

other brands like Furutech, Sine, Cardas are quite good too

i prefer wattgate as it is the most common and cheaper compared to Furutech or Cardas

hushymushy
post Jan 26 2015, 05:12 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 26 2015, 05:02 PM)
Except for the wiring for the lighting (which is oredy there), I am getting the wireman (friend) to put in 10mm cable for all the power points. Might as well do so cos extreme reno at my new place...knocking down walls and such. As for dedicated phase...this will mean two TNB meters, right?
not necessary to have 10mm cables all around...
2.5mm for you cdp is fine. 10mm cable might make ur cdp sound coarse

i'm only using 4mm cable from the sub db for my power amp.....and my sub db is in my audioroom itself
so i can swap out the cable easily

you don't need a separate TNB meter....just need to tap one phase out
hushymushy
post Jan 26 2015, 09:08 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jan 26 2015, 08:25 PM)
Can I ask what is db ? Fuse box ? Circuit breaker ?
Yup...the fusebox
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 12:23 AM

1,708 posts

yup...nowadays have to use 3 phase....
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 09:03 AM

1,708 posts

if you have alot of eletrical appliances....it is better to go 3phase

most of the new houses in klang valley...even some bigger size condos.....tnb provides 3 phase straight...

hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 09:54 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 27 2015, 09:41 AM)
Ya  shakehead.gif what was i thinking. Now im too curious of analog  doh.gif
bro...congrats in getting poisoned by analog

there are good entry levels like Project Audio, Thorens, Rega and Linn...
just need to remember that you need a phono stage amp as well
the entry level turntables starts from 2k and goes up many many many times

unless your amp is old school that comes with phono as well
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 10:07 AM

1,708 posts

carcrazy....since you r sifu in this....why Rega RP3??

i'm still trying to understand turntables....why the huge price difference??
and will the sound change tremendously between an entry level and say a sub 10k or 20k phono system?

let's not even talk about those god level turntables
hushymushy
post Jan 27 2015, 12:22 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 27 2015, 12:19 PM)
See what you have done? Poisoned everyone here...
Bro, not only old school amp lah, the new ones all have phono out these days
And another thing...these new fandangled turntables are all made to look like Miss Universe to sucker us in
Then they bleed us dry by over pricing the vinyls
hehehehe in here poison is self induced....

my father in law has an old school technics turntable.....am wondering if i can get it fixed and refurbished

i have to agree with you that the vinyl's are blardy expensive now.....even more than good cds

that's y i'm sticking to cd for the moment although i don't mind being suckered into full analog....

i was thinking something like Thorens or Project Audio....maybe Rega....

hushymushy
post Feb 14 2015, 05:21 PM

1,708 posts

my wattgate US socket finally arrived Rhodium.....this unit follows the specs for Combak Harmonix...

and i'm also saying goodbye to my Transparent Ultras MM2...and saying hello to the new Ultra G5.........

hushymushy
post Mar 24 2015, 10:36 AM

1,708 posts

very quiet lately....anyone buying stuffs before GST?
hushymushy
post Mar 24 2015, 11:15 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Mar 24 2015, 11:10 AM)
Ya wor...very quiet these days lah. Seems like nobody is buying anything these days. Everybody is busy with the GST preparations lah. My company as well. The taxation office very busy also. Now I have to submit my company taxes every three months.
business very good for you mar

Pra gst no moolah..post gst pun no moolah...satisfy with peasant setup...

i wonder how the price will affect hifi stuffs.....
hushymushy
post Mar 24 2015, 11:36 AM

1,708 posts

thats gonna hurt our pockets....as it is....i'm buying cds online now....
local shops are getting more expensive....
and amazon allows you to sample the tracks before buying....

only issue is the conversion rates are not very good....
hushymushy
post Mar 25 2015, 08:52 AM

1,708 posts

so in the nut shell the price will go down?
but local retailers won't be honest enough to declare a lower price
hushymushy
post Apr 14 2015, 10:53 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(naughty11 @ Apr 12 2015, 03:44 PM)
Hello audio kaki,

New guy here. I plan to upgrade to a 2.1 system with a budget of 3k. Initial idea is as below:
AV Receiver: Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Receiver(RM1350)
speaker : XLS Encore (RM1300)
Subwoofer : Used Yamaha YST-Sw90 
speaker cable : no idea yet

I'm a 80%Music, 20% Movie guy. Is the component mentioned above matching? Previously using PC speaker only, need some help here. doh.gif
------------------
Oh ya, my main source is laptop, so the setting will be Laptop (USB)>Audinst Mx-1 (optical out) > AVR > speaker & sub.
3k budget.....

here's my thoughts:

amp: go for a used amp....something like Audiolabs 8000A MK2....should set you back around 1k

speaker: agree with XLS Encore

i'd ditch the subs and go for a proper speaker stands

speaker cable....if no budget, strip the network cable and use it first....
little budget....you can try Canare, Belden and plenty more.....you can search for Black Octagon...he does a number of DIY cables at affordable price

hardware is just the start....having the right setup and tuning is second part.....and more to come

i'd suggest you start with this kind of setup and slowly work your way into it
hushymushy
post May 2 2015, 09:36 AM

1,708 posts

i'd go for magico!!!!

then only dynaudio....

but if you ask my number 1 speaker....Wilson Audio Alexandra........
hushymushy
post May 2 2015, 09:36 AM

1,708 posts

i'd go for magico!!!!

then only dynaudio....

but if you ask my number 1 speaker....Wilson Audio Alexandra........
hushymushy
post May 2 2015, 05:01 PM

1,708 posts

When Aida comes into the picture...it should br either Aida or Alexandra
hushymushy
post May 5 2015, 08:57 PM

1,708 posts

How about Utopia?
hushymushy
post May 5 2015, 10:17 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 5 2015, 08:33 PM)
Another thing, I just sold my soul and in exchange got the Sharp LC-80LE960X tv and looking for a good sound bar. Any recommendations? I have auditioned the Sonos and the Sharp. Not much choice here in KL ler... Oh, the monster will be in Harvey Norman as I am only taking delivery in end August. Takes 3 weeks to order it in together with the mounting bracket (sold separately) if I am lucky (4-5 weeks if I am not) which means that I still got quite a few months to make my choice. Have to have a sound bar cos the tv output is only 2.1ch (10W + 10W + 15W subwoofer).
bro....i think JBL launched a new series of sound bars....SB400 was quite good....
i'm using Philips Fidelio 9100...so far ok....

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0270sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:01 PM