INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD, TIPS,Q n A, Results...Great For NueBis

siauann
post Dec 21 2005, 10:39 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

my rig's is my sig there..i heard tat ppl say intel mobo can oc..but i c the genclock support for intel mobo..mean i can oc izit?? blush.gif noobie here..
siauann
post Dec 22 2005, 06:15 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(newbieockids @ Dec 22 2005, 12:51 AM)
i tot everything was locked in intel mobo?.. huh.gif
yeah..but hw come i c the website got intel mobo feature inside for the clockgen or the genclock wateva..hehe..means stil i cant use it>?
siauann
post Mar 4 2006, 01:55 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(laichong @ Feb 25 2006, 08:34 AM)
btw, did anybody know how to Enable the Performance Mode for the Ram on IS7-E? i couldnt fine the setting in BIOS...
can i enable performance mode for the ram on my intel mobo?? blush.gif
siauann
post Mar 6 2006, 06:12 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 5 2006, 07:24 PM)
Your Intel 865 PERL does not have the performance mode on its' chipset.So no performance mode can be enable on your mobo.
QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Mar 6 2006, 01:59 AM)
the old model intel mobo sure cannot overclock . but for the latest model intel said can overclock .

@siauann ,

intel 865 PERL cannot setting performance mode . that mobo  also cannot overclock .
oh..icic//thx for the info...anyway wat does performance of ram do? faster?
wic mobo can enable it?
siauann
post Apr 19 2006, 04:33 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 19 2006, 12:59 PM)
i heard P4P800X is the crippled version of P4P800E/SE series
what P4P800X is lacking anyways? O_o
i jz got ths board today...hvtn try it out..wanna replace my intel mobo..will share some great results here...FYI the only good 865pe mobo u can get nw is ths asus p4p800-x...lacking of wat im not sure..but the vdimm is low.. wink.gif
siauann
post Apr 19 2006, 07:10 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 19 2006, 05:45 PM)
i heard you can either mod it or flash it with new bios that supports higher vdimm and(more stable) vcore
u mean flash the p4p800-x to other bios? sure can o not? i jz get ths mobo..hvnt use it yet.. tongue.gif hand itchy... tongue.gif
siauann
post Apr 19 2006, 11:37 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 19 2006, 07:22 PM)
oh well..
i wouldnt wanna screw the new motherboard up tongue.gif
im getting one soon as well

anyways: one thing
OT: i heard that the ICH 5 or some chip in the 865 mobos are very prone to static charges
some even damaged their with just plugging in their thumbdrive into the front USB ports due to the poor grounding wirings
im not so sure also...but wat i knw is tat i ever damage my ram slot on the intel mobo im using..i was installing the hyper48..after tat i fix evrythg i cant boot up...tats y my ram nw run single channel... doh.gif
but nw i jz got the p4p800-x...wil try it out soon.. thumbup.gif
siauann
post Apr 20 2006, 09:12 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

i jz use ths p4p800-x n try oc abit...my system is as my sig...the pro is whn i run 1:1 ratio the max fsb i can get is 230mhz.......thn down to 5:4 i can run 250mhz nw...doin 3.0ghz.....i jz pass pi test n hvnt prime stable test yet...izit my ram is limiting my oc? im using dt-d43 @ 2.685 vdimm.....tats the max p4p800-x provide.. sad.gif
siauann
post Apr 20 2006, 11:10 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 20 2006, 09:34 PM)
wouldnt 2.685 be abit low?
probably u need to do the vdimm mod and jack the voltage upto 2.8/9? tongue.gif
of cz its low..tats y i cant do anythg much....but i stil hvt jack up max oc...nw running oc 3.0 stable pi test..not yet prime....
siauann
post Apr 21 2006, 11:49 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(mp-5 @ Apr 21 2006, 12:18 AM)
Try borrow some ddr 550 g.skill from any of your friends to see how far your proc can go. If there any. About 2.6v is enough for tccd. I doubt the mobo will stable at higher clock with prime if you play with the vcore due to fluctuation.
prob is all my fren not a pc enthusiast...thy dun own such a gd ram.. rclxub.gif
anyway tccd wrks on low vdimm? lik tat i shd change my dt-d43 to tccd...brows.gif
wat do u mean by vcore fluctuation on p4p800-x mobo? i c u mention a lot in ths thread...izit vcore voltage drop? or unstable vcore? i set my vcore 1.525 at bios...but whn open cpu-z it show 1.568/1.552....keep changing between both figure...y not stable at 1.525 like wat i set in bios?? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(mp-5 @ Apr 21 2006, 12:33 AM)
I think its your mobo fault. The vcore fluctuate. This problem kinda shit for oc. My old asus P4c800-e also have the same problem there long time ago. Nearly same value there 1.488v if i still remember. But unfortunately i think there no vdroop mod for your msi mobo. Try google it.  sad.gif  Buy the new amd64 or P5 if you are rich lol biggrin.gif
does my vcore 1.568/1.552 consider vcore fluctuate oso? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(kulus @ Apr 21 2006, 02:45 AM)
for ur information..cpu-z always show low voltage compare with what u set in bios  thumbup.gif
i dun thk so...i set my bios 1.525 but cpu-z shows 1.568/1.552..wic is higher thn bios.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Apr 21 2006, 02:54 AM)
rclxms.gif  wa... start oc ur proc liao...

ur mobo supprot 1T? use that..

2.685v is shitty low... u try find latest bios to see wehter they mod it to allow u bump up d voltage..
i dun c any 1T...stil not sure wif it..but i c smthg 0T 2T 4T 8T..bla bla bla...izit tat one? sweat.gif sweat.gif
siauann
post Apr 21 2006, 10:24 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 21 2006, 09:01 PM)
siauann: if u read around
more extreme overclockers has jacked up their Vcore to at least 1.6Vs
but during load, the Vcore alters and sometimes even flactuates to 1.4xVs
which can cause instability
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Apr 21 2006, 09:15 PM)
i think it ok for northy if put 1.6...
even i hav put 1.7v for my stubborn celly D..heheh running 24/7 on stock hsf sweat.gif

oh...icic....i been thru roughly ths thread n dint realise all set at 1.6v cz wat i knw is the stay as low as u can.... tongue.gif
siauann
post Apr 23 2006, 03:00 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Apr 23 2006, 01:52 AM)
hey guys if u all dont mind can give me a little guide to over clocking? i just bought my pentium D 805 2.66ghz. wonder if i can over clock it tongue.gif i'm using asus P5SD2-X
read the pin-ups....got any prob thn share wif us again...u nv learn anythg if ur oways spoon-fed.... sweat.gif
siauann
post Apr 23 2006, 05:33 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Apr 23 2006, 03:10 PM)
and also.. before i over clock my PD 805. should i change the stock cooler? a better one something like TT big typhoon?
it is advise to change to a better cooler cz oc the proc makes it produce more heat
siauann
post Apr 23 2006, 09:16 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

jz wanna knw hw u guys run prime test for HT proc?
im using 2.4c HT....i use sp2004....
izit open both sp2004 thn set one cpu 1 & one cpu 0 thn run both together??
or i shd set both cpu same 11 or 00??
siauann
post Apr 24 2006, 07:32 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Apr 24 2006, 07:00 AM)
b4 u change anything or do any oc stuff, y dun u glace through ur manual that comes wit d mobo and also understand every terms in bios wink.gif

its sometimes not onli oc to get d best of ur proc... u can play wit other stuff such as interleave bank, raid setting..hdd prefetch..etc...

this will b enough for u to noe any temrs tat u wanna noe.. hope it help..
http://www.rojakpot.com/freebog.aspx
, u can run super pi/ pc mark/ 3d marks or any applocation for fast to noe it can survive or not b4 run prime test...

i think it is better to run one by one.. first, run small fft for 5-8hours (to test cpu)

then large fft to test its ram... and also run memtest..

coz so many thing to test, usually i test it after i happy wit d speed.. thumbup.gif
okok...like tat i will run 1 by 1.....hehe...cz i heard some ppl says P4 wif HT need run dual prime oso... sweat.gif
siauann
post Apr 24 2006, 10:00 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Apr 24 2006, 08:11 PM)
Hello to all sifu,

Need some advice here.Whats the diff between the new LGA 775 and the old?The old one using 800fsb and the new one 533fsb.Is there any major diff in performance?My last proc died was 2.8 800fsb now looking for replacement but the 800 ones are beyond my current budget.
Could u mind tell the diff between those two?TQ
new socket is 775..old socket is 478.....the difference is socket... tongue.gif
another thg is tat old 478 no more in production.....
siauann
post Apr 24 2006, 10:07 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

ths thread is gettin out of topic...let's bck to topic....c 1st thread... icon_rolleyes.gif

-Original CPU/Socket : P4 2.4C socket 478 HT
-Stepping : 9 revision D1 Northwood
-Date : no idea what is this... tongue.gif
-FSB : 200 @ 250
-Clock Speed : 2400 @ 3000
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : stock
-Chipset : i865PE
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : DT-D43 DDR400 3-3-3-8 @ DDR400 2.5-3-3-7
-------------------------------
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest FSB : 250 (so far) @ 5:4
-Highest RAM : 230 (so far) @ 1:1
-Highest Clock Speed : 3000 (so far)
-Highest Vcore : 1.525
-Highest VDIMM : 2.658 (max sad.gif )
----------------------------
Benchmarks/Stability Testing/ Proof Of Testing. (Min 3 types of testing)
-CPU-Z Validation : Click Here

-Prime95 / PrimeTest : SP2004 1 hr ++ tongue.gif
-Super PI/ Super PI MOD : pass (no attachment)
-Memtest : none
-Sandra Memory Bandwidth : none
-3DMarks 2005 : none
-3DMarks 2003 : 9.1k++ (no attachment)
-3DMarks 2001 : none

This post has been edited by siauann: Apr 24 2006, 10:14 PM
siauann
post Apr 30 2006, 01:50 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Apr 29 2006, 02:23 PM)
IC7 or IS7 is a better mobo for oc?
ic7 i guess.... tongue.gif blush.gif
siauann
post May 4 2006, 10:18 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

y 2.8 runnin 2.6 only? doh.gif
siauann
post May 6 2006, 08:50 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(glo @ May 6 2006, 01:14 AM)