5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Supplementation discussion and review thread, Anything legal!

-Dan
post Jan 2 2012, 11:07 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Jan 1 2012, 06:20 PM)
do u guys think BCAA and glutamine is necessary ?
Not totally necessary but good to have. Though glutamine has mixed reviews.

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Jan 2 2012, 10:49 PM)
how effective is creatine guys? anybody tried before? need review
Good supplement for strength and some size due to more water retention.
-Dan
post Jan 3 2012, 03:21 PM

4,382 posts

Both Dymatize's Super Mass Gainer and ON's Serious Mass did their job for me. Gained a decent ~10-12kg after both packs (took them consequently), BF went up only by a bit.
-Dan
post Jan 3 2012, 03:29 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 3 2012, 03:24 PM)
=( I can't seem to put on anymore bodyfat.
You b****. -__- LOL

Why do you wanna put on fat anyway? Getting too cold in the hospital? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by -Dan: Jan 3 2012, 03:29 PM
-Dan
post Jan 3 2012, 04:07 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 3 2012, 03:43 PM)
Wei... the hospital was seriously damn cold. Imagine I had a long sleeved shirt on, then another jacket on top and in the on call room I was sleeping with 3 blankets piled on top of each other. Low bf% has nothing to do with this. It's madness. The female doctors prefer to take the other on call room.

They'll go like... you have muscles, you'll be warm. Zzz... what they don't understand is muscles keep you warm only when you're using it. Not when at rest. Sheesh.
I hear you, man. My college is freezing as well.
-Dan
post Jan 8 2012, 07:29 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(kaolen @ Jan 8 2012, 06:22 PM)
Universal Animal Pak is it for muscle building vitamin or can it taken as multivitamin like daily supplements?
It's meant for individuals who are routinely training intensely. If you're a regular person, an average multivit will do.
-Dan
post Jan 20 2012, 10:38 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Pepper @ Jan 20 2012, 10:28 PM)
i went GNC and saw them selling Mass -something- Natural ON 100% Whey.

for one big bottle
if artificial flavor it's rm200 for member,
if non artificial all natural flavor it's rm230+

how much do you guys usually pay for your whey?

-edit-
oh nvm, there's a thread for online supplement where the first post thinks GNC is full of shit
Which is true, BTW, especially so for bodybuilding supps. Only time it's worth mentioning GNC is when they have their big discount promotions like 40% off.
-Dan
post Feb 4 2012, 09:56 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 4 2012, 07:09 AM)
7kg in 2 weeks ?
My thoughts exactly.

I don't mean to put you down, but most of that will be fat. Building muscle is a very slow process.
-Dan
post Feb 8 2012, 10:20 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Feb 8 2012, 09:34 PM)
bro, how long that you taking a protein and workout?
From my experience previous who taking protein in huge amount when still new with protein. My body can't stand with those heat even though I drink more than 2 litres plain water every day. Then pimples all around face and body, as well as sweating all the time. Until I reduce my protein intake for early morning and post workout only.
So, from my observation, make sure your body are compatible with protein intake then slowly improve it.
Not sure about yours, but you can try it. Once you kena those pimples, it's took 4-5 month to cure it. Hahahah... laugh.gif
You're not drinking enough water, my friend, even more so if you're working out regularly. Water is a crucial ingredient in many chemical reactions in the body, go figure.
-Dan
post Feb 16 2012, 04:36 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Feb 16 2012, 04:32 PM)
Hi guys, I'm planning to add another supplement to my stack. Currently using Serious Mass for my mass gain and myfushion hydro for post workout.

I'm torn between BCAA Pills and Amino Acid Pills. Which would be more effective in terms of helping to gain muscle mass?
Using that extra money to buy more food. I'm serious. Supps are convenient and all, but don't do jack shit if you're not eating properly to begin with.

BUT, if your diet is in check, creatine is an option. It helps to produce more ATP, meaning more strength and endurance, and with heavier loads comes growth.
-Dan
post Feb 16 2012, 04:45 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Feb 16 2012, 04:39 PM)
Ya, diet is in check. Already gained 12kg far. Currently 175cm about 70kg. Short term goal now is to gain another 5 then see whether I'm as big as I would like to be. I actually researched on creatine also, I know it helps to gain mass due to the water retention but does this mean the effect will wear off once you stop taking it?
EDIT: Oops, didn't read properly. So what you are saying is the gain in strength will enable me to lift heavier which will promote muscle growth. Guess I'll give creatine a try then. Is dymatize okay?
Any brand of creatine is fine. I personally prefer EGOnutrition's since it is what it is, a tub of creatine. No need to pay extra for 'proprietary blends' and all that funny stuff.
-Dan
post Feb 16 2012, 05:01 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Feb 16 2012, 04:49 PM)
I see, this one right ? http://egonutritions.com/shopping/index.ph...products_id=348. It's really cheaper compared to those famous brands. Do they come with a scoop? Or just use tea spoon?
There's a 5g scoop with it.
-Dan
post Feb 16 2012, 05:12 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Feb 16 2012, 05:10 PM)
Thanks for the info Dan. =)
Cheers, man. Keep making progress. smile.gif
-Dan
post Feb 24 2012, 02:43 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(undentifyxd @ Feb 24 2012, 02:36 PM)
proper diet alone wouldnt help me a lot. im here just to ask what is the best protein supplement that will help me
Seriously? Why does nobody want to learn how to walk before trying to run? Basic nutrition (in other words, a 'proper diet') is the basis of being healthy and bodybuilding, without it, you'll get no progress.
-Dan
post Feb 26 2012, 09:33 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Feb 26 2012, 09:21 PM)
Dang.. I spoke to at least three different nutritionists, and they all recommended O.N's "Serious Mass" as well as another product known as "True Mass". Now that I already have a pack, what can I do to squeeze the most out of it?

Thanks doc!
Were these 'nutritionists' staff at the store you bought the supplements, or nutritionists in an independent company?

Right now, see here. The thing about supplements is that they're meant to supplement your diet (which needs to be solid in the first place). They will do you no good if you aren't eating enough as mike said. I personally have made gains on a bag of serious mass but that's because I had the rest of my stuff in check (diet, training and rest). These factors need each other to work and give you improvements, take out one and you don't get progress.

Added on February 26, 2012, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Feb 26 2012, 09:31 PM)
The guys over at GNC. They're nutritionists. Well, that's what they told me anyway. tongue.gif

I'm trying my level best to eat as much as possible man. My metabolism rate is a bit too high I guess. But yeah, I'll do that!
That says it all. Nutritionists or not, at the end of the day they want you to buy their products. And GNC's way overpriced, man. Getting your supps online is much cheaper, just sayin'.

This post has been edited by -Dan: Feb 26 2012, 09:35 PM
-Dan
post Feb 26 2012, 09:59 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Feb 26 2012, 09:43 PM)
Thanks for the tip bruv!
Hmmph, I train pretty hard but my diet is rubbish. I don't keep track of my calorie intake, but I do try to eat a lot. Looks like it's my diet that I should be scrutinising right now.
Yep, I did a bit of research AFTER buying the product (again), and yeah, you're right.  sweat.gif

Thanks a lot for your help Dan, and the rest of ya'll! Much appreciated smile.gif
Yep. You can't outtrain a bad diet, my friend.

Cheers, man. YNWA icon_idea.gif
-Dan
post Feb 29 2012, 10:05 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Feb 29 2012, 09:46 PM)
yeah. Pepsi Max. 0 calorie 12mg of caffeine per serving. I asked my nutritionist and she said that Pepsi Max does not contain any sugar in it.
12mg is barely anything. 8 ounces of green tea (which is about 240ml) contains approx. 35mg of caffeine. That same volume of coffee contains 100-200mg. Go figure, man.
-Dan
post Feb 29 2012, 10:19 PM

4,382 posts

Caffeine's meant to be a pre-workout supplement, so you can benefit from its effects WHILE you're working out. Taking it intra workout, is not going to be as good since most probably you'll only get the energy after you're done, which needless to say is quite pointless. A cup or two of coffee can give you that amount of caffeine, at a fifth/third of the volume. Plus, drinking water during your workout is a whole lot more important than chugging down Pepsi.
-Dan
post Feb 29 2012, 11:09 PM

4,382 posts

EGOnutritions, or online sellers.
-Dan
post Mar 1 2012, 09:04 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(darkseifer @ Mar 1 2012, 08:40 PM)
The only ingredient that is beneficial in most pre-workouts is the stimulants. The rest are either doesn't do what its advertised to do or severely underdosed to see any benefits (proprietary blend). If you've got the money to spend, then by all means go for it. Popular brands are the concentrated stuff like jack3d, hemo rage. Personally I get the ingredients separately and mix it myself with the clinical doses.
^This. Like DL keeps saying, just down a cup or two of coffee, no sugar or milk, pre-WO.

Or if you really want a supplement, SPMax and Jack3d have worked well for me. Though I got used to SPMax quite fast and had to up the servings to get the energy boosts again.
-Dan
post Mar 1 2012, 11:25 PM

4,382 posts

Never tried N.O. Xplode before but between the other two, Jack3d is my pick.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0468sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:14 PM