Petronas 95xtra petrol?Cheaper?better performance?, coming soon on 10th April. Anyone?

TSsheahann
post Apr 8 2011, 04:05 PM, updated 15y ago

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

is it mean cheaper petrol ? or just higher quality abit ?

sos cili

Have you ever wished that there is a fuel that gives you more savings and also better acceleration? Well, listen up!

PETRONAS will grant your wish via its new fuel, PRIMAX 95 Xtra available this Sunday, 10 April 2011. Inspired by Formula One fuel technology, PRIMAX 95 Xtra promises to provide your car the best performance, and yes, extra savings!

So drive down to a PETRONAS station near you to try out the fuel and better yet, join the “Fuel Up Promotion” where only from 5.30pm and 8.30pm this Sunday,10 April 2011 fueling up entitles you to exclusive merchandises when you participate in the promotion. Hurry! Limited stocks available. #PRIMAX95Xtra

iZuDeeN
post Apr 8 2011, 04:07 PM

3,466 posts

RM1.90/l?
TSsheahann
post Apr 8 2011, 04:08 PM

2,263 posts

duno leh ..will go and try out this sunday.. see got any promotion..
petrol almost empty.. dont mind to try pump RM100 full tank if price same as RM1.90/L
Mavik
post Apr 8 2011, 04:08 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Will probably try it next week when I need to refill. See if it really does give better mileage
TSsheahann
post Apr 8 2011, 04:13 PM

2,263 posts

anyone got more specific info ? most important price loh.. how much per L.

then wat is the promotion about.. dowan go liao later give me 1 bottle of mineral water only sienz
Zaypher
post Apr 8 2011, 04:15 PM

297 posts

Would the name imply RON95? If so, it will be based on normal ron95 price, right?
rockets
post Apr 8 2011, 04:18 PM

No Recoil
509 posts

don't have 97 version?
SUSSKY233
post Apr 8 2011, 04:19 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

will try it. . .
but i scared the placebo effect affect me later on tongue.gif
TSsheahann
post Apr 8 2011, 04:19 PM

2,263 posts

duno leh ... ya Ron95 Xtra ... duno xtra wat la ...
i guess normal Ron95 will be phased out if same price rite ?

or this is marketing gimmick lol
SUSkyheng
post Apr 8 2011, 04:21 PM

888 posts

The most is they change addatives...... Or someone can show some proofs that Petronas change their refinery setup recently.....
dadurtyz
post Apr 8 2011, 04:21 PM

658 posts

this fuel not on RON97? so Primax RON95 will be fully phased-out and replace with X right? so it's just marketing gimmick.
Zaypher
post Apr 8 2011, 04:22 PM

297 posts

I might try it anw.
SUSkyheng
post Apr 8 2011, 04:23 PM

888 posts

^Can try but don't put too high hope on this....
rockets
post Apr 8 2011, 04:28 PM

No Recoil
509 posts

"There will basically be a “Fuel Up Challenge” happening between 5.30 PM to 8.30 PM on the 10th of April, which is this Sunday. What you have to do is pick a certain amount of fuel that you will try to attempt to fill up. This may be a choice of 3 different amounts like RM20, RM50 or RM70 – we don’t have the exact details yet.

You will have to pump in the new Petronas fuel into your car manually to the exact amount that you’ve chosen. If you go over by even 1 sen, you lose the challenge. You’ll win something if you hit your target. Prizes will be announced closer to the challenge date, so keep an eye out for the announcement."

got that from paultan.org. seems like a contest rather than free stuff.

dadurtyz
post Apr 8 2011, 04:29 PM

658 posts

according to our sources, the price is going to be the same as the current pump prices. All what the fuel promises is going to be the BEST the market will have seen so far...

Source: Facebook fan page
Conroe
post Apr 8 2011, 04:46 PM

253 posts

Better response/performance than normal Primax 95,maybe.I don't believe in their "more savings".
SUSMatrix
post Apr 8 2011, 05:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Last time i used Petronas...no powah at all...BHP still the best for me...2x addictive > extra addictives. LOL.
redrose9802
post Apr 8 2011, 07:21 PM

105 posts

as someone working inside the company....all i can say is it will use different additives than primax95....refinery still same...no change...

shell fuelsave95 and primax95 used the same source of of "base" oil....came from the same refinery & pipeline....the difference is just the additives....

as for shell fuel with vpower additives....that one came strictly from their refinery....that vpower additives formula is very "precious" and they don't want people to steal their "trade secret"....
conan1
post Apr 8 2011, 08:03 PM

224 posts

aaahhh just gimmick again....still same price...petronas should anounce ron92Xtra with cheaper 30/40 sen cheaper...ahhh...(bcoz my car can pump ron92 biggrin.gif )
sinister_sid
post Apr 9 2011, 03:01 PM

same 1 la
marketing tactic
if ron 95 can achive ron 97 performance then why sell ron 97 ????
logic 101
redrose9802
post Apr 9 2011, 03:18 PM

105 posts

sorry bro sinister_sid, your logic is flawed....ron95 & ron97 is different because of the octane rating....some engines out there were tuned & optimised to use higher octane fuel....

if your engine is already optimised to run on ron95....there's no point you spending extra money on ron97 for a small (maybe negligible) performance gain....

i can assure you is not a gimmick since it used a new (and different) additives compare to primax95....if it sell at rm1.90/l, why don't you give a shot....nothing to lose since the price is regulated....if you don't like it just revert back to your preferred brand....
SUSkyheng
post Apr 9 2011, 03:28 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 9 2011, 03:01 PM)
same 1 la
marketing tactic
logic 101
That's because a lot of people know nuts about petrol and the specs with it...... Is a petrol's performance are based on RON only? If the answer is yes, then please continue to support blindly..... This is not refering to you.....
CyberKewl
post Apr 9 2011, 03:32 PM

2,900 posts

all in your mind perhaps? If you do "feel" something perhaps just a perception issue rather than facts tongue.gif
redrose9802
post Apr 9 2011, 03:44 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 9 2011, 03:32 PM)
all in your mind perhaps? If you do "feel" something perhaps just a perception issue rather than facts tongue.gif
no harm paying the same price to "feel" even better tongue.gif
anyway, i still prefer vpower....
hope that shell will introduce vpower95 to defend their market share... rclxms.gif
so it's a winning situation for us consumers (provided price still rm1.90/l)

This post has been edited by redrose9802: Apr 9 2011, 03:45 PM
Damonzero
post Apr 9 2011, 03:50 PM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

QUOTE(redrose9802 @ Apr 9 2011, 03:44 PM)
no harm paying the same price to "feel" even better  tongue.gif
anyway, i still prefer vpower....
hope that shell will introduce vpower95 to defend their market share... rclxms.gif
so it's a winning situation for us consumers (provided price still rm1.90/l)
For now its rm1.90, not sure how long we can 'enjoy' this price.. rclxub.gif
sinister_sid
post Apr 9 2011, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 9 2011, 03:28 PM)
That's because a lot of people know nuts about petrol and the specs with it...... Is a petrol's performance are based on RON only? If the answer is yes, then please continue to support blindly..... This is not refering to you.....
can explain more notworthy.gif
i noob leh in petrol
tictac
post Apr 9 2011, 04:34 PM

2,520 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 9 2011, 03:01 PM)
same 1 la
marketing tactic
logic 101
you use Petronas X for Wangan Midnight issit? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Daniel John
post Apr 9 2011, 06:55 PM

38 posts

a source from petronas says...please SUE petronas...if u all think it is just a marketing gimmick without any improvement at all...petronas dare anybody to put money on their mouth...or else just keep quiet...
soonlee33
post Apr 9 2011, 07:04 PM

2,677 posts

Looking forward to try 'em 2moro
CyberKewl
post Apr 9 2011, 07:20 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Apr 9 2011, 07:04 PM)
Looking forward to try 'em 2moro
i think the petrol stations already loaded with this new grade, guess u can even try it now, no need wait if you want to smile.gif
shinjite
post Apr 9 2011, 09:33 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Apr 9 2011, 03:50 PM)
For now its rm1.90, not sure how long we can 'enjoy' this price..  rclxub.gif
Mark April 16th on your calendar
choon hon
post Apr 9 2011, 10:15 PM

174 posts

I just only pump Petronas 's p petrol into my car. However, there is still no news about the Petronas Station is filled with the latest ron95 petrol yet.
s@ni
post Apr 9 2011, 10:29 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

i asked a pet station just now, he dumb2 dont know laugh.gif a bangladeshi btw doh.gif tongue.gif
sinister_sid
post Apr 9 2011, 11:12 PM

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Apr 9 2011, 06:55 PM)
a source from petronas says...please SUE petronas...if u all think it is just a marketing gimmick without any improvement at all...petronas dare anybody to put money on their mouth...or else just keep quiet...
u ask the petronas source do a dyno run with both ron old 95 and new 95 with each do a 5 times run to average out
got improvement or not u think every1 can notice ah
who got build in dyno butt ???
most ppl if they support petronas will sure say oh got alot inprovement ah
my kancil now like veyron
whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
CyberKewl
post Apr 9 2011, 11:40 PM

2,900 posts

all marketing gimmick..everytime got this so called new fuel how do we actually know there's really new stuff there? its not like buying a car that you can see the changes physically...unless you actually kept the previous petrol and compare it with the new one, there's no telling whether what we get would be the new stuff..or just the same old s**t tongue.gif
sinister_sid
post Apr 9 2011, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(tictac @ Apr 9 2011, 04:34 PM)
you use Petronas X for Wangan Midnight issit?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
dont belajar unker fred confuse me leh
SUSkyheng
post Apr 10 2011, 01:17 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 8 2011, 04:21 PM)
The most is they change addatives...... Or someone can show some proofs that Petronas change their refinery setup recently.....
QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 9 2011, 04:03 PM)
can explain more  notworthy.gif
i noob leh in petrol
^Above stated clearly.... Go to wiki, type : platforming, hydrocracking, catalyst cracking, hydro treating and you will know better on fuel.....

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 9 2011, 07:20 PM)
i think the petrol stations already loaded with this new grade, guess u can even try it now, no need wait if you want to smile.gif
Loaded? Are you sure? To put in "new" petrol, some flushing needs to be done and depending greatly on that particular station... If the sales volume are high, it will be faster, else it will be slower.... As any addatives are dopped on terminals, not at the station....
gtoforce
post Apr 10 2011, 03:45 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 9 2011, 11:43 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
dont belajar unker fred confuse me leh
what he meant was u use petronas x for touge or not?

btw i heard heard from inside people that few weeks prior to launch petronas did invite some writers on local automotive media to bring their guzzlers and big cars to test the new formula
i had yet to hear any reviews but we'll see
Daniel John
post Apr 10 2011, 04:02 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 9 2011, 11:12 PM)
u ask the petronas source do a dyno run with both ron old 95 and new 95 with each do a 5 times run to average out
got improvement or not u think every1 can notice ah
who got build in dyno butt ??? 
most ppl if they support petronas will sure say oh got alot inprovement ah
my kancil now like veyron
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
ahaks! u do then show them the result hmm.gif
i will back u up...then i ask them to turun harga petrol by 5 sen cos new marketing gimik cost more money to rakyat...rite?

do i look i supprt petronas? i try not to think negative by providing a positive solution...but we must work together... icon_rolleyes.gif
dctrue
post Apr 10 2011, 04:21 AM

82 posts

taman melati petronas got this so called new ron95 xtra already. tested it and still feel the same.
Intrigue
post Apr 10 2011, 10:06 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

some marketing gimmicks, and our mind start fooling around endlessly

But no doubt, current Ron95 petronas gives better power than other brand. Was hovering with empty tank and pump BHP yesterday and the car is struggling to go.
sphiroth
post Apr 10 2011, 10:28 AM

2,804 posts

Imo, the best ron95 is caltex.
chekyo
post Apr 10 2011, 10:43 AM

257 posts

i am waiting for actual result and feedback 1st.. lolz..
ZeroSP
post Apr 10 2011, 10:44 AM

184 posts

For me 95 best is Caltex too
sinister_sid
post Apr 10 2011, 01:12 PM

later i kasi run fuel tank till empty
then go try
but till now shells 95 still the best for me
smooth and easy cold start drive
SUSjpker kia
post Apr 10 2011, 01:27 PM

65 posts

esso ftw
sg999
post Apr 10 2011, 03:07 PM

1,027 posts

the best ron 95 is CALTEX WITH TECHRON!!!!
CyberKewl
post Apr 10 2011, 03:37 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 10 2011, 03:07 PM)
problem is hard to find caltex..even if they can give u good FC, by the time u drive to the nearest caltex station u already used up what's "good" in the FC. Unless your place is near caltex station or need to pass by on the way to work/pasar then no issues la.
XionCity
post Apr 10 2011, 03:41 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 8 2011, 05:21 PM)
+1....they wun entirely change their petrol quality or upgrade it....unlike AMD Phenom to Bulldozer class...
Addatives was the only option....BHP still for me...
SUSkyheng
post Apr 10 2011, 03:53 PM

888 posts

BHP, Caltex, ESSO are good..... As they are imported.....
ckmuin86
post Apr 10 2011, 05:44 PM

15 posts

have anyone try this fuel yet?
tictac
post Apr 10 2011, 05:48 PM

2,520 posts

just fill up full tank ron 95 petronas-xtra

Petronas RON 95 40Liter = 560km

Will see how is the FC with this new formula

This post has been edited by tictac: Apr 10 2011, 05:49 PM
thom_chai
post Apr 10 2011, 06:45 PM

1,830 posts

Filled RM30.95 and got a keychain. Anyone got a different stuffs here?
lj0000
post Apr 10 2011, 06:46 PM

2,200 posts

my savvy die on the new primax
iZuDeeN
post Apr 10 2011, 07:08 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Apr 10 2011, 06:46 PM)
my savvy die on the new primax
bro.... r u joking or for real?

unless your savvy was running on diesel previously ; there is no chance ur engine can die when change fuel to new ron95 rclxub.gif
Zaypher
post Apr 10 2011, 07:25 PM

297 posts

I pumped this fuel already, performance? Well, at least I don't feel sluggish when pushing it to the red line. My friend was telling me it's a bit more responsive. I told him it could be placebo effect. I would say, I have no reason not to, not use this fuel.
gagak_84
post Apr 10 2011, 07:49 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(dctrue @ Apr 10 2011, 04:21 AM)
taman melati petronas got this so called new ron95 xtra already. tested it and still feel the same.
in term of mileage?
feralee
post Apr 10 2011, 07:49 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Apr 10 2011, 06:45 PM)
Filled RM30.95 and got a keychain. Anyone got a different stuffs here?
i going to pump later.
tongue.gif

conan1
post Apr 10 2011, 07:56 PM

224 posts

sooo any feedback and power from using this fuel?
CyberKewl
post Apr 10 2011, 07:58 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(conan1 @ Apr 10 2011, 07:56 PM)
sooo any feedback and power from using this fuel?
very powerful wor..my 120hp car now runs like 150hp tongue.gif
ckmuin86
post Apr 10 2011, 08:31 PM

15 posts

filled up pri*ax xtra ron95 RM30.95 and got green key chain

i never use p*tronas fuel before for my car because many says its very flammable.. but today just hope nothing happen to my car
feralee
post Apr 10 2011, 10:18 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

the free gift.

AskarPerang
post Apr 10 2011, 10:19 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Minimum RM30 to get the key chain?
Or what's the minimum actually?
CyberKewl
post Apr 10 2011, 10:23 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Apr 10 2011, 10:19 PM)
Minimum RM30 to get the key chain?
Or what's the minimum actually?
minimum is 30.95 if not mistaken, u must fill up till this exact amount to get the free gift.
MR_alien
post Apr 10 2011, 10:28 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 10 2011, 10:23 PM)
minimum is 30.95 if not mistaken, u must fill up till this exact amount to get the free gift.
30.95???....whats the .95 for??
and exact??? or more???
CyberKewl
post Apr 10 2011, 10:31 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 10 2011, 10:28 PM)
30.95???....whats the .95 for??
and exact??? or more???
its just a challenge by petronas to intro their new fuel, but if not mistaken over liao...5:30 till 8:30 pm only for today. they have another two more amounts like 50.95 and 70.95. One get pen the other get air freshener or something like that..yes must be exact 30.95 if not u will not get anything.

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Apr 10 2011, 10:32 PM
Zaypher
post Apr 10 2011, 10:40 PM

297 posts

I envy that keychain.
I managed to fill in RM30.95, then 50.95 but I screwed up the last one RM70.95 by just 1 cent so I failed to get the keychain.
Managed to get the air freshener and pen though. LOL
shinjite
post Apr 11 2011, 12:22 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

So hows the performance?
vexus
post Apr 11 2011, 12:26 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

same as usual. I notice my fuel drop meter faster. hmm
i think it is because the world crude oil price surge too high, Petronas add in more additive to maintain its profit. hmmm
sg999
post Apr 11 2011, 12:37 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 10 2011, 04:37 PM)
problem is hard to find caltex..even if they can give u good FC, by the time u drive to the nearest caltex station u already used up what's "good" in the FC. Unless your place is near caltex station or need to pass by on the way to work/pasar then no issues la.
still got issue
caltex dun1 provide bonus card
like smile card,bhp ecard,mesra card vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
Conroe
post Apr 11 2011, 01:09 AM

253 posts

Shell 95 user here.Just fill in RM20 of this new 95 extra.
As usual before this i've tried petronas Primax 95,i got better response but low millage.This new 95 extra response the same but not sure about millage.Will fill in full tank after the current RM20 of petrol near to empty.
XionCity
post Apr 11 2011, 01:24 AM

171 posts

compare to BHP, wat's the difference?
Bart-man
post Apr 11 2011, 01:25 AM

73 posts

Last Friday, filled up Caltex RON95 and travel from Penang to KL.

I reset my car fuel computer at the beginning of journey, at the end of the journey the average fuel consumption is 7.4L per 100km smile.gif

Today, I filled up the new Petronas Primax95 Xtra (from almost empty tank) and traval back to Penang.

Did the same thing, reset the car fuel computer again at the beginning of journey, at the end of the journey the average fuel consumption shows 7.1L per 100km biggrin.gif

Both trips have similar driving style, cruising on fast lane at 120km/h average laugh.gif

BTW I got an "air freshener" by hitting RM70.95 on the dot brows.gif
Conroe
post Apr 11 2011, 02:08 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Apr 11 2011, 01:25 AM)

I reset my car fuel computer at the beginning of journey, at the end of the journey the average fuel consumption is 7.4L per 100km smile.gif

Today, I filled up the new Petronas Primax95 Xtra (from almost empty tank) and traval back to Penang.

Did the same thing, reset the car fuel computer again at the beginning of journey, at the end of the journey the average fuel consumption shows 7.1L per 100km biggrin.gif

Both trips have similar driving style, cruising on fast lane at 120km/h average laugh.gif

Any comments on the response/performance?
rcracer
post Apr 11 2011, 02:16 AM

?????
3,772 posts

for the first few weeks i think the petrol will be top quality and maybe even with more additives to get people to switch then later back to normal production quality
Bart-man
post Apr 11 2011, 02:20 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(Conroe @ Apr 11 2011, 02:08 AM)
Any comments on the response/performance?
Hmm... hmm.gif

This is much harder to quantify since there is no hard numbers to confirm it...

Even if there is improvements I guess it will be single-digit percentage improvement which is hardly noticable by most people blush.gif

But probably, erm... just maybe, I *felt* there is slightly more power during acceleration laugh.gif
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 02:52 AM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Apr 11 2011, 01:25 AM)

What car you driving?

How come your car got car fuel computer? Sorry, i am new to car >.<
krk24
post Apr 11 2011, 03:02 AM

277 posts

pumped today..cant tell any differences!
the_catacombs
post Apr 11 2011, 03:42 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 10 2011, 10:28 AM)
Imo, the best ron95 is caltex.
QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Apr 10 2011, 10:44 AM)
For me 95 best is Caltex too
QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 10 2011, 03:07 PM)
caltex ftw
bojek
post Apr 11 2011, 07:07 AM

18 posts

hi guys. I'm a hardcore shell v-power user. somehow when the price rocketing, i started changing to ron 95(botu one month ago). first shell, sorry to say but it is not good enough. then came caltex 95. what i can say in terms of mileage is quite okay but power, a definite no. pijak pedal minyak x rs ape pn. then i tried Petronas ron 95( for the first time since bought my car, 4-5 months before). all i can say the new petronas ron 95 is damn awesome to me la. can feel similar effect to shell v-power 97 although not as good of course. in terms of milage, i manage to clock on highway 75 to 80 km per bar instead of 65-70 for caltex 95. mind you all i 'm driving saga blm 1.6 and driving at 90-100km on average speed la.

ps: to those who like to bash petronas, try first bros/sis. try 2-3 times then only judge. fyi your ecu oso adapting to the new oil when you change the type of ron you use(according to one mechanic la). give it a go.

PEACE OUT.
voonkv
post Apr 11 2011, 07:55 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(bojek @ Apr 11 2011, 07:07 AM)
hi guys. I'm a hardcore shell v-power user. somehow when the price rocketing, i started changing to ron 95(botu one month ago). first shell, sorry to say but it is not good enough. then came caltex 95. what i can say in terms of mileage is quite okay but power,  a definite no. pijak pedal minyak x rs ape pn. then  i tried Petronas ron 95( for the first time since bought my car, 4-5 months before). all i can say the new petronas ron 95 is damn awesome to me la. can feel similar effect to shell v-power 97 although not as good of course. in terms of milage, i manage to clock on highway 75 to 80 km per bar instead of 65-70 for caltex 95. mind you all i 'm driving saga blm 1.6 and driving at 90-100km on average speed la.

ps: to those who like to bash petronas, try first bros/sis. try 2-3 times then only judge. fyi your ecu oso adapting to the new oil when you change the type of ron you use(according to one mechanic la). give it a go.

PEACE OUT.
saga blm 1.6?
the model they export to foreign country?
shinjite
post Apr 11 2011, 08:07 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Saga BLM 1.6 were sold in limited quantities
Initially it was for the taxis
feralee
post Apr 11 2011, 09:55 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 10 2011, 10:31 PM)
its just a challenge by petronas to intro their new fuel, but if not mistaken over liao...5:30 till 8:30 pm only for today. they have another two more amounts like 50.95 and 70.95. One get pen the other get air freshener or something like that..yes must be exact 30.95 if not u will not get anything.
the petrol attendent said every sunday will have this challenge.
Not sure he is telling the truth.
Will try again..

Got feel better in acceleration
Maybe got mix Bhp & petronas tongue.gif

This post has been edited by feralee: Apr 11 2011, 09:56 AM
Lineage
post Apr 11 2011, 10:13 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(bojek @ Apr 11 2011, 07:07 AM)
hi guys. I'm a hardcore shell v-power user. somehow when the price rocketing, i started changing to ron 95(botu one month ago). first shell, sorry to say but it is not good enough. then came caltex 95. what i can say in terms of mileage is quite okay but power,  a definite no. pijak pedal minyak x rs ape pn. then  i tried Petronas ron 95( for the first time since bought my car, 4-5 months before). all i can say the new petronas ron 95 is damn awesome to me la. can feel similar effect to shell v-power 97 although not as good of course. in terms of milage, i manage to clock on highway 75 to 80 km per bar instead of 65-70 for caltex 95. mind you all i 'm driving saga blm 1.6 and driving at 90-100km on average speed la.

PEACE OUT.
Its depends on car actually..Previously I pump Shell V-Power97 for quite long time..then I change to RON95..Recently tried RON95..and I never go back to Shell..lol.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Try BHP, Esso, Shell, Petronas and Caltex..in the end still stick to Caltex wink.gif
CyberKewl
post Apr 11 2011, 10:14 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Apr 11 2011, 09:55 AM)
the petrol attendent said every sunday will have this challenge.
Not sure he is telling the truth.
Will try again..

Got feel better in acceleration
Maybe got mix Bhp & petronas  tongue.gif
if every sunday then not bad, but that means may have long queue on every sunday when u want to pump petrol...
MR_alien
post Apr 11 2011, 10:28 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

for saga blm...very easy to know
just hear the engine....when i change to shell RON95...it was damn noisy the engine
when i change to esso RON95...it was slighly quieter...more power indeed
later when empty tank..will go try this...see how it affects the engine...noisier or quieter..lol
and i can clearly hear that my car is very quiet when using RON97...so will try it out and see how it performs

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Apr 11 2011, 10:29 AM
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 01:25 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

I am using Esso because a lot of people claimed that Esso's petrol was not bad ^^ WHile the smile point indeed vert attractive.
shinjite
post Apr 11 2011, 01:26 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Yeah for Esso, it is definitely for the Smile Points
Didn't really bother about the fuel, its Synergy F1 for my car is the same as others
Lineage
post Apr 11 2011, 01:27 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 01:25 PM)
I am using Esso because a lot of people claimed that Esso's petrol was not bad ^^ WHile the smile point indeed vert attractive.
1000 = RM15.. biggrin.gif
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 01:29 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

It is better than mesra due to the points that will never expired and the point were calculated based on Ringgit instead of Litre. smile.gif
* sorry, i am not trying to advertise Esso * >.<
Lineage
post Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 01:29 PM)
It is better than mesra due to the points that will never expired and the point were calculated based on Ringgit instead of Litre. smile.gif
Its 1.5% rebate..haha..
Oldskolboyz
post Apr 11 2011, 01:41 PM

1,422 posts

Didn't know is true or not, Petronas never sponsor petrol in F1 but engine oil yes, since BMW team.. Petronas just sign deal to supply & develop/research petrol, hydraulic, break oil with MercedesGP yesterday.... So how sure we are Premax95 extra develop from F1.....
s@ni
post Apr 11 2011, 01:46 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

will try primax95extra on our back home today tongue.gif
ben_panced
post Apr 11 2011, 01:58 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

ayam been using primax 95 for so long and when i filled up my car with this new fuel, i felt no difference..

but time will tell if there is improvement for this new fuel
rcracer
post Apr 11 2011, 02:22 PM

?????
3,772 posts

haih whatever it is, still spend so much on petrol idling away in traffic jams, only can take solace the engine is smoother etc but actually does nothing for day to day life
Dias
post Apr 11 2011, 02:26 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 01:29 PM)
It will expire if the card is not used on a qualifying purchase within a year.

Q: When will my Smiles Points expire?

A: Your Smiles Points will never expire* if you make at least one qualifying purchase at any participating Esso or Mobil service station within 12 months with the same Smiles Card.

* Terms and conditions apply.

http://www.esso-mobil-smiles.com.my/en-my/...smiles_faq.aspx
SUSlauyah
post Apr 11 2011, 02:48 PM

ViSiToR
811 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM)
Its 1.5% rebate..haha..
+ Public Bank 8% rebate.

No point arguing which is the best petrol. Its differ from every car. My house has 2 car, 1 feel better with Petronas, and my wira goes well with Caltex, but both suck at Shell. Lack power, meaning harder on the pedal, translate to more FC.

Basically Petronas give more power, Caltex more smooth and quieter.
tritonite
post Apr 11 2011, 02:53 PM

337 posts

Hmm, looks like they are using a lime green Fiesta in the promotion ads for the fuel.

When did the unspoken partnership between Petronas and Proton stop? tongue.gif

Also, when did the Fiesta become the fuel economy poster child for Malaysia? If they were going for a foreign make, I would have thought they would go for something more prestigious like a Polo or a Golf. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tritonite: Apr 11 2011, 02:55 PM
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 03:45 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 11 2011, 01:31 PM)
Its 1.5% rebate..haha..
YEah.. smile.gif
QUOTE(Dias @ Apr 11 2011, 02:26 PM)
It will expire if the card is not used on a qualifying purchase within a year.
http://www.esso-mobil-smiles.com.my/en-my/...smiles_faq.aspx
What is qualifying purchase? sweat.gif Is it i must pump esso petrol for at least once a year? Or?? hmm.gif

After i visit that website. I think i got the answer. smile.gif Thank you Dias ^^ It mean i must pump esso petrol for at least once a year. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Eguy1314: Apr 11 2011, 03:46 PM
Bart-man
post Apr 11 2011, 03:48 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 02:52 AM)
What car you driving?

How come your car got car fuel computer? Sorry, i am new to car >.<
I'm driving Ford Fiesta 1.6 hb - the car in the advertisement biggrin.gif

Many cars have fuel computer nowadays... even the 2004 model Gen.2 I was driving previously has it.

BTW my result of 7.1L per 100km is for fully loaded car with 4 adults and lots of luggage. The last time I drove alone, it was only 6.1L per 100km (and that was using Caltex RON95, with the new Petronas fuel it might be even lower)

Added on April 11, 2011, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(tritonite @ Apr 11 2011, 02:53 PM)
Hmm, looks like they are using a lime green Fiesta in the promotion ads for the fuel.

When did the unspoken partnership between Petronas and Proton stop? tongue.gif

Also, when did the Fiesta become the fuel economy poster child for Malaysia? If they were going for a foreign make, I would have thought they would go for something more prestigious like a Polo or a Golf.  rolleyes.gif
I guess Fiesta is not only seen as having good fuel economy, but also good value for money overall for what you get laugh.gif

Yes I'm sure they will feature Polo or Golf instead if they were selling at RM82K like Fiesta tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Bart-man: Apr 11 2011, 03:53 PM
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 03:54 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Apr 11 2011, 03:48 PM)
I'm driving Ford Fiesta 1.6 hb - the car in the advertisement biggrin.gif

Many cars have fuel computer nowadays... even the 2004 model Gen.2 I was driving previously has it.

BTW my result of 7.1L per 100km is for fully loaded car with 4 adults and lots of luggage. The last time I drove alone, it was only 6.1L per 100km (and that was using Caltex RON95, with the new Petronas fuel it might be even lower)
The lighter the car, the more fuel it consume? O.o
By the way, did you test Esso fuel ? smile.gif

Bart-man
post Apr 11 2011, 04:16 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 03:54 PM)
The lighter the car, the more fuel it consume? O.o
By the way, did you test Esso fuel ? smile.gif
Driving with load = 7.1 litre of petrol per 100km
Driving alone = 6.1 litre of petrol per 100km

So it's less fuel, not more fuel doh.gif

Nope I did not try Esso before. Perhaps you could try both and tell us the difference brows.gif
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 05:45 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Apr 11 2011, 04:16 PM)
Driving with load = 7.1 litre of petrol per 100km
Driving alone = 6.1 litre of petrol per 100km

So it's less fuel, not more fuel doh.gif

Nope I did not try Esso before. Perhaps you could try both and tell us the difference brows.gif
oh swt. Miscalculate it. sad.gif
Erm, my car got no fuel computer.
XionCity
post Apr 11 2011, 06:21 PM

171 posts

Forte 1.6 EX also fuel economy package, while SX is worth for bucks...abit higher than EX in FC due to 17'' rims...
Bart-man
post Apr 11 2011, 06:33 PM

73 posts

I don't think a C-segment 1.6 sedan can beat a B-segment 1.6 hatchback in terms of FC tongue.gif

Also, which car looks nicer in "Petronas Green" color... hehe laugh.gif
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 06:33 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Apr 11 2011, 06:21 PM)
Forte 1.6 EX also fuel economy package, while SX is worth for bucks...abit higher than EX in FC due to 17'' rims...
The larger the rims the more FC? hmm.gif
lukesmart
post Apr 11 2011, 07:25 PM

46 posts

hey... im going to pump the 1st time ron95 on this wednesday.... any feedback of this new dunno wad extra??? ron97 raise price till i give up d... wtf
Lineage
post Apr 11 2011, 07:51 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 06:33 PM)
The larger the rims the more FC?  hmm.gif
Depends on the engine cc..theoretically yes.. biggrin.gif
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 08:02 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 11 2011, 07:51 PM)
Depends on the engine cc..theoretically yes..  biggrin.gif
explain the theory please.. >.<
Lineage
post Apr 11 2011, 08:06 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 11 2011, 08:02 PM)
explain the theory please.. >.<
Your rims bigger = rims heavier..
Rims heavier = need more power to roll.. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 11 2011, 09:42 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 11 2011, 08:06 PM)
Rims heavier = need more power to roll..  icon_rolleyes.gif
To make it as a more stupid term, smaller rim = more rubber on tyre = car "lighter"
bigger rim = less rubber on tyre = car "heavier"
When changed the rims, the mileage won't be accurate sometimes. But you still can roughly calculate the FC based on your experience. Like 1 week you drive about 500km and need 40L of petrol on your original rim. After change to bigger rim, with similar mileage, you only can last about 6 days and need to refuel.
Eguy1314
post Apr 11 2011, 11:08 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 11 2011, 08:06 PM)
Rims heavier = need more power to roll..  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you very much for the explain ^^ thumbup.gif
gtoforce
post Apr 12 2011, 12:09 AM

2,967 posts

i'd really like to see guzzlers try the ron95 xtra
i work in petronas but i think the 95 (before xtra) sux big time so i changed to either the primax97 or err...competitor's brand tongue.gif

my car's a guzzler and would like to test it this weekend when i drive to sepang for the marathon
+Newbie+
post Apr 12 2011, 10:39 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

I always thought of bigger rims like this:-

1) Heavier rims = higher FC
2) Bigger diameter = more torque needed to turn tire = higher FC
3) wider tires = more traction (friction) = higher FC

I'm tired of reiterating on how one should not use the computer to calculate FC and instead calculate manually, so I won't go there.

Anyways, I'm tempted to try this as well. I have always had good experience with petronas, but choose not to use it, because BHP is the nearest to my house. Maybe I'll try it on my next refuel just for fun. laugh.gif
shinjite
post Apr 12 2011, 11:07 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

My little brother tested the fuel in the VIOS, he said there is a difference in engine response

SUSkyheng
post Apr 12 2011, 11:17 AM

888 posts

How was it? But I'm more interest on its response on constant speed of 100km/h and sudden whack till 130km/h..... This will really show how good a petrol are....
Bart-man
post Apr 12 2011, 11:42 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 12 2011, 10:39 AM)

I'm tired of reiterating on how one should not use the computer to calculate FC and instead calculate manually, so I won't go there.

I understand your reasoning, since different car might have different accuracy on the fuel computer.

But I guess the accuracy of Ford Fiesta's fuel computer is quite reliable though, I used to reset both my trip meter and fuel computer whenever my fuel light comes up and triggering me to pump petrol. I have been using Caltex RON95 since I got the car till now, everytime I fill RM50.00, I will get a mileage of 350km +/- 10km for city driving, and the fuel computer consistently shown around 7.5L per 100km right before I reset it everytime.

It might not be the best way to compare FC of different car, but I think there's no harm using my car's fuel computer to compare FC of the same car across different petrol (or different driving style, different load, different route etc.) laugh.gif
shinjite
post Apr 12 2011, 12:14 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 12 2011, 11:17 AM)
How was it? But I'm more interest on its response on constant speed of 100km/h and sudden whack till 130km/h..... This will really show how good a petrol are....
Didn't drive the VIOS so I can't really tell
I will need to drive it first
TSsheahann
post Apr 12 2011, 02:07 PM

2,263 posts

wow even lowyat forum advertise the promax95 xtra .. now im viewing this page with primax95 ads background.

btw my car almost empty.. i wait empty till the indicator light shows. then kasi full tank.. but duno kampar petronas got o not. is it nationwide or some specific place only ?
Bart-man
post Apr 12 2011, 02:18 PM

73 posts

During the launch it says "available at over 950 Petronas service stations nationwide" so I guess it should be available at your place. Look for the "XTRA" logo when you pump laugh.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 12 2011, 02:34 PM

888 posts

Consider to use it after 2-3 weeks....
pupumaru
post Apr 12 2011, 03:21 PM

156 posts

so many mixed reviews and comments.
Gonna try it for myself at the next refill smile.gif
fhatz
post Apr 12 2011, 03:27 PM

107 posts

already pump 26+-L last sunday night..

prev i can go around 350+- with almost same road same weight almost same traffic..
cyberjaya-kajang-cyberjaya for 5 day..

expecting this new improvement oil can go for myb 380+-
Eguy1314
post Apr 12 2011, 05:16 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 12 2011, 12:14 PM)
Didn't drive the VIOS so I can't really tell
I will need to drive it first
My vios engine is much response. smile.gif
fool1988
post Apr 12 2011, 06:22 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(fhatz @ Apr 12 2011, 03:27 PM)
already pump 26+-L last sunday night..

prev i can go around 350+- with almost same road same weight almost same traffic..
cyberjaya-kajang-cyberjaya for 5 day..

expecting this new improvement oil can go for myb 380+-
Try Esso at Taman Equine or Caltex at Taman Equine..
From my personal opinion, Petronas in Cyberjaya is worst, even i pump petronas around kajang it can provide me more mileage even in same path and same traffic condition.
Eguy1314
post Apr 12 2011, 06:24 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(fool1988 @ Apr 12 2011, 06:22 PM)
Try Esso at Taman Equine or Caltex at Taman Equine..
From my personal opinion, Petronas in Cyberjaya is worst, even i pump petronas around kajang it can provide me more mileage even in same path and same traffic condition.
I thought all the area's fuel is the same, only when the brand is different then they got different addictive.
CyberKewl
post Apr 12 2011, 06:50 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 12 2011, 06:24 PM)
I thought all the area's fuel is the same, only when the brand is different then they got different addictive.
maybe some pump got more water contents to pollute the petrol? dunno...heard this is the case with some petrol stations
SUSkyheng
post Apr 12 2011, 06:54 PM

888 posts

If you really got water in your petrol, you won't know.....
But when it reach certain % over petrol, it will really affect your engine....
Fact is, Shell and Petronas using the same terminal.... So petrol are the same only addatives different...
Suggest to add alcohol to remove any suspect water in your fuel tank.
Boy96
post Apr 12 2011, 07:15 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Filled up 95 Xtra yesterday, but the credit card receipt it print only said PRIMAX95,

the cars computer (MID) showed 520 KM to the next fill up, but dunno weather can achieve it or not..

Was on Shell FuelSave 95 before pumping Petronas and car's MID showed that the car was driven 440 KM..
CyberKewl
post Apr 12 2011, 07:19 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 12 2011, 07:15 PM)
Filled up 95 Xtra yesterday, but the credit card receipt it print only said PRIMAX95,

the cars computer (MID) showed 520 KM to the next fill up, but dunno weather can achieve it or not..

Was on Shell FuelSave 95 before pumping Petronas and car's MID showed that the car was driven 440 KM..
was it the same amount of DTE (distance to empty) as previously or different? If different surely the car's computer will report differently now. it has to be consistent to have a fair assessment.
Eguy1314
post Apr 12 2011, 08:17 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

Erm, they add water in the petrol?
tritonite
post Apr 12 2011, 08:29 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 12 2011, 08:17 PM)
Erm, they add water in the petrol?
It's not water, per se.

Modern fuel isn't completely petrol. Frequently, the companies include additives into the fuel. These include things such as detergents, which help keep the engine clean, and compounds, which help adapt the fuel for different climates. For example, our petrol comes with stuff that help it cope with internal combustion factors in tropical weather. Conversely, petrol in countries like Canada and Northern Europe comes with stuff that help in winter climates.

Comparatively, ounce to ounce, litre to litre, the cost of these additives is cheaper than the petrol itself, so there have been debates on all over the world whether some companies have been adding more additives into their fuel these days to offset the ever increasing price of petroleum.

Eguy1314
post Apr 12 2011, 08:45 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(tritonite @ Apr 12 2011, 08:29 PM)
It's not water, per se.

Modern fuel isn't completely petrol. Frequently, the companies include additives into the fuel. These include things such as detergents, which help keep the engine clean, and compounds, which help adapt the fuel for different climates. For example, our petrol comes with stuff that help it cope with internal combustion factors in tropical weather. Conversely, petrol in countries like Canada and Northern Europe comes with stuff that help in winter climates.

Comparatively, ounce to ounce, litre to litre, the cost of these additives is cheaper than the petrol itself, so there have been debates on all over the world whether some companies have been adding more additives into their fuel these days to offset the ever increasing price of petroleum.
I see. Thank you so much for the explain. smile.gif
alkt
post Apr 12 2011, 09:02 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 12 2011, 11:07 AM)
My little brother tested the fuel in the VIOS, he said there is a difference in engine response
yea got difference in engine response. i pumped this morning at Petronas Sg Besi then immediately whack...really can feel it's lighter smile.gif

This post has been edited by alkt: Apr 12 2011, 09:02 PM
ckmuin86
post Apr 12 2011, 09:07 PM

15 posts

will fuel up my tank with prima# 95 xtra tomorrow morning on the way to office..will update to you all later
SUSdantck
post Apr 12 2011, 09:43 PM

1,004 posts

i just filled rm40 , i guess maybe just abit increase performance ,prevoius 1 after i fill full also power ,.....
SUSSKY233
post Apr 12 2011, 09:54 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

pumped the petrol . .
so far so good
felt smoother (not much) , placebo effect ? tongue.gif
Inb4, i juz pump caltex ron95 and esso/mobil ron95 smile.gif
dadurtyz
post Apr 12 2011, 09:57 PM

658 posts

2nd day used the fuel. still got Quarter to go, Feel like more responsive a-bit than old RON95

Added on April 12, 2011, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 12 2011, 09:02 PM)
yea got difference in engine response. i pumped this morning at Petronas Sg Besi then immediately whack...really can feel it's lighter smile.gif
thumbup.gif agreed. we can feel it's more and a-bit responsive when press the pedal

This post has been edited by dadurtyz: Apr 12 2011, 09:58 PM
SUSSKY233
post Apr 12 2011, 10:00 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Apr 12 2011, 09:57 PM)
2nd day used the fuel. still got Quarter to go, Feel like more responsive a-bit than old RON95

Added on April 12, 2011, 9:58 pm
thumbup.gif agreed. we can feel it's more and a-bit responsive when press the pedal
looks like petronas oso not bad for now rclxms.gif

dadurtyz
post Apr 12 2011, 10:04 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Apr 12 2011, 09:54 PM)
pumped the petrol . .
so far so good
felt smoother (not much) , placebo effect ? tongue.gif
Inb4, i juz pump caltex ron95 and esso/mobil ron95 smile.gif
i dont think placebo effect will drag you for next day biggrin.gif
Lineage
post Apr 12 2011, 10:06 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

For Petronas, I think I wont gonna try it, even its the best for me..because my area don't have..If got also hard for me..cuz not same way when I go work and go home..hahahaha..
Eguy1314
post Apr 12 2011, 10:23 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

What is placebo effect? hmm.gif
Conroe
post Apr 13 2011, 02:35 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 12 2011, 10:23 PM)
What is placebo effect?  hmm.gif
U know the term "syok sendiri" in malay? laugh.gif

zc_squash
post Apr 13 2011, 12:22 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Conroe @ Apr 13 2011, 02:35 AM)
U know the term "syok sendiri" in malay? laugh.gif
Haven't came across a better explanation than this. rclxms.gif
shinichi88
post Apr 13 2011, 12:26 PM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 12 2011, 10:23 PM)
What is placebo effect?  hmm.gif
Heart/Mind playing trick on you...
netboy
post Apr 13 2011, 12:36 PM

Bang Your Head
2,126 posts

Didn't feel any significant effect after switching from Shell 95 to 95X yesterday. Will see if FC improves.
acbc
post Apr 13 2011, 05:38 PM

9,046 posts

Woo... can really feel the kick 6.5k rpm on my smart 4/4! And very smooth too. Going to try another tankful next week (frugal car, only need to fill up every 1-2 weeks).
ZeroSP
post Apr 13 2011, 06:04 PM

184 posts

Seems like results varies... I still thinking whether to try, all the way using Caltex.
harryfoo
post Apr 13 2011, 06:15 PM

2,296 posts

So, the overall verdict is good?
gahpadu
post Apr 13 2011, 06:32 PM

1,438 posts

just filled up last sunday.. hard to check out the performance , may monitor the FC
gagak_84
post Apr 13 2011, 07:03 PM

132 posts

how i want to know that i the petrol station already have 95xtra?
already fill in this morning ron95... performance wise.. good.. but i dont know either it was 95 or 95xtra.. =(
iZuDeeN
post Apr 13 2011, 07:12 PM

3,466 posts

Since some ppl see diff and some dont
It could be prob the pump station itself
Since the station may still have old balance of the normal 95
They just top up to the new ron
So that may be the reason u dont feel any diff then the old pet ron 95

Thats the reason im waiting for u guys to deplete the old fuel before i try out the new ron95
SUSkyheng
post Apr 13 2011, 07:31 PM

888 posts

You should get the Petronas fuel + Petronas addatives......
Not Shell fuel + Petronas addatives....
Remember, both are sharing the same terminal.... In Dengkil....
peiling3
post Apr 13 2011, 09:40 PM

tried on city, smooth n better then shell 95. will try another car n see the performance...
V12Kompressor
post Apr 13 2011, 10:44 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

fuel tank is empty today, but could recall any Petronas station available along Jalan Hang Tuah, Jalan DBP and Federal Highway. So have to wait till the next trip.

Today tekan kuat kuat to try Petronas in the end still put back in Shell sleep.gif
sg999
post Apr 15 2011, 09:41 PM

1,027 posts

howhow?anymore comment?
SUSdantck
post Apr 15 2011, 09:46 PM

1,004 posts

tbh ,i whack all these days ,last i pump rm40 , it is same or more worst fc,
i feel my one bar finish more early .

seanoys
post Apr 15 2011, 11:48 PM

For me after I pump this petrol..my car has no more pick up and power..I usually pump esso 95 and the performance And fc is great! Primax 95 extra is a huge disappointment and I feel it's a marketting gemick only..I usually get 8.9l/100km when using esso..but now I clocked at 10.9l/100km x.x...but hey! It's my opinion smile.gif no offence to petronas lovers yeah..
DeMl
post Apr 16 2011, 12:08 AM

313 posts

nothing much to say bout the 95xtra , the name itself says all .

xtra = lebih lebih nia lol .

just my pov bah, im sticking bak to my mobile 95 after 95xtra runs out doh.gif
camel90
post Apr 16 2011, 12:37 AM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

different for my car tho. i got 140km for RM20 worth of fuel RON95 from shell and 129km for the same amount of fuel when i was using old primax95. this primax95Xtra somehow managed to clock 149 this morning. i will do more run to make it a definite result.
luckykid5
post Apr 16 2011, 12:54 AM

217 posts

i'm driving myvi. last time i use shell 95...makan minyak because of no power. city driving making me going lower mileage, but driving highway is good.

so i change to primax 95 petronas. increase mileage in city drive because of greater power. but abit noisy.

then i chg to BP with the latest fuel. engine more quiet and as great power like primax.

will try to test primax xtra for a month and post feedback later.
XionCity
post Apr 16 2011, 01:19 AM

171 posts

i dun wan try 95xtra, prefer go for BHP2X95...got contest of winning cash n inspira....
Conroe
post Apr 16 2011, 03:12 AM

253 posts

Filled RM20 last sunday and felt my engine more responsive(Tried normal Pimax 95 before,better response but lower millage).Filled another RM20 today.Was using Shell 95,got better millage but response not as good as this Primax Xtra in terms of performance.

Shell 95 - 12.xL/100KM
Primax 95 Xtra - 11.0L/100KM

After this will pump in full tank and watch the millage carefully. smile.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 16 2011, 06:05 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

so far primax95 xtra improved a lot from the previous one , it feels like ron97 to me , more power and smooth ( use it on toyota camry 2.4v )
ocphangaz
post Apr 16 2011, 06:17 AM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

engine sounds quieter with this... but performance and FC looks bad.
SUSMatrix
post Apr 16 2011, 07:34 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Apr 16 2011, 01:19 AM)
i dun wan try 95xtra, prefer go for BHP2X95...got contest of winning cash n inspira....
Smart Guys Gets it.™ rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

Added on April 16, 2011, 7:35 am
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 16 2011, 06:05 AM)
so far primax95 xtra improved a lot from the previous one , it feels like ron97 to me , more power and smooth ( use it on toyota camry 2.4v )
Pyschological only lar...ur Camry oready very powerful. Put what minyak also got power. Bet you can't tell what petrol in a blind test. haha.

IMO, all petrol the same when u talk about same octane rating (except maybe VPOWER)...even if you feel you got more power or better mileage, it's all uncontrolled tests...agak-agak only....that's why some people claim better FC, some worst, some more power, some no power....Some people wanna test new fuel...tekan kuat kuat...feels more power...but FC no good...some wanna test mileage...light foot...got extra mileage, but no power....so back to square 1.

I vote for BHP due to Inspira contest. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Apr 16 2011, 07:41 AM
iZuDeeN
post Apr 16 2011, 10:26 AM

3,466 posts

tried full tank on this on Thursday

immediately can feel the difference...

my car now 'jerk' when release throttle; didnt notice this when was on Shell 95..

chaging back to shell after this petrol finish...sigh
kazukimy
post Apr 16 2011, 10:27 AM

98 posts

-deleted-....hehe

This post has been edited by kazukimy: Apr 16 2011, 10:33 AM
jason4883
post Apr 17 2011, 01:42 AM

:)
573 posts

Pump-ed this RON95 extra lasts sunday... FC looks the same only...no significant improvement... Driving style maintain...sometime tekan, sometime sentuh...
Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 11:12 AM

161 posts

My own rule of thumb when calculating FC after a brand switch is to ignore the FC and "power" feel for the first two full tank sessions as it is the transition period where you need to purge/dilute the tank from previous brand's additive mix.

And calculation needs to be on a full tank basis (i.e. volume pumped to reach full tank after driving xxx kilometers) rather than distance covered on a partial refuel.

That is basically how I compile my FC trend.
XionCity
post Apr 17 2011, 11:19 AM

171 posts

but when u empty the tank....there are chance air masuk ur engine through petrol tank.....there's risk of damaging it...nt a good choice 2 do it....either left 1 or 2 litres of fuel in it than empty it....my old SEG kena overhaul engine coz i really leave the car tank empty b4 i pump....for 6 times, everytime push the car to petrol station and ppl start laughing at me ><
MR_alien
post Apr 17 2011, 11:48 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

i just fill up RM50 of the primax 95 Xtra on friday
got like 10 liters of esso left (the reserve)
the noise....quite good...not as loud like primax 95 be4...comparable to esso
and what i found out is that it doesn't struggle to go up over 90KM/H
so that is comparable to RON97
usually RON95 struggle to go over 90KM/H...i can hear the sound of the engine working very hard to go up
only RON97 makes the engine very relax even after 100KM/H
next thing want to monitor is the FC cuz previously petronas for me ...the FC is like drinking water...it drains very fast
overall for now...petronas jumps from last place to second place for me...esso still no.1 although it also struggles on high speed

car is saga blm

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Apr 17 2011, 11:49 AM
Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 11:51 AM

161 posts

It is not necessary to empty out the tank. I always top up my tank when the gauge meter shows 1/4 tank remaining. That means I need to top up around 31 or 32 liters (tank capacity is 42 liters). What I need is to sufficiently dilute the previous brand enough before taking records (and I usually take a 5 readings average instead of just 1 reading so that there will be further dilution as well as averaging out any variables that happens during my drive).

Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 11:54 AM

161 posts

Really? I find Esso gives more power than BHP. Not sure where Shell ranks yet in terms of power and FC until I start taking measurements.
Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 12:03 PM

161 posts

Each to his own and maybe depending on the car. For me, Esso gives good acceleration compared to BHP when climbing uphill on a small slope outside the area where I live (go through there every morning on my way to work). Interested in testing out Primax but have to finish my current Esso run first (expected to end around June/July'11) before switching.

This post has been edited by Dias: Apr 17 2011, 12:04 PM
Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 12:16 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(alcatell @ Apr 17 2011, 12:10 PM)
lol using Esso can last for 2 month pls stop pulling other people leg
Seems that you have not been reading my sentences correctly.
QUOTE(Dias @ Apr 17 2011, 11:51 AM)
It is not necessary to empty out the tank. I always top up my tank when the gauge meter shows 1/4 tank remaining. That means I need to top up around 31 or 32 liters (tank capacity is 42 liters). What I need is to sufficiently dilute the previous brand enough before taking records (and I usually take a 5 readings average instead of just 1 reading so that there will be further dilution as well as averaging out any variables that happens during my drive).

This post has been edited by Dias: Apr 17 2011, 12:45 PM
JeffreyYap
post Apr 17 2011, 12:38 PM

Anti lowballers & noob drivers since 2010
1,232 posts

So far for me BHP the best.. very different compare to shell 95.
Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 01:06 PM

161 posts

Dude...there's a difference betweeen

...have to finish my current Esso run first (expected to end around June/July'11) before switching.

versus

have to finish my current Esso-filled tank first (expected to end around June/July'11) before switching.

Has the interpretation "I will be refilling using Esso brand for the next two months" ever occurred to you?

This post has been edited by Dias: Apr 17 2011, 01:07 PM
danny_sp15
post Apr 17 2011, 02:36 PM

==============
3,045 posts

filled up Hyundai Getz full tank Primax95 Xxtra, got 2-3litres old Primax95 left. that was last week. Been driving around for a while, seems like no noticeable difference in terms of performance. not sure about FC though.
Icehart
post Apr 17 2011, 02:39 PM

14,899 posts

Used the fuel but doesn't notice any significant improvement in mileage and power delivery. Perhaps not the right fuel for my car. smile.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 17 2011, 03:08 PM

888 posts

Nope, you need to test it out again after 1 month or more, depending to the sales volume on the particular station... Then follow by flushing your fuel system for 4-5 times to get better review....
shen1716
post Apr 17 2011, 03:34 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Dias @ Apr 17 2011, 12:16 PM)
Seems that you have not been reading my sentences correctly.
hi dude, ur sentences are not clear enough,if i read, i oso think ur tank can last for 2 month.
Dias
post Apr 17 2011, 04:07 PM

161 posts

A brand run is clear enough as it implies that I will be sticking with a particular brand until a specified deadline. Failing to grasp the nuance of the sentence lies at fault with the reader.

PS: Similarly in the manufacturing industry (where applicable), being able to differentiate between a "product run" and a "product batch run" has two different meanings for a production demand planner. Get my drift?

This post has been edited by Dias: Apr 17 2011, 04:08 PM
nujo87
post Apr 17 2011, 04:38 PM

247 posts

ESSO is the best in power~
but if some ppl car cant feel it maybe his car is sick lol

FC is best too,coz when got power u will sentuh only
btw a 95xtra is not bad i can hear the engine smoother not so noisy compare to previous primax95
but still not good enough to make me change from esso to petronas laugh.gif
TSsheahann
post Apr 17 2011, 07:05 PM

2,263 posts

got great improvement when i use it.. 1st 2 days not noticeable.
today when i drive.. reverse time usually i tekan quite alot only can move slowly. today shocked when the car can feel the power delivered when i reverse. pick up also nicer. feel like abit ron97 liao.

pumped full tank almost rM100 .. so far so good
honn
post Apr 17 2011, 07:06 PM

114 posts

got meh??i felt the same ...soli.
sg999
post Apr 17 2011, 07:09 PM

1,027 posts

i feel esso quite good power but not save than bhp
gahpadu
post Apr 17 2011, 09:43 PM

1,438 posts

I got 480km for rm80 using95xtra , few extra miles compare to shell 95

DeMl
post Apr 17 2011, 11:21 PM

313 posts

its all depends on our car, to me its same still comparing with esso mobil, just fs slightly high yawn.gif
gtoforce
post Apr 17 2011, 11:59 PM

2,967 posts

Fc was poor for my guzzler
Ron97 can get me 11itres (rm30)to and fro klia
But ron95xtra got me 18litres (rm35)
Average speed 100kmh
Haiz...
VeeJay
post Apr 18 2011, 12:04 AM

3,845 posts

I dont think you will be getting better or worse full consumption, it should be the same. The only difference you would find significant between different gas is its additive to give better pickup (similar to octane booster)

Good luck in testing your fc.
toktok
post Apr 18 2011, 09:11 PM

215 posts

Pumped half tank to my Vios 2008, can feel the engine much more silent and smooth. Power improve a bit. Still monitoring the mileage. Before this I used shell 95. Engine rather harsh and loud.
ocphangaz
post Apr 18 2011, 11:54 PM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

so far driving 180km with RON95 Xtra with my 2.0L turbo (rated ron98), performance is VERY bad. it's like using a batch of stale fuel, even the BHP that was almost empty in my car for more than 3 weeks felt better. I filled up with petronas when i started to use the car over the weekend.

engine is definitely much quite. FC so far i see same as before, but need refueling to confirm... performance is BAD... i wonder what era of F1 technology petronas used?
jjoehairy
post Apr 19 2011, 09:58 PM

i have change from shell to petronas for my wife vios, and the car feel much smooth and quite... i think i will stick to this petrol ...
isma45
post Apr 19 2011, 10:04 PM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

im using it now on myvi.. so far i feel better response from my engine.. but fc remains the same.. rm35 can get me around 270km which quite good for me
djhenry91
post Apr 19 2011, 10:09 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

i dunno why new extra 95 gv my dad car more km to drive...520km full tank summore..btw hyundai accent 04
V12Kompressor
post Apr 20 2011, 12:38 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

still testing. just pumped this morning after managed to empty the Shell 95.
Mindsoul
post Apr 20 2011, 02:52 AM

Yesterday i just try petronas 95 extra as many friend said the new petrol are quite good.

First impression after drive 50km

1) im quite suprise the car sound more quieter than Shell 95 and Mobil

2) Easy to step pedal and the car felt little smooth compare to before which are thump to the new petrol

3) When accelerate fast the car feel quite smooth and not harsh engine sound compare to Shell petrol

4) Still waiting for the fuel consumption until a tank finish

5) because i feel the new petrol have benefit and today i went to the Station and apply for the Mesra card and 2 thumb up because when bought some stuff from the shop the cashier ask for Mesra card and i cant believe im getting a point which are quite good because at other petrol station we only getting a point when fueling the tank

I am very happy with the new Petrol rclxms.gif
daiboken
post Apr 21 2011, 04:51 PM

19 posts

I can say, i feel better pickup after using the fuel.

I drive myvi, one full tank can last me 425 km before the indicator starts flashing. Previously can only manage to get till 400 or 390km

Do i have a heavy foot? laugh.gif
Hypro
post Apr 21 2011, 05:15 PM

218 posts

I can feel my car can achieve more mileage, previously I am using SHELL 95, full tank can only achieve 380 or 400km MAX. Now I can achieve 450KM.
tictac
post Apr 21 2011, 06:45 PM

2,520 posts

After using this new fuel. I gain more power and millage. Can get 561km from 40 liter of ron 95 extra on my Proton Wira 1.5 rclxms.gif
yipster
post Apr 21 2011, 10:57 PM

126 posts

pumped a tank on my vios b4 going up genting. really did feel the difference in power. mileage is about the same as the others. good stuff!
Boy96
post Apr 22 2011, 12:07 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Err, now on 2nd tank of Primax95 Xtra

based on the first tank, Only got 400KM then need to refuel already, while when I was on Shell FuelSave 95, 1 Tank can go up to 440 KM, but then, this Primax 95Xtra has got really more power, dayummm that shell was soooo sluggish

choon hon
post Apr 22 2011, 12:24 AM

174 posts

I thought i was the only one who felt the improvements after pumping in this new petrol into my car. Felt better throttle response and slight improved in mileage.
AhKoo
post Apr 22 2011, 12:30 AM

21 posts

esso user here, but will gv a try next pump =)
torreto
post Apr 22 2011, 01:00 PM

659 posts

I get 490km for my 40 liter tank (normally i can get around 380-400km (RON97), no pinging/ knocking and the pick up is quite good for a RON95, that is quite impressive for my car which actual requirement for fuel is RON98.
yehlai
post Apr 22 2011, 01:09 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Slightly improve on milleage, not significant. Response is normal for me, not as good as Esso. But this 95x run very sillent, thats the best thing.

SUSngkhanmein
post Apr 22 2011, 01:39 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

NEVER pump PETRONAS!
Mavik
post Apr 22 2011, 02:08 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Just pumped my 2nd tank of Petronas Ron95 Extra this morning. So far, first tank doesn't show any significant improvement of distance travelled but I feel that the engine runs a little smoother.
SimonsayZ
post Apr 22 2011, 02:25 PM

2,792 posts

Still on my 1st tank mixed with shell 95. So far on my vios the car feels a little responsive. Mileage dunno yet.

this new petrol I feel is really an improvement to other fuel.

This post has been edited by SimonsayZ: Apr 22 2011, 02:27 PM
pky
post Apr 22 2011, 02:50 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Mindsoul @ Apr 20 2011, 02:52 AM)

5) because i feel the new petrol have benefit and today i went to  the Station and apply for the Mesra card and 2 thumb up because when bought some stuff from the shop the cashier ask for Mesra card and i cant believe im getting a point which are quite good because at other petrol station we only getting a point when fueling the tank

not to mention, the mesra point can be exchanged for fuel anytime. Next time if u see mesra card laying around, keep it.
david_kiat
post Apr 23 2011, 03:26 PM

257 posts

is it a good idea to change from Shell 95 to this new fuel?
ZeneticX
post Apr 23 2011, 03:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

hows the fuel compared to caltex ron95?
post Apr 23 2011, 05:30 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 23 2011, 03:28 PM)
hows the fuel compared to caltex ron95?
I am on my second tank of 95Xtra and can say it gave me bout 10km more for my mileage compared to Caltex. But still lose to BHPetrol. I can get 30km more on a full tank with BHP.

Reason why I filled up with Petronas is because the station is located near to my workplace.

This post has been edited by 779364: Apr 23 2011, 05:31 PM
isma45
post Apr 23 2011, 09:02 PM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

lots n lots n lots of positive feedback.. thumbs up to petronas yaw thumbup.gif
gagak_84
post Apr 23 2011, 09:25 PM

132 posts

Why i feel dropping on pickup compared to shell. Will comment further on 2nd refill

mr_mm
post Apr 25 2011, 01:41 AM

29 posts

i olso used ptronas 95 xtra..
can feel the dfrent..
much longer mleage than b4..
i thought my tank really2 olmos empty..
try to go back home..
wow..reached home.safely w/out tow my car back home..

SUSgrinders
post Apr 25 2011, 01:54 AM

93 posts

i ask all my family member to fueling the Petronas Primax 95 and to my surprise my dad who only use shell before never turn back after using Petronas 95 extra. The new fuel are good and responsive
Efalex
post Apr 25 2011, 03:32 AM

361 posts

Just pump RM 40 today due to credit card facility is offline.
Start up - Normal, slightly slower that BP Infinity
Pick-up - Good, responsive and got power. No engine knocking sound
Engine - Quiet during driving and no vibration felt while idling. Engine sound at idle is slightly more noisy than Caltex
FC - not known, but looking at the meter, it quite possible that it's on par or slightly better than my previous brand (Caltex & BP)
tech_frix
post Apr 25 2011, 06:24 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

previously RM20 can go up to 250KM...
but with Primax95xtra, my Ninja 250r can reach up to 290km...oh yeah!!
today will refill with more Pteronas Primax 95 Xtra!!!
oh hell yeah!!!
Shanashi
post Apr 26 2011, 01:03 AM

55 posts

my half tank last time 200km only now can reach 22+ easily and i got itchy right leg....fantastic!!
irwan6179
post Apr 26 2011, 07:18 PM

1,040 posts

this fuel makes me feel better. I can't wait of the next refueling.
jason4883
post Apr 27 2011, 12:41 AM

:)
573 posts

Had my 3rd tank today for this Petronas Primax95 Extra.

So far, this is my FC.
1. 1st tank - 375km for 35 litres which is equals to 10.7km / litre
2. 2nd tank - 364km for 34 litres. Hence, 10.7km / litre

Previously was using Shell RON95. FC also about 10.5km / litre. So as for me, FC wise doesn't show significant difference (Already trying my best to remain my driving style tongue.gif)

However, what I did notice is the response and performance of using this fuel. I feel it's more responsive compare with other brands.

Just my feedback after using 2 tanks of Primax 95 Extra. Will continue to feedback after using more tanks.

This post has been edited by jason4883: Apr 27 2011, 12:42 AM
skylinelover
post Apr 27 2011, 01:26 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,256 posts

haha 4 me time 2 pump full tank i guess with all great reviews here laugh.gif rclxms.gif
V12Kompressor
post Apr 27 2011, 08:09 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

the only thing bad about this fuel is that there are no 50 cents rolling behind your car while you're driving... wink.gif
Intrigue
post Apr 27 2011, 08:36 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

^ if there's maybe let us know so we help you to collect
NewbieBetta
post Apr 27 2011, 12:20 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

feel more responsive now,going uphill have more power compare to previous ron95.
scorgio
post Apr 27 2011, 09:41 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 10 2011, 03:53 PM)
BHP, Caltex, ESSO are good..... As they are imported.....
They are all being processed, refined & distributed throughout the country via Port Dickson.
tommy3679582
post Apr 27 2011, 10:00 PM

61 posts

off topic...=D
Anyone manage to apply for mesra card recently ?
Petronas's staff always tell me "borang habis"...
i had tried a few different branch but all telling me the same thing...
b48753
post Apr 27 2011, 10:06 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

My 3rd filling feels the FC is much better.

Previously RON 97 my car running average 11.8km/liter
Now RON 95Xtra my car running average 13.5km/liter

Pickup for sure RON 97 is better, but for RON 95 Xtra feels much better than previous one and even Shell 95 and Caltex 95 thumbup.gif

Added on April 27, 2011, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(tommy3679582 @ Apr 27 2011, 10:00 PM)
off topic...=D
Anyone manage to apply for mesra card recently ?
Petronas's staff always tell me "borang habis"...
i had tried a few different branch but all telling me the same thing...
Try go to isolated Petronas station like at old Subang Airport tongue.gif

Added on May 1, 2011, 3:48 pmAnother new record done..
I manage to get better mileage, 15.58km/liter..what a amazing fuel thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by b48753: May 1 2011, 03:48 PM
moon yuen
post May 12 2011, 03:33 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Apr 27 2011, 10:06 PM)
My 3rd filling feels the FC is much better.

Previously RON 97 my car running average 11.8km/liter
Now RON 95Xtra my car running average 13.5km/liter

Pickup for sure RON 97 is better, but for RON 95 Xtra feels much better than previous one and even Shell 95 and Caltex 95 thumbup.gif

Added on April 27, 2011, 10:07 pm
Try go to isolated Petronas station like at old Subang Airport tongue.gif

Added on May 1, 2011, 3:48 pmAnother new record done..
I manage to get better mileage, 15.58km/liter..what a amazing fuel thumbup.gif
What car u are driving ?
ICDeadPeople
post May 12 2011, 04:12 PM

783 posts

Previously my fuel consumption is around 10.2l/100km, was using the old primax 95. The new primax 95 xtra give me 9.8l/100km. So it is true afterall.
ss6098
post May 12 2011, 04:26 PM

how about compare to the new BHP ron 95?
SUSaaaeye
post May 12 2011, 11:27 PM

183 posts

Really like this primax 95 extra..i can speeding on highway w/o the car drink up the fuel..and u can feel the difference in performance.. rclxms.gif
death_nite
post May 13 2011, 11:21 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

PRIMAX 95 biggrin.gif
PRIMAX 95 Xtra shakehead.gif

not gonna use petronas anymore. before ok. after xtra not ok. doh.gif
dadurtyz
post May 13 2011, 11:35 AM

658 posts

so many good review about this fuel, are those all guys paid by petronas??
tyhuang
post May 13 2011, 11:37 AM

71 posts

i think petronas from last time, alrady better abit from rival, just that alot of ppl here dont supoprt local stuff....shell 95 n caltex for me is the worst for me....petronas n esso is the best for me.....
just my 2sen
yngwie
post May 13 2011, 12:00 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

none of my ride accept ron95 , so, no big deal.
but i wonder how you guys could instantly feel the different just after a refill.
aren't the engine need time to adapt to the new fuel? after all, even when the fuel warning light
is turn on, there are still good few liter left in reserve tank...
some could be placebo effect. tongue.gif unless to those had been filling a few time where the engine already
adapt to the new fuel.

dadurtyz
post May 13 2011, 12:28 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ May 13 2011, 12:00 PM)
but i wonder how you guys could instantly feel the different just after a refill.
aren't the engine need time to adapt to the new fuel? after all, even when the fuel warning light
some could be placebo effect.  tongue.gif  unless to those had been filling a few time where the engine already
adapt to the new fuel.
Maybe placebo effect play a-part too, who knows ^^, even you drive civic and add type-R body-kit also can plus 50WHP in ur mind laugh.gif
yngwie
post May 13 2011, 03:41 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ May 13 2011, 12:28 PM)
Maybe placebo effect play a-part too, who knows ^^, even you drive civic and add type-R body-kit also can plus 50WHP in ur mind  laugh.gif
its a no brainer. like how some ppl mount a gt wing on a standard engine vios and drive around like it was a
300hp car tongue.gif
btw, ron95 is basically the same. only different was the additives added. whereby those different brand may claim theirs promotes cleaner engine, fuel saver and so on.
the conclusion / test result could be more accurate if we could put into consideration; driver's driving style, car,
climate, road and traffic condition.

shinjite
post May 13 2011, 04:51 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ May 13 2011, 12:00 PM)
some could be placebo effect.  tongue.gif  unless to those had been filling a few time where the engine already
adapt to the new fuel.
Even mine don't accept 95 ~_~
Totally lack of power throughout the rev range man haha
yngwie
post May 13 2011, 05:15 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 13 2011, 04:51 PM)
Even mine don't accept 95 ~_~
Totally lack of power throughout the rev range man haha
was stated in japanese original manual that your high compression mivec was design to run on ron100 brows.gif

shinjite
post May 13 2011, 05:20 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ May 13 2011, 05:15 PM)
was stated in japanese original manual that your high compression mivec was design to run on ron100  brows.gif
Mine ain't a MIVEC haha
fstrader
post May 13 2011, 05:23 PM

No Replacement, For Displacement.
2,327 posts

use this xtra r95, no feel also...tipu mia ah?? yawn.gif
shinjite
post May 13 2011, 05:24 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

For you is Xtra non placebo effects? haha
fstrader
post May 13 2011, 05:30 PM

No Replacement, For Displacement.
2,327 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 13 2011, 05:24 PM)
For you is Xtra non placebo effects? haha
really wor tongue.gif
yngwie
post May 13 2011, 05:44 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 13 2011, 05:20 PM)
Mine ain't a MIVEC haha
my bad blush.gif

QUOTE(fstrader @ May 13 2011, 05:23 PM)
use this xtra r95, no feel also...tipu mia ah??  yawn.gif
purist doesn't get carry away by the placebo effect.
even so for 'track kaki' brows.gif
off topic, your friend service a hks hipermax ls abs as well?
camel90
post May 13 2011, 07:24 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ May 13 2011, 11:35 AM)
so many good review about this fuel, are those all guys paid by petronas??
yes, i am paid by petronas for RM50 each post rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

this is bullshit. when people gave some good reviews about local product, some other people said those guys have been bought. when people gave bad reviews about local product, those guys said 'normal la, barang malaysia where got bagus one'. shakehead.gif

yes, i confirm this is better than previous ron95 by petronas after been using it since day 1 of launching.

RM20 :
shell ron95=140-145km
petronas old ron95=125-130km
petronas new ron95xtra=145-150km

SUSkyheng
post May 13 2011, 07:44 PM

888 posts

Looks like from the above review, it is same as Shell RON95?
shinjite
post May 13 2011, 07:50 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Mileage wise close but power wise?
Base on my tests, Primax 95 xtra has more power (tested with my mum's VIOS)
bengang13
post May 14 2011, 07:47 AM

624 posts

I am driving a Kelisa and i found the mileage for Xtra not as good as the old petronas. Usually when i drive outstation i can get around 510-520km for a full tank. But now i am only getting 480km. Tried this twice. The same for my wife’s Myvi.
However one of my friend driving an old saga says he is getting additional 30km. So i guess it depends on car
i will switch back to esso since i can get Smiles point too.

dadurtyz
post May 15 2011, 12:10 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ May 13 2011, 07:24 PM)
yes, i am paid by petronas for RM50 each post  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

this is bullshit. when people gave some good reviews about local product, some other people said those guys have been bought. when people gave bad reviews about local product, those guys said 'normal la, barang malaysia where got bagus one'.  shakehead.gif

yes, i confirm this is better than previous ron95 by petronas after been using it since day 1 of launching.

RM20 :
shell ron95=140-145km
dont looks me wrong, even i am happy user RON95Xtra and stick to pertronas because support local brand thumbup.gif
and my place bersepah petronas station so this is good.
Well my review this new RON95Xtra even better than latter petronas RON95.
Since i'm not rich to use RON97 like many of lyn here so RON95 is only my option.
ckmuin86
post May 15 2011, 12:27 PM

15 posts

yes but does anyone have made full technical observation of this fuel???
Conroe
post May 15 2011, 02:33 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ May 13 2011, 07:24 PM)
yes, i am paid by petronas for RM50 each post  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

this is bullshit. when people gave some good reviews about local product, some other people said those guys have been bought. when people gave bad reviews about local product, those guys said 'normal la, barang malaysia where got bagus one'.  shakehead.gif

RM20 :
shell ron95=140-145km
Almost same millage with your's.Been a user of Shell Ron 95 for the past 2yrs,millage good but acceleration compromised.Tried the previous Ron 95 from petronas and got good pick-up/easy acceleration but low millage.With this new Ron 95 Xtra i get almost same millage with shell 95 but my pick-up,acceleration got better.I'm driving an auto,so u know.

This post has been edited by Conroe: May 15 2011, 02:36 PM
kembar4
post May 16 2011, 06:22 PM

*LYN's Premier Tablet Seller*
548 posts

I drive a kembara, and recently tried the Ron 95xtra by chance, as there were no Shell station where i was located and the only one available was petronas within a mile of radius. Was not aware of what the 95xtra was, just wanted some fuel to get back home. Noticed that, acceleration on my car feels more powerful compared to how it was using shell. The pickup was much better and the car seems alot more powerful than how it was before. No idea of the FC though , as the Kembara is a fuel guzzler.
FlamingR
post May 16 2011, 06:52 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(kembar4 @ May 16 2011, 06:22 PM)
I drive a kembara, and recently tried the Ron 95xtra by chance, as there were no Shell station where i was located and the only one available was petronas within a mile of radius. Was not aware of what the 95xtra was, just wanted some fuel to get back home. Noticed that, acceleration on my car feels more powerful compared to how it was using shell. The pickup was much better and the car seems alot more powerful than how it was before. No idea of the FC though , as the Kembara is a fuel guzzler.
I'm also driving a 99/01 Auto Kembara(stock), yes the new Petronas 95 Xtra does give better performance(in-terms of acceleration) than Shell 95 Fuel Save. BUT Petronas 95 Xtra still lose to Shell in terms of mileage.
supercharger
post May 16 2011, 08:44 PM

46 posts

I've been using petronas fuel since 2003 up till today. Not because of its superiority or economical, but because of Mesra points hihihi biggrin.gif
they never expire thumbup.gif
thefryingfox
post May 17 2011, 12:31 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

honestly after about 5 full tanks of the petronas 95 xtra, comparing with my esso-

engine slightly smoother and i notice i get about 30-40 km more than esso.

thats all
Selectt
post May 17 2011, 12:59 PM

wattttt!!
1,709 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ May 17 2011, 12:31 PM)
honestly after about 5 full tanks of the petronas 95 xtra, comparing with my esso-

engine slightly smoother and i notice i get about 30-40 km more than esso.

thats all
u sure xtra95 better than esso 95?
thefryingfox
post May 18 2011, 01:38 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

in most cases based on my experience - yes. the main criteria for me is mileage + engine smoothness and the petronas 95 xtra seems to be better choice than esso in my case.

only downside is mesra card points kinda suck in accumulation compared to esso
Shawnzz
post May 18 2011, 02:21 AM

1,911 posts

Don't know why are so many positive feedback here, honestly speaking this petrol sucks. My fc drop from 350km per full tank(rm70) to 280km just by using this petrol. Bare in mind, driving style remain consistent. And I pumped 3 tanks of premix, still same
SUSkyheng
post May 18 2011, 02:50 AM

888 posts

I will wait until August and test again... Heard petronas shutdown to do maintenance..... So the petro maybe imported...
Using the imported sure can get +ve feedbacks while using the local sure can get mixed feedbacks....
DigitalKL
post May 27 2011, 05:36 PM

1,360 posts

my fuel consumption went up after using Ron95Xtra

previously using Shell 95 then Petronas 95 my mileage is around 11.xxkm/L to even 12.xxkm/L but now with the new Xtra, my mileage is 9.xxkm/L

i always keep a record of my fuel usage using an app on my iphone so it cant be wrong. Either my car suddenly minum more or Xtra drinks more.

Now Im switching back to Shell for a month to see whats my results
SUSdantck
post May 27 2011, 05:41 PM

1,004 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ May 18 2011, 02:21 AM)
Don't know why are so many positive feedback here, honestly speaking this petrol sucks. My fc drop from 350km per full tank(rm70) to 280km just by using this petrol. Bare in mind, driving style remain consistent. And I pumped 3 tanks of premix, still same
Me too , my savvy fuel after this more sucks, i always drive until redline,
prevously can last longer.

0.0917sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:20 PM