3DTV and 3D content impression, 3D content n nt reflection screen rated

TSazsace
post Jun 1 2011, 04:27 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ May 30 2011, 05:23 PM)
Hehe yea my question were quite unspecific. I can't recall the model but i know it's about 4k.

Perhaps i should change my question to what 3dtv is recommended for budget 4k  sweat.gif

So you recommend the samsung D550 right? I also noticed that you there is another mention of D491, which i
assume is the lower end compared to D550. But D491 is cheaper and is 51'! Are you satisfied with the D491?
What is the price for D491 without promo? and lastly is the D491 reflective same as D550?

Phew...Sorry sifus for all the question.... sweat.gif
for about rm4k, the good tv is the 51" d490...
d550 is full hd model...
I hav the hd ready 51 d490 which is HD ready.. still look superb
yep.. definitely happy with my purchase...

in term of reflectivity..plasma d490, d550 n d6900 has the same glaring and reflection issues since they dont hav the anti reflective coating...
for malasia market, only the plasma d8000 series has the anti-reflection coating...

price for ps51d490 is less than 4k.. if u r good u can get it for around rm3850... or even lower price

if u hav around 6k, a better tv is the new pana 50st30...

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(asherteoh @ May 28 2011, 07:13 PM)
is there any review on Panny VT20K? can't seem to find one. what are the weaknesses of this model e.g. black crush... juddering etc.
u can try find some answer in the pana post

on my test..
the biggest problem with this 3dtv is issues of loss sync between the 3d glasses n tv...

other u want to know, floating black.. i have demoed this tv at various shop, n find this is non issues to me.. once in a while u can notice that the contrast changes, but rarely happens, i dont find it annoying

some users, might be bother with this...

the reason i didnt bought this tv was because of the loss sync issues.. cause my criteria, comfortable 3dtv..

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:33 pm
QUOTE(dannygeni @ May 30 2011, 09:44 PM)
Bought latest sega tennis for ps3 yesterday and whole evening playing with it in 3d. Its better if have the move joy stick around. No need go tennis court so troublesome. At home also can exercise with a game of tennis in 3d!! Great effect too.

GO get urself a 3d tennis now. Great experience with it.
hmm... interesting

i was thinking to get this game as well... will look into this..

sega.. is virtua tennis right???

This post has been edited by azsace: Jun 1 2011, 04:33 PM
TSazsace
post Jun 1 2011, 07:33 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 1 2011, 06:00 PM)
azcase,

Did u experience the loss of sync urself?

I have set up a couple of the VT20 for some people and I did not have this issue in the home for both types of glasses....
yep...
i did experience myself...
usually it will happen if u not directly in the middle of the tv... eg if u sit a bit offcentre from the tv... n if u tilt ur head a bit from the screen, it will loss sync, kinda annoying

i did try the new 42gt30 with their new spec... it has better coverage, did the same test. no loss of sync between the tv and glasses.

just for info, i did the test in various shop... most have the same result

This post has been edited by azsace: Jun 1 2011, 07:36 PM
TSazsace
post Jun 1 2011, 11:29 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 1 2011, 09:10 PM)
Hmm, not sure why I did not catch it. I was off centre by quite a bit. The GT30 is not yet released, it must be the GT20.
hmm.. did i make a mistake...
cause when i try the so called p42gt30k, i tried it with the 2011 3d eyewear. and i did check the back, and does stated p42gt30k... n the design is also year 2011 because if im not mistaken the stand for gt30 is square and the gt20 oval...
nvm, i'll drop by at the shop later this sat n sun to verify. (oh yeah, the shop owner did mention that they dont bring the 50" gt30 model to msia... other note when i talk to him... for st30 series, they will bring in the 42, 50; vt30 they will bring the 42, 50 n 65)
The shop is in ipoh.
as far as i know, only the vt30 and dt30 is not out yet in msia.

anfieldude, thanks for the clarification.

This post has been edited by azsace: Jun 1 2011, 11:57 PM
TSazsace
post Jun 2 2011, 12:24 PM

412 posts

anfieldude..
did recheck on the TV
the TV i test was actually TH-42ST30K.. when i tested the so called GT30, it was actually GT20 tested with the new 2011 3d glasses...
so, on that day i was actually tested TH-42ST30K, TH-42GT20K, TH-50VT20K and samsung 3dtv.

Surprisingly the ST30 series is a bit overprice, retail wise
TH-42ST30K is around rm4.5k to rm6.5k
TH-50ST30K is around rm7.5k to rm9k

so, the next big question, how much will lowyat seller prices the unit.. hmmm

VT30 and DT30 is still not out yet..

This post has been edited by azsace: Jun 6 2011, 08:10 PM
TSazsace
post Jun 13 2011, 04:11 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Jun 13 2011, 02:37 PM)
My budget is probably about 4k so i might have to let the pana st30 out of the picture but is there a pana model around 4k for 50'?

Also been looking at this lg 50 pw450 and the price is slightly lower than the 51 d490. Have you looked at the lg model and any good reviews?

The price you mentioned above is quite good for d490. Best i came so far is about 4.2k but this includes 2 glasses. Did the price you mentioned 3.85k include glasses? and how much can i get the glasses for?

Many thanks  notworthy.gif
For 50", pana plasma 3DTV... nope.. closest would be the 2010 P50VT20K model.. but price more than 4K. pana 42" model available for less than 4k, P42GT20K (2010 model also)

On the PS51D490, the price for RM3.85k, u can get this price from lowyat seller... retail shop price would be higher. So, just browse around at the lowyat seller post and ask them on their package...
For the glasses... 2011 samsung 3d glasses will also varies.. if u ask the retail shop, they will quote rm499... again lowyat seller will sell it a bit cheaper

I havent seen any official reviews regarding the LG PW450 series... but should not be any concern as 2011 3dtv plasma has an acceptable performance regardless of model (the best is pana). The only thing u may want to know, the LG 50PW450 has a screen resolution of 1024X768, which is not a 16/9 native ratio... for me personally, watching this resolution at 16/9 ratio give me the feel of the picture is stretch down/up depending on the content playing.
Again, some user dont notice it / dont mind (Like me, i dont mind floating black on some plasma)
TSazsace
post Jun 14 2011, 02:11 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(spurswong @ Jun 13 2011, 07:38 PM)
Just checked out the LG 47LW5700 LED (RM6k+) at HNorman, the 3D image looks more impressive compared with the Pana 50VT20k.

This brings up the issue of passive vs active shutter glasses. What do you guys think?
Interesting... Passive vs Active...

I havent had the opportunity to personally demoed the unit, but hopefully will able to do it in the near future.
have read some material on the net regarding the technology for passive and some of my opinion.

LG FPR (Film Patterned Retarder) tech
Pro
Very very low crosstalk, from review the crosstalk/ghosting effect is so minimal it even beat the pana VT30 series (the best active 3dTV for year 2011) - if u watch at the recommended angle
Flicker free

Cons
Very limited top/down angle view (or vertical view)... most passive (FPR included), the vertical view angle is very much limited due to characteristic of the polarizer. Side/side angle has no limitation (only limited by the LED/LCD viewing angle). under movie viewing, this may not be an issues (since most viewer will seat relatively at the eye level within the TV). but for gaming, might be an issues since certain game accessories require the player to stand up, like Kinect n move/sharpshooter

Concern?? Or perceived concern
Resolution cut to half n loss of details, playing 1920X1080p will show 1920X540p.. for the normal eyes, loss of resolution is not perceivable too much as for moving images, the eyes cant differentiate more than 600lines. so, 540lines of resolution is not much of concern for small screen (less than 55). This is true for full HD source..
But for 720p source like gaming, loss of detail maybe noticeable.. since the TV needs to scale up, n rescale down to 540p...
However, a more probable concern is on the blind effect of the images. since all the right eye images are scan at the odd lines and the left eye images are scan at the even lines. Something like interlacing effect from older tv image processing... Can look here http://www.samsung.com/us/article/the-choi...msung-active-3d

Lag, due to additional conversion process of the image from progressive to "virtual interlacing". Lag is higher compared to normal LED/LCD.

its very unlikely that LG will release a 1920X1440 resolution LED/LCD 3DTV... to counter the effect of resolution lost, but i do hope they can at least use 1920X1200 resolution (just to make some critics happy.. hehhehe)

And the upcoming Samsung/RealD RDZ (Release 2012)
On paper, its almost the perfect 3d solution, with the limitation on the vertical viewing angle as this is an inherence problem using passive 3d (polarizer type)

Anyway, im hoping to test the TV soon.. really looking forward...

Btw, spurswong, hav u tested the 3d for this LW5700 3dtv.. hows the vertical viewing angle, do u think its a concern? do u agree that side/side angle viewing does not have any impact on crosstalk/ghosting?

TSazsace
post Jun 27 2011, 08:52 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jun 17 2011, 11:43 PM)
Just for fun, I try to capture 3D photo by snapping left and right image at a slightly different offset and combine with a free 3D photo software into MPO format. You can download and use 3D Vision Photo viewer or Nintendo 3DS that support MPO format. Look quite good and planning to get Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W3 camera for some self make 3D photo and video.

[attachmentid=2279840]
wow... not bad... quite good.. btw, is the statue at your home?
how u take it? u use two camera or single camera?

Added on June 27, 2011, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jun 25 2011, 08:55 PM)
haha wat size? been thinking of getting sony's ex720 led tv, nx too expensive.. sweat.gif
oh yeah, would advise u not to go for the ex720
some review here
http://www.avforums.com/review/Sony-EX723-...-Review%20.html
n here
http://www.trustedreviews.com/sony-bravia-...ex723_TV_review

Added on June 27, 2011, 9:25 pmoh yeah...
just manage to do a 5min shop demo on the new LG 3d cinema passive LED TV...
wow.. its really2 good while watching 3d blu ray...
the loss of the half resolution is not noticeable.. (avatar 3d)
while watching tangled (animation) the 3d image does look softer a bit, but still looks good (this im comparing with my viewing experience with my 720p 3dtv plasma)
the downside... top/bottom viewing angle does have a lot of limitation. to make it simple u can notice image blur if ur eyes level is above approx 6inch from top frame with viewing distance approximate 2m-2.5m (stand up)
im really2 impresive with this 3dtv,, i actually njoy watching a few min tangled n i watch it in a well lit room

Conclusion, I can say... watching 3d blu ray wont be an issues cause most viewer level within the top/bottom viewing angle (i donno if somebody like to watch movie standing up)... half resolution lost for live movie is likely not an issues, but for animation, it does look a bit soft but does not impair the viewing pleasure
for gaming.. since im playing game like socom which require me to stand up.. this might be an issues due to top/bottom viewing angle...

another good news, i read somewhere lg might introduce 3d cinema with resolution of 2560X1440 next year

oh yeah.. i couldnot test sbs and 720p source on this 3dtv yet... hopefully can do it soon, just been busy with stuff lately
other forumer can chip in on the their experience with this 3dtv

This post has been edited by azsace: Jun 27 2011, 09:31 PM
TSazsace
post Jun 29 2011, 09:45 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jun 27 2011, 10:06 PM)
That's the HC Anderson statue taken in Denmark. I use one camera and weight shift my body to take a left and right photo. Use the free Stereoscopic photo maker to stitch both image into MPO format. Quite easy to try out for static object. For moving object, you need a 3D camera such as Fujifilm W3 for photo and video.

Just a heads up, Transformer 3 in 3D might be a killer 3D movie for year 2011.
Hmmm.. interesting...
oh yeah, i read somewhere, if u hav two camera, you can make a 3d pic/movies as well.. but im not sure how exactly it work, stg like setting the camera with some distances apart like our eyes..

yep.. im looking forward for transformer 3 in 3d.. but would wait for a while until the cinema is less crowded...

in ipoh, the shows is fully booked for this few days (after 5pm)...

Added on June 29, 2011, 9:51 am
QUOTE(dannygeni @ May 30 2011, 09:44 PM)
Bought latest sega tennis for ps3 yesterday and whole evening playing with it in 3d. Its better if have the move joy stick around. No need go tennis court so troublesome. At home also can exercise with a game of tennis in 3d!! Great effect too.

GO get urself a 3d tennis now. Great experience with it.
oh yeah.. finally i managed to get myself top spin 4...
for 3d implementation i'll rate it with 4.5/5.... very good...
oh yeah.. if u hav the PS3 Move, this game is much more fun, but need navigator as well (or ds3) since u need to move the player when go for 3rd person viewing

oh... i manage to get prince of persia trilogy classic (3d).. another great 3d title, 3d implementation, 4/5. although the graphic is older.. not many textures but its really2 sharp.. so its good

This post has been edited by azsace: Jun 29 2011, 09:51 AM
TSazsace
post Jul 4 2011, 12:38 PM

412 posts

Add the sarowin anti reflection screen impression on first post
TSazsace
post Jul 5 2011, 10:24 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 4 2011, 02:58 PM)
anyone can suggest me a plasma tv 42" within range of 2.5k? Prefer if got 3D capabilities.

Anyway, TS thanks for the in depth review of plasma 3d TV especially on the glaring issue.

Now I am in a bit of dilemma dunno whether how bad this plasma glaring will affect my how viewing pleasure. Especially during day time viewing.
Yep, plasma without anti reflection coating (ARC) does give reflection n glaring. but i dont think its a big issues cause its manageable....
u can install additional shades or just buy a good anti reflection screen...

Added on July 5, 2011, 10:28 am
QUOTE(abahwafi @ Jul 4 2011, 02:39 PM)
Thanks for the review of sarowin anti reflection screen. Really interesting info there ! rclxms.gif
yep... overall is a good product..
depending on how critical r u... the picture quality lost wont be an issues.. but after installing the screen, the pq is still much better compared to most LED/LCD

Added on July 5, 2011, 10:48 am
QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 4 2011, 08:06 AM)
hihi all the sifus here....wanna ask which one is better in terms of features, 3d, 720p or 1080p, display etc....from this two models
Samsung plasma ps43d490 and lg pw450.....in term of price, both around rm24xx+....but i wanna know about which model is better....i can't find any official or forumer review for lg pw450....newbie in terms of lcd/led/plasma tv.... sweat.gif

btw i notice that lg pw450 have real cinema mode 24p which the samsung 1 dun have...am i right... hmm.gif
yep.. lg pw450 has a cinema mode, the function for blu ray playback with 24fps...
3d function, both are great
pq wise.. lg dark scene (black level) look a bit greenish (seems that it has some basic anti reflection coating)
glaring/reflection.. samsung gives reflection more

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 5 2011, 10:48 AM
TSazsace
post Jul 5 2011, 01:05 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 5 2011, 12:31 PM)
azsace, thanks for your replies and contribution into this thread explaining about plasma/led/lcd TV.

Errm...can you suggest me some models based of my requirement?
only two option if u wanna 3d..
samsung ps51d490 or lg PW450

out of curiosity.. do u hav ps3? if u want to use 3d for movie.. not a good idea since not many good 3d movie...
for me. most of the time i use the 3d function for 3d games.. not so many good 3d movie

with that budget.. i would advise u to get a tv without the 3d function

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 5 2011, 01:06 PM
TSazsace
post Jul 6 2011, 10:25 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 5 2011, 02:51 PM)
oh?? i will be mostly watching normal astro (maybe beyond later) and 2d movies (avi/mkv/rmvb). Won't be using it to play any consoles. Cause I thought with 3D, I can just enable the 3D in those avi movies and it will become 3D? Hehe..apparently I was mistaken. In this case I will go for without 3D then.

Any models to suggest without 3D? I might be dropping by Harvey Norman to take a look as what models they have. Or Kepong Desa Kompleks (heard they sell very cheap TVs).
well u can convert a 2d source to 3d.. but the effect wont be nice (all 3dtv has this function)... to me that function is kinda useless
for 2010 model, i like this model, samsung C6900, sharp LE820, sony ex710 (alphabet order)
for 2011 model, cant recommend u any nice model... but if u looking for basic LED... u cant go wrong with any of the manufacturer
TSazsace
post Jul 7 2011, 10:55 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(Norameen @ Jul 6 2011, 05:11 PM)

drop by here to ask which TV to buy...

1) Budget - very tight RM1500-1700
2) Prefer - Plasma 42" / LCD 32" above (if can 3d tv)
3) Spec - Full HD if any that suit my budget, anti reflection ready, good image even in two ceiling lights on..
4) Brand - Any
5) Watch more SD pictures..but who knows i might get a blu ray player in future as if i do buy..i will use tv for more that 5-10 years maybe...

Is there any Plasma / LCD tv that suit my budget..seen one in giant Samsung Plasma...but dont know which model...as the sales person says that one is new model from samsung..my guess is 8 series...

thanks in advance for advise...
with ur budget.. n size.. best go for LCD TV...
can get the 2010 sharp LC40L650M or 2011 samsung LA40D550 (i think this one usually sell for rm1800)... if u can find the 2010 samsung LA40C650.. better

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 7 2011, 10:58 AM
TSazsace
post Jul 8 2011, 10:17 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 7 2011, 02:24 PM)
Hihi all the sifus...how's Samsung series 6 6400 3d led tv for rm3800 hmm.gif ....can't find any reviews for this model.... sweat.gif

really appreciate for any advises....  smile.gif
hmmm.. this is one of the good 3D LED for this year (better than sony ex720)... but again, crosstalk/ghosting is still not as good compared to low-end 3D plasma...
for 2D performance,.. this is the best TV so far, pq is great... the clear motion rate technology is one the best.

if u really want to get a 3D LED TV... u should compare first with a 3D plasma n see whether you are ok with the crosstalk/ghosting...

anyway... u can also compare with the new sharp 2011 model LE830 3D LED TV (retail price is around RM4300 at SH). Did make a quick demo on it... the 3D is as good as my plasma (or even better, since the screen its not reflective and the 3d image is brigtness is good).. i quick demoed the 46LE830 (retail price around rm6200)

oh yeah... if u cant test the TV with the sony 3d video (indy).. u can ask them to test it with 3d Tangled (the last scene with the lantern floating across the sky, see whether u can notice the ghosting from the lantern movement) or monster vs alien (the scene at the golden gate, where they beat giant robot, see whether u can notice the ghosting of the bridge cable movement)

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 9 2011, 01:09 PM
TSazsace
post Jul 14 2011, 11:25 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jul 12 2011, 09:35 AM)
Any thoughts on the passive technology by lg? specifically the LW5700.
Earlier, I put my impression on this TV... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1825421/+80#
conclusion was "Conclusion, I can say... watching 3d blu ray wont be an issues cause most viewer level within the top/bottom viewing angle (i donno if somebody like to watch movie standing up)... half resolution lost for live movie is likely not an issues, but for animation, it does look a bit soft but does not impair the viewing pleasure
for gaming.. since im playing game like socom which require me to stand up.. this might be an issues due to top/bottom viewing angle..."

other forumer can give additional info as well

and to add, i would avoid in getting bigger screen size for this model (55").. surprisingly, with bigger screen u can actually notice the scan lines.. if u sit close enough (like approximaly 2m)... (since its a 55" TV, the recommended viewing distance is approximate 2.3m, perhaps if i sit at this distance i wont notice the scan line)

Added on July 14, 2011, 11:32 am
QUOTE(sentinal3_16 @ Jul 13 2011, 07:36 PM)
Anybody tried the LG PW450 3d plasma?Is 1024*768 resolution a big problem?
if u using it as a PC.. definitely going to be a problem

oh yeah.. 1024X768 uses rectangular pixel to get the 16/9 ratio... for most people they cant tell the difference (non pc usage).. for me personally, this is an annoyance.

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 14 2011, 11:32 AM
TSazsace
post Jul 20 2011, 09:41 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 14 2011, 01:54 PM)
For those waiting for glasses free 3D TV, check out this article:
http://www.tvtechnology.com/article/122308
Hmmm... im not sure whether glasses free 3DTV going to be good... since it cant actually create the 3d effect like glasses 3d..
perhaps when this technology is matured, people already introduce holographic TV... hhahahah

perhaps i should put my thoughts on my nintendo 3ds... hmmm

Added on July 20, 2011, 10:14 am
QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 18 2011, 08:58 AM)
first thanks for the in-depth explanation of 3DTV in here bro. Really solved and cleared a lot of my doubts and questions. As I am initially wanted to purchased Panny's P50U30K now I am tempted to go for LG's 50PW450. I can get the same price for them both at 3.3K.

Panny has Full HD where as LG comes with 3D but HD Ready. As you mentioned FHD not worthwhile if I am sitting further away since we can't really differentiate it. FYI, I am sitting around 4m away. So I assume that it's not an issue here for HD or Full HD right?

LG has higher resolution too with 3M:1 as opposed to 2M:1 by Panny. But is this a significant issue? Can we really notice that? Any opinion on this two models bro? Thanks a lot in advance.
Just to let you know... full HD and HD ready panel is the last criteria you should think when buying a TV (for 50" and below). The thing that come first is the picture quality such as in contrast and the color reproduction

Things I dont like about the LG, the resolution of this panel is only 1024X768... since this TV is basically a native 4:3 TV.. but they make it be a 16:9 TV by using rectangular pixels. To me, this is really really a big issues, but to others this may not be since it hard to differentiate the stretching effect on the TV (definitely better not buy this if u hav a slightest idea to connect to a vga input)

Things i like bout this TV, it has slightly less glaring/reflection compared to other low-end plasma (seems that LG is the only manufacturer put a basic Anti Reflection Coating on their low end plasma, but take note, their ARC is not that good also, thats y i say slightly less)

Things I like bout the Pana, it uses the new G14 panel technology, well not all, but the main thing it uses the faster phosphor as ST30, GT30 n VT30 (without the ARC, infinite black/pro, excitation technique). Thus this TV has a very good motion handling for images/videos. Again Full HD is not really important...

The 3D, I wont recommend to people wanted to use solely to watch 3D movie.. for now, for 3D gaming yes... And for your information.. my 3DTV.. I have stopped watching 3D movies.. two glasses not enough... i forget that when usually watch movie, they will be more than 2 people.

Bout the contrast, is it really important.. yes.. definitely, but contrast and brightness have to be seen in pair with brightness... for both TV, contrast n brightness wont be an issues...

Oh yeah, i was thinking to ask you to look at the Samsung PS51D450 as well... but its hard to get this TV for less than RM3k... you can, if u look hard enough n with Raya is coming u might be lucky... (Wont be a problem if u search within low yat seller)

If I hav RM3.3k, and manage to find the PS51D450 less than RM3k, i'll get this TV and will use the rm300 to get a good anti reflection screen.

between the two choices u've given, I'll get the Pana. and to let u know, depending on ur room condition, reflection may be an issue

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 20 2011, 10:47 AM
TSazsace
post Jul 24 2011, 07:03 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 21 2011, 11:00 AM)
Thanks again for the in depth explanation bro. Actually I had wrong info from one of the shop which tells me that the PW450 runs on passive 3D tech. Which is why I was tempted to go for that. But since another shop had explained to me that all plasma (from LG) still uses Active (passive only on LED), I had decided to go back to U30K.

But I'd also found out that LG's PV250 had just been released. Or so, the sales guy managed to get a pricing for me (3.7K). It's their new 50" FHD Plasma. The contrast is 3M:1 as of U30K 2M:1 and an additonal HDMI. Again, is that dynamic contrast ration makes any difference? Cause I read some where and even the sales guy told me that, anything above 2M DRC, you won't be able to tell the difference. Is it true? Any chance of reviewing LG's PV250 yet? hehe!

Side note: Not really into Samsung actually. Some one did offered me their 5 Series (forgot the model) FHD Plasma. But I think it's around 4.3K or so. And my friend told me their service sucks. So a bit reluctant. And better got for higher series like 6 and above? Well if I have the money of course. haha!
I havent demoed the LG tv yet, to tell the truth, i havent actually seen this TV yet....
well... the seller did make a good point, its hard to distinguish between a 3M:1 contrast and 2M:1. the brightness is more important...

Added on July 24, 2011, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 23 2011, 12:39 PM)
ya I realized that, cause active still using 1080 on each eye but passive cut down to half 540 on each eye hence the no flicker on passive.  biggrin.gif

but a lot of people said they don't really saw the diff just mentality u know it's not 1080 only. tongue.gif

anyway, now gonna test out the new PV250 before deciding on the U30K. Megatex coming soon, hopefully they are showing it there  drool.gif
oh yeah... for the LG passive 3DTV,, if the size is bigger like 55", u can actually notice the half resolution... n some sort of window blind effect

Added on July 24, 2011, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 23 2011, 12:39 PM)
ya I realized that, cause active still using 1080 on each eye but passive cut down to half 540 on each eye hence the no flicker on passive.  biggrin.gif

but a lot of people said they don't really saw the diff just mentality u know it's not 1080 only. tongue.gif

anyway, now gonna test out the new PV250 before deciding on the U30K. Megatex coming soon, hopefully they are showing it there  drool.gif
oh yeah... for the LG passive 3DTV,, if the size is bigger like 55", u can actually notice the half resolution... n some sort of window blind effect

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 24 2011, 07:06 PM
TSazsace
post Jul 26 2011, 11:58 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 25 2011, 09:18 AM)
to tell u the truth, i haven't seen the PV250 too. Just on catalogue. so when the guy told me he got the pricing, it surprised me. but too date, i didn't saw any place displaying the unit tongue.gif

brightness as in how bright the setting it can go? or? I wanted to try the reflection on both the unit actually. but it's pretty hard unless they are setting it side by side.
oh yeah... the good thing bout LG, some of the basic model, do have the anti reflection coating...
so.. most likely the PV250 hav it as well...

TSazsace
post Jul 29 2011, 10:08 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 27 2011, 09:19 AM)
Yes, I am sure it come with the anti reflection coating too.  rclxms.gif

But not going to get it since already decided to go with U30K now.

Price went down another few hundred  drool.gif  rclxm9.gif

Thanks for all the good replies bro~ ur the man  thumbup.gif
No worries.. glad to help...
So, how do u like the TV...
What do u think.. does the reflection annoyed u or u didnt notice it???

Added on July 29, 2011, 10:10 am
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jul 26 2011, 05:06 PM)
I have finally have a chance to test out Cinema 3D by LG...

verdict smile.gif

1. Very impressive.... no flicker my eye is so relax and seeing 3D with no headache -- this is the BEST!!!
2. Yes Cinema 3D do cut the resolution in half... I notice the 3D is softer compare to my 3D Plasma... so inorder to fully satisfy your viewing experience you now need to sit further from the TV else you will notice softness -- not so good.. sad.gif
3. normal 2D make no difference -- neutral
4. Price is RM6K so a little on the expensive side but hey it will become cheaper
5. GLASSES SUPER CHEAP and SUPER LIGHT!!! -- AWESOME!!!
What size did u manage to test? Do try the 55" size.. does the "window blind" effect annoyed u (noticeable when u watch it around 2.5m distance

This post has been edited by azsace: Jul 29 2011, 10:10 AM
TSazsace
post Aug 7 2011, 12:04 PM

412 posts

Hmmm.. you can look for this
HDTV Calibration Wizard

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0364sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:08 AM