Credit Card v15, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting

zenquix
post Feb 25 2011, 02:42 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 25 2011, 01:11 PM)
No. Not necessarily so. Besides, i thought you only have the PBB credit card with a credit limit of RM4k.
May be you can try to apply for the Maybankard 2 cards. For the Platinum one of course.

By the way guys, any idea which credit card companies that provide mail/parcel forwarding service for items ordered in US/UK if we pay using their credit card ? I only know a few banks providing such service. I am going to order something from the UK and i want to compare the shipping fees first.
- Citibank > Citi Globeshopper
- HSBC > vPost
- UOB > vPost
- Maybank > vPost
- Alliance Bank > vPost

By the way, shipments through vPost doesn't seem to incur any duty tax. Has anyone ever encountered problems such as your parcel being detained at the custom ? Please share your experience.
Guideline is usually items below RM500 no duty.
Amex - Comgateway

This post has been edited by zenquix: Feb 25 2011, 04:11 PM
zenquix
post Feb 25 2011, 04:15 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 25 2011, 04:08 PM)
Oic...

Just to make it clear...Its installment plan for iphone, not autopay for phonline woh
Bank should be able transfer from old card to new card if it is in the same bank.
zenquix
post Feb 26 2011, 01:33 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Feb 26 2011, 01:29 AM)
Hi, I'd like to share my thoughts on your indecision.

If you spend RM2,200 using MBB2Amex, you get 11,000 TP which equivalent to RM50 shopping voucher.

Assume that same amount of spending using Amex Gold cc earns you 11,000 MR. You may use 10,000 MR to redeem RM50 cash and still keep 1,000MR (equivalent to RM5) as balance.

Is the remaining MR worth the GST? It depends on your total spending.
I would not keep Amex Gold CC as only the MR points is the plus point right now. I might however upgrade to the Amex Plat CC as it gives 10x points in certain places + lounge access. But RM50 + RM800 AF.....
only if one travels alot or goes to plat partners alot i guess..
zenquix
post Feb 26 2011, 12:20 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 26 2011, 10:43 AM)
Anyone notice the Maybankard2 AMEX TP balance reduced... I lost aboout 500+ points sad.gif
the extra 1x that was given previously?
zenquix
post Feb 26 2011, 08:15 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(dotcom @ Feb 26 2011, 08:05 PM)
yeah i did click "I'm interested in MBB website" before which they intro the game thing
anyone specific number to call the CC amex to check on this? blush.gif
you clicked it = you want it. MBB's definition anyway. They really need to check their English.
A few of us here are in the same situation.
zenquix
post Feb 28 2011, 08:49 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 28 2011, 08:24 AM)
As for Jusco IOI Mall, both Supermarket and Departmental Store gets 1% rebate from OCBC Titanium...to the best of my knowledge.
I do notice that MBB's Transaction Description is separated as Jusco SMKT and Jusco DEPT ... maybe different MCC.
a guess but likely MBB's system is not based on MCC (or all groceries would have been eligible). Thus the chance of OCBC not getting 5% is there.
zenquix
post Feb 28 2011, 04:31 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 28 2011, 08:54 AM)
Thank you, must remember not to use OCBC TMC at JJ Supermarket. We do need a post on OCBC 5%. Ronnie, will appreciate if you can post again all the places that you have got 5% rebate with OCBC TMC and update periodically. And the next time anyone starts a new thread, you try to post it soonest possible so that it be at the first page.
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 28 2011, 08:58 AM)
Maybe I will work with the thread starter to update the 5% OCBC list.
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Feb 28 2011, 11:52 AM)
np, just gv me the list, i'll append at the end of the 1st post for this version
Actually I suggest making a post detailing places you get 1% (when you expect to get 5%).

1) The list will be shorter and more manageable
2) stand out - the exception and not the norm
3) less avenues for ppl to complain (they tend to it alot in the forums) -? post 5% get 1% -> complain list wrong, we bluff them etc. etc. . on other hand, if post 1% but get 5% it will be "good for them!"
4) merchants might be monitoring the thread and will quickly change their wrong MCC

This post has been edited by zenquix: Feb 28 2011, 04:31 PM
zenquix
post Mar 3 2011, 02:05 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Mar 3 2011, 01:57 PM)
I just recalled that I have clicked on the MB2 website that I am interested. But, that is not the application process.
Beside that, I am current MB credit cardholder.
bingo. If you go back to the old posts, a bunch of us got the card just by being an existing MBB customer, and clicking on "I am interested".
zenquix
post Mar 4 2011, 06:30 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(azam_halim @ Mar 4 2011, 01:10 AM)
it seems that maybank is very fast in updating new cards in our maybank2u...but if we cancel one, it takes months+many calls to cs to remove it from our maybank2u...happens to me twice now..
my experience was I needed to go to branch to fill in the form to remove
zenquix
post Mar 4 2011, 07:58 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 4 2011, 05:36 PM)
tgeoklin- mind to elaborate on how our transactions overseas  are converted finally to RM.
I want to join too, can ar  tongue.gif
May not be correct but I was under impression it was X -> USD -> RM

The admin charge would be charge at the RM part but u lose a bit in the first transaction as well.

Added on March 4, 2011, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 4 2011, 06:10 PM)
Anyone can shed some light on how to define a weekend trxn?
For example, Malaysian time 7am on a Saturday, could be Friday 11pm in U.K.
QUOTE(hye @ Mar 4 2011, 06:38 PM)
Emm ... yeah. I always count the rebate to be 5% then if 1% then the cap will be RM5K.

Added on March 4, 2011, 6:40 pm

Why not? Hop on to the bandwagon!

Added on March 4, 2011, 6:42 pm

The transaction don't follow international time but instead Maybank Malaysia time. You can be anywhere in the world but the transaction clock is based on the Maybank Malaysia time.
Actually my experience is it follows the local time (non-Malaysian time) i.e. a transaction made in 2 Mar US time and 3 Mar MY time shows 2 Mar as transaction date in M2U

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 4 2011, 08:01 PM
zenquix
post Mar 6 2011, 03:42 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

for everyone's info

Oversea transactions on the same day

MBB2 Amex 05-Mar-2011 03-Mar-2011 US$60.00 RM186.59 3.10983

MBB Visa 05-Mar-2011 03-Mar-2011 US$117.53 RM360.33 3.06586
zenquix
post Mar 6 2011, 04:18 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 6 2011, 03:59 PM)
I am too cheapskate to pay for the RM2 IBG fee but luckily, my HSBC account gives me unlimited free IBG. So i always make the IBG out from HSBC online. And in case the amount is big, i'll issue a cheque instead.
ditto. The free unlimited IBG really gets rid of reservations smile.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 6 2011, 03:59 PM)
Wawasan Sentosa's USD rate on 3/3/11 was USD1 = RM3.035
Shouldn't we refer to rates on the posting date? ---> 3.0250000

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 6 2011, 04:22 PM
zenquix
post Mar 6 2011, 09:24 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 6 2011, 06:04 PM)
This is great info, finally. So the diff between MBB2 Amex and MBB Visa is 1.4342% or

If spend USD1000 with MBB Visa you can save  RM43.97 or

If spend USD1000, in terms of voucher MBB Visa RM15.33 (0.5%) and  Amex RM77.75 (2.5%) Diff = RM62.42

Conclusion based on above transaction: AMEX MBB Dua better!

But from my previous transactions with AMEX on the same day less than an hour apart, the rate not constant and can vary close to 1% Need to wait for wshoh to confirm again.
HSBC rate low lah.
I used the MBB Visa plat (2 x TP) so the difference narrows down to just a few ringgit. Then it comes to whether the cardholders is willing to pay for their vouchers upfront tongue.gif

zenquix
post Mar 8 2011, 09:08 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:01 PM)
hi, im interested to get MBB2 card but cant find any "Im interested" button at maybank2u..
http://www.maybankard2cards.com.my/

it was a button/link on the Maybank2U Credit Card page

Added on March 8, 2011, 9:09 pm
QUOTE(den @ Mar 8 2011, 09:07 PM)
Hi, I just got my Maybankard 2 Gold today. =)

but is there no special offer/discount in any shop when using this card? =(
this card should qualify for the same promotions as the standard Amex card. Check Amex Selects and Kardshoppe?

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 8 2011, 09:09 PM
zenquix
post Mar 11 2011, 12:32 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Mar 11 2011, 12:02 AM)
With regards to the Ambank Carz thing - correct me if i am wrong

Assuming you pump petrol for 1600 uniformly spread over the month to maximise the 80 RM and pay in full less 1 sen and with a clean payment record i pay 11.85% interest on the 1600 RM because i dont have the 20 interest free days. (i will omit the 1sen outstanding)

evenly spread means i have to pay interest for 20 days on RM 800 (11,85%/365*20 = 0,65% interest). i then have to pay RM 5,20 in finance charges right?

so i have to pay RM 5,20 to gain RM 60 - profit RM 54,80

would this calculation be correct? if so then being a revolver isnt too bad.
it has a cascading effect as new transactions backdated to the previous statement date will be charge interest when you start carrying outstanding balance. Thus you actually need to pay daily interest on RM2400 up to RM3200

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 11 2011, 12:33 AM
zenquix
post Mar 15 2011, 08:18 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Mar 15 2011, 07:45 PM)
NO, at this point in time. Higher category MBB cards like MBB Platinum MC and VISA do not even provide this benefit. Only MBB WMC comes with complimentary access to airport lounges worldwide.
think it is only golden lounges and one has to pay high annual fee...
zenquix
post Mar 16 2011, 11:00 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Mar 16 2011, 12:46 AM)
Makes no difference, you will not be able to speak to someone who can actually make a decision either way. Worst case scenario is just paying the late fees and interest.

Late payment for CC once or twice per year makes little difference to your credit record. In fact banks would prefer you frequently pay late (but not till the extent the bank needs to come after you for payment).
Please don't give the wrong advice. 1 or 2 late payments will show in CCRIS and resets one's interest rate to the highest tier. Frequent late payment shows poor financial management and will impact chances to get loans, other credit cards etc.

The bank prefers you to pay on time but keep a balance.

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 16 2011, 11:01 AM
zenquix
post Mar 18 2011, 06:53 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 18 2011, 12:13 AM)
Big Spenders with Maybankard can get an Apple product

Apple MacBook Air 11 inch 64G
1st 20 Cardmembers to spend RM35,000 x 3 months*

Apple iPad Wifi 16G
1st 30 Cardmembers to spend RM20,000 x 3 months*

Apple iPod Touch 8G
1st 50 Cardmembers to spend RM10,000 x 3 months*

Apple iPod Nano 8G
1st 50 Cardmembers to spend RM5,000 x 3 months*

* 5. Cardmembers need to spend a minimum amount require for 3 consecutive months to be entitled for the rewards

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

T&C says 100 Apple Nano but main page says 50 Apple Nano...  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
Only applicable to MBB Mastercard and Visa Platinum and MBB World Mastercard.
zenquix
post Mar 18 2011, 12:40 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 18 2011, 12:25 PM)
now banks will be targeting those earning above 36k
sms after transaction is  thumbup.gif
but pin after 2015 doh.gif
I prefer the PIN option. More secure. Even if card lost less chance of transactions.
zenquix
post Mar 18 2011, 10:24 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

did anyone noticed the exchange rate spread between Wawasan Sentosa and MBB has been increasing as of late?

Stealth increase of service charge?

MBB2 Amex Transactions on Mar 15 posted Mar 17

Wawasan Sentosa rate

Mar 15 ~ Mar 17 3.06

= ~ 2.97% admin charge

---------------------------

Previously

MBB2 Amex Transactions on Mar 13 posted Mar 15

Wawasan Sentosa rate
3.037 ~ 3.06

~2.62% admin charge

This post has been edited by zenquix: Mar 18 2011, 10:25 PM