Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 30 2005, 10:45 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 30 2005, 07:07 PM)
If i told you that i'd have to shoot you. And don't ask what i was doing..... shakehead.gif
I think I know what were you doing at that time rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 30 2005, 07:07 PM)
It was given to me by a star crazy relative many, many years ago (he bought from overseas somewhere) as a Xmas gift. I haven't learnt to ID even 0.0000001% of the stars yet.  I forget faster than i can remember.  laugh.gif
Seriously, I'd be happy if I can remember and locate 1% of the stars in this set of charts before I die.......but i doubt anyone can do it. Anyone knows how many stars there are in our galaxy alone?
But nowadays easier to use planetarium software to learn astronomy. Using star charts is good if you prefer direct viewing with a large aperture telescope (the old fashioned way). This needs a lot of patience and mosquito repellent.
BTW i'm still using a pair of binoculars......good advice, Mr.LKM!
A pair of binocular is always a good choice thumbup.gif When you use it, you must have a star chart with you.

Hey guys, don't forget to look at MARS at 2/3 October. I don't what is the exact time, can anyone tell me?

TSMr.LKM
post Oct 13 2005, 03:40 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Hey, this topic has been slept for a long time...... Therefore, are you guys planning to get a telescope or binocular?

Sorry for the wrong information I gave, the exact time of the closest meeting of Mars should be 29 October. blush.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 13 2005, 08:36 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 13 2005, 06:36 PM)
You can bet I'll be there. USJ is my backyard lah. Can talk-talk plenty star crazy folks!
Mid November 2005? Hooray! March05, let's go together. thumbup.gif

In my opinion, a telescope is an important factor as well as equipped with equatorial mount or altaz mount. It is because a telescope with a good coating can help a lot as it accept more lights to go into it. In the other way, most of the tracking systems available in the market are quite good in quality. Most of the us will go for GOTO telescope as it has already been equipped with tracking mount and easy to observe the celestial objects. It is easy to use too. These types of telescopes are very useful beginner as its automatic system.

APGM? Just registered a account there biggrin.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 14 2005, 05:12 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Altaz mount is capable of doing astrophotography as long as your CCD support Drizzle technology, such as Meade Deep Sky Imager Pro. Most of the GOTO telescopes can be mounted in equatorial mode and altaz mode and the quality of the coating of GOTO telescopes are very good and don't need to doubt about it. ( I meant Meade, Celestron and Orion Telescopes ). What I found the best telescope in budget that has short f/ is the LXD75. It just costs RM7900. In the other hand, the telescopes that offered by Meade which are capable of adding focal reducer are the money killers, RCX400 and LX200. They cost merely TEN THOUSANDS!

In this thread, we are discussing about high quality products, so far, this field is always expensive. sad.gif

What I will buy next to the telescope is the DSLR brows.gif, therefore, I can take galaxies down smile.gif but the amount of the money that I spend is too much, my father will be sucked into a zombie unsure.gif. Oops, I will buy myself a notebook too in order to run the CCD camera on the telescope. Maybe I won't get these include the CCD, just go for observing and wait until I am capable of buying a DSLR to take all the photos down. thumbup.gif

The atmosphere in Malaysia is quite bad. Therefore, Malaysia is not suitable for deep sky observing and long exposure photos of the celestial objects. I agree with you all that the 200-400mm F/2.8 is very good in taking the wide field. So, is the mount of ETX105AT able to take out and put a DSLR on it? huh.gif

I am an idiot, I thought the 'register' link on the APGM is to register as a APGM account. doh.gif It is to register Multiply account. I am planning on setup a Malaysia Astronomy Website, anyone interested to give me a hand? smile.gif

p/s: This is my longest post since I joined LYN laugh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 14 2005, 05:34 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 14 2005, 05:30 PM)
I'm struck speechless, Mr.LKM!  notworthy.gif
lol, it is quite hard for me to type so much in a short time because of my suck language. sweat.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 14 2005, 05:58 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 14 2005, 05:54 PM)
Choostar, do u think I can catch some nice astropics with my new tiny Casio EX Z750? As u can see from my posts here, I've a long way to go.............my current goal is to capture a respectable shot of the moon with this digicam. Do u think it is possible? Or am I wasting my time?  cry.gif
Well, u expressed yourself very well there. Obviously you've been doing plenty of research on the latest telescope equipment......  drool.gif
Hehe, I plan to invite you guys to observe using my telescope ( will be bought soon ) on the top of the Gunung Lambak at Kluang although it is just 500 metre high. sweat.gif

Anyone is interested in the plan of Astronomy.MY plan?

Don't feel sad with your camera, you can do it! Do you have a tripod? I am sure you have. Just put your camera on the tripod and use the same settings we used to take the Moon Lady. I am sure that you will success since you are my c-fu. biggrin.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 14 2005, 06:15 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 14 2005, 06:12 PM)
deepyu, mountain climbing time!
You got my support. But i don't know how to run website lah. I only know how to kacau kacau.
ya, I CAN DO IT!....er i think.......

Excuse me, I got to run to join some friends at star party tonight in the middle of KL. If got clouds, we do something else lah... cool.gif
STAR PARTY? drool.gif Damn cool! I feel so sad as I am still sitting for my exams. sad.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 15 2005, 02:00 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Oct 15 2005, 11:55 AM)
warr..so u are ready to buy your telescope thumbup.gif
mountain climbing? sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Nah, I haven't bought yet. I still have to get myself about RM1500 to buy the telescope...... sweat.gif The mountain is damn easy to climb, just like walking...... laugh.gif

I agree with you that the telescope user has to be good as well , choostar. The tripod that is bundled with ETX is very supportive now comparing to before and it depends on the weight of the telescope itself too ( ETX105AT is 6.3KG). I don't think I will use ETX105AT to do long exposure photos as I don't have the long exposure kit. If I want to do long exposure astrophotography, I will go for a 8" aperture telescope. smile.gif

I hope that you all can criticize me as much as you can to correct me smile.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 15 2005, 05:39 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 15 2005, 04:00 PM)
Dat looks like the kind of moon shots i'm going to be limited to....
This is what i can get at max optical zoom 3x (35mm equivalent is 114mm)

plus a bit of digital zoom:
These pics are cropped, no resizing.
Obviously i can forget about closeups of the Moon with my Cassie.

Choostar, not withstanding afocal photography (which is what i did for the Sun pic with a Solarscope - see post #189) and the common tricks in digital photoediting, are there any techniques favourable to compact digicams for astrophotography? Right now everyone is going great guns on DSLRS.......
It seems that Astrophotography is only for the rich or for the Astronomy expert!
Sure can ah? u won't shoot back?  blink.gif
I will use M16 to shoot back biggrin.gif . When you put your camera on the tripod and starting to take the shot. STOP! Check your setting, use timer mode, iso50, and see around the environment. There you go! biggrin.gif Be careful! Don't use digital zoom, the quality of image is bad if it is being used. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.LKM: Oct 15 2005, 05:41 PM
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 15 2005, 08:09 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 15 2005, 05:57 PM)
Aiyoyo,  kena M16 eagle strike, i finish wor.
Okay, Mr.LKM, no more digital zoom (bad boy, March05, bad boy), get very bad image.  notworthy.gif
bad boy or play boy? laugh.gif Are you going to shoot the Moon tonight?
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 15 2005, 09:50 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 15 2005, 09:31 PM)
u spy on me again ah?

Tonite no Moon lady, rain rain so much. I'll catch up on my sleep instead......dream about 16" telescope.  drool.gif
Before you dream about 16" telescope, do you have enough place to put this giant? sweat.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 16 2005, 06:19 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 16 2005, 10:20 AM)
I also got a palace in my dreams, can put this giant on one of the towers. U all can stay with me anytime, got 100 rooms for guests............hope i don't get a nightmare, instead turn into a haunted castle  laugh.gif
lol....... When will your dream come to an end? huh.gif You have so many dreams...... shakehead.gif

The M16 I said is not the nebula doh.gif but the gun sweat.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 16 2005, 06:21 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 27 2005, 05:46 PM)
Today's Sun.

Solar Activity on 27th September 2005

Taken with the Casio, believe it or not.

That prominence has been raging for many days. There's a bad long tear in the surface of the Sun, too. You can easily fit more than 10 Earths in that gap. Sunspot 810 shows up clearly too.
This is the post of March05's sun.
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 16 2005, 10:02 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

The sky is so cloudy even after the rain. sad.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 18 2005, 02:14 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Oct 18 2005, 01:37 PM)
yelorr..I only told this morning by my friend..but luckily i took
some shot of the moon last night. and notice that the right side of the
moon is a bit dark..will post later..
BTW nice moon shot there March thumbup.gif
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif I am not that lucky, nobody told me cry.gif I was busy studying yesterday...My exam will end up on 25/10/2005 sad.gif

I can just view the photos you guys took sad.gif I am fed up... vmad.gif

By the way, do you know is there any local website that tell us these kinds of information?

This post has been edited by Mr.LKM: Oct 18 2005, 02:21 PM
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 18 2005, 03:34 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 03:30 PM)
How about Astronomy.MY?  thumbup.gif

How're you doing so far in your exams? Sure score, right?  ohmy.gif Study so hard until own thread also forget.......
I think Astronomy.MY can't provide this kind of informations, we need an expert to tell. Exams arr? Just score the average marks...... doh.gif Not only this thread is forgotten even my computer... wink.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 18 2005, 04:05 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 03:47 PM)
and what is ur average.......95-98%?  drool.gif

better go study some more u get 99% ur dad get u the bigger telescope!
7x-8x ( not Sekolah Menengah standard ), I study at Independent school, therefore the subjects are damn hard comparing to PMR. PMR is so easy... sweat.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 18 2005, 04:27 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 04:22 PM)
nowadays everyone's interested not only in astronomy but also the space just above our atmosphere. I wish we could see auroras here.....  cry.gif
therefore if compared to PMR standard ur average is 95-98%.....  ohmy.gif u're really a genius!
Nah, I think the maximum is only 90% because we are studying Chinese instead of BM ( certain objects). If I am genius, I am now uni student. laugh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 18 2005, 04:55 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 18 2005, 04:35 PM)
Becareful of what you wished for. If that happens, the world is doomed...
why it happens, the world is doomed? huh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Oct 18 2005, 07:29 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 07:03 PM)
u rub it in some more ah...... cry.gif

CompMac, we plot to get deepyu one of these days, ok? brows.gif
Who can provide us a car? We directly go to his house to 'fetch' him brows.gif

By the way, the 3CCD camera's dynamic range is higher than CCD camera, am I right? March05, don't call me Genius. I am appreciated that you didn't call me idiot tongue.gif Solar flare is known as Halo. Do you know what is Halo? One of the best xbox games. biggrin.gif

21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:32 AM