Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 14 2005, 05:19 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 14 2005, 05:13 PM)
Wow... How come the vigneting shape look like a heart shape? Very romantic picture!  thumbup.gif

I hope I can join you guys in shooting some astro related pictures to complete my collection. I have some crazy ideas in my mind.

But few stupid questions here;

(1) Where do you guys shoot around KL/PJ? You go somewhere up hill?

(2) Are you willing to take a picture with exposure of 4~5 hours and most probably will be biten by flies? I hope can shoot together, because 4~5 hours for star trails is a long time... at least can talk...
(1) I myself is in Kluang and the air polution is not as bad as in KL. We are taking the photos of Venus, Jupiter and Moon that doesn't take such a long time as they are bright enough.

(2) I haven't tried to shoot star trails because my camera can only do 15secs exposure sweat.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 14 2005, 05:45 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 14 2005, 05:17 PM)
I saw the equatorial tripod-like stuff... very bulky and does not look anything cheaper than RM2k to my eyes.

One question, if our camera can manage to do ISO6400 or even higher with acceptable noise performance, then we need no those tracker, right? If that so, maybe dSLR in few more years already can do that.... And the tracker will be a thing of the past?
Some astro photos need even one hour to expose as they are too faint. If you able to shoot using iso6400, I think most of the ppl will use it to discover more. It needs one hour though so I think the tracker is still needed.

Most of the astrophotographer will use cold-ccd camera to take astrophotography therefore normal DSLR will get damn high noise if it is used to take long exposure photos and at high iso rate.

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 14 2005, 06:02 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Deepyu, buy the hubble telescope for us to take photos and let the NASA build another one for them. laugh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 15 2005, 01:50 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Sorry guys, let you all disappointed again......I forgot to process the photos...too busy with my study, have to sit for PMR, UEC next month... and I can't take the photo of the meet of Jupiter-Venus-Mars and Moon except I have super wide lens cry.gif

My place is not very clear, so many clouds that block the sight... My place there got a mountain but it is just 5xx metres high...

Hey guys, we move to north pole lah thumbup.gif I am still counting the cost of the Meade ETX-105AT, the price has passed through RM6600...... I am considering buying one LPI ( Lunar Planetary Imager ) to take the astro photos instead of my noisy Konica Minolta Z3. I am so irritated with my place as the sky is always full of clouds.

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 16 2005, 06:00 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Walky-Talky START:"Ahh!! Who touched my ass?" Just kidding biggrin.gif
deepyu, have you contacted the local dealer of Meade telescope? If you want to buy something from him, you have to act fast as he is going to Chile ( the best place for celestial observing in this planet! )and he will be leaving in September 18 and back in October 15.

Wahaha, here are the pics that let will let you guys drooling! drool.gif
The Moon during the night.

This is our loving Venus thumbup.gif

What are these three stars?

This gas cloud is made of "man hand", I increase the exposure compensatation and brightness of the pic, then it become this. Shall we call it "fake" gas clouds?

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 16 2005, 06:01 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

If you want to see more clearly of the three stars picture, you can request the original photos from me. smile.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 16 2005, 06:29 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

If the background of that "gas cloud" is black, it will be wonderful... Got way to check whether they are satelites?
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 17 2005, 05:52 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 16 2005, 10:36 PM)
Congratulations, Mr.LKM. You have caught the Moon passing through the Constellation of Scorpius.

Oh, is it? How lucky am I biggrin.gif By the way, when are you guys getting to get your telescope? brows.gif I found a good place called Chile, it is located at South America. Saving now and go there for celestial observing thumbup.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 21 2005, 04:32 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(NikonGG @ Sep 21 2005, 02:48 PM)
I guess the thread-starter read about this astronomy photography from CLICK!

Ooops.... I know nothing about astronomy photog, cant help... sorry. tongue.gif
What did u mean by CLICK! ?

March05,
Hey man, your choices are not suitable for the types of photography you want sad.gif Able to get urself a dslr?

I am wondering how was the guy able to shoot with so many details. Every of mine shots were all overexposed, wonder if photoshop able to solve overexposed problem... cry.gif and even my KM Z3 with 12X optical zoom can't be this far...

See? My moon...
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 21 2005, 05:21 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 21 2005, 04:57 PM)
Mr.LKM u shot ur pic using auto mode rite? u need to shoot with high shutter speed
to get like tat guy's pic. and doing some digital zooming.
try to shoot with ur KM Z3 with max shutter.1/1000 i think.
I used manual mode, maybe my shutter speed is too low.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 21 2005, 11:03 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 21 2005, 09:14 PM)
Wow, suddenly everybody's posting Moon shots......I'm in heaven!

i don't want to buy dSLR because i scared my pics turn out no good_then everyone say i'm lousy fotographer. If i get no so good camera, i can blame the camera.....hehe.
......faint doh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 22 2005, 08:23 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 03:32 PM)
Trouble is u ppl spoil me already.  Low end dslr maybe not good enough to take good pics. A rotten fotographer like me will need help from highest end camera just to be able to take `reasonable' shots (just like playing pc games with cheat modes).
i think i'll start near the bottom (better for my wallet!) with a compact digicam and get the hang of it and see where it leads to. like TheVoIP said, "since i'm still new to digital....." if he's new, then i'm newer than new.

i sort of like the Casio because of its small size, startup speed, and the mpeg4 movie capture. This means i can finally leave my bulky dinosaur Sony handycam at home. This camera won't really be for astrophotography.....but that won't stop me from pointing it up at the sky and hoping for a miracle. whistling.gif
Oh man... Go for a telescope lah thumbup.gif I think if you want to just to try digital photography, a "noob" compact camera is suitable for you but if you are serious with digital photography, don't get a noob camera, go to get higher end one or you will regret. Lastly, I summoned you to buy TELESCOPE~~~~

QUOTE(FoxtrotZulu)
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Hehehe... i don't use dSLR also.. just Pana FZ5..
I've tried shooting the moon when it was full and bright in middle of night
no good doh.gif . The brightness hides the moon surface details.
Also when moon high in the sky above your head, it will look small
but if near horizon, or 20deg or so from horizon, it will look bigger
I don't know much about astronomy, but maybe due to some larger
magnification by earth's atmosphere... correct me if I'm wrong here blush.gif

So this month I tried early morning shots, just after full moon day...
That's why my shot doesn't have the round moon.
This gave me some "details" of the craters, especially near the darkside. biggrin.gif

Thanks for linking, deepyu notworthy.gif

The moon looks bigger because it is nearer to us, just that easy, not the magnification of the atmosphere smile.gif Hope my reply can help you.

Hey guys, the one who sells us Meade Telescope is reaching Argentina and going to Chille tomorrow!! thumbup.gif
I got an idea to setup a astronomy website, anybody interested? I will register www.astronomy.com.my for the website if somebody is helping me along. smile.gif

Remember guys, on 2/3 October, we can see Mars with our bare eyes cleary! shocking.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 23 2005, 04:20 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 23 2005, 12:15 PM)
no lar..ignore me ok.. biggrin.gif
but maybe u wanna get one with more zoom capability
so u can shoot moon's pics.. whistling.gif
yeap..better get one much easier.. biggrin.gif
last time i shot star trail was alone at about 2am..
so not dare to go far from main road and stay inside my car.. sweat.gif

atleast u got ur DSLR..i dont even have a digicam..
can only shoot with my dvcam for digital photo.. cry.gif
if can get used DSLR like tat would be nice..
well guess i dont have much choice but to wait cheaper
KM 7D or KM 5D to fall in my hand sweat.gif
You are KM fans too?

March, what's the sensor size of ur will-be camera? If it is too small, 60secs exposure= useless because of the noise.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 23 2005, 06:15 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 23 2005, 05:40 PM)
1/1.8-inch square pixel primary color CCD
(Total Pixels: 7.41 million; Effective Pixels: 7.20 million)
is that good or bad?
I don't think i can use this for much astrophotography.......max zoom only up to 114mm equivalent. I'll try for some wideangle night sky shots, do some stacking and see if it comes out okay. Some reviews seem to rate this a pretty good night shot digicam. Anyway, main-main saja first.
Still not yet buy, trying to find a stockist nearby with good price! Very few shops carry this model....i think not popular one.
I think it shouldn't be a problem. Have you gone through any review about your this future camera?

Deepyu, do you know why I am a fan of KM? It is because my name is Lee Kim Miau

Haha, just kidding, I like it because the product of their powerful lens developer team. Maybe I will go to Canon because Canon has the best support team in Malaysia.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 27 2005, 02:44 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 26 2005, 06:34 PM)
My first test run with the Casio:-

Venus and new Friend. Compare this with my earlier handycam shot of Venus.

Mars , about 2.30 a.m. this morning.

Can you see the Andromeda Galaxy? A wild shot which paid off!

The pics have all been resized or cropped, and heavily compressed. 7.1MP makes big big file!

Initial impressions of this digicam: Versatile little fellow!
Is Mars that red huh.gif What white balance were you use?

Deepyu, you haven't told me how much money do you have wink.gif I help you to choose one of them. biggrin.gif

TSMr.LKM
post Sep 28 2005, 03:20 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 28 2005, 02:39 PM)
Wow... I am impressed!

Can normal consumer like us can really take this kind of pictures?

What is the equivalents of focal length (in mm) require to get this powerful shots? 200mm? 400mm?
Oh man, its equiavlents of focal length is larger than 1500mm. sweat.gif

March, how dare you shoot the M45 down?? AMAZING!! Do you use any tele lens? Yup, some shots on my monitor showed white. The photo that I complained is too red therefore I doubt it is your white balance problem. May I know what is your camera model?

Deepyu, you mana tak da duit? doh.gif I have to sit three exams in one month time. Therefore I will not appear at here so frequently. sad.gif

Can anyone here put this thread link into the signature? We want more future astronomers thumbup.gif and even astrophotographer thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 29 2005, 01:47 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 28 2005, 10:51 PM)
No, other than the Sun picture, all shots are wide angle.
I get it, the `Mars' u said is too red is not Mars, lah. It's a lens flare artifact from the street light. You were refering to the Venus and new friend picture, right?
Yup, I meant that. Is is a street light?? where were you during that time? under a hill?
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 30 2005, 02:37 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 29 2005, 04:44 PM)
why u want to know? I got many favorite places to lepak.....
I am wondering why there was a street light.... therefore I thought you are under a hill.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 30 2005, 02:57 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Sep 29 2005, 08:08 PM)
Wow, this opens up my mind and eyes! I am definitely interested to be one of you to observe the universe! May I know something? How much does a proconsumer telescope cost? How to take those stunning pictures?
I recommend you Meade Telescopes

You may refer to the products guide. For a beginner, ETX-90PE/AT is a wiser choice. AT costs 3900 while PE costs 4500. The prices on www.meade.com is not the price we can get here. If you want the price list, pls give me your email address, I will post you the price list in .xls format. smile.gif I hope you manage to buy a telescope.

If you don't have enough money and just want to do normal observing ( a wider view but you can't see the surface of planets or moon. ), I suggest you to get a binocular. Many of the experienced observer such as SkyAndTelescope editors use binoculars most of the time.
TSMr.LKM
post Sep 30 2005, 05:51 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 30 2005, 05:42 PM)
sorry lah, I thot you were checking on my nocturnal activities.  whistling.gif
walao......so can you tell me where were you when you took that photo? By the way, where did you buy your star chart?

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:39 PM