TSMr.LKM
post Mar 6 2006, 09:59 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 6 2006, 11:59 AM)
so any luck today.....?  sweat.gif
can't wake up... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif cry.gif

By the way, tomorrow I don't have to sit for exam so it will work! I have prepared my gadgets in the garden! God please wake me up!
March05
post Mar 7 2006, 09:42 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 6 2006, 09:59 PM)
...God please wake me up!
Becoming religious ah? No need to disturb HIS Highness lah, want me to send you an alarm clock? laugh.gif
BTW a super loud alarm clock is the amateur astronomer's essential tool.......
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 7 2006, 11:00 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 7 2006, 09:42 AM)
Becoming religious ah? No need to disturb HIS Highness lah, want me to send you an alarm clock? laugh.gif
BTW a super loud alarm clock is the amateur astronomer's essential tool.......
Please send me, the two clocks can't wake me up.

By the way, I did my observation this morning. I managed to observe Venus but not Pojmanski... It's under the hill when the twilight didn't begin. When it began, it's too bright to observe it... mad.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 8 2006, 03:59 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 7 2006, 11:00 PM)
Please send me, the two clocks can't wake me up.

By the way, I did my observation this morning. I managed to observe Venus but not Pojmanski... It's under the hill when the twilight didn't begin. When it began, it's too bright to observe it...  mad.gif
it will be hard.... the apparent magnitude is getting higher, means it's getting fainter on your telescope as it is moving away....

March05> do me a favor wil'ye....? look for Proxima Centauri in your version of SNP.... i couldn't physically locate mine.....
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 8 2006, 05:18 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 8 2006, 03:59 AM)
it will be hard.... the apparent magnitude is getting higher, means it's getting fainter on your telescope as it is moving away....

March05> do me a favor wil'ye....? look for Proxima Centauri in your version of SNP.... i couldn't physically locate mine.....
Since my telescope is a 8" LX90, I think it still can catch it, just the sunlight... doh.gif

By the way, SNP is a really rocking astronomy software! thumbup.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 8 2006, 05:39 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 8 2006, 05:18 PM)
Since my telescope is a 8" LX90, I think it still can catch it, just the sunlight...  doh.gif

By the way, SNP is a really rocking astronomy software!  thumbup.gif
why...?

you've got yourself the *ahem* copy...? sweat.gif sweat.gif
March05
post Mar 8 2006, 09:59 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 8 2006, 03:59 AM)
look for Proxima Centauri in your version of SNP....
Ouch that was a tough one!

this is the only reference to Proxima in Centaurus i could find in SNP 4.50. The coordinates don't quite look correct, though.

Our nearest stellar neighbour is very difficult to locate lah. Wonder how in the world they managed to ID it in the first place!
Eithanius
post Mar 8 2006, 10:13 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 8 2006, 09:59 PM)
Ouch that was a tough one!

this is the only reference to Proxima in Centaurus i could find in SNP 4.50. The coordinates don't quite look correct, though.

Our nearest stellar neighbour is very difficult to locate lah. Wonder how in the world they managed to ID it in the first place!
coz it's a triplet system with Rigil Kentaurus as it's binary companion.... currently in orbit relatively close to our system....

in my version, i could see only the designation, but not the star itself....

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Mar 8 2006, 10:14 PM
March05
post Mar 8 2006, 10:36 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 8 2006, 10:13 PM)
in my version, i could see only the designation, but not the star itself....
any particular reason why you want to locate the star now? your friends over there planning the first interstellar invasion of Earth? laugh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 8 2006, 10:46 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 8 2006, 05:39 PM)
why...?

you've got yourself the *ahem* copy...?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
*ahem* *ahem*... Hehe, school holidays are approaching! I can observe every night! Furthermore, I will get my notebook soon~~ thumbup.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 8 2006, 11:44 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 8 2006, 10:36 PM)
any particular reason why you want to locate the star now? your friends over there planning the first interstellar invasion of Earth?  laugh.gif
kind of.... coz their star's burning out aka dying.... tongue.gif

jk.... anyway, wanna have a glimpse of our neighborhood.....

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 8 2006, 10:46 PM)
*ahem* *ahem*... Hehe, school holidays are approaching! I can observe every night! Furthermore, I will get my notebook soon~~  thumbup.gif
notebook....? Centrino Duo....? brows.gif
March05
post Mar 9 2006, 11:23 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 8 2006, 11:44 PM)
kind of.... coz their star's burning out aka dying....  tongue.gif
If they've only got sublight engines, we still have just over 4 years to build our defences. sweat.gif
But if they've got the latest hyperspace drivers, we are out of time.... cry.gif

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 8 2006, 11:44 PM)
Centrino Duo....?
Mr.LKM, forget Intel stuff. Buy AMD Dual Core! flex.gif

Eithanius
post Mar 9 2006, 01:17 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 9 2006, 11:23 AM)
Mr.LKM, forget Intel stuff. Buy AMD Dual Core!  flex.gif
is there a mobility AMD Dual Core.....? huh.gif huh.gif
March05
post Mar 9 2006, 02:31 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 9 2006, 01:17 PM)
...mobility AMD Dual Core.....?
No, the Turion X2 is not out yet.
But AMD X2 based notebooks have been out since late last year i think.

Eithanius
post Mar 9 2006, 03:33 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 9 2006, 02:31 PM)
No, the Turion X2 is not out yet.
But AMD X2 based notebooks have been out since late last year i think.
Turion X2.... read about it.... haven't seen any of it's pre-launch benchmarks though. Let's see if this thing can really smoke a Centrino Duo..... if it does, then i'll regret Apple's decision to switch to Intel.... sad.gif

PS: I'm not a big fan of AMD or Intel btw.... sweat.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 9 2006, 05:55 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 9 2006, 11:23 AM)
If they've only got sublight engines, we still have just over 4 years to build our defences.  sweat.gif 
But if they've got the latest hyperspace drivers, we are out of time....  cry.gif
Mr.LKM, forget Intel stuff. Buy AMD Dual Core!  flex.gif
Haha, no no to Intel! I am hard core of AMD, AMD long lives! laugh.gif thumbup.gif

By the way, can we have a glimpse of our neighbourhood? notworthy.gif What is a hyperspace driver? huh.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 9 2006, 06:43 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 9 2006, 05:55 PM)
By the way, can we have a glimpse of our neighbourhood?  notworthy.gif What is a hyperspace driver?  huh.gif
if you know where to look....

Find Alpha Centauri....

------
hyperspace, a hypothetical dimension of space....

hyperspace drive = hyperdrive.... a hypothetical term for a device that can traverse from normal space into the hypothetical hyperspace for faster-than-light travel....

March05 had too much science fiction already..... tongue.gif tongue.gif
March05
post Mar 9 2006, 08:29 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 9 2006, 06:43 PM)
.....hyperspace drive = hyperdrive.... a hypothetical term....
no, no, i meant drivers!
haven't you heard? AMD has been secretly exporting its Turion X2 cpus to the aliens (at huge profits; now you know why we can't get these cpus yet) for use in their sublight engines. It was recently discovered, by some LYN hackers who wrote the software hyperspace drivers to overclock the X2 units, that these engines could be speeded up to crash through the FTL barrier..........if our neighbours get hold of this new driver, we're in deep sh*t!

SciFi, my foot!
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 9 2006, 09:32 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 9 2006, 08:29 PM)
no, no, i meant drivers!
haven't you heard? AMD has been secretly exporting its Turion X2 cpus to the aliens (at huge profits; now you know why we can't get these cpus yet) for use in their sublight engines. It was recently discovered, by some LYN hackers who wrote the software hyperspace drivers to overclock the X2 units, that these engines could be speeded up to crash through the FTL barrier..........if our neighbours get hold of this new driver, we're in deep sh*t!

SciFi, my foot!
....... sweat.gif March05 is crazy about scifi! thumbup.gif I am just another one but I don't know much of it in English. blush.gif
March05
post Mar 9 2006, 10:40 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 9 2006, 09:32 PM)
....... March05 is crazy......
Wait, the best part is yet to come.....the comet Pojmanski is actually a scout ship sent by the aliens to test how many amateur astronomers will manage to detect them when the battle fleet crosses the Heliosheath.

This is a Critical Point.

If the scout team determines that too many amateurs with their pesky telescopes actually saw them (in the guise of the comet), they will most likely call off the invasion as they will not have the advantage of the element of surprise.........

So Mr.LKM, the fate of our beloved Earth lies in your hands. You must take a picture of the comet and post it here to prove to the aliens that they have been sighted!

64 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:14 PM