Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

deepyu
post Sep 22 2005, 10:52 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 22 2005, 12:33 AM)
I just came back from JB for a wedding shots. I notice that the moon in JB is much clearer compare to what I see in KL/PJ. I think it is super hard to get clear shots of moon in KL/PJ... should be air dirty and too much light polution.

Too bad I did not bring tripod there...
By the way, do you guys think cable release is a must for astrophotography? Basically just need confirmation (and excusses) to spend the money.  biggrin.gif
yea..the sky there should be clearer than kl..
Since i have the cable release i take all slow-shutter speed with the
release cable to prevent shake.film SLR so dont have any anti-shake lor.. biggrin.gif
Depend on wat pic u want to take if taking some long exposure astrophoto
dont think that cable release is a must. But if taking moon pics maybe
better if u have one..DLSR maybe no need at all..they got the IS.
err..can be a good excuse arr? biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Sep 22 2005, 11:29 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 11:17 AM)

i think the cable release is a must only if you don't have a mirror lockup function in bulb mode. A bit silly to keep your finger on the shutter button for 30 minutes..... The cable release also may not help if you have a `clunky' mirror though, unless you use the lens cap trick.
haha..completely forgot bout tat! yaya u will need it to lock the shutter..
but tot last time u took for 5hrs? u SLR have the shutter lock up function?

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 11:17 AM)
I'm still itchy for Casio EX S500 - stop me, someone!
yaya..dont go for EX S500..go for DSLR.. laugh.gif
deepyu
post Sep 22 2005, 02:33 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 01:44 PM)
That was not me. It was TheVoIP. see post #135.
I think his Canon got shutter/mirror lock unless he superglued the snap button down.... ohmy.gif
actually tat question is for TheVoIP..sorry to make u misunderstand.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 01:44 PM)
thanks, deepyu, for the support.
but i'm going to need at least 10 good reasons vmad.gif or i'm handing over the cash for that S500 tomorrow afternoon.........
i like the Canon 5D but.........RM13,000.00++?  Mr.LKM, i'll join you....faint  doh.gif
yea..u should buy depends on ur need. no point buying without good
reason rite?..but if u double ur budget can get DLSR olredi wat.dont think about
tat 5d lar.. low-end DSLR can also.. drool.gif biggrin.gif
just joking lar..forget my words arr.. biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Sep 23 2005, 11:09 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 23 2005, 09:51 AM)
i think i'll upgrade to the Casio EX Z750 (60 secs long exposure, 7.1 MP, and full manual  override). that's as far as my pocket can stretch right now. dSLR is too far off my budget, even the cheapest one.
no more money lah........

Thanks for all your advice! Hope to have some lunatic shots this weekend!
i see u prefer compact digicam so go lar for it..
unless u can accept bit bulky digicam than can recommend u other
better model.. biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Sep 23 2005, 12:15 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 23 2005, 11:19 AM)
Which one?  blink.gif
Still haven't laid money on the counter yet, so got chance to change my mind.......getting cold feet already.
I sense u ppl disapprove my choice.
no lar..ignore me ok.. biggrin.gif
but maybe u wanna get one with more zoom capability
so u can shoot moon's pics.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 23 2005, 11:38 AM)
Just tell me getting cable release is a must easier la...  biggrin.gif
Worst experinces was beaten by flies all over my body... and nearly (I think already) damaged the car engine by driving to the hills. The grasses are taller than my car. I think I had too much guts that time.
yeap..better get one much easier.. biggrin.gif
last time i shot star trail was alone at about 2am..
so not dare to go far from main road and stay inside my car.. sweat.gif
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 23 2005, 11:38 AM)
And one of them just bought a used 10D at really good price. I think maybe can get used 10D at less than RM3k? That will be great for value for money. biggrin.gif
Even you buy now... You should be 5 months newer than me only la... Same standard la...  biggrin.gif
atleast u got ur DSLR..i dont even have a digicam..
can only shoot with my dvcam for digital photo.. cry.gif
if can get used DSLR like tat would be nice..
well guess i dont have much choice but to wait cheaper
KM 7D or KM 5D to fall in my hand sweat.gif
deepyu
post Sep 23 2005, 05:44 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 23 2005, 04:20 PM)
You are KM fans too?
well..my 1st slr was minolta..sold and then bought minolta slr also..
dont see i can change to other cause got many minolta's lens,telecon,flash,etc...
dont have budget to buy new lens so wat else i can do? cheapest way
is to buy KM DSLR lorr..buy the body only.. sweat.gif
Good thing KM DSLR anti-shake is in it's body..so can use any minolta lens.. biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Sep 27 2005, 11:18 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 26 2005, 06:34 PM)
My first test run with the Casio:-
The pics have all been resized or cropped, and heavily compressed. 7.1MP makes big big file!
Initial impressions of this digicam: Versatile little fellow!
so u've bought the z750.Can start ur gallery lor after tis. biggrin.gif
cant find the andromeda lor..u should circle it. even we can see
the andromeda with our naked eyes..normal ppl like me
just dunno.. sweat.gif
deepyu
post Sep 27 2005, 02:55 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 27 2005, 02:44 PM)
Is Mars that red  huh.gif  What white balance were you use?

Deepyu, you haven't told me how much money do you have  wink.gif  I help you to choose one of them.  biggrin.gif
Money?? drool.gif
Me got no money lar..banker freezed all cash flow.. sweat.gif
Cant spend anymore until further notice..

deepyu
post Sep 27 2005, 06:09 PM

海賊王
815 posts

Thanks for the explaination. biggrin.gif
Btw this is the andromeda's picture using small telescope.
no need to use HST to take this biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Sep 28 2005, 04:03 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 27 2005, 06:41 PM)
Yup, everybody's favorite Galaxy..........after our own, of course.  thumbup.gif
BTW do you like Robert Gendler?
whois Robert Gendler? unsure.gif sweat.gif
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 28 2005, 02:39 PM)
Wow... I am impressed!
Can normal consumer like us can really take this kind of pictures?
What is the equivalents of focal length (in mm) require to get this powerful shots? 200mm? 400mm?
i think can..tis M1 galaxy is one of the nearest to us so
maybe 400-600 focal length can get near tis.maybe not as big as the pic thou.
btw tis one below is the same M1 taken using 200mm telephoto lens.

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 28 2005, 03:20 PM)
I have to sit three exams in one month time. Therefore I will not appear at here so frequently.  sad.gif
yea concentrate on ur study.don play2 arr.. biggrin.gif
now I'm thinking to buy the equatorial gadget only..
thinking to do guided astrophoto without telescope..use my telephoto lens
first. cheaper than buying telescope + equatorial..
but whistling.gif dunno when.. sweat.gif
deepyu
post Oct 14 2005, 10:51 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 13 2005, 05:29 PM)
Hello, allow me to introduce a group to the members here about the astronomy photography - Astrophotography Group of Malaysia.  Please feel free to visit the website for astrophotos which are mostly taken in Malaysia: Astrophotography Group of Malaysia
I'm surprised that astrophoto has been overwhelmingly discussed in this forum as well as Malaysia.
Please do comment on the photos taken by APGM.  And we wish to promote astronomy to members of public as well as astrophoto to those who feel like to give it a try.
Nice to have u here Choostar.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 13 2005, 08:36 PM)
Mid November 2005? Hooray! March05, let's go together.  thumbup.gif
In my opinion, a telescope is an important factor as well as equipped with equatorial mount or altaz mount. It is because a telescope with a good coating can help a lot as it accept more lights to go into it. In the other way, most of the tracking systems available in the market are quite good in quality. Most of the us will go for GOTO telescope as it has already been equipped with tracking mount and easy to observe the celestial objects. It is easy to use too. These types of telescopes are very useful beginner as its automatic system.
APGM? Just registered a account there  biggrin.gif
Mr.LKM....we definitely need the equatorial to do astrophoto
and altaz mount alone cant do the job..
and telephoto is needed or not depends on your astrophoto field..
if you want to take galaxies, wide angle astrophoto then no need telescope..
as i told here before..normal lens, 200mm-400mm telephoto lens can do this job.
But a 200mm lens with f2.8 will cost u as expensive as telescope.
and i think this telephoto lens actually do better job than normal telescope.
But if you think to shoot mars, moon etc than a telescope with longer focal length
is needed.because u will need 700mm above focal length(as long as u can afford)
to take nice mars pics and no telephoto lens can cover this focal length.(except some
order made telephoto lens that will cost u a double storey house in klang valley area)
sweat.gif correct me if I'm wrong Choostar biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Oct 15 2005, 11:55 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 15 2005, 10:57 AM)
March05:
As for close-up shooting for moon, sun and planets, your camera will be good enough as long as it can be manually set, and mounted it onto a motorised telescope - with a 500mm or more focal length will do.
March05 wont be able to do close up of the moon. His DC got only 3x opt. zoom.
The longest shutter speed will be 60s' rite March? So maybe you can take normal/wide angle shot of the moon..

QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 15 2005, 11:19 AM)
Personal opinion, ETX mount even with wedge does not perform well in long exposure (even 10 min) for astrophoto. The original attached tripod is not so supportive.
And I look forward to meeting you guys, and your scope also. BTW, what's your scope? You are in Kluang..... hmm... a bit far away...when you are going to have the first light?!
Have a nice weekend.
I red somewhere also bout the meade's ETX series but the good thing is its
lightweight.For longer astrophoto will need a very good equatorial i think.
Hehe, I plan to invite you guys to observe using my telescope ( will be bought soon ) on the top of the Gunung Lambak at Kluang although it is just 500 metre high. sweat.gif
warr..so u are ready to buy your telescope thumbup.gif
mountain climbing? sweat.gif sweat.gif
deepyu
post Oct 18 2005, 01:37 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 17 2005, 09:45 PM)
I fear deepyu & Mr.LKM may have missed the action; they were last online at 10 plus this morning...........still no sign of them now.
yelorr..I only told this morning by my friend..but luckily i took
some shot of the moon last night. and notice that the right side of the
moon is a bit dark..will post later..
BTW nice moon shot there March thumbup.gif
deepyu
post Oct 18 2005, 05:23 PM

海賊王
815 posts

My shot of the moon..without realizing its an eclipse ohmy.gif

user posted imageuser posted image
2014-2015
user posted imageuser posted image
2016-2017
Full Moon
deepyu
post Oct 18 2005, 05:33 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 05:26 PM)
drool.gif
that's ur 3CCD in action? Wow!
yeap..actually my purpose was to test shooting moon using
manual.try to find the good setting. luckily did the test during
the eclipse time around 8:15..found out this morning i
accidently shot the eclipse biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Oct 18 2005, 06:00 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 05:42 PM)
he accidentally shot the eclipse...he ACCIDENTALLY shot the ECLIPSE!
and i ran around like a mad dog trying to finish my work, then search for open space, then struggle with my Cassie, feeding mosquitoes for my miserable shots......jeez i think i'll go jump in the lake or something.
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif sorry to hear that tongue.gif Was shooting at the carporch of my house.. whistling.gif
deepyu
post Oct 20 2005, 10:48 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 18 2005, 07:54 PM)
I can drive (good for nothing else anyway). U bring ur M16, CompMac do ur Computations for the next event so deepyu can be outside his house `accidently testing' when we surprise him.  laugh.gif
We can give deepyu his very own `Halo".
wow me absence for few days u'll making a complot arr bruce.gif
i'll be waiting with all my equipment tongue.gif
QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 19 2005, 05:04 PM)
Partial lunar eclipse on 17 Oct 2005 by Gradient Lok of APGM:
Nice pics thumbup.gif me dont have time to do any editing sweat.gif
deepyu
post Oct 20 2005, 05:18 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 20 2005, 12:15 PM)
okay it's ur Panasonic versus Konica Minolta/Olympus/Casio......sure u up to it ah?  bruce.gif
not fair arr..mine is dv..u'll got digicam shocking.gif ..err..film SLR can count or not?
deepyu
post Oct 22 2005, 11:17 PM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 20 2005, 05:47 PM)
i think we hold back the F16 unless deepyu get the APGM ppl to help him. THEN we launch the F16 wipe them out totally!

Haha..good news for u guys all my frens retired olredi..me now lone ranger
ph34r.gif

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 20 2005, 06:55 PM)
Ok, no problem but the pilot is a bit angry because he just started the engine......  sweat.gif
Back to the topic,
Mars and Moon @ 19/10/05
Look at the red dot, it's Mars but I failed to shoot it, I increase the contrast of that area a lot intend to let it be seen.
can see red dot on the rite side of the pic.. biggrin.gif
deepyu
post Oct 24 2005, 09:56 AM

海賊王
815 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 23 2005, 11:24 AM)
Deepyu, do you have any astronomy related pictures to share here?
Maybe yes maybe not biggrin.gif i'll say yes when i found it.. sweat.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0198sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:55 PM