alesi616
post Nov 26 2017, 10:08 AM

810 posts

Post #80
hi all,

Is this doable?

1. On Nov/Dec 2017, I go deposit 6k SSPN for my child. (so that can get 6k tax relief in taxable year 2017).
2. On Jan 2018, I go close that SSPN account and take out all the 6k, and go invest something else.

Question:
1. Can I close the account and withdraw all the $$ in such short time frame?

Actually I just interested on the tax relief, after close account i can use that 6k to invest into vehicle that gives me much higher return.
alesi616
post Nov 26 2017, 04:07 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 26 2017, 12:46 PM)
read back post 985
Thanks for pointing out, looks like this trick is workable and got ppl practice it for taxable year 2015 n 2016.

Great! Hooray !!!
alesi616
post Nov 27 2017, 10:23 AM

810 posts

if I going to open SSPN account at PTPTN branch, do they accept cheque?

How you all pay the 6k ? by cheque ? credit card ? debit card? (debit card got 3k or 5k daily limit rite?)
alesi616
post Nov 27 2017, 11:17 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 27 2017, 10:55 AM)
I did mine at Maybank
Any charges for open account / add $$ / withdrawal / close account if done at maybank/rhb/ejen SSPN-I ? (other than at PTPTN branch)

Becoz I saw this at PTPTN website:

Soalan 21:
Adakah caj dikenakan jika ingin mengeluarkan simpanan SSPN-i?

Jawapan:
Tiada caj dikenakan kecuali melalui ejen yang dilantik..

Looks like withdrawal at bank will get charges ?? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by alesi616: Nov 27 2017, 11:20 AM
alesi616
post Nov 27 2017, 04:53 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 27 2017, 03:43 PM)
I've check with MBB before for withdrawal, they can't do it from their side.

You have to go PTPTN office to do withdrawal.

For opening of account and withdrawal no charges.

For deposit, i've always use bill payment through M2U to do it. No charges as well.
thanks for the info, from your previous post, it seems that you had made withdrawal on January 2016/17, are those withdrawal did at PTPTN branch?

Thinking want to go MBB or PTPTN office do account opening, not sure they give free gift or not. Also MBB will be easier coz I can direct transfer fund. PTPTN have to bring cheque or other method..
alesi616
post Nov 29 2017, 10:13 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 29 2017, 09:35 AM)
Yeah I always lump sum 6k. But goodie bags not that attractive IMO. Anyone gotten this year's goodies?

And the SSPN-I Plus not worth it (in terms of income tax deduction) due to EPF. Won't be able to claim extra.
Is it only will get goodies bag when you go PTPTN branch? Go bank deposit $$ will get goodies bag ka ?
alesi616
post Nov 29 2017, 10:20 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 29 2017, 10:16 AM)
Only PTPTN branch.
PTPTN branch only accept cash / cheque only ? Can use debit card for money transfer (I thought debit card got daily 5k max transfer limit?)
alesi616
post Nov 29 2017, 10:50 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(lwl_80 @ Nov 29 2017, 10:22 AM)
yes, can use debit card
I checked, MBB debit card daily max limit is 5k only
alesi616
post Jan 12 2018, 01:47 PM

810 posts

hi all,

when can we download the SSPN-i 2017 tax relief statement?
alesi616
post Jan 13 2018, 05:46 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 12 2018, 01:53 PM)
refer to post 962....look at the date posted....i will assume it will be the same for this year too.
Thanks, it is dated early march, does that means we need to park our money in the account until the tax relief statement is out ?

alesi616
post Mar 2 2018, 02:32 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 2 2018, 09:44 AM)
ah.. thanks for updating here  rclxms.gif

Now waiting for the RM500 to be deposited into the account.. smile.gif
what is the rm500 for ? given free by PTPTN ?
alesi616
post Mar 3 2018, 03:17 PM

810 posts

Aikss… too bad my kid is below 7 yrs… cant eligible for that rm500 incentif
alesi616
post Dec 9 2018, 08:24 PM

810 posts

Can we pay sspn using credit card ?
alesi616
post Dec 11 2018, 12:54 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 9 2018, 09:21 PM)
From JomPay page, both SSPN-i and SSPN-i Plus accept only CASA:
so the conclusion is cannot pay SSPN-I using credit card (for JOMPAY) rite?

will they allow swipe credit card if I go PTPTN office to pay ?
alesi616
post Dec 12 2018, 10:01 AM

810 posts

read from other forum that you can use credit card to reload the AirAsia BigPay card, then use Big Pay card to pay the SSPN-I.

Is anyone did this before?
alesi616
post Jan 10 2019, 05:08 PM

810 posts

hi sifu-sifu,

I have an evil idea. Can we do multiple SSPN deposit and withdrawal in a year? Set aside the tax relief purpose, the intention here is to get as many credit card reward points as possible. Anyone tried below:

1. reload 10k into BgiPay card using visa/master credit card, earn 10k credit card points.
2. deposit 10k by swipe BigPay card at PTPTN branch.
3. wait 1 month, then go PTPTN withdraw that 10k.
4. repeat steps 1-3 again to earn another 10k credit card points.

Is that do-able ?
alesi616
post Jan 10 2019, 06:31 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 10 2019, 06:09 PM)
Untuk mendapatkan Mata Ganjaran AirAsia BIG bagi transaksi di PTPTN, pelanggan hendaklah terlebih dahulu mendaftar sebagai ahli AirAsia BIG dan melakukan transaksi yang ditetapkan oleh PTPTN iaitu transaksi simpanan menggunakan kad kredit (untuk SSPN-i Plus), kad debit, atau kad prabayar Mastercard dan Visa dari 10hb Disember 2018 sehingga 10hb Mac 2019 tertakluk kepada 6 juta Mata Ganjaran AirAsia BIG yang diperuntukkan (yang mana terdahulu).

URL: https://www.ptptn.gov.my/images/fail/promos...y_sspn_2018.pdf

Clock is ticking until March 10th, 2019 or 6 mil BIG points exhausted whichever comes first.
what i mean is earning the credit card reward points, not the BIG points. After 10-March, I still can use credit card to reload BigPay card and then pay PTPTN rite? Just that I only earn the credit card reward points, no BIG points thereafter.

Or PTPTN means after 10-march no BigPay card is allowed for paying SSPN ?
alesi616
post Jan 11 2019, 04:46 PM

810 posts

hahaha, thanks all sifu sifu for the useful feedback. I had drop this idea since it is too hassle.

Initially I wanted to apply for a new credit card and do this trick because swiping 10k for that new card gives a very good welcome gift (not cheap in value). Then after I found out that I not entitle for this new promo campaign. And points alone (using other credit cards that I have) does not give a good return (as sifu sifu mentioned above).

So, end of story. Just a technically do-able trick but yet to be proven...hehe

This post has been edited by alesi616: Jan 11 2019, 04:47 PM
alesi616
post Jan 16 2019, 10:00 AM

810 posts

has anyone withdraw the SSPN these few days? Normally how long it takes to process withdrawal?

If I deposit on Dec-18 and make withdrawal on Jan-19, the SSPN 2018 tax relief is counted also rite ?
alesi616
post Jan 16 2019, 10:49 AM

810 posts

I believe the interest will be very minimal, the idea of deposit+withdraw mainly for tax relief purpose and taking the money to invest in somewhere that gives much higher return.

I deposited 6k on dec2017 and withdrawal on Jun2018 (wasted few months parking money there), I got interest of rm20.

0.0296sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:10 AM