Travel Bali V3, Summary Info/Maps & etc on Pg 1

mugenz
post Jun 2 2013, 10:20 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 09:30 AM)
Yeah I'm thinking ubud lovina kuta I guess...is the driver willing to fetch us to lovina from ubud? Btw how did u guys contact the driver whenever u wan him to fetch u?
Yes they will fetch u to lovina from ubud. Like forumer say will have to leave very early. Depends whether others are ok with that arrangement. But driver gonna charge u for more ofcourse.

But when going back from lovina can cover kintamani and bedugul then this is the question. Unless u have another day of traveling north to either bedugul or kintamani.

I never once need to call my driver when we were there. He always stand by and wait for us. Before arrive I email him my hotel and name then he will go reception to check my room and have them to call my room when he arrived.

wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 11:32 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Jun 2 2013, 09:49 AM)
Another way is if you dowan to stay at lovina, you can go lovina from ubud, the journey will start at 3.30am, sleep in car lo. then, 6am+ later go to see dolphin d. On your way back, usually the tour will go kintamani, bersakih & sideman, then dinner at ubud. No need to change hotel so often. mayb in ur case, stay at ubud & kuta only lo. in fact, nothing to do at lovina, besides the dolphin.
Good idea..thanks for your suggestion! rclxms.gif

wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 11:33 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 2 2013, 10:20 AM)
Yes they will fetch u to lovina from ubud. Like forumer say will have to leave very early. Depends whether others are ok with that arrangement. But driver gonna charge u for more ofcourse.

But when going back from lovina can cover kintamani and bedugul then this is the question. Unless u have another day of traveling north to either bedugul or kintamani.

I never once need to call my driver when we were there. He always stand by and wait for us. Before arrive I email him my hotel and name then he will go reception to check my room and have them to call my room when he arrived.
So no phone needed?
mugenz
post Jun 2 2013, 11:54 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 11:33 AM)
So no phone needed?
For emergency u can actually activate ur international roaming without data roaming on. You can call him incase emergency. But I see most driver will just standby.

Mine is he will tell us where he park, he just sleep inside or most place got prepare a rest place for driver.

But all the time I just airplane mode.
wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 02:51 PM

496 posts

How far from airport to ubud, ubud to kuta? Is 3nights stay around ubud, 2nights in kuta enough?
menmissed
post Jun 2 2013, 04:43 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 02:51 PM)
How far from airport to ubud, ubud to kuta? Is 3nights stay around ubud, 2nights in kuta enough?
It depends on your schedule and places to visit, you may propose to ur driver, and he will help u arrange.
If you like relax n refreshing type, stay at ubud.
My driver did include a sim card for his offer. Why dun you check with ur driver?
wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 07:26 PM

496 posts

I'm in the panic mode right now. I received email from tegal sari and they fully booked on sep same with green field. Any recommended hotels in ubud and kuta? Pls help.... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by wyen: Jun 2 2013, 07:27 PM
Limrolando
post Jun 2 2013, 07:38 PM

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 07:26 PM)
I'm in the panic mode right now. I received email from tegal sari and they fully booked on sep same with green field. Any recommended hotels in ubud and kuta? Pls help.... icon_question.gif
try me try me tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif let me know ur budget.
mugenz
post Jun 2 2013, 07:55 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 02:51 PM)
In bali, nobody can estimated the distance due to heavy jam. It took me almost 1hr from sanur to kuta. Another 30mins from kuta to airport. If from ubud, I est 1hr without jam.

If u wan peace and quiet then ubud. But I think 2 nights in both places will be good. However depends on ur schedule.

I booked Tegal sari 6 months in advance. Summore have to switch room.
menmissed
post Jun 2 2013, 09:08 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 07:26 PM)
QUOTE(Limrolando @ Jun 2 2013, 07:38 PM)
try me try me  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  let me know ur budget.
wyen, you may liaise with bro limrolando, he can settle your hassle. My trip is from him as well. Excellent! rclxms.gif
wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 10:02 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(Limrolando @ Jun 2 2013, 07:38 PM)
try me try me  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  let me know ur budget.
We have 11 adults here. 3 nights in ubud would it be too much? The attractions around can be reached around 1 hour right? 2 nights in kuta 3 nights in ubud. As per recommended earlier, depart 3am from ubud to lovina. I'm looking 1 triple room n 4 twin rooms. Budget around rm 300 for 5 nights possible? I prefer to book through agoda as I need to utilize the reward points worth usd 25
wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 10:03 PM

496 posts

Rm300 per person I mean
wyen
post Jun 2 2013, 10:54 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(MengHoi @ Apr 14 2013, 04:21 PM)
Time to share my itinerary as well now.

Day 1
Arrived at Ngurai Rai International Airport at night.
Met Arief to have an airport transfer to POP! Hotel Kuta.
Check-in and it's the end of Day 1.

Day 2
- Goa Gajah (Entrance fee of 15,000 IDR per person)
Tipped the guide around the temple for 40,000 IDR.
It's better to take a guide around the temple and know more about the history and culture of the Balinese. Try not to take those you meet when you enter the temple, they might just rip you off.

- Mt. Batur (Entrance fee of 15,000 IDR per person)
I heard that you can actually climb the mountain. Never did it for myself though.

- Kintamani
Buffet lunch at Sari Restaurant overlooking Mt. Batur. The food was so-so but it was the view that blown us away. 80,000 IDR per person in which we went as a duo, so it was 160,000 IDR for two along with 21% of GST so it's 194,000 IDR in total.

Day 3
- Tanjung Benoa (Water Sports)
A heaven for water sports. Did Flying Fish and Parasailing there and I have to say, parasailing is really really really awesome! The view above is magnificent.
Pricing at 150,000 IDR per person for one parasailing flight, it's definitely worth a try. Maybe twice! rclxms.gif

- Secret Beach
Had some time there chilling around, taking pictures and walking along the beach with loved one. Officially got my sunburn there, forgot to apply sunscreen on my neck. Oh well. It is such a nice place to make you forget about sunburns. tongue.gif

Had a quick lunch there which is Indo Mie, Coconut water and few bottles of mineral water. FOC! Thanks to Arief the uber good guy! Met Bobby there, which is Arief's friend. A friendly guy as well, those who did not managed to get Arief as driver could give a shot with Bobby.

- Padang-Padang

- Uluwatu Beach/ Uluwatu Temple (Fire and Kecak Dance)
Entrance fee was 20,000 IDR per person. 40,000 IDR for two.
Fire and Kecak Dance was worth it pricing at 35,000 IDR per person if I'm not mistaken. Paid 70,000 IDR for quite a good experience while enjoying the magnificent Uluwatu Temple shadowed by the sunset.

- Malioboro
Went there for dinner under Arief's recommendation. Heard from him that Malaysians and Singaporeans usually visit this shop because of their uniqueness.
Their chicken was awesome! You can even eat the chicken bones! They are so soft that you can crush it using a fork!

1/2 Ayam Cabe (66,000 IDR)
1 Sambal Goreng Teri Pete (30,000 IDR)
2 Nasi Putih (18,000 IDR)
1 Cincau Kelapa Muda (21,000 IDR) *Must try*

Subtotal with GST 155,250 IDR.

Day 4
- Taman Ayun
Entrance fee of 15,000 IDR per person (30,000 IDR for two)

- Babi Guling Depot Betty
Lunch there as we don't have plenty of choices around, it's kind of a public holiday that day and many shops were closed due to a festival going on around. The food quality was so-so priced at 50,000 IDR for two person. No complaints on that, at least we got to know what is Babi Guling. LOL.

- Bedugul
Visited Lake Beratan in which the entrance fee was 30,000 IDR per person (60,000 IDR for two).
Quick tips, remember to bring 50,000 IDR notes there as Lake Beratan is printed on the note. Nice for photos I guess? tongue.gif

- Tanah Lot
If you are there, remember to get their postcards. They are the cheapest of all! Asking price of 20,000 IDR for a pack, 30 postcards each. Too bad we missed the deal. Got them at the airport instead at an expensive price. sad.gif

Day 5
- Free and easy

Walked around Kuta and Legian. Matahari Mall is the mall to go if you are a fan of shopping. Mostly local stuff there. For us, we went in for the air-condition. It was too hot to bear!

Had some window shopping around Beach Walk as well. Don't forget to drop by their cinema, XXI. It's like a theater instead of a cinema! Like the Sands Theater at Marina Bay Sands Singapore. Tried their Salted Popcorn while chilling there after having a quick tour of the cinema by the manager. Lucky us! rclxms.gif
The small popcorn was priced at 15,000 IDR which I think it's a bloody good popcorn at a cheap price! Keke.

Day 6
- Departure
Had some last minute shopping at the airport.
Taxi from Kuta to the airport costed is 40,000 IDR. Remember to take the Blue Bird as they are the ones who run on meter.

Got some postcards outside the departure hall at 5,000 IDR each. Then, we found a better deal inside the departure hall. Selling them at 3,000 IDR each. We spent like 115,000 IDR on them! Bummers. We were in a hurry. So, no choice. Got two I LOVE BALI tee there as well.

Paid 150,000 IDR per person for the airport service charge which I think was useless and expensive.
Conclusion
IMHO, Bali is a great place to visit. The people there are generally happy, kind and friendly. But there are some who actually asked for money just because we took a couple of photo shots with them. The beaches and temples are magnificent for a kampung boy like me. tongue.gif
Overall, it's 9/10 given. With the sunburns... biggrin.gif
Which hotel u stayed in bali?

MengHoi
post Jun 2 2013, 11:08 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 2 2013, 10:54 PM)
Which hotel u stayed in bali?
POP! Kuta Bali. Best budget hotel around Bali with a swimming pool! biggrin.gif
mugenz
post Jun 3 2013, 12:22 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Mine was fave hotel, kuta square. Just beside tunes hotel. It's rm90 per night exclude tax. Overall it's clean as its relatively new hotel. Within walking distance towards kuta beach and legian road.

SilverSurfer123
post Jun 3 2013, 12:28 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 3 2013, 12:22 AM)
Mine was fave hotel, kuta square. Just beside tunes hotel. It's rm90 per night exclude tax. Overall it's clean as its relatively new hotel. Within walking distance towards kuta beach and legian road.
Why did you choose Fave Hotel over Tunes?

mugenz
post Jun 3 2013, 12:43 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(SilverSurfer123 @ Jun 3 2013, 12:28 AM)
Why did you choose Fave Hotel over Tunes?
Because that time I checked tunes was 120 with basic stuff haven't include all the charges.

Fave rm90 with air cond and hot water. Got pool eventhough no time to use at all.

Bad thing about fave is that the breakfast sucks but I rather go out and eat local food rather hotel breakfast.
calvin6869
post Jun 3 2013, 07:14 AM

QUOTE(menmissed @ Jun 2 2013, 09:49 AM)
Another way is if you dowan to stay at lovina, you can go lovina from ubud, the journey will start at 3.30am, sleep in car lo. then, 6am+ later go to see dolphin d. On your way back, usually the tour will go kintamani, bersakih & sideman, then dinner at ubud. No need to change hotel so often. mayb in ur case, stay at ubud & kuta only lo. in fact, nothing to do at lovina, besides the dolphin.
Better to stay in lovina. We go dolphin trip wake up 6am. This is early too.if from ubud better dnt, Cox no times rest
SilverSurfer123
post Jun 3 2013, 11:25 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 3 2013, 12:43 AM)
Because that time I checked tunes was 120 with basic stuff haven't include all the charges.

Fave rm90 with air cond and hot water. Got pool eventhough no time to use at all.

Bad thing about fave is that the breakfast sucks but I rather go out and eat local food rather hotel breakfast.
Am looking for a budget hotel near Kuta Square and at the moment, have shortlisted it down to either Ida Hotel or Fave Hotel. Was considering Matahari guest house but friend didn't want.

Thanks so much for your review and reply. Very much appreciated. smile.gif

RockStar05
post Jun 3 2013, 12:33 PM

59 posts

Last week was in bali. for 4 days. Managed to go most of the must visit places.

Danusaputera's guide was good. Met His brother Miko and Bowo (our Driver) Young and sporting person. Wherever you want to go. just tell him. he will bring you there. They did suggest on our agenda also. Enjoyed our trip to Bali.

Maybe will go there again. Still got places that we havent visit. Not enough time. And sunsets most of the time raining. cant see the beauty of the bali sunset.

Will try to upload some photos, if its nice tongue.gif

129 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 129 >Top

0.0355sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:07 AM