Building abs

TSpatrickyeo21
post Mar 29 2011, 04:30 PM, updated 15y ago

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

Hi guys, just to share some of my background, currently I am 177cm and 77kg. Definitely, I have some fats on my tummy, I am just wondering if there is possible for me to build abs without any cardio.

As what I understand is I need to burn fats first followed by building abs. Therefore, is there any possibility where I keep building abs and force it to make visible on the fats layer (of course it will burn some fats) ?

Any idea ?

chicaman
post Mar 29 2011, 04:35 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

Six pack is visible when the BF is at single digit. No short cut, no spot reduction, get down to the field and start running and diet properly
kahz29
post Mar 29 2011, 05:27 PM

maybe if your body fat percentage isn't too high, and u have worked on your abs everyday till it becomes so big that it might eventually becomes slightly visible even if you have a bit of a tummy.
CargoCult
post Mar 29 2011, 05:29 PM

230 posts

Can't be lazy and expect abs, lol. You have to do cardio, no way around it. You have to cut your total body fat percentage down.
TSpatrickyeo21
post Mar 29 2011, 05:32 PM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

If I were to do cardio, afraid I will be skinny, I do not want visible abs with skinny body ... so that is why I was thinking that way tongue.gif
mikehuan
post Mar 29 2011, 06:03 PM

6,160 posts

... i've literally got nothing to say. this is a new low
alber7
post Mar 29 2011, 07:36 PM

173 posts

u cant lost fat quickly without doin cardio..
no cardio.. how abt yoga?
~Battousai~
post Mar 29 2011, 07:45 PM

4,477 posts

there's a forummer here who has 16-17% bodyfat yet has super visible abs..ask him how.. forgot the name but his body pic is his avatar
Yennie22
post Mar 29 2011, 07:52 PM

43 posts

is there girls w/ toned abs/tummy ? (not meaning 6 abs visible..) smile.gif
statikinetic
post Mar 29 2011, 08:12 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(patrickyeo21 @ Mar 29 2011, 05:32 PM)
If I were to do cardio, afraid I will be skinny, I do not want visible abs with skinny body ... so that is why I was thinking that way tongue.gif
There is a marked difference between losing weight and lowering bodyfat percentage. You're lumping both together.
While one is usually associated with the other, they represent different goals.

QUOTE(Yennie22 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:52 PM)
is there girls w/ toned abs/tummy ? (not meaning 6 abs visible..)  smile.gif
Yes there is. My good friend is toned all over, but hasn't popped the 6 pack yet because it's more difficult for girls as their inherent bodyfat % is higher. She can flex mean biceps though.
TSpatrickyeo21
post Mar 30 2011, 12:00 AM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

Statikinetic, I thought it should come together?
statikinetic
post Mar 30 2011, 12:25 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(patrickyeo21 @ Mar 30 2011, 12:00 AM)
Statikinetic, I thought it should come together?
One is associated with the other and vice versa, but both represents different destinations. When you attempt to lower your bodyfat percentage, it is almost a given that you'll lose some weight...and some muscle too unfortunately.

If you're thinking of weight loss, think Biggest Loser. They don't really care what their bodyfat percentage is, the bottom line is represented by the amount of weight they lose. If you start a workout routine and a diet thinking "I want to lose 10 kgs", you're into weight loss. And generally when you start shedding pounds. your bodyfat percentage will come down as well.

If you're thinking of lowering your bodyfat percentage, think of a bodybuilder on his cutting phase. He doesn't really want to lose weight, that's precious muscle he's packed on, but he wants to lower his bodyfat pecentage low enough so that he'll pop his six pack and have a shredded look about him to walk into a competition. To this end, he accepts that he WILL lose some muscle and some weight.

You, who want a six pack without looking skinny, definitely falls into the latter category. If you're a bit light and am afraid that shedding some pounds will make you look skinny, you might want to looks into a bodybuilder's bulk and cut phase. Pack on the pounds and muscle for 3 months, then go on a cutting phase to shred that midsection.
iamyuanwu
post Mar 30 2011, 01:10 AM

2,425 posts

Our link-o-rama:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1170813

Go to section 5. Metabolic Resistance Training.
Go do it. No pain, no gain.

Other things that could help with body composition: omega 3 fatty acids (fish oil, flax seed oil), transdermal magnesium (maybe, not sure yet. Since it helps increase T level, I'm expecting that body composition will favour more muscles and less abdominal fat).

Yennie22
post Mar 30 2011, 11:27 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Mar 29 2011, 08:12 PM)
There is a marked difference between losing weight and lowering bodyfat percentage. You're lumping both together.
While one is usually associated with the other, they represent different goals.
Yes there is. My good friend is toned all over, but hasn't popped the 6 pack yet because it's more difficult for girls as their inherent bodyfat % is higher. She can flex mean biceps though.
I hope i cld achieve n able to lose weight n have a toned body.. by july blush.gif
moe81
post Mar 30 2011, 01:44 PM

265 posts

Hmmm, u can have visible abs with slightly higher bodyfat percentage. my bf% is about 12% and my abs are definately visible(my avatar). the secret to this is simply heavy cable pull to make the abs muscle bigger. but the downside is, if u dun have a big chest, ur stomach gonna look a lil big when u wear t-shirt. hahahha. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

It still consumes space to kep that big abs muscle. so, the stomach may bulge out a lil bit. but u're not necessarily fat. bf% is the key. IMO, i dun think anythin above 15% can have visible abs. flex.gif

This post has been edited by moe81: Mar 30 2011, 01:45 PM
arekey
post Mar 30 2011, 02:23 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Mar 30 2011, 02:10 AM)
Our link-o-rama:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1170813

Go to section 5. Metabolic Resistance Training.
Go do it. No pain, no gain.

Other things that could help with body composition: omega 3 fatty acids (fish oil, flax seed oil), transdermal magnesium (maybe, not sure yet. Since it helps increase T level, I'm expecting that body composition will favour more muscles and less abdominal fat).
And Whey Protein
frey_zero
post Mar 30 2011, 02:36 PM

467 posts

mind me... what is cardio??
theCrab
post Mar 30 2011, 02:44 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(frey_zero @ Mar 30 2011, 02:36 PM)
google
you don't expected everyones of us here spoonfeed you
kahz29
post Mar 30 2011, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(frey_zero @ Mar 30 2011, 02:36 PM)
it means cardiovascular exercise.
TSpatrickyeo21
post Mar 30 2011, 05:26 PM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

moe81, I guess I need to check on my bf% first before proceeding. Back again, the chest part, what are the weights you carry to grow it ? Currently I am on 52kg ....

0.0216sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:46 PM